On Computer Literacy….

Many people who immigrate to North America had been fixated with the notion that a career in the computer field guarantees a quick job placement and more importantly, job security. So they plan a career change, obtain every computer related training under the sun to embellish their resumes. More often than not they get in but only to find out that as in every endeavor in life, there is an invisible ladder.. which means that you cannot just walk in – you have to climb! Remember that it is always OK to climb up but never down. It is always best to find your step in the ladder. It doesn’t matter if it is the first step as long as you climb up all the time !

I very rarely go to the bank teller. I try to do all my banking via the ATM machine or the internet. It works just fine – it saves me a ton of precious time. In this increasingly internet dominated world our ours, senior citizens have found online banking to be a real productivity tool. In their advanced age where driving and travel can be a real drag, seniors are increasingly becoming tech savvy. The learning curve however remains high and a challenge to these largely retired hence domiciled folks. A friend who works as a customer associate in an online banking can attest to this. One day she received a call from a senior who had a problem signing on to her account. She told the old lady “ maybe you should close Windows and open it up again” whereupon she replied ” Oh, I don’t really have to close it – I have Venetian blinds on my windows !“. This is a true story by the way šŸ™‚

I have avoided computer shows for many years now because I don’t want to know how obsolete my computer is. If I were to play God in rewind mode, I would have reversed Apple’s fortunes in place of Microsoft and made the Mac the standard PC we all use today. We wouldn’t have to call nerds to help us out. Most of us would be slightly dumber in terms of technical knowledge but more powerful and productive users. Incidentally, blogging had made many people become tech savvy in their own right. I enjoy seeing bloggers tweak their templates for a new look every now and then. I’m sure they’re having a heck of a time displaying their creative work šŸ™‚

And of course, we can’t talk about computers and the internet without the venerable email. Who doesn’t have an email account these days anyways? Talking about email, I get my daily dose of jokes and who wouldn’t mind cracking up on a funny joke once in a while? I received this one a few days ago. WARNING : THIS JOKE COULD UPSET YOU. SOME FOLKS WILL LABEL THIS SEXIST AND VIOLENT. IT IS NOT INTENDED TO OFFEND BUT TICKLE YOUR FUNNY RIB.
Women’s Lib International Conference

The first speaker, a lady from England stood up and said, “During last year’s conference, we spoke about being more assertive with our husbands.

Well, after the conference, I went home and told my husband, Barrington , that I would no longer cook for him and that he would have to do it himself.

After the first day, I saw nothing. The second day, I saw nothing, but on the third day, I saw that he had cooked a wonderful roast Lamb.”

(The crowd cheered).

The second speaker from Russia, stood up and said,”After last year’s conference, I went home and told my husband, Ivan, that I would no longer do his laundry and that he would have to do it himself. The first day, I saw nothing. After the second day, I saw nothing, but on the third day, I saw that he had done not only his own washing, but mine as well.

(The crowd again cheered).

The third speaker, a Filipino lady , stood up and said, “Aftir lass year’s kampirince, I win hum and tuld dat lazy husband op mines, Pidro, dat I was tro getting his slippers, kuking his meals ol da tyme, washing his undirwir and dat he was guing to hab to do dem himsilf.

(The crowd went wild with cheering and clapping that lasted for five long minutes).

She continued,”Aftir da first day, I see nating. Aftir da secun day, agin I see nating, but aftir da tird day, I could see a little bit out of my leff eye.”

34 Responses

  1. LOL! Thanks for the laugh, BW! I so needed it right now.

  2. “Incidentally, blogging had made many people become tech savvy in their own right.” – So so true. If it weren’t for blogging, I wouldn’t even take a second look at those html codes, much less try to figure out how to tweak my blog’s template. It was only my desire to be different from the pack that I made an effort to learn how, all by myself. šŸ˜€

    Have a nice weekend, bro. šŸ™‚

  3. Rhodora – much obliged. I’m equally happy that it perked you up a bit šŸ™‚

  4. Sngl – I know you had been tweaking your blog and sharing your expertise šŸ™‚ That’s great bro and I’m sure you feel gratified with it šŸ™‚ Have a nice weekend too šŸ™‚

  5. that joke is definitely dark! I was cringing a bit after reading it. Not trying to be a downer, but you will definitely get some comments from people.

  6. Binugbog pala nga asawa ha.

    We’ve been trying to teach my mother, who is 61, how to use the computer. But she’s having a hard time with the mouse alone. Arthritic na yata kasi ang kamay niya. I also offered to teach her how to use tele-banking. Kaya lang parang nalilito daw siya.

    In regards to being tech savvy, I am not at all. I haven’t got the time to learn how to tweak my templates. I want to upload a video on my site, but I don’t even know how to upload it on the computer.

  7. Hahaha! THanks for making me laugh this morning with those images.

    Yes, medyo mataas yung learning curve para sa mga elderlies, we thought our mom to use email pero it takes her 100 years to finish an email. Hehehe

    I also do most of my banking online. Pero nagka experience ako sa isang bank dito. I tried transfering funds and I got an error from their system, then all my money wnet kaput! Wah! Good thing they managed to bring my money back founding they got an error on their system after a few days.

  8. Wil – warned you the joke is dark humor šŸ™‚ Hey, no one can ever be a downer if he speaks for himself. Thanks for being candid with your comment.

  9. Niceheart – great that your mom is learning how to use the computer. Maybe you should get her a wireless mouse – much easier on the hand šŸ™‚

    Same with me – I’m in fact looking for a super template that has everything including Adsense buttons. As for the video, you can download on youTube or even Photobucket. When the video is downloaded, it gives you the URL. YOu can copy that URL tag as if you are linking a page. Try it out first with any video on YouTube šŸ™‚

  10. Ferdz – LOL.. glad you’re taking time to teach you mom the basics šŸ™‚

    Good you got your money back! I always take note of the transaction reference number – just in case :)Or maybe even print the page before closing the session!

  11. Somewhere in our neighborhood in Paco back in the early 70s almost every night we could hear the woman screaming and we suspected she was being beaten by a man, her husband maybe and then silence. Wife beating is still a social problem that I believe still going on and not yet treated as a common criminal offense, and I hope I am wrong, because it is an assault the same as any other crime.

  12. Vic – it should be criminalized back home as it is here bro – both spousal and child abuse.

    It is really odd because back home rape convictions are given death sentences while here, it is so hard to convict someone with a rape offense, even when the evidence is so glaring.

  13. That I can relate. Because working in another country would often require you to have that inside-the-country experience would often lead you to blue collar jobs.

    My cousin who’s in Canada right now started working in a seven-eleven store before he became a programmer for IBM.

  14. Until now, I still have some apprehension with online payment except for trusted sites like airlines, well-known magazines, etc. So, I don’t consider myself that tech savvy yet. Hehe.

    But frankly I din’t get your joke. It’s only after reading the comments that I got it. Binugbog pala. Kawawa naman. Dark humor nga. šŸ™‚

  15. i learned something tungkol sa ladder theory mo, tama naman, once you started from the bottom and slowly climbing up the ladder, making sure to climb up all the time ay siguradong magtatagumpay ka.

  16. dati wala talaga ako alam sa webpage, html codes, etc. but when i learn how to blog, unti unti naiintindihan ko na ang html, at the least yung basic. thnx sa blogging.

  17. Jeff – that’s the unfortunate fact although the are legislations under way to alleviate the situation here in Canada. It doesn’t make sense when a person’s acceptance is based on the evaluation of his education and experience and when he gets in, he is given a hard time. It sure looks like a baptism of fire more than anything:)

  18. Abaniko – all online banking access nowadays requires that SSL ( Socket Layer Encryption) is supported by the browser. THe minimum is 128 bit encryption.

    THe most secure way is for those who have VPN access to their office from home. Nowadays people who work from home connect to their office via the internet using VPN tunnels which are encrypted.

  19. Iskoo – quite unfortunate but some people want to be high up in the ladder but are not willing to climb !

  20. Cruise – very true. Blogging has ignited the fire and made people interested in the stuff you mentioned. I’m a techie guy but my html skills are way inferior than most of you guys šŸ™‚ I can’t even design my header ! I’m basically a plug and play blogger and will probably remain as such waiting for super templates to come šŸ™‚

  21. hahahahaha…o mi god, beri nice pilipino husbandry.

    lol @ computer shows. Same here, I’d just salivate at the new models.

    more lol @ blinds. šŸ™‚

    It’s true that people really have to follow the ladder up. There’s a need to climb slowly so as not to trample on other people’s rice bowl. Well, there are people who have no bones at all and suck it up just to get to where they want to be.

    **btw, I really like your cartoons here.

    Thanks for sharing, this made me laugh. šŸ™‚

  22. Ipanema – you’re welcome and glad to know that you have taken the 18+ joke in stride šŸ™‚ I love that Asian theme in you – rice bowls instead of trample on other people’s mashed potatoes ..LOL šŸ™‚

  23. lol…dito ako sa Asia noh? Anong mashed potatoes ka dyan. Kayo pede. Ako di bagay. šŸ™‚

    This is relaly funny post. šŸ™‚

  24. bwahahahaha…susme! bugbog pala aabutin mo pag nagreklamo ka lolz pero kung ako yan…sige medyo hindi na ako nakakakita…pero si husband naman bulag na talaga…hrhrhr joke.

    “it was only my desire to be different from the pack that I made an effort to learn how, all by myself. :-D”

    jeez paano na lang kami na wala pa rin alam sa mga html na yan? hehe

  25. Ipanema – .. how about french fries? .. haha

  26. Verns – hahaha mas mabangis ka pa ha. Glad you didn’t mind the dark joke which is intended for mature audiences..:) As for html, pareho lang tayo Inday..LOL šŸ™‚

  27. Undoubtedly, Apple computers were quite incredible from the start; however, the elitist attitude that swept its proponents and developers turned the public off, I among them. It was Apple, after all, who developed the graphic interface — what a joy, especially for the DOS-challenged … hehehe.

    After many years of using a PC, I’ve recently switched back to a Mac. And fell in love with it once again šŸ™‚

  28. i’ve also switched to a mac recently. not bad so far. i couldn’t deal with the pc’s viruses anymore. also, i think mac “stole” the idea of windows from xerox. steve jobs bought it from them…by force, i think.

  29. Eric – totally agree with you. The Mac was a class in itself from inception, totally incomparable with the IBM XT when it came out. Consumers still go for cost even nowadays. It they could do the same thing with a PC for 1/3 of the price they will do it. Today I could get a Dell laptop for $600 or amortize it for something ridiculous like $18 a month – compare that to a Mac laptop that would cost 3 times as much !

  30. Wil – very true. The mouse concept was Xerox’s invention. Mac’s user-friendliness and overall productivity is totally unbeatable but the cost is still high. The iMac, which is Mac in a small box where you plug in your standard Windows peripherals – mouse, keyboard, monitor is about as expensive as a Dell laptop šŸ™‚

  31. Totally agree with you with the Apple computer! Mac rocks! šŸ™‚

    You know what… we don’t have ATMs in Cambodia yet. Heck, we couldn’t even get a personal checking account until we personally talked to the president of the bank (yes… the president… al the way to the top)!

  32. Toe – LOL ! people are still keeping their money under their beds, don’t they šŸ™‚

  33. heyyyyy! Big Bro I’m part of your mature audience hrhrhr but then again you might have a different definition of mature lolz

  34. Verns.. hahaha.. let’s just say my definition of mature audience is pretty flexible, 18+ for starters šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

