Thoughts on Valentine’s Day

It’s Valentine’s Day once again and the world celebrates that special day when lovers express their undying love for one another and pamper each other with all sorts of things, from greeting cards to expensive gifts and outrageous getaways.

Whatever this Valentine day means to you – whether it is a celebration of your relationship, a promise to work on your relationship for the better, a vow to improve your performance or even winning that unrequited love by hook or by crook, this DAY is your day pal!

On this wonderful day I dedicate a very special song to honor your loved one and the wonderful times you have shared together and for those still waiting for Prince Charming or Cinderella, the times that you will share together. It matters not whether it is love gone by, love lost, love still going strong , unrequited love or love still to come. The person you have been with, still with or will be with will be one that would have changed you to make this life worth living.

With this song, soar in the heavens together with your loved one and whisper the words ” it means so much to me to be the one who’s telling you , that you’re beautiful.”

( pls turn your speakers on)

BEAUTIFUL by Gordon Lightfoot

At times I just don’t know
How you could be anything but beautiful
I think that I was made for you
And you were made for me

And I know that I won’t ever change
We’ve been friends through rain or shine
For such a long, long time

Laughing eyes and smiling face
It seems so lucky just to have the right
Of telling you with all my might
You’re beautiful tonight

And I know that you won’t ever stray
Cause you’ve been that way from day to day
For such a long, long time

And when you hold me tight
How could life be anything but beautiful
I think that I was made for you
And you were made for me

And I know that I won’t ever change
We’ve been friends through rain or shine
For such a long, long time

Well, I must say it means so much to me
To be the one who’s telling you
I’m telling you, that you’re beautiful.

27 Responses

  1. Unrequited love on Valentines ? Hahaha.. Have a good one , BW.

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your loved ones. I hope your wife will send you a gift through your office again. That was sooo cute of her. πŸ™‚

  3. What lovely lyrics. I was not familiar with the song, actually (kaya pinanood ko yung YouTube hehe). Thanks for sharing! Hapi balentayms. πŸ™‚

  4. seen the video, alam mo ba yang ang pangarap ko mag paragliding, tapos kung makakasama mo sa himpapawid yung minamahal mo, pra kayong si superman at louise lane. happy v-day

  5. Ngek! Balentayns na pala bukas. Happy Valentine’s na lang sa yo at sa lahat!

  6. Wishing you and “kumander” a happy valentine.

    snglguy also lifted one of Gordon Lightfoot songs dedicated to someone he said may not be aware of hers being his valentines.

  7. hey Big bro!

    Happy NOah’s Ark Day! hehehe

    Uhhhmmm what’s with Gordon Lightfoot pala? Parang sikat ata sha ngayon hehehe one of his song was also blogged by Sngl hrhrhr πŸ™‚

  8. Happy Valentines Day !
    Enjoy the day !

  9. Whatta coincidence! Haha, I also posted another Gordon Lightfoot song in my post for Valentine’s day. I’m pretty sure you’re familiar with that song…

    For what it’s worth, Happy V’day to you and your “boss”. LOL πŸ˜€

  10. Hey! I just came from Snglguy’s blog and he posted a Gordon Lightfoot song as well, I love these coincidences.

    Happy Hearts Day to you BW!

  11. Ah, Gordon Lightfoot … his “If You Could read My Mind” will always be an all-time favorite.

    Hope you Valentine’s was fun!

  12. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    pwede ka bang i-link?

  13. Irrealis – hey, hope you are celebrating Valentine’s in Seoul too !

  14. Ipanema – Happy Valentine’s to you too. Good news is she didn’t else I’d be embarrased again ! Next year, I have to take a day off on Valentines para sigurado hahaha πŸ™‚

  15. Iskoo – same here.. Paragliding would be awesome man, esp with your girl πŸ™‚ THat’s what I’d call a real date! Hope you had a great V Day celebration bro πŸ™‚

  16. Vic – I actually had an officemate years ago who personally knew Gordon Lightfoot. This guy drove daily from Orilla, Ontario, Gordon’s hometown, 2 hours one way to get to work. At that time he told me Gordon has ulcers which didn’t surprise me when I learned about the surgery. Lightfoot seemed to have done well with the operation. Last year he had a 2 day concert at Hummingbird center πŸ™‚

  17. Sidney – when I woke up this morning the snow was 15 cms. Man, I had to excavate my driveway to be able to drive out πŸ™‚ But no worries – the storm was not a damper to the celebration. Hope you had a good Vday celebration too πŸ™‚

  18. Sngl – what a coincidence man ! Halatang we belong to the same generation, LOL πŸ™‚ Buti na lang hindi The Platters hahaha. Happy Vday to you too bro:)

  19. Alernati – strange coincidence indeed. I hadn’t blog for 2 days and didn’t really know until I read Vic’s post! Hey, hope you had a great Vday celebration too πŸ™‚

  20. Eric – yep, If You Could Read My Mind is probably Gordon Lightfoot’s signature song. Strangely though, a lot of female artists scored very well with the song that people don’t even realize that Lightfoot is the original! Hope you had fun with Vday too πŸ™‚

  21. Leah – Happy Valentine’s to you too. Of course it will be my pleasure if you link me πŸ™‚ Thanks.

  22. That’s a beautiful song. And you play the guitar pala.

    I’m not familiar with Gordon Lightfoot’s songs though I’ve heard about him. Narinig ko na rin yata yung If you could read my mind.

  23. Nicehart – yes ma’am, I can play the guitar πŸ™‚ I’m not a Lenny Kravitz nor Eric Clapton to but I once put my daughter to sleep when she was cranky, still a baby, by playing the guitar. I put her in bed, took my guitar and sang Dungawin Mo Hirang softly, plucking the strings, LOL.. The song became her lullaby until she was 3 years old:)

  24. Belated Happy Valentine! Did you give flowers to your wife? πŸ™‚

  25. Rhodora -belated Happy Valentine’s to you as well! Nope, didn’t give flowers this time but did give her a necklace πŸ™‚

  26. Truly a wonderful song bro in fact I was singing it on our karaoke system just this afternoon and mighty glad that it wasn’t difficult to sing as it sounded like.

  27. Major Tom – good for you πŸ™‚ yep, the song isn’t incredibly hard to sing really. Lightfoot’s songs are in fact folkish and quite easy on the throat πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

