40 Something Women

Someone sent me this email last week.

Correspondent Andy Rooney (CBS) had this as his epilogue in one of the 60 Minutes eposides :

Quote :

As I grow in age, I value women over 40 most of all. Here are just a few reasons why:

A woman over 40 will never wake you in the middle of the night and ask, “What are you thinking?” She doesn’t care what you think. If a woman over 40 doesn’t want to watch the game, she doesn’t sit around whining about it.. She does something she wants to do, and it’s usually more interesting. Women over 40 are dignified. They seldom have a screaming match with you at the opera or in the middle of an expensive restaurant. Of course, if you deserve it, they won’t hesitate to shoot you if they think they can get away with it. Older women are generous with praise, often undeserved. They know what it’s like to be unappreciated. Women get psychic as they age. You never have to confess your sins to a woman over 40. Once you get past a wrinkle or two, a woman over 40 is far sexier than her younger counterpart. Older women are forthright and honest. They’ll tell you right off if you are a jerk if you are acting like one. You don’t ever have to wonder where you stand with her. Yes, we praise women over 40 for a multitude of reasons. Unfortunately, it’s not reciprocal. For every stunning, smart, well-coiffed, hot woman over 40, there is a bald, paunchy relic in yellow pants making a fool of himself with some 22-year old waitress. Ladies, I apologize. For all those men who say, “Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?”, here’s an update for you. Nowadays 80% of women are against marriage. Why? Because women realize it’s not worth buying an entire pig just to get a little sausage!

Unquote :

Okay, I’ll take one for the team on the sausage bit LOL.. but what does Rooney really mean ? That women over 40 mellow down? If so, then that’s quite encouraging πŸ™‚ Rooney’s stat of 80% of women against marriage is quite startling. I wonder if this is supported by a study or purely anecdotal on his part.


GARBAGE BIN AT ENTRANCE OF TOILET

When I went to a cruise last year, the ship management was very wary of the outbreak of the Norovirus that constant reminders of proper hygiene to prevent the outbreak of was all over the place, TV included. One thing I noticed the presence of the garbage bin at the entrance of toilet doors. The garbage bin was meant to be used by those patrons exiting the toilet and not for those trying to get in. The instruction was that every patron exiting the toilet, other than the usual washing of hands with soap and water, must also scrub his/her hands with the antibacterial solution . When exiting, everyone must use a paper towel to open the door knob. Once out, the patron can dispose of the paper towel into the garbage bin. Make perfect sense to me and should be the case for every public toilet, not only in cruise ships. Come to think of it, the door knob of the toilet is being touched by all bodies exiting the toilet ! And you never knew if they washed their hands. Yikes!

THROWING STUFF AT THE AUDIENCE

We all see that familiar ritual of winning a tennis grand slam event. The champ hits all the balls in his pocket to the adoring crowd. On occasion, he would even hurl his tennis racquet into the stands. Nice souvenir ! Tennis racquets and balls are great but sometimes the excited champ takes his sweaty headband or wristband and throws them into the crowd. Nice souvenir ? Not if I don’t have a plastic bag, LOL. I couldn’t recall who it was but at one point the French Open champ took his sweat filled and clay soiled shirt and hurled it into the crowd. I read once that pro golfer Phil Mickelson gave his watch to a fan to apologize for hitting her with his ball after a drive. Nice gesture. I don’t think it was a Rolex but a Callaway sport watch would be likewise dandy. Some pros give away balls, hats or gloves. Pacquiao gave his flaming red boxing shorts he used to defeat Morales to Mayor Atienza who jogged the next day to show it off LOL. Athletes are revered by the fans and the tools of their trade are considered relics… as long as they don’t start throwing their mouthguards or jock straps into the crowd πŸ™‚

48 Responses

  1. true true about what Andy Rooney said about “40 something women” despite the following, which is part of a poem i wrote a few months back:

    Now nearing my golden years
    Far from perfect
    A waistline bursting in the seams
    Boobs crying for support
    Greying hair peeping, sometimes hiding
    Tiny varicoses seeping through my legs
    Patches of skin discoloration here and there
    Lasered eyes, drooping cheeks
    Eyelids in need of blepharoplasty
    Sigh
    What imperfections

  2. Sexymom – great poem πŸ™‚ I gather then that the slight imperfections has to do with what Rooney refers to as ” “they know what it’s like to be unappreciated” hehe πŸ™‚ But quite the contrary, there are women who started looking better when they turned 40 πŸ™‚

  3. Older women are forthright and honest. true to some, including me. blunt is sometimes more appropriate.

    …women realize it’s not worth buying an entire pig just to get a little sausage! there! i have something to hit back to a male friend who keeps telling me why buy the whole pig when i can purchase per kilo. he he gotta remember this, and oh… some women over 40 have a hard time remembering, so some guys need not worry ha ha ha just joking ah,..err…what did i say?

  4. That’s hilarious with the throwing of stuff to the audience!

    Lots of truth to what Andy Rooney said, but being here in Manila, can’t help but strain my neck at times while admiring some of our young(er) women … hahaha.

  5. I find older women intellectually stimulating. I find they have a lot more to talk about than the latest fashion or the latest chismiz. Yeah would wanna know that validity of that stats as well.

  6. Bingskee – as Rooney said “they’ll tell you right off if you are a jerk if you are acting like one”.. that’s brutally frank, isn’t it . hehe πŸ™‚ Now the poor memory – is that a positive or negative LOL πŸ™‚

  7. Eric – don’t know what else they’ll be throwing out to the crowd these days πŸ™‚

    With all the photo workshops you’ve been doing nowadays, I’m sure there is no shortage of good loking models who would pose for your camera hehe πŸ™‚

  8. Ferdz – there’s a saying that they’ll either be angels or devils when they turn 40 hehe πŸ™‚

    80% is a bit too high in my opinion although there’s these days there’s a trend of women wanting to have kids but partners. In a country like Canada where common law relationship ( living together but not married) is recognized as a union, meaning both can avail of tax and social benefits, the so called sanctity of marriage is being threatened.

  9. “…as long as they don’t start throwing their mouthguards or jock straps into the crowd…”

    – yuck… ewhhh… good thing I’m more into music than with sports…. ;p

  10. Hmmm.. and what about men? πŸ™‚

    But Andy Rooney is right. 40 something women don’t care anymore what their hubbies think… hehehe. And yes, they find things to do, while their hubbies watch a silly game – more interesting even – like blogging! lol!

  11. Andy Rooney is a funny guy. Some people call him a curmudgeon or a grumpy old man, but I say he’s a FUNNY grumpy old man. πŸ˜€ I enjoyed the one where he debated himself (Andy v Rooney) a la the Clinton v Dole “debates” on 60 Minutes a few years back. πŸ™‚

  12. Jeff – LOL.. on your abhorrence of mouthguards and jock straps haha πŸ™‚ Rock bands can be crazy sometimes you know πŸ™‚

    BTW the NBA leagues are now starting charge players who throw their wet jerseys into the crowd after a game.. THese guys make millions so a $125 charge is peanuts πŸ™‚

  13. Rhodora – men get paranoid when they get 40 πŸ™‚ When my wife turns 40 she’s probably ease up on me on my golf and fishing hehe πŸ™‚

  14. Wil – yeah, Rooney is a funny guy bit he got into an imbroglio one time with his politically incorrect statement. I guess when you are in the business he is in you’re bound to goof up at one point. Too bad I didn’t watch that interesting monologue debate πŸ™‚

  15. I sometimes catch Andy Rooney’s monologue on 60 minutes, but I think I missed this one. Yeah, he’s funny but he makes a lot of sense, don’t you think? My kids and I always laugh at his bushy eyebrows, though. I know, we’re mean. πŸ™‚

    I’m a 40-something woman, so I can very much relate to this. πŸ™‚ Don’t care what he thinks – check, psychic – check, know what it’s like to be unappreciated – check, and most importantly – I’ve given up screaming. Hate to admit it but I used to do that when I was younger, well, not in public but in private. πŸ™‚ So you’re right, we tend to mellow down.

  16. Ah, just the post I love! Thanks for giving tribute to all 40 something women. He’s so sensitive to women like us. And yes, we don’t care what others say. Been there done that. We’re comfortable with ourselves.

  17. Maybe, maybe… but I still prefer the company of younger women…

  18. Could this be a partial proof of the saying that “life begins at 40”?

  19. Didn’t Andy Rooney got into trouble a few years back because of a racial slur he made to an Asian-American journalist? I used to love his monologues at 60 minutes but I lost respect for the man after that incident.

    I really find it hard to believe that all 40-something women are what Rooney describes as such. I’ve met a lot of them who are still as clueless as when they were twenty…

  20. Women in their forties as long as they don’t have a bad “pustiso” job done ca. 70’s in Manila is fine with me. Oh! women who are more mature and active and take good care of their bodies and mind, wow!!!

  21. About women in their 40’s…can’t really relate hehe except for this—–>”She does something she wants to do, and it’s usually more interesting.” Hey! I am like that and I’m not even 30? hahahaha

  22. Niceheart – Rooney does stir up things occassionally and he makes sense most of the time. You’ve got a lot of checks hehe πŸ™‚ I guess mellowing down is probably a step in the right direction – it reduces stress for one thing πŸ™‚

  23. Sidney – can’t disagree with you there bro … hahaha πŸ™‚

  24. Sngl – I remember that incident where he had to apologize publicly for his indiscretion. You’re right – not all women who turn 40 are being reborn πŸ™‚ They could either mellow down or get high with the menopausal hormones prematurely LOL πŸ™‚

  25. Verns – hmmm… I think I can read between the lines with what you said naughty girl… hahaha πŸ™‚

  26. I love the sentiment of Rooney’s epilogue. It takes an evolved man to notice the things he noticed and a really gutsy man to write about it. Most straight men think with their “dumbsticks” (hehehe… a coined term from Ally Mcbeal) and gravitate to the shiniest and bounciest creature in the room. Boy will my 40+ female friends love that message. I’m copying and forwarding the message via e-mail.

    On the toilets, I’d vote for automated doors! hehe

    On athlete mementos, I wouldn’t mind a sweaty armband from Marat Safin! LOL. I’ve always dreamed of catching a Red Sox homerun even if I’m not a real baseball fan.

  27. Alternati – Rooney did wake people up with his tribute to 40 something women but others surmise that he might have done it out of frustration with younger women πŸ™‚

    Here I increasingly see public toilets in malls without doors except for the stalls which is great. They probably did it out of concern for security and not for hygiene reasons.

    If Marat Safin plays in Toronto this year I’ll take a special shot of him for you πŸ™‚

  28. Did Pacquiao give his shorts to Atienza while he was wearing them? Haha! πŸ™‚

  29. I remember quoting that pig/sausage thing in one of my posts. Just funny!

  30. Andy Rooney has a way with words. I hope I am that when i reach the big 4-0. They say, 40 is the new 30 and 50 is the new 40. Go figure. Could it be on how women take care more of themselves now?

  31. Even with mouthguards and jock straps, some fans would gladly catch them and who knows how much they will fecth on E-Bays later. An O.J.’s would have considerable value by now.

  32. wahahahahaha I didn’t mean something like that Big Bro!!! you’re green-minded..bad BW bad! hehehehe

  33. about “40 something women”…hmmm this speaks of me very well. i know now what i am, what i can and what i have…more confident than how i used to be when i was younger.

    yeah, toilet doorknobs are really big “yucks!” sweaty mementos too! no thanks.

  34. Toe – You mean grab it right after the game, at the locker room to rub off on luck ? LOL πŸ™‚ I believe Pacquiao handed it over during the welcome parade πŸ™‚

  35. Abaniko – dunno why men are always associated to pigs πŸ™‚ I know older women looking for younger men like Demi Moore are called “cougars”.

  36. Vic – Absolutely ! Even Britney Spears’ used chewing gum fetched might dollars at Ebay !

  37. Vernsky – I think we linked up on that one, mentally that is hahaha πŸ™‚

    Here’s what they say :

    Different prayers of single women…
    At Age 15: Lord, give me SuperMAN.
    At Age 18: Lord, give me a cute MAN.
    At Age 20: Lord, give me the best MAN.
    At Age 30: Lord, give me a good MAN.
    At Age 40: Lord, give me a MAN.
    At Age 50: Lord, give me sinoMA N.
    At Age 60: Lord, maawa ka naMAN.
    At Age 70: Lord, kaya ko pa naMAN.
    At Age 80: Lord, kahit hipo MAN lang.

  38. hahahaha. natawa ako kay rooney. i don’t know if what he states is true. malayo pa ako sa 40. hehe.

    about the toilet, i open the doors after using a public restroom, with tissue. coz as you said it, you never know ifthey wash their hands after.

    and about the souvenir. fans would appreciate anything and everything if it’s from their idol. even if it’s totally sweaty. so i guess, same as you.. we are not die-hard fans. hehe πŸ™‚

  39. Tin – you’re right, you’re still far from being 40 so enjoy your youth.. When you reach 40 remember you will mature and mellow down hehe πŸ™‚

    I’ve gotten autographs but never memorabilias from sports celebs… They look so clean on TV but when you see them in person, sweaty, dirty and all you might change your mind πŸ™‚

  40. good thing about asian women kahit nasa 40 na sila mukhang 20ish pa rin πŸ™‚ fine women na looking bata pa.

  41. Bokbok – agree with you 100% there. Yes, Asian women age a lot slower. They could look 10 years younger at 40 !

  42. Interesting! I’ll take note of this list again when I hit the big four-oh. Matagal-tagal pa naman. πŸ™‚

    Regarding the norovirus outbreak – we did have one here in Japan, and it was all over the news. The city officials panicked (as usual) and we got notices from the city hall, even our workplace, and the daycare about precautions and preventive measures. A few kids at the daycare that my daughter attended got sick, actually. I’m only too glad that we were not infected!

  43. Kathy – enjoy the years before you reach the big 4 hehe:)

    Yes, sometimes very basic rules of hygiene we overlook. Talk about the SARS scare that killed more than 40 people in Toronto many years ago. I wouldn’t want to live through it again but without basic, commonsensical hygiene on the part of every citizen, the disease could not have been contained 😦

  44. pacquiao shorts and hawaiian “bulaklakin” shorts of the mayor? hmmm πŸ™‚

  45. Tutubi – the flaming red shorts and the Hawaiian “bulaklakin” shirt does make the mayor like fruit salad hehehe πŸ™‚

  46. Hahaha… That can explain Rooney’s turnabout. πŸ™‚

    Cool! I hope Marat does go there.

  47. Alternati – every Aug we have pre US Open tennis tourney here in Toronto. The men and women venues switch between Toronto and Montreal. Dang, the women will be in Toronto this year and the men in Montreal πŸ™‚

  48. golf stat…

    Your topic ” Are You A Blogging Addict? Professional Arts and Entertainment … was interesting when I found it on Monday searching for golf stat…

Leave a Reply

