Thought for the Weekend

I probably have a couple of posts left for the year before packing up for a much needed respite. With the teething problems of beta blogger I am thinking of suspending my blogging acitivity during my hiatus this holiday season. The year had been so terribly stressful for me work-wise that I had seriously entertained thoughts of changing careers. I thought of selling my house and all my assets and relocate to a far flung island, live in a shack beside the sea, perhaps work as a lowly groundskeeper in a nearby golf course and do only two things – play golf and fish. I was thinking – what would be the ultimate stress free life a person could ever have? Perhaps there is no such thing as a stress free life unless you go back to being a little child again. Whether you are a company CEO chartering executive jets for $5,000 an hour or a proletarian plying the public transit night and day you are bound to deal with the beast in stress. I am a survivor. I fought a tough battle this year and survived again. Perhaps that’s enough reason for me to smile and pat myself in the back. Strangely, as I was getting ready to finish this post after coming home from work my dentist’s office called to reschedule my cleaning appointment this Saturday instead of next weekend. Cleaner teeth – that’s even a better reason to smile I thought 🙂 I am generally a happy and sanguine person but I think I need to smile more. As the ending of a great Tony Bennett classic song SMILE goes – “ you’ll find that life is still worthwhile if you just smile” 🙂 A smile not only lifts the person but brings sunshine to the person he’s smiling at. Just look at my buddy in the picture ! Isn’t he irresistible?

Have a nice weekend 🙂

31 Responses

  1. Hi BW. Happy weekend to you too. I’m in South Korea. I’ll email you soon. Cheers.

  2. I am a stress free person. I sold my company a few years ago and now I truly enjoy life! 🙂

    If you want a little house along the beach I can find one for you! 😉

    In the meantime enjoy your blogging free vacation. I also stop blogging for a few weeks soon. No to stress! 🙂

    Take care!

  3. We once had a seminar at work about stress. And one thing I picked up from that seminar is that if you are stressed, you have to change your environment. Let’s say it’s your co-workers that’s stressing you, or perhaps, it’s your boss, they won’t change. So you’re the one who has to change, and that could mean leaving your job. 🙂

    Have a nice weekend too, BW.

  4. Stress? That’s me. Anyway, hmmm…san naman yang seaside na yan. Sa Canada pa rin? 🙂

    Your post sounds a bit lonely. Well, at least you get to have a break soon. It’s surprising when I was in Manila, I had no energy to open my laptop. I get to tired by the traffic alone that all I want to do upon reaching home is SLEEP.

    Happy weekend! 🙂

  5. Tell me about it. I’d probably of stress before I reach 50. And that’s just a few years away…

    Have a great weekend too, bro.

  6. I have learned to live around stress. Now its just like background music in a dentist’s office. You don’t really notice it until you stop and listen closely. It does smack you in the face every now and then… these times hibernate.

    Totally agree with smiling. It’s a difficult task but sure pays off.

    Good luck with your current career or your career as a tropical groundskeeper… whichever you stick with. 🙂

  7. Are you going to take on Sidney’s offer of a beachhouse? 🙂 I do hope you enjoy your vacation this Christmas. I stopped blogging too when I went on vacation. It felt good! 🙂

    It’s great to smile! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. Irrealis – nice to hear from you ! Hope you’re having a swell time in Korea 🙂

  9. Sidney – awesome! The kind of life I want to live man. Live by the sea and take amazing photos !
    I was in RP last year for a 3 week vacation and might go again next year ’07. I’d love to chill out with you and Senor Enrique in your lunch trips to Binondo and talk about these things 🙂

  10. Niceheart – I am quite fortunate that I have great subordinates, peers and superiors in my work and if I am still
    around, it is due to them. I love my work and what I do – it’s just that the nature of my work is too
    demanding of my time and eats up a lot of my personal life. I may have to add that perhaps it is the culture of the company I am working with and I can’t do much about that quite unfortunately except to ask to be moved
    to somewhere that’s not too stressful 🙂

  11. Ipanema – would it still be in Canada ? Victoria, capital of the province British Columbia is probably the warmest island in Canada on the Pacific Coast is a beautiful place but I don’t think I can wear a T shirt the whole year
    there ! Costa Rica is one place I have in mind and of course, good old Pinas. 🙂

  12. Sngl – take it easy bro. You still have a lot of spunk in you 🙂 BTW, this post was inspired (pardon the
    wrong choice of word here) by an incident last Sunday evening when I encountered an abnormal traffic jam in the highway where I live close by. When I tuned in to the radio I learned that a 30 year old
    woman jumped the overpass bridge with her 2 year old son onto the oncoming cars.. Apparently the woman was depressed. She had lots of family but they couldn’t do much. It broke my heart to hear such tragic news, and for the
    innocent 2 year old who had to go down with her. It’s probably why Ipanema commented that my post is a bit lonely.

  13. Alternati – “have learned to live around stress. Now its just like background music in a dentist’s office” .. LOL. You should see me lying down in the dentist’s chair with sunglasses ( protect from the glare of the light) on watching TV on the wall while the dental hygienest is working on me 🙂 Makes the experience of going twice a year a little less stressful 🙂 Do they do this in Pinas too?

  14. Toe – I’m from the south ( Negros Occ) and we do have lots of sea out there. It might be an option but I’m a private guy and don’t want too many distractions from relatives and acquaitances and would prefer a little privacy 😦 I look forward to my vacation and trust me I’d be smiling he whole time until new year’s !

  15. stress? story of my life hehe like you, this has been a tough year for me and I’m still fighting it…I hope I will be able to say “I’m a survivor too” before the year ends. Hopefully the much needed vacation will relieve the stress even for a short while 🙂

    Just bloghopped BW…so you’re from Negros Occ… same here 🙂

    have a nice day!

  16. HI there Verns. It’s truly a pleasure to meet a fellow citizen of the Hiligaynon Nation 🙂 Good to hear that you are fighting tough. I’m sure you will survive very well. In a matter of days I would be incommunicado from the office and will be on my journey for a major battery re-charge to fight again after new year..LOL. All the best.

  17. my pleasure too 🙂

    anyway recharging for another stressful year next year huh hehe goodluck to all of us.

    see you around 🙂

  18. thats the spirit, even in time like this we could still things of that can make us smile 🙂

    i feel the same way, i am thinking of changing career and make my life more simple, basta yung lilipatan kong lugar ay may internet, hehe

  19. Hey BW, I thought you’re gonna do three things: play golf, fish and blog. Hehe.

    Incidentally, I like the song SMILE. I have three versions of that in my iPod. I often request for the song in the jazz bars I go to.

    Anyways, enjoy your vacation. Happy holidays!

  20. Thank you for reminding me. Sometimes, I forgot where i put my smile… lol

    With the beta.blogger problem, better switch to wordress.com. You cen bring everything here to wordpress.

    Thank you again and happy weekend too.

  21. Iskoo – i could be a lowly grounds keeper as long as I can play golf for free everyday! What would life be without the internet? A must have – definitely 🙂

  22. Abaniko – blogging outdoors with wireless would complete the deal 🙂 Those HP IPaq handheld computers as big as a palm pilot with wireless would be very ideal:) They’re almost as expensive as laptops nowadays.

    I heard SMILE when I was a little boy, when my uncle brought home from the States an LP record of Tony Bennett. There are many versions but Bennett’s original version is one thing that sticks in my memory with a bit of nostalgia pa.

  23. Myepinoy – Word has now officially included the smilies icons in their standard character set it seems 🙂

    I’ve been thinking of shifting to WordPress but i am looking for a blog that has everything – all the buttons you can name, built in adsense ads, podcast, video and photo album features. No need to develop any HTML code whatsoever. There’s a few being offered but they cost money. . An Aussie site asks for a monthly donation equivalent to a cost of coffee – Starbucks lang nga hehe.. Still cheap I think 🙂

  24. happy weekend! just keep smiling 🙂

    i would also like to retire in an island. yuck! i’m already thinking about it at my age. hehehe. but don’t seel your house there. just give it to your kids. hehe 🙂

  25. Problems with beta blogger? ugh. that’s probably why I’m still hesitant in switching to the new blogger. nice blog, btw. 😀

  26. Oh, it’s sad to read that BW. I didn’t know about the woman and her son. My God! Sent shivers down my spine. 😦

  27. I’m trying to recall the lyric of that hit song by Tony Bennett “smile” and somehow I could recall the lines:
    smile though your hear is aching,
    smile even though it’s breakin;

    Well, for me, I can’t aford to have another argument with my personal physician, which have been looking after my heart for the last 25 years, but to keep smiling and keep the good doctor smiling every visit. The lest we can do for our the people who cares..

  28. Tin- you bet I was smiling the whole weekend. My mouth was agape for a whole hour with the dentist for one : hehe

    I got a many years to go before retirement but it would be great to retire early, wont it?

    My house to my kids? Probably, if I won the lottery:) The system here is good enough to enable them to buy their own houses if they work hard to earn a living. Nope, Daddy isn’t thinking of bailing them out 🙂

  29. Wil – yep, beta blogger sucks. Don’t convert ! Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  30. Ipanema – tragic indeed. The profile of the woman is quite familiar – single mom, lived in the shelter for women for a bit, estranged with her husband.. She’s educated with a university degree. The culture of independence here is partly to blame. She could have freeloaded with family but chose not to.She’s been trying hard to be on her own but was caught up by severe depression.

  31. Vic – a couple of my colleagues had gone through a heart bypass operation. Scary.. I have checkups every 6 months and monitor my blood pressure and cholestrol levels. My doc as I said before is a marathon runner and he seems to know how to keep fit. I do;t listen enough to him though 🙂

Leave a Reply

