The Big Apple

Somewhere along the boring stretch of highway 401 to Montreal, in the township of Colborne, Ontario lies Big Apple, a bakery famous for its wide selection of mouth watering home baked style apple pies. Big Apple is no ordinary bakery. It is one that celebrates apple to the highest degree. It is located in apple country first and foremost, amidst the numerous apple farms and orchards that make Colborne the apple town of Ontario. The big apple dome in the picture is actually a mini-museum that tells you almost all all you need to know about the wonderful fruit. A spiral staircase leads you to the top where you can view the surroundings and take photos.

The billboard visible from the hiwhway shows the number of apple pies sold since they began counting about 5 years ago. These are strictly off the counter sales from the bakery/restaurant complex that sits adjacent to the Big Apple dome/museum. Canadian and American tour buses often stop at Big Apple to sample their savory pies.

A view of the bakery and the baking process and packing of the apple pies.

The scoreboard at the bakery. The numbers are increasing everyday.

Freshly baked and packed pies ready to go.

A sampling of the scrumptious apple crumble that blends well with a nice up of hot brewed coffee

The bakery and restaurant. A couple of mumble crumble pies to take home ends the day at Big Apple.

Note : The pics are much better when viewed in its full size. Click on the pic and click on the arrow icon at the lower right corner.

35 Responses

  1. This is so amazing. Can it rival New York for the nickname? hehe…

    I’m salivating just thinking of apple pie.

  2. Wow, the apple counter. Two million+ pies sold in 5 years? That’s a lot don’t you think? So many did you end up buying?

  3. The scoreboard and the counter are good marketing tools. They attract people.

    The one who thought of that probably is a blogger. Remember the blog counter, page view and visit counters.

  4. lol myepinoy. šŸ™‚

  5. Alternati – NYC is incomparable but this one deals with real apple ! Last Sunday, a lazy day, we drove 120kms one way to get to this place to satisfy my craving for hot apple crumble. I ordered one for snack and my wife who always seems to be an anti-thesis to my pallate ordered chicken and fries doused with gravy šŸ™‚

  6. Ipanema – yes, that’s quite a lot of pies but they taste quite good in fact. I brought home a couple of freshly baked apple crumble pies.. I could send you some if you were close by šŸ™‚

  7. Myepinoy – now you’ve really caught the blogging fever ! The counters – superb marketing tool, isn’t it? These guys must be bloggers in fact.. LOL>

  8. I love apple pies and apple struddles!!!

  9. I’m particularly hooked with the apple crumble with the thick crust of crispy wheat or oats ( I think) mixed with brown sugar and cinnamon. Great when it’s hot even with microwave šŸ™‚

  10. Never heard of this before. I’m not specifically fond of apple pies but that apple crumble looks so good.

  11. Apples pies and crumbles aside, look at the floor in that bakery! It’s so clean you could almost eat apple pies off it! LOL šŸ˜€

  12. BW,

    What blogging fever?

    I was a rehabilitated blogging addict. I have been blogging when most people do not know what blog is.Blogging was not easy then.

    So, what blogging fever? Yabang ko ano? HA HA HA HA…

  13. Suddenly, I’m craving for apple pie — yum, yum.

    I’d like to visit the Big Apple museum someday. Its shape is unique.

  14. Myepinoy, I think you are still addicted to blogging. LOL.

  15. hi there, many thanks for dropping by my site and posting a comment. link-up? you’re in my blogroll now. šŸ™‚

  16. Niceheart – Big Apple had been featured in the weekly national CBC TV program VENTURE, a show that showcases success stories of small businesses.. The full size pies are reasonably priced at 10 bucks I think.

  17. Sngl – the reason why it is clean is everything about the operations is visible to the public! I doubt if it will be that clean if it is enclosed and not exposed to public view.

  18. Myepinoy – so you’ve been blogging when browsers were in textual mode! You still remember the “gopher” ? šŸ™‚

  19. Jayred – you might find the mini-museun a little cramped. Definitely not for claustrophobics ! They sell the pies in several flavors so there’s more choices.

  20. Gibbs – my pleasure. Thanks for dropping by too.

  21. we only have buko pie here. hmmm how i wish i can taste one of the big apple products

  22. Iskoo – I am equally crazy about buko pies! You can only find them here in Pinoy stores šŸ™‚

  23. Whoah! That is a big apple! Really interesting place to hang out. I wish I could taste one of those apple products they have.

  24. Wow! More than 2 million!
    How many pies did you bought/eat already?;-)

  25. This is so cool BW! These are the kind of novelty places that I like going to when I’m abroad. Why lang is the number of the Honey Pies 0? šŸ™‚ I would love to taste freshly-baked pies made from real apples. Yeah… would be perfect with fresly-brewed coffee.

  26. mmmmm.. I love aple pies, better yet, apple crumbles!

  27. Ferdz – yes, they do have quite a few varations.. you can sample a slice for each flavor and it can be quite a stretch šŸ™‚

  28. Sidney – they won’t get rich from me. I just dig the crumble..LOL.. the apple orchards around the area have a steady buyer when things are a little slow… the Big Apple is a good neighbor it seems.. It buys all their apples including those that fell on the ground šŸ™‚

  29. Toe – they honey pie? Maybe it’s just too sweet.. LOL.. I’m sure they would bake one specially for you if you asked. These pies are really great when it’s freshly baked and hot šŸ™‚

  30. Duke – looks like you and I see eye to eye with the crumble ! I love to drink a cold apple cider too:)

  31. wow! this would be a haven for those who loves apples and apple pies. so that means i’ll just be there for mere curiosity. hehehe

  32. Too bad I’m not fond of eating apple pies. Meron bang buko pie doon? Hehe.

  33. Tin – if you don’t fancy apple pies, they have apple cheesecake too. Maybe that will turn on your taste buds šŸ™‚

  34. Abaniko – I’m a die hard buko fan like you man. I dig buko pie like crazy too. There’s many types of apples though and I like the golden delicious variety, green-yellowish in color. Canadians eat 86 apples a year on the average. I take one to work everyday. I guess that makes me above average.. he he.. It’s very healthy stuff. They say an apple a day keeps the doctor away šŸ™‚

  35. I was told by Ferdz you had this post. I love their apple crumble pie.

    Have a great Canada day BW!

Leave a Reply

