The Most Dangerous Jobs

I haven’t been watching much TV lately and it’s been eons since I watched a soap opera- unless American and Canadian Idol shows are classified as such – but I can’t seem to pass up on the episodes of Most Dangerous Catchbeing regularly broadcast on TLC ( The Learning Channel). The thought of the deadly and gruelling task of fishing the cold and icy Bering Sea in the dead of the night for giant king crabs crawling in the ocean seabed sends shivers down my spine. The episodes aren’t scripted or anything – they’re real. Scenes of deckhands falling overboard and fishing boats capsizing and crew drowning into the treacherous waters fall into the category of “disturbing material content” of a TV broadcast. So what the heck are these people killing themselves for? All for that highly prized King Crab whose legs can ding you between $30-$50 a pound. Is the costly pursuit justified? Well, I would take King Crab legs instead of lobster anytime no kidding. The meat is sweet and succullent and you don’t need a leg cracker and mess up your hands. A kitchen scissor often does the trick to let you extract that slab of white leg meat that tastes glorious when dipped in vinegar with garlic Pinoy style.

In one episode the fishing trawler departs from port to head to the fishing grounds and the crew each calls their families to say goodbye promising to return much like a soldier going to war. Thinking that lives were lost to catch this delicacy sure does leave a sour taste in one’s mouth.

Here’s some statistics(U.S.) on the most dangerous civilian jobs :

Rank Occupation Death rate/100,000

1. Fishers and fishing workers /118.42
2. Logging workers/ 92.93
3. Aircraft pilots /66.94
4. Structural iron and steel workers /55.65
5. Refuse and recyclable material collectors/ 43.86
6. Farmers and ranchers /41.17
7. Electrical power line installers/repairers/ 32.78
8. Driver/sales workers and truck drivers/ 29.19
9. Miscellaneous agricultural workers/ 23.210
10. Construction laborers /22.7

BLOGGER YOU WANT TO MEET MEME

I was tagged by Snglguy with this meme. It’s a rather controversial meme because we have to put in names but since this is a game ( don’t you think so?) I hope people don’t get offended aka mag pusong mamon πŸ™‚ I think the creator of this meme wanted to infuse a bit of fun and intrigue on the blogging crowd πŸ™‚

I have been saying all the while that our anonymity adds thrill and mystery to personal blogging πŸ™‚ It is one feature that provides people the opportunity to express themselves their alter egos without fear of prejudice, embarrassment or backlash. Yes, it is terrific because I can multicast my thoughts in the blogosphere much like searching for alien listeners in the outer space and waiting for feedback πŸ™‚ Having said this, there are quite a few people in my personal circle who happen to know and read my blog and have given me personal feedback. In effect I am not blogging with absolute anonymity.

I believe it is OK to meet with up with bloggers on a personal arrangement but not in a conference type setting. The question I want to ask all of you is – if I show up at the Pinoy bloggers summit and shake everybody’s hands and say – β€œhi, I’m BW and it is my pleasure to meet you β€œ will it jeopardize my much valued anonymity ? The summit I’m sure would be great for those who are blogging for literary and business reasons but not for those who desire anonymity. Comments, anyone ?

Now in response to this meme, let’s just say that my criteria for wanting to meet up would be with those who I have blogged with for a long time, to unveil the mystery that shrouds them or consummate the virtual friendship into real friendship with some of them. Very likely, these would be bloggers I have interacted with through email.

Bloggers I would want to meet :

A round of beer with long time blog pals Snglguy-who my wife calls Snuggle Guy πŸ™‚ – to thank him for doing some of the ranting for me about my pet peeves – PLDT monopolistic practices and substandard customer service, actors becoming politicians( grrrrrr..) ; Abaniko, who is able to blog with one sentence and get away with it and Major Tom, one of the very first bloggers I interacted with who I think has the potential to be a fiction writer.

Senor Enrique whose blog is very educational on the history of Manila , to find how it feels like to repatriate himself back to Pinas after living for so long in NYC and Sidney on his semi-retired, seemingly stress free life in Pinas. Since both are photography nuts and intent on pursuing it with passion, a discussion on photography withy these gentlemen would be very interesting.

The enigmatic Ipanema to personally wish her well in the days to come and to find out if she is a medical doctor πŸ™‚

Verns, my kababayan who I think is very imaginative , self-driven and a sparkplug – someone I would like to have in my team πŸ™‚

Tin-tin, for her youthful exuberance and self-confidence. At one point I sort of disagreed with her comment and she came back on my next post with .. please. No errors in my comments this time.. please.. I thought that was very cute and I want to make up for my apparent meanness hahaha πŸ™‚

Alternati who says she’s an architect and who totally impresses me with her writing skills . Her posts are wonderfully crafted with stunning details which gives me the impression that she works as a TV-movie critic for a Fleet Street magazine πŸ™‚

Jayred who is blogging from Switzerland and who I greatly respect for taking time out for mission work in Ukraine πŸ™‚

Kathy who I promised an atomic clock [ it is still a promise :)] and talk about her interesting work as a scientist in Japan πŸ™‚

Noypetes who doesn’t have a blog yet, to talk about the exciting long distance bike cruises he had which I think is awesome πŸ™‚

Real bloggers Teacher Sol and J. Angelo Racoma who went on to pursue greater and bigger things and have stopped blogging actively. I feel the urge of meeting them and see how they are doing in their respective field of endeavors.

BTW I am posting this from a Calgary hotel where I am on a business trip for the latter part of the week. I’m not going to bitch about the weather this time which is in the + 5 compared to -29 C when I was here in November. At least now I feel I am in civilization and not in the artic tundra πŸ™‚ Nope , there are no igloos around here and people don’t travel in sleds LOL πŸ™‚

All those in my blogroll are great bloggers and I value their friendship but for this post, I have to select a few names and shoot myself in the foot in the process so your understanding is most appreciated πŸ™‚

Our mysterious nature is what keeps personal blogging more interesting !

59 Responses

  1. I’ll be more than happy to hang out with you one of these days.I might be swinging by your province this summer along with 15 of my riding buddies. Were planning to stay a day or two in Ont. i have a couple of friends who live in Missausauga(did i spell it right?)also. If you don’t mind joining us for a night, you’re more than welcome to PARTYYYY! Check out my site at http://www.noypetes.multiply.com

  2. Thanks for including me on the list bro, I surely want to unravel the mystery behind the BW mystery, and see how that voice sounds like.

    About the Most Dangerous Jobs, like you I have become so interested in that docu-film, when it was shown on discovery network. I have in fact seen it over and over again. It was amazing how they had to merely guess where the crabs could be and that despite the very turbulent seas.

    It was a little eerie when on one scene, a grave was shown indicating some who have died while fishing for crabs in the high seas.

  3. Oh, thanks for the thought. How I wish! πŸ™‚

    *Your most dangerous jobs list surprises me. I didn’t know farmers fall into this category. I would love to own tracks land and turn it into a ranch when I’m old and weary. πŸ™‚

  4. BW, when are you coming over?
    SeΓ±or Enrique and I will be delighted to take your portrait! πŸ˜‰

  5. Thanks very much for the invite Neopetes. That’s Mississauga, sort of a variant of Mississippi, names from the rich native Indian history of this land. I’ll sure check your website out πŸ™‚

  6. Major Tom – hey, no problem bro. I was once toying the idea of a podcast but I then found that there are many text to speech podcast software available nowadays which then means you would be able to select the voice you want LOL πŸ™‚

    Believe me I want to try going on those king crab boats for a day but not in winter though πŸ™‚

  7. Ipanema – BTW the first time I commented on your blog, with your profile and blogname, I never thought you were a Pinoy until I saw Tagalog words in your post πŸ™‚ I got the feeling that you were working for the United Nations, that sort of thing, hence the enigma πŸ™‚ It would be sure nice to meet you in person πŸ™‚

  8. Sidney – now that portrait thing scares me LOL πŸ™‚ I have plans of going next year because my wife and daughter went this year but there’s also that probability they will be coming too πŸ™‚ – you know how it is LOL πŸ™‚ It would be fun to join you and Eric in your dimsum trips to Binondo πŸ™‚

  9. bw, do you know a good restaurant in To that serve king crab legs? Just in case verns might pay us a visit someday.

    Well, most visitors to by site already seen me and the bibs since I posted a lot of our pictures and a few of my acquintances and friends (not commenting though) visit and check what I may have written that’s why I don’t ever write anything not so nice bout them or they might start making it an issue after a few rounds of beer. I still would like to meet verns though, so let me know if you are in the neighborhood…

  10. What, scientists don’t have a place in the top ten most dangerous jobs?!! I should say, I’m pretty disappointed. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for including me in your list, I’m pretty intrigued with you, too – you’ll definitely be on my list! πŸ™‚ So, do you have any business trips in Japan? Just tell me so I will know when I can collect MY atomic clock. Hehe. And in exchange, I will pay for the karaoke entrance fee, where you can give us a live demonstration of your singing prowess. πŸ˜‰

  11. Vic – hahaha. so that’s why you don’t write abut them.

    There’s this guy driving a refrigerated truck who comes to my house once a month selling frozen seafood stuff like scallops, halibut, salmon and king crab legs. He sells the crab legs for $90 a 2 kilo box – no taxes. I don’t know of any restaurant in town that serve Alaskan king crab legs. I’ve seen them occasionally in buffets but they don’t look like they’re king crab though.

    If Verknsy is in town, no worries
    we treat her with king crab legs and bbq at my house πŸ™‚

  12. Kathy – be careful toying with those lasers and dangerous chemicals !

    hahaha..now you’ll really put me to the test on the karaoke eh πŸ™‚ Japanese folks are pretty honest so how about if I mail it to you when I get it? That’s probably much better πŸ™‚

  13. Ipanema – re farmers being on the dangerous list, I think it has to do with the use of mechanized farm implements here. I think farmers here are the toughest folks taking into the amount of work they do! No wonder why most of them live longer πŸ™‚ Farms here are almost a family thing, passed on from generation to generation.

    Owning a farm back in Pinas would mean less work because there’s a lot of cheap labor available there. Definitely nice to have when you’re as you said old and weary πŸ™‚

  14. Woah! I didn’t see that coming. Fish having the highest occupational deathrate?!

    Interesting meme. I totally agree with you, I met some bloggers more on a personal (meaning a ver few numbers) setting. I don’t really like attending blog summits and alike.

  15. Noypetes – it’s actually Mississagua and I also botched up your name! Tough to be blogging in a hotel room after waking up on a Sat morning πŸ™‚

  16. Ferdz – yes, and if you see the king crab episodes on TV you’d definitely agree. It isn’t only the danger but the amount of physical strain these crab fishermen have to go through ! And you bet the giant crabs are counted piece by piece as they are hauled in from the pods – big steel cages reeled in from the sea bed πŸ™‚

    That’s also my feeling, that a personal meeting is a much better setting πŸ™‚

  17. β€œhi, I’m BW and it is my pleasure to meet you β€œ will it jeopardize my much valued anonymity ?” – Only when you owe money to the person you’re shaking hands with, haha. πŸ˜€

    As for those King Crab Fishermen (are they called fishermen?), I really admire their tenacity. I mean, heading out to sea in a winter storm is no joke. I always make it a point to watch The Discovery channel’s “World’s Most Dangerous Catch” series and at the same time try to imagine myself biting into that succulent carb meat. πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend, bro.

  18. Sngl – LOL ! That’s funny bro πŸ™‚

    It’s really hard to imagine what those guys are going through. Sub-zero temp is bad enough but being splashed with very cold sea water incessantly is torture πŸ™‚ Falling into the freezing water is death within minutes. Many years ago as I was fishing with buddies at the bank of a channel where boats go through, very near the mouth of the lake, I slipped on a rock and fell into the water. It was almost autumn and we were wearing light jackets. The water was about 10 ft and I remember I was thinking more about my cell phone and my pager getting wet πŸ™‚ Boy, it was cold – and how much more in winter !

  19. Hey Neopetes sounds good!

    Did you know that the early pinoy immigrants taken here by the Americans worked mostly in the fish canneries of Alaska? Some of them ventured into the crab fishing business, some got bored with the hectic routine of cleaning and scaling thousands of fish on the line. Carrying the seafaring genes, most of them got out into the ocean as crews on crab boats. Being a night shift counter sales clerk and cashier for a convenience store or gas stations (7-11, Arco, AM-PM etc.) is one of the world’s most dangerous job. Cab drivers in New York is another dangerous job.

  20. Noypetes – yes I heard about the early migrant Pinoys working in canneries πŸ™‚

    Yes, convenience store clerks in the graveyard shift are very dangerous I agree. Taxis in Toronto nowadays have built in cameras by law and every occupant is taken a shot and relayed to the police station. THere is also a panic button on the cab that the driver presses where if anyone sees the small light flashing at the tail end of the car he/she should call 911. There is a note beside the light that says so.

  21. lol. πŸ™‚ There are some who don’t know too until I write in Tagalog. My blog isn’t registered in any countries…e.g. Mapstats ask for location, I chose none.

    With the line of thing I am into, the first group is almost an exclusive one which is hard to penetrate, owing to the kind of occupations they have. However, I was on the patient’s side and I’m fortunate enough to meet good ones. The rest just followed.

    Ok, I got the explanation on the farming thing. Thank you. And yes, it would be nice to meet you too. When time is right perhaps. πŸ™‚

  22. it’s too late for me to be anonymous, but I don’t think I would change the way I blog if I was anonymous. I’m just blogging to get some of my ideas/thoughts out there or just to express myself. I look at it as a challenge — can i blog about this or that topic using my real identity and not get in trouble with the real people in my life? hehe.

    I also prefer a one-on-one meeting as opposed to the blog convention b/c then you don’t have to be stuck with other bloggers you have nothing in common with. although i’ve never been to a blog convention so they might be good. but if you want to retain your anonymity at those conventions, you can always wear a zorro mask or a presidential mask to conceal your identity. hehe

  23. Wil – I’m sure if everyone knows your name you would think twice blogging about topics that would put you in trouble hehe πŸ™‚

    You know these memes get us into trouble πŸ™‚ When we’re sailing along just fine they’d be asking who do you want to meet? LOL πŸ™‚

  24. Hi! I sure would be thrilled to meet you when I go to Canada…or you can probably swing by Washington DC so I can tour you around the Smithsonian Museums, the White House and the Capitol which is only 5 blocks away from where I live.

    I haven’t visited your blog for quite sometime now, it’s very different now, more lively interaction, more blogger friends. I stopped bloghopping but I never stopped blogging, but I really miss my blogger friends. I am pursuing my National Board certification, after getting the certification I’m going to reconnect with you guys again!

  25. Teacher Sol – nice to hear from you again ! I know you have been very dedicated to the Pinoy Teachers Network organization which you spearheaded. Well, good luck to your certification exams !

  26. 7 sa mga nabanggit mong blggers nabibisita ko rin, mahuhusay nga sila.

    nakasakay na ako sa banka ng mga mangingisda, grabe nakakatakot sa laot. husay ng mga fisherman! kaya sana huwag baratin sa palengke πŸ™‚

  27. “hi, I’m BW and it is my pleasure to meet you β€œ will it jeopardize my much valued anonymity?”

    – how would you react if you meet Charlie (of Charlie’s Angels)? Your personal supposition about that person would burst into bubbles, correct? =)

  28. Wait. I thought you prefer to remain anonymous (which implies that you’re not meeting any blogger) to keep blogging more ‘exciting’. But I wanna meet you and the rest you mentioned just the same. πŸ™‚

  29. Why not a blog meet for everyone who can come, say – in a plush resort? I’ll sponsor it.. . Ooopss… joke about the sponsorship .. (though I wish I could..) Hehehe.

  30. My hubby got me hooked in that Dangerous Catch series as well. It is quite scary but very interesting.

    EB sounds really interesting. I would love to meet with some of the bloggers you mentioned and you included.

    We probably have crossed paths somehow and just dont know about it.

  31. anong team? basketball team? lolz

    Thanks for including me in the list Big Bro…I’m touched πŸ™‚

    wow! king crab legs?! that would be a treat hehehe sana nga makapunta ako jan someday πŸ™‚

    p.s.
    hala mo gid. my sure gid ko ya nga malain buot kay la mo sha nabutang sa lista mo! hala kaaaa! hrhrhrhr

  32. I think I’ll buy a lotto ticket when I go out later. If lucky enough to hit the jackpot, I’ll ask Sidney to open a cool cafe cum photo gallery with me where all local and balikbayan bloggers can come in to chill.

    As with Sidney, it would be a great pleasure to meet and hang out with you, BW! And yes, we’ll trade photography talks/tips, including life in this old city that I love — Manila πŸ™‚

  33. Ipanema – hey, no worries about the meeting pal. Remember I have to respond to the meme – *wink πŸ™‚

  34. Iskoo – tks.. regarding the mangingisda sa atin sa Pinas, wala tayo masyadong safety regulations basta sumampa ka na lang sa banka na may motor, sige na ! Dito medyo marami pang kuskos balungos at may safety courses pa at may konditiones depende sa laki ng boat at horsepower ng makina πŸ™‚

  35. Jeff – agree that if Charlie revealed himself, the show would lose its mystery but I’d meet up with the Angels rather than Charlie, LOL πŸ™‚

    Know what? This meme is really unfair πŸ™‚ It’s not the selection of names – I’m prepared to shoot myself in the foot for it but it’s whether the person you select wants to meet up with you !hehe πŸ™‚

  36. Abaniko – hahaha.. what I mean by that is the conference setting but I believe it is OK to meet up with bloggers on a selective basis, at least those you feel like you want to establish a bit more friendship or real friendship if its the right word πŸ™‚

  37. Rhodora – if you sponsor it we would call it “Rhodora and Friends” meeting hehe.. That would be a dandy won’t it ? And no blogger forums, no speakers talking about blogging would be even better πŸ™‚

  38. Leah – I like the show a lot and sometime watch the late night replays πŸ™‚ Yes you are right – we may have probably met already ! I know someone whose name is Leah and she just might be you LOL πŸ™‚

  39. Verns – I’d wear Donald Trump’s hat ala Apprentice and say – ” You’re hired !” πŸ™‚

    Sino bala ina nga tinuga ang gina siling mo – babaye o agi ayhan ? hahaha.. As I said, I’m willing to shoot myself in the foot for this , LOL πŸ™‚

  40. Eric – that would be real swell. – Senor Enrique and Sidney’s blogger’s joint … hehe πŸ™‚ Hey I’m sure you’re having fun with your new hobby.. Can’t wait for your blog on tips for nude photography.. LOL πŸ™‚

  41. Bloggers’ Joint… ummm… Yes! that gives me an idea.. Thanks.. Eric, thanks, BW! Haha.. secret lang, kung saan ko gagamitin…

    O sige na nga, sasabihin ko na – I was thinking of a nice name for an internet cafe.. at parang maganda yata ang Bloggers’ Joint. hehe…

    If ever magbubukas ako ng ganitong joint, sure ko magki-click ito sa mga bloggers.. But of course, they have to pay for their orders and the services…. lol!

  42. pilot is included in the most dangerous job? i thought riding an airplane is the safest way to travel? hehee.

    and thank you for including me in your list. i’m really honored. but i can’t recall that incident. hehehe ;p

  43. I watched a show before on Dangerous Jobs on National Geo but I don’t think it’s the same show. One of the jobs I saw there that creeped me out was the guy that changed the blinking red light on top of the Empire State Building. That light at the top of the spire that warns air vehicles of the building. I can’t imagine climbing atop the building to change the bulb every week or so. Scaaary

    I totally agree with you that the appeal of blogging comes from a certain amount of anonimity on both sides (reader and blogger)

    I am an undercover movie critic. I’ve had celebrities sending me death threats after I mutilated their movies. So I’m hiding. Don’t tell anyone. πŸ˜›

  44. Rhodora – Bloggers Joint sounds cool for an internet cafe… hey, you better register the business name before anyone else gets it ! Put in wireless service as well and bill them for usage and your joint rocks ! πŸ™‚

  45. Tin – yes, planes are safer than cars and the aircraft pilot category not only covers the airline but the other pilots as well who fly planes for a living, be it a bush plane, cargo, rescue, etc..

    THe posts were sometime in Dec but no worries Tin, as I said, it was cute, hehe πŸ™‚

  46. Alternati – those guys cleaning up windows of high rise buildings and maintaining large stuctures like painting the Golden Gate bridge are pretty brave indeed! Tough and scary are apt words:(

    I really believe what you said…LOL πŸ™‚ You possess an encyclopedic knowledge of movies and TV shows !

  47. Aww…I’m touched, BW. Nasama ako sa listahan! And to think just because I went to Ukraine for a missions trip. Thanks!

    ****

    You know what? I don’t know how to properly eat a crab. Usually, it’s my Mom who does the ‘opening-of-the-crab ritual’ for me. πŸ™‚ Shame on me. (“Pelele” daw kasi mga kamay ko.)

  48. My stand on blogging anonymously: “Anonymity breeds (complete) honesty.”

  49. Jayred – I’ve been one of your fans for a long time LOL πŸ™‚ and I even admired you when more you went to Ukraine on a mission trip. I like people who do noble things as what you did πŸ™‚

    What’s great about King Crab legs is you don’t need to worry about getting messed up and you’ll probably get more meat than a regular crab !

    Yes agree, anonymity breeds honesty because you can air out your feelings without fear πŸ™‚

  50. and the most dangerous jobs almost always require more expensive insurance 😦

  51. Tutubi – you bet. And they can be refused insurance too! They say some medical docs in the US pay $50K a year to protect themselves from lawsuits.

  52. Where do the Police ansd Firefighters fit in on this list?

  53. Kalvin – policemen and firefighter deaths ( death rate per 100,000) arent as high compared to the jobs listed in the post.

  54. America’s most dangerous jobs
    Survey: Loggers and fisherman still take the most risk; roofers record sharp increase in fatalities.
    September 23, 2005: 2:08 PM EDT
    By Les Christie, CNN/Money staff writer

    More in jobs

    β€’ Big jobs that pay badly

    β€’ 3 career moves to make now

    80+ NYC Area Fixer Uppers
    Better than Foreclosures, HUD Homes Make $3K to $50K per Property.
    http://www.myHouseDeals.com/NYC-area

    Accurate Market Forecasts
    Up to 80% accurate futures and commodities predictions from Vantagepoint market…
    http://www.tradertech.com

    Foreclosure Seminars: New York
    Purchase Foreclosures below Market value. Learn how- Apr 2- 5.
    http://www.myeducationnetwork.com

    Bullion Gold and Silver Investment
    We are California Numismatic Investments, one of America’s largest gold and…
    http://www.golddealer.com

    Enter Keyword(s): Help

    Enter a City:

    Select a State:
    – All United States – Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

    Select a Category:
    – All Job Categories – AccountingAdmin & ClericalAutomotiveBankingBiotechBroadcast – JournalismBusiness DevelopmentConstructionConsultantCustomer ServiceDesignDistribution – ShippingEducationEngineeringEntry Level – New GradExecutiveFacilitiesFinanceGeneral BusinessGeneral LaborGovernmentGroceryHealthcareHotel – HospitalityHuman ResourcesInformation TechnologyInstallation – Maint – RepairInsuranceInventoryLegalLegal AdminManagementManufacturingMarketingNurseOtherPharmaceuticalProfessional ServicesPurchasing – ProcurementQA – Quality ControlResearchRestaurant – Food ServiceRetailSalesScienceSkilled Labor – TradesStrategy – PlanningSupply ChainTelecommunicationsTrainingTransportationWarehouse

    – Search by Company

    NEW YORK (CNN/Money) – There’s a memorial in Gloucester, Massachusetts that stands at the city’s harbor edge. It’s a fisherman leaning into the wind and peering out to the open sea as if searching for a safe route home — or perhaps a lost companion.

    A semicircle of bronze tablets containing the names of more than 10,000 Gloucestermen lost in fishing accidents over the years lies at his feet, a monument to one of America’s most dangerous occupations.

    In some occupations, danger comes with job. That’s seen in the latest national census of fatal occupational injuries from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, released Friday.

    The good news is that 2004 was one of the safest years on record — only 5,703 fatal injuries occurred on the job. Still, that was up slightly from the year before when 5,575 died, and there were categories of fatal injuries that had risen more substantially.

    Hispanic workers, for example, died at a rate 11 percent higher than 2004. Older worker deaths were up 10 percent.

    Fatal injuries from being struck by objects jumped 12 percent…that is now the third most common fatal event, surpassing homicide on the job, which dropped 9 percent to 551. That continued a steep decline from a peak of 1,080 on-the-job murders in 1994.

    Highway accidents on the job were the No. 1 killer — 1,374 died last year, 21 more than the year before.

    By occupation
    Nearly half of all fatal work injuries occurred among workers who drive or move material around for a living. Truck drivers, forklift operators, trash collectors, and cabbies are all part of this group.

    Construction workers had 9 percent more fatalities. Of these, roofers recorded 94 deaths, a sharp increase from the 55 they incurred the year before.

    The highest rates of fatal injuries — the most per worker employed — occurred among loggers, pilots, and fishermen.

    Loggers recorded 85 fatalities in 2004, a rate of 92.4 deaths for every 100,000 workers, more than 22 times the rate among all workers. Loggers deal with tremendous weights when they fell trees and it’s not always possible to know exactly where a tree will fall or when. Too, they often work on steep hillsides, in poor weather, and in a hurry.

    Aircraft pilots matched that death rate of 92.4 and 109 of them died on the job. Many of these were in the general aviation category, small aircraft manned by bush pilots, air-taxi pilots, and crop-dusters. Their equipment can be old and the maintenance less stringent than among the big airlines, adding to the danger.

    The fishing industry is a perennial leader as measured by death rate and 2004 was no different; 38 fishermen died, a rate of 86.4 per 100,000. Drowning is the most common cause of death in this industry, but fishermen also suffer from fatal accidents in handling some of the heavy equipment that the modern fisheries employ.

    The 10 most dangerous jobs by fatality rate are:

    Rank Occupation Death rate/100,000 Total deaths
    1 Logging workers 92.4 85
    2 Aircraft pilots 92.4 109
    3 Fishers and fishing workers 86.4 38
    4 Structural iron and steel workers 47.0 31
    5 Refuse and recyclable material collectors 43.2 35
    6 Farmers and ranchers 37.5 307
    7 Roofers 34.9 94
    8 Electrical power line installers/repairers 30.0 36
    9 Driver/sales workers and truck drivers 27.6 905
    10 Taxi drivers and chauffeurs 24.2 67

  55. But, we are told, cops have a dangerous job
    author: Notso Facto
    We frequently hear police officers complain how dangerous their jobs are, using guilt as a motivator to extract

    After September 11, it became almost impossible to criticize police officers’ misbehavior without prefacing comments with genuflections toward officers’ relative “heroism.” “They risk their lives for us every day,” was the common refrain. And of course, in a sense, that’s true
    .

    Police officers’ jobs are more dangerous than most — 11.6 officers per 100,000 die on the job annually compared with 4.0 per 100,000, which is the national average for all occupations. But many common jobs are much more dangerous than a police officer’s, including groundskeepers, farmers, airline pilots, construction workers, and truck drivers.

    Police are trained to approach potential threats with overwhelming force, and are outfitted with numerous safety technologies (vests, helmets, etc.) that make their on-the-job deaths much less likely than for, say, lumberjacks. Multiple officers provide backup frequently even for routine traffic stops. And harsh punishment of copkillers — both ill treatment while in official hands and the threat of capital punishment — creates dramatic incentives even for the worst bad guys to avoid killing a peace officer.

    Indeed, a great many police deaths involve traffic accidents or friendly fire. Here’s a list compiled from federal sources concerning the relative danger of several jobs with higher-than-average fatality rates:

    Occupations more dangerous than being a police officer:

    Number of deaths per 100,000 employed Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries – 2001
    Timber cutting: 122.1
    Fishermen: 112.1
    Airplane pilots: 100.8
    Miners: 29.8
    Farmers: 28.0
    Construction laborers: 27.7
    Truck drivers: 25.0
    Groundskeepers: 15.0
    Laborers (non-construction): 14.2
    Bus drivers: 12.9
    Police and detectives: 11.6
    National average: 4.0

    Police claim that they need these salaries to live in Suffolk.. What about those who have spent over $70,000 of their own money for higher education plus years in the field to get the job posted below in Southampton town: SENIOR PLANNER
    ________________________________________

    The Town of Southampton is seeking a professional planner to assume the responsibilities of the position of Senior Planner with the Current Planning Division in the Department of Land Management. The annual salary for this position is $54,601. Specific duties include the following: reviews subdivision, site plan and special exception use and area variance applications; prepares staff reports to Planning Board and the Zoning Board of Appeals……. Minimum qualifications for this position are: graduation from a New York State or regionally accredited college or university with a Bachelors Degree in Planning, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Political Science, Economics, Geography, Environmental Studies, Civil Engineering, or a related field, and two (2) years of experience in the field of community or regional planning; or graduation from a New York State or regionally accredited college or university with a Bachelors Degree and three (3) years of experience in community or regional planning. Additional relevant graduate level education from a New York State or regionally accredited college or university may be substituted for experience on a year-for-year basis up to a maximum of two (2) years.

  56. Hi, BW.

    I just like to comment on your comment to my comment — ang gulo, LOL. You know what I mean na.

    You wrote: “Yes agree, anonymity breeds honesty because you can air out your feelings without fear.”

    ###

    Well, the main reason why I blog anonynously is to protect the privacy of the people I mention in my blog posts. I don’t really fear what people might say about my blog posts. I mean, being naturally outspoken, I can say the same things to their face also.

    But sometimes people abuse this anonymity thing in the blogosphere. They just lambast people without care. I am one of those who think that blogging comes with responsibility. We should always think of the consequences when we blog about something. Would it cause conflict? Would it invade the privacy of people? Have I fact checked my story? So the line is, THINK before blogging.

    I’d like sana to reveal my true identity as a blogger to add more credibility to my posts, but as I said, I’d like to protect the privacy of people (e.g. my husband, my in-laws, my classmates, etc.) I do mention in my stories. Ang mga Swisso pa naman very private people.

    (P.S. Parang naguluhan ako sa comment ko. Pasensya na. LOL. Happy Easter!)

  57. Jayred – its on a case to case basis I think. Some people do not have an issue revealing themselves to the world in their blog and that’s just fine. In my case, I don’t feel comfortable revealing myself.

    The purpose of my blog is to relax myself and release the thoughts that are in my brain – call that therapeutic or maybe I’m just begging to be heard ! I don’t feel the need to be identified for the simple reason – I don’t want to be sued !

    I happen to think that bothways – real or anonymous, people need to be responsible πŸ™‚

    Happy Easter to you too !

  58. Kalvin – nice for you to post these clippings but if you notice my post, I took these stats from a CNN report dated August 2006. You are posting data from September 2005.

  59. Yes, I do get what you mean. You have an opinion blog, and I think it’s best not to reveal your identity lest you be sued for libel. LOL

    To be honest, I don’t feel comfortable revealing my true identity as well. Blogging for me is just a form of self-expression. People don’t need to know the person behind the blog (in my case). It’s just a therapy for me in this land of silence. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

