All I Want for Christmas

Christmas no longer turns me on like it used to when I was a kid. The smell of apples at the sidewalks of the busy shopping section of downtown Bacolod where I grew up was the one thing told me that Christmas season has come. Even until now, when I smell apples, as ubiquitous and available as they are where I live today , the thought of Christmas immediately comes to mind. My childhood days back in Pinas were filled with wonderful memories of Christmas, something I value as irreplaceable and part of my being. The Christmas carols playing all day, relatives and visitors coming over for lunch or dinner, gifts from godparents, relatives and Santa, the holiday atmosphere of the whole town were happy moments and my own little version of wonderland. Sometimes I wonder if my children enjoy Christmas like I used to.

As we grow older and transition from receivers to mostly givers..arggh.. things become a little different. No longer can we become children and divorce ourselves from the pressures of everyday life. Oftentimes Christmas becomes sort of a nuisance, an unwelcome visitor camping in for a few weeks. The long list of loved ones and friends to be bought gifts can be quite intimidating. Christmas shopping has gone nuts. The midnight madness shopping expedition is now a thing of the past. Stores like Walmart have gone absolutely berserk and will open 24 hours until Christmas day. Last minute shoppers are ecstatic. Mastercard and VISA are equally euphoric.

Here’s the real dilemma for Canadians. December 26 is Boxing Day and a statutory holiday across the country. This is THE celebrated day when shops get rid of excess inventory and therefore drop prices like crazy, sometimes more than 50 percent. People queue up at the gates of appliance stores as early as 6am to get in and be first to snap up the bargains. Boxing Day sale is great but do people have money left after Christmas ? Can we move Christmas to Dec 27 please?

My wife loves the gift wrapping ritual and she could go on for hours until all gifts are properly labeled and identified. Christmas despite the pressure on our pockets is a tradition we love and cherish. I do not desire any expensive nor spectacular gift for myself. All I want is to be able give something nice to my loved ones and friends both here and in Pinas. Christmas is really not about me but them.

Here’s an inspirational story for the holiday. You might have read this before from email forwards but allow me to post it again:

Many years ago, when I worked as a volunteer at a hospital, I got to know a little girl named Liz who was suffering from a rare and serious disease. Her only chance of recovery appeared to be a blood transfusion from her 5-year old brother, who had miraculously survived the same disease and had developed the antibodies needed to combat the illness. The doctor explained the situation to her little brother, and asked the little boy if he would be willing to give his blood to his sister.

I saw him hesitate for only a moment before taking a deep breath and saying, “Yes I’ll do it if it will save her.“ As the transfusion progressed, he lay in bed next to his sister and smiled, as we all did, seeing the color returning to her cheek. Then his face grew pale and his smile faded. He looked up at the doctor and asked with a trembling voice, “Will I start to die right away”. Being young, the little boy had misunderstood the doctor; he thought he was going to have to give his sister all of his blood in order to save her….”

Give all that you can give this holiday season and all throughout the year. Merry Christmas!

8 Responses

  1. Funny isn’t it? That as we grow older,Christmas loses its’ flavor and we consider it as just another day in the calendar.Or maybe it’s just me….Gawd,I’m turning into Ebeneezer Scrooge. LOL! 😀

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year m to you and your loved ones man! 😀

  2. Nice blog entry, BW!

    Jesus is the reason for the season. However cliche it may sound, it’s true.

    I’m a bit sad that the season has become so commercialized that we overlook the real meaning of Christmas.

    I like the story about the boy. It’s so Christian-like to bless others through sacrificial giving.

    From cold Switzerland: Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family, BW! All the best in 2006.

  3. Every year, I get sort of depressed just weeks before Christmas because of the looming expenses and just the craziness of it all – being busy with shopping, Christmas concerts and parties here and there. But of course as Christmas approaches, the kids get excited, Christmas carols fill the air and I mingle with friends at these parties – these lift up my spirits. But it’s the been the same routine for me every year. I get depressed first before I could get into the Christmas spirit.

    Well, anyway, Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  4. I lament being a child during Christmas. As an adult, I definitley do GIVE more than I receive. *sigh* It’s all about the children during the yuletide season…

  5. What a very touching christmas story…In children, the spirit of the season lives with their genuiness of hearts and intentions.

    Merry Xmas Buffwings and may the coming year be more fruitful for you.

  6. THIS IS LATE but Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    drives me crazy really… the Christmas gifts! ha ha but then seeing the joy in each child’s face is enough to make me feel it is Christmas…

  7. MERRY XMAS TO ALL OF YOU and I hope you had a wonderful time celebrating with your loved ones and friends. I just finished my Xmas celebration last night – the last one with another group of friends. I have supply of wine bottles given by friends to take me to next Xmas! The burden on the wallet and the fun – doesn’t that sound like bittersweet like itself?

    One thing I learned that I didn’t is that a great deal of kids are afraid of Santa esp those under 3 years.. As one Santa Claus impersonator says – this job has a lot of rejection. ho ho. ! Christmas isn’t perfect after all but what matters most is we all show lots of love and have fun in celebration of the birth of Christ.

    Wish you all a fruitful and bountiful 2006!

  8. I MEANT BITTERSWEET LIFE,,,,

Leave a Reply

