Apple Crumble Craving

Nope, those are not cow dung hehe πŸ™‚ They look so uninspiring , don’t they ? They’re glorious apple crumble pie. The darker one with a crispy crust of oats and raisins is for me and the lighter one minus the thick crust is for my daughter. Would you drive 125 kms one way to sample a scrumptious, hot and fresh home made apple crumble pie baked before your eyes ? I would and I did ! Last Sunday afternoon that intense craving took me to Big Apple . After a hefty snack of slices of apple crumble pies, we brought home 4 whole pies for the freezer.

It’s business as usual in Big Apple. The last time I visited and blogged about the place was in November 2006. Apple pies are still being sold in good numbers. The last time I was there the total number of pies (whole) sold to walk in customers was 2,685,240 and last Sunday’s figure was 2, 926, 274. Not bad considering that the winter months are normally very slow periods.

Could you spot something wrong in this picture ? I’ve noticed 2 glaring errors ! Let’s see if you can find it. I noticed that this place is closer to the North Pole than most European cities LOL πŸ™‚ Nope we are not in the Artic tundra hehe πŸ™‚ 5,250 kms is still a good 6 hrs flight to the land of Santa Claus πŸ™‚

Ang Kasinugnalingan Na Pinakalapit Sa Katotohanan

Ang isang ay hari ay nalulon sa pag-aaral ng Pilosopiya sa pamamagitan ng turo ng mga matatalinong ministro ng kanyang cabinete. Isang araw nagisip ang hari ng isang mabisang paraan upang makapagasawa ang kanyang nag-iisang anak na dalaga. Nais ng hari na makapagasawa ang kanyang anak ng pinakamatalinong lalake. Sa kanyang panganasa na mapadali ang paghanap ng uliran na sinasabing lalake, ang hari ay gumawa ng isang paligsahan na masasalihan lamang ng mga kalalakihan ng kanyang kaharian. Ang lalake na makapagsabi sa kanya ng isang KASINUNGALINGAN NA PINAKALAPIT SA KOTOTOHANAN ay siyang magkakamit ng pinakaswerteng gantimpala – ang karapatan na mapangasawa ang kanyang anak na prinsesa. Subalit ang paligsahan na ito ay mapanganib. Ang katumbas ng maling sagot ay pugot ulo. Ang sagot ay dapat mapatunayan upang maturing na kaaya-aya at tumpak sa pag-iisip ng hari.

Si Juan ay isang matalinong magsasaka. Nang nalaman ni Juan ang paligsahan, siya ay nagalak at nagbalak sumali. Sino nga naman ang ayaw makapangasawa ng prinsesa at maging manugang ng hari! Si Juan ay nagpalista sa paligsahan at humarap sa korte ng hari :

Hari : Magiting na lalake, magsabi ka ng isang kasinunaligan na pinakalapit sa katotohanan. Alalahanin mo na pag hindi tumpak ang iyung sagot sa aking pagaakala ang hatol ay mo kamatayan.

Juan : Mahal na hari, kayo po ba ay pinanganak sa puwet ng nanay ninyo?

Hari : Yan ay isang malaking kasinugalingan!

Juan : Tumpak kayo mahal na hari! Subalit, napakalapit po sa katotohanan. Mahigit kumulang sa isang pulgada lang ang pagitan!

Hari : ( nagisip…) Huh? OO nga ano..t..t..tama ka. Bwaka ng…. Pati nanay ko idinamay mo pa.

Ang matalinong magsasakang Juan ang nagwagi at nagtagumpay sa kanyang pangarap na mapangasawa ang magandang prinsesa ng kaharian.

36 Responses

  1. thanks for making me smile with the joke Big Bro…:)

  2. Huhmm apple pies. They’re delicious. Not that I have gotten to taste them already, but whenever I gobble a slice of huicy pineapple pie or buko pie, I imagine always that apple pie could taste as heavenly as this, or even much better.

  3. Oh, I would love to go there and tast those special apple pies! Hahaha… wais talaga si Juan! πŸ™‚

  4. Vernns – no problem. Take it easy and smile πŸ™‚ Wanted to comment on your recent post but closed pala ang comments. Don’t be too senti Lil Sis. Cheer up!

    I enjoyed reading your recent bloggers eyeball meeting at Snglguy’s blog and chuckled when one blogger commented he sensed a “St. Elmo’s Fire” feel sa meeting ninyo hehe πŸ™‚ You can only appreciate the comment if you watched the movie πŸ™‚ Hope I can join your seemingly regular EB meetings sometime next year πŸ™‚

  5. Major Tom – they make apple pies in a variety of ways and the crumble pie is my favorite πŸ™‚ I love buko pie too more so that we don’t get enough of them here πŸ™‚

  6. Toe – you should visit one day πŸ™‚ This joke was told to me many many years ago, in fact high school pa ata ako. THe best way to tell this joke is monstra sa daliri pag dating doon sa ” ganito na lang ang pagitan ” hahaha πŸ™‚

  7. Hmm, so far, the only error I can see in that picture is that Auckland is misspelled as “Aukland”… maybe I’ll go have another look. πŸ˜‰

    Hehe, I think I may have heard that joke before but then, there were a LOT of “Matalinong Juan” jokes during my time, hehe. πŸ˜€

    And man, those apple crumbles sure made my mouth water, hrhrhrhr. πŸ˜›

  8. madaling araw dito pero napahagikgik ako ng malakas sa kwento ni hari at ni Juan. hahaha.

    sarap siguro kumain ng apple crumble habang nagbabasa ng kwento tulad ng inilagay mo dit, hehehe

  9. lol @ the joke…but i love the pie most. Auckland is spelt wrongly. Tsaka di mukhang apple…mukhang tomato…or very round apple lang yan. πŸ™‚

  10. I first thought it was tsicharon.

  11. Iskoo – matagal ng nakatago ang diyok na ito sa aking memory bank ko bro. Buti na-ala ala ko pa hehe πŸ™‚ I-I-Englisin ko sana kaya lang baka hindi maganda ang dating LOL πŸ™‚

  12. Ipanema – yep, Auckland is definitely mispelled πŸ™‚ OO nga ano – it looks like kamatis hehe πŸ™‚ But there’s another error most people didn’t notice πŸ™‚

  13. Sidney – parang chicharon ba πŸ™‚ If it’s that thick it would have come from the hippopotamus skin haha πŸ™‚

  14. Sngl – this joke had been around for years so I’m sure if you were with kalog friends you could have heard it πŸ™‚ The crumble is great with coffee but my wife ordered chicken nuggets instead πŸ™‚ She’s not a fruit person like me. Pero pag tsokolate, nagunguna sya πŸ™‚ You got the Auckland part. May isa pa.. hehe πŸ™‚

  15. Is it a directional error? My guess is that the sign for Miami is pointed in the wrong direction since all the other signs where Miami is placed appear to be pointing west and are in the Pacific while Miami is in the Atlantic and I think is west of that sign.

    The tagalog joke has too many advanced words. I’ll have to ask a co-worker to translate for me or use an online tagalog dictionary later. πŸ˜€

  16. Wil – nope, the signs were fanning out in all directions hehe πŸ™‚

    Nasobrahan ba ang Tagalog ko bro πŸ™‚ Being a Bisoy ( Visaya), I never thought I could confuse anyone with my Tagalog hahaha πŸ™‚

  17. Oh, I love apple crumble pie. Yummy! I dont remember seing these sign with all these cities and distances before. I might have missed it or is it new? cant figure out what’s wrong.

    Funny joke, btw.

  18. Hmm..apple crumble pie..my fav.. i just baked one last sunday, my friends are craving for it.. ibig sabihin, masarap sya doy! next time dito ka nman dumayo ng apple pie….

  19. Leah – yeah, every now and then I get the silly craving hehe πŸ™‚ Not sure when the signs were put but they’re making changes every now and then. THey’ve opened a branch in Orilla and at the Muskoka by next year πŸ™‚

  20. Curacha – wow.. dapat matikman ko yung luto mo πŸ™‚ Masarap sigurado. I love it with a little whipped cream on top πŸ™‚

  21. ….”Kopi ti apol pay manong!”…

    The german apple sthreuddle pie or however you spell it, is one of my paboritoslalo na pag medyo crispy ang crust!

    Ang hindi nabanggit ni Juan at ng Hari ay yung “Gubat” sa paligid ng pagitan ng katotohanan at kasinungalingan na minsan ay sagabal sa pag hanap kung may katotohanan nga sa kasinungalingan! Katapos takip ka pa ng ilong kaya di talaga ma-amoy ang tunay na katotohanan!

  22. nobody noticed how close Macau is? It should have been somewhere the distance of Manila, just happen to do some scanning of bibs pictures during her tour of macau when she was in her grade VI and told me its only an hour or so flight from Manila. will post them someday…

    for now i’ll content myself with tim’s fruit bites in apple flavour. they’re good…

  23. Noypetes – yes, apple strudel ( I think its German) is good too πŸ™‚ My kopi is a little pale though at nasobrahan ni misis ng gatas πŸ™‚ Mukhang yatang may dapat pang pagusapan si Juan at ang Hari hehe πŸ™‚

  24. Vic – YOU GOT IT Man! 7000+ kms will just take you to Macau restaurant in Honolulu hehe πŸ™‚ You’re right. Macau is close to HKG and it should be in the 5 digits just like Manila. Good eyes bro:)

  25. i’m sorry but i don’t like apple pies. hehehe.

    at nagulat ako nang biglang tagalog ang sumunod… pero natawa ako ha πŸ™‚

  26. Tin – pareho kayo ng wife ko hehe πŸ™‚ it really depends on how it is made – with rich and generous ingridients so to speak para lalong malasa πŸ™‚ Pang Pinoy lang talaga ang dyok na yan πŸ™‚

  27. Oh yes, Macau! Man, how could I have missed that… πŸ™‚ It’s about an hour and 45 minutes lang from Manila.

    I miss the place and its nightlife… πŸ™‚

  28. I think if I could just fly there and taste some goodies from that Big Apple, I would.

    Katuwa yung signs ha. Good thing Manila is there.

    LOL ke Juan!

  29. “Would you drive 125 kms one way to sample a scrumptious, hot and fresh home made apple crumble pie baked before your eyes?”

    – people would do a lot of crazy things for food. ;p

  30. Should it be Kms (plural) instead of just Km? Hehe. Also, for consistency, Accra should be in the list instead of Ghana. Apparently, cities are used instead of countries. πŸ™‚

  31. that joke never ceases to make me laugh. lumang joke na hindi pagsasawaan at tatawa ka pa rin pag narinig mo.

    hmm… apple pie. been wondering if it’s really worth my taste buds. πŸ™‚

  32. Sngl – haha πŸ™‚ I got you there bro:) Yes, Macau is so close to Pinas and you forgot you’ve been there!

  33. Ferdz – the town itself is surrounded by hundreds of acres of apple orchards so you pretty much get to eat all kinds of apple varieties πŸ™‚

  34. Jeff – you bet πŸ™‚ My bro in law is one person that comes to mind. He’s in the Connecticut and craves to go to Frankie Tomato, a amazing Italian buffet restaurant here. Now that’s a good reason for them to visit us more often which we would love hehe πŸ™‚

  35. Abaniko – so you peeped through the cracks and noticed Ghana eh ? You are absolutely right ! It’s more of inconsistency than mistake though. I bet they would run out of space to put Bandar Seri Begawan instead of Brunei hehe πŸ™‚

  36. Bing – there’s just jokes that won’t die I think hehe:) Understandable as apples are not standard to our Pinoy palate so it can also be an acquired taste πŸ™‚ It’s just so common here that in autumn, we find apples dropping everywhere and in golf courses we sometimes snack on them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

