New Year’s Thoughts

I can’t possibly be posting this after a terrific holiday but with the recent news events I couldn’t help asking the question – we do live in a confusing world, don’t we? With all the religions and cultures that are divergent in values and aspirations proliferating our planet, could we really get along? Is there such a thing as law of absolute right? And if there is such a thing as law of absolute right, what would be its point of reference? Politics, terrorism, organized religion, corporations and globalization, global warming, oil crises, the IRAQ war, Iran and North Korea, the “firecrotch” episodes of Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears, Pinoy actors turning into politicians – do we ever truly comprehend these things? As I travelled through the U.S. south ,the bible belt of America, passing through churches , Jesus billboards and gas stations that stack up New Testament books at the entrances of restrooms for travellers to grab, I asked myself the question – why did it take centuries for these people to discern that their black slaves were also human beings created by God? Confusing isn’t it? My 5 year old daughter illustrates the confusion whenever mom tries to make sure she gets a full meal when she remonstrates – ” but you are not supposed to feed a big girl. Besides we are not allowed to share spoons!”

THE BLACK AND WHITE GOAT MYSTERY




” I don’t quite get it but this is just between you and me”. Don’t we behave like the chief sometimes?

I don’t normally pitch an overly dramatic new year resolution because I have come to a conclusion that I can only influence but never dictate nor control things happening around me. My two simple and achievable goals this year would be to eat less and run 30 mins a day on my treadmill – translated, lose weight. Dang, is it ever so difficult. But if there’s one thing that I wish to avoid at all cost is feeling miserable and that for me is waking up in the morning hating someone ( my wife excluded, LOL). I can’t think of anyone I particularly hate enough to rip the living daylights out of the person which is just great because it means I made my peace with the world. I am equally confident that if my mother-in-law doesn’t hate me, I’d be fine with others, he he. I was good at this last year and hope to do even better this year 🙂 Remember, bitterness not only kills but makes you look and feel miserable. So what’s your new year’s resolution?

Cheers and Peace for the New Year !

P.S. I had one heck of a vacation and took hundreds of shots.. tough to select 10 shots for my next post 🙂 I’m done with watching a movie under the stars in shorts and with beer in hand.. back to reality now.

30 Responses

  1. Welcome back bw, and a happy new year to you and yours.

    Sure that Father Joseph is no Father Damaso? Anyways good luck on your quest for loss weight. My secret, eat anything only about half of what used to. You’ll eventually get rid of the cravings, and at 60 I never feel better. A little beer occasionally, we torontonians love beer.

  2. Same to you Vic – all the best for 2007. That’s a great tip and know what, I seem to be able to do it on my own volition. It’s hard when I’m eating with my wife when I say quit in the middle of dinner at home LOL 🙂

  3. Hey welcome back, bro. All the best this 2007 to you and the family.

    That cartoon is very funny, reminds me of a similar joke about the friars during Rizal’s time.

    BTW, hope to see those pics from your trip to the bible-belt. 🙂

    PS: It’s so darn hard to upload comments to blogspot ever since that quake in Taiwan damaged the undersea cables. Connections to the US is at an all-time low these days.

  4. We pretty much have the same goal. Eat healthy and walk, not run, for 30 minutes a day, outside, not in a treadmill. 🙂

  5. hello Vic 🙂 Happy New Year! and glad to hear that you had a wonderful vacation 🙂

    Anyway I beat you to it hehe posted lots of pics already lol more than 10 of course hehe.

    Anyway I really don’t have a resolution, never had actually but for a change I guess I have to have one. First on the list is to get rid of the tools of satan…I am of course talking about credit cards lol

  6. ugh! I am so sorry BW hahahaha I typed Vic lol…Vic kasi eh hehe naunang mag comment, nawala tuloy ako hehe

  7. Welcome back, BW! Were you in sunny Florida? Can’t wait to see the photos.

    Wishing you and your loved ones continued success and joy for the new year!

  8. Sngl – thanks bro. I had a chuckle when I saw it too 🙂

    I just passed through the bible belt on my way back and didn’t really spend a lot of time there 🙂 Yep I’m working on my next post with the pics. I actually did this post on my laptop while on the road minus the internet. My office issued laptop is configured as a thin client with a “secure build” hence the wireless card is disabled and my admin rights is restricted and can’t enable it. It is not designed to work with wireless period. Dang, every hotel/resort this days have wiress internet service for free. But on the other had, it was good that i was cyberspace free for most of the time and I had more time to relax.

    Beta blogger is now the new blogger they say – at least I am now able to post 🙂

  9. Niceheart – you must be pretty wrapped up running outside in subzero temp ! Nothing beats the real run for sure but for now, my treadmill is in a heated basement which helps in the sweating too 🙂

  10. Verns – no worries . Maayo lang gani kasimanwa ta man si Vic , he he. Ouch – the tools of Satan is very much alive ! Funny to think that it has become part and parcel of our existence 🙂

  11. Senor – yep I was in Fla half of the time and the other half I was island hopping down the Carribean. To make it more interesting, I drove 5000+ kms doing it. People tell me I’m nuts doing it winter but I didn’t see a drop of snow along the way 🙂 I thought the weather gods were on my side !

  12. no bitterness is the best new years resolution, madaling nakakatanda yan diba. tapos masahan pa ng exercise at diet, naku matagal mo ma e enjoy ang kabataan 🙂

  13. Happy New Year, Father Joseph…ay BW pala…hahaha. Ang ganda naman yang cartoon na yan.

    Good for you, nag island hopping ka pala. Share naman fektyurs. 🙂

  14. Hahaha! Hilarious comic strip.

    You have a very articulate and straightforward five-year-old there. 🙂

    All the best in your goal to lose some weight. Just to let you know, that’s not one of my goals this year. I hate exercise. 🙂

  15. Cruise – they say a grumpy and bitter person no matter how he/she dresses looks miserable 🙂 Diet and exercise are a must !

  16. Hey welcome back BW! That cartoon is a riot! 🙂 We have the same New Year’s resolution. 🙂 Wow, you had a really long grand vacation… good for you!

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

  17. Ipanema – it was great to wear shorts and flip flops most of the time 🙂 I have so many pics that I can’t decide what to post. THe new Blogger seems to work now so I might have a bit of space to load a few more 🙂

  18. Jayred – msayado ng pilisopo ang tsikiting ko at politically correct na pag nagsalita. Ang tawag sa itim na tao ay dark instead of black and sa puti fair instead of white dahil siguro sa turo sa school. At a roadside restaurant in Alabama she just blurted out – why are all people here dark? Buti na lang walang gaanong nakarinig dahil nakakahiya.

    I just loaded up some pounds on this trip that I need to unload some … in my case i need to diet and exercise by force of circumstance he he 🙂

  19. Toe – hey I had a swell time and going back to work is like dragging myself out of bed 🙂 I’m sure I would be in vacation mode for a couple of days at the office he he.

  20. hey bw,

    Happy New Year!

    I’ve been resolving to lose weight since last New Year’s! hehehe

    These problems are so complex we won’t know where to start. I guess as long as you know what’s good and bad and apply that in everything you do, it’s good enough. (I’m a passive pacifist… hehe)

    All the best for 2007 BW. 🙂

  21. npbkFunny comic strip. Hahaha. I’d also want to lose weight in 2007. And read more, save more, love more, play more and worry less. Cheers!

  22. Ops, the “npbk” were the last four letters of the word verification code. Damn. Sorry about that.

  23. Alternati – same here.. I’ve been trying to eat without that feeling of feeling full – just getting rid of the hunger. It’s tough I know but I’m not a believer in diet pills. It’s really mental more than anything else I think 🙂 Good luck 🙂

  24. Abaniko – I thought npbk is a new Pinoy abbreviation 🙂 Well at least you are a regular badminton player and that makes a heck of a difference. Just don’t drink beer while you are changing courts he he 🙂

  25. actually i feel like i have the same questions as yours, dito na lang sa pinas, politician are calling for unity but they themselves fight with each other, am confused to whom they address the call for unity 😦

  26. Iskoo – very true. The two-facedness of politicians is confusing the heck out of everybody and electing public officials had gone down to making a choice between the devil and the deep blue sea 😦

  27. happy new year! and welcome back! just enjoy your 2007 🙂

  28. ha ha i like that cartoon!

    happy new year to you and to your family. huli man daw ay huli pa rin.

    i think it is not necessary to have a list for a new year’s resolution. we end up breaking them afterall. the best resolution comes from the heart and following your heart will lead you to something positive.

    i dont have enough time to shed the extra pounds! this is my dilemma.

  29. Tin – welcome back too Tin. No, I didn’t go to RP this time. Perhaps sometime this year. Remember I said I’d buy you coffee at Starbucks when I’m there? he he..

  30. Bing – I had a laugh at the cartoon too – I even emailed it to my boss ha ha 🙂 Hope you succeed in your battle with the pounds 🙂

Leave a Reply

