BLOGGER Woes

tn_computer_magnify_323.jpg

I don’t know what happened to Blogger but when I accessed my blog with my Internet Explorer ( default) browser from the office yesterday it lost the graphics and turned into textual, reminding me of the early days of the internet , pre-Netscape and Internet Explorer era, when we only used textual browsers like the extinct but venerable Gopher 😦 When I arrived home however I could access my blog – graphics and all, with Firefox! Conclusion – Blogger’s web servers where all our Blogspot blogs live and breath have a problem with Internet Explorer. What else could it be ? And what is the fix ? Changing to a new template ? I can’t worry about it anymore.

I’ve long been considering moving out of Blogger to a much more user friendly and graphically rich blog like WordPress and Typepad. I was even mulling to buy a professional WordPress template so I can just plug and play but this incident compelled me to move my butt and get something going. So I hurriedly accessed WordPress last night and spent a couple of hours to set up this pretty straightforward template just to get me going. I can tell that WordPress is tons better than Blogger in terms of user-friendliness. If I can do it, how much more you folks. This isn’t going to be my permanent template – unless I become diabolically lazy 😦

Weird…

Last week I was thinking of using my old Okidata personal laserjet printer (parked in my basement for a while now) with my laptop so I went to the store to buy a parallel port to USB adaptor. The price was $30 about half the price of a new HP Photosmart C3135 ( scanner, photocopier,printer) which was going for $69 ! I know the ink costs half the price but the printer cable – whoa ?? Kinda ludicrous to think that a cable would be half the cost of the darn printer but hey, I guess there’s many things we don’t understand in this world that don’t require an explanation πŸ™‚

21 Responses

  1. Whoa! So that’s why your blogger template looked weird. This also happened to Ipanema’s website. I’m not sure of the others’ though but I’m pretty sure they suffered the same thing the past few days. Anyway, let me be the first to welcome you to your new home, bro. πŸ™‚

    PS: Aren’t you going to move your other entries to new home?

  2. hay naku, that’s what happened to plenty of us. i always go to Blogger/Google Help Groups and vent…hahaha. They tried to explain, pero mabuti na lang a friend of mine calmed me down. so i changed template na lang. wala akong oras mag set-up ng bago. i have a wordpress account, so anytime, i can activate it.

    the same friend who is techie and is designing templates offered to transfer my blog to wordpress free of charge! hmmm…maybe i am going to take her offer.

    di ba kakainis? sige, mag blog blessing tayo pag di ka na busy at meron ng permanent template. πŸ™‚

  3. tell us if that is you’ve decided to make this your new URL so we can update, alright? Happy Sunday!

  4. Thanks for breaking the ice πŸ™‚ I’m a liitle disappointed with the troubles with Blogger man that’s why I decided to go for WordPress. I don’t trust Internet Explorer either – there’s just so many bugs with it 😦

    I just lost my Blogroll and can’t figure out why.. I put all the links in and everything was hunky-dory and all of a sudden, it disappeared and won’t show up anymore despite the links widget being defined.

    Yes, I would love to migrate all my posts but still have to figure it out πŸ™‚

  5. Sngl – I just complained about the Blogroll and it came back ! hehe πŸ™‚ Nag magic yata πŸ™‚ I put took the links widget out and placed it back and it appeared again πŸ™‚

  6. Ipanema – I just got tired of the Blogger problems.. Good for you that there’s someone who would move your blog to WordPress πŸ™‚ I fancied a WordPress template and wanted to buy coz it has all the bells and whistles but Blogger forced me to create one urgently kahit na simple lang πŸ™‚

    You can start playing with WordPress – just get an account and play with it – don’t have to publish anything. It’s much easier than Blogger I can tell you.

    As for my URL, this would be it – until I get my own domain name.

  7. yan din ang isa sa mga reasons ko kung bakit ako nag wordpress. welcome to the club…

  8. And so the migration from blogger continues…. parang blogger is the philippines of the blogosphere — nearly everyone is migrating outta there. πŸ˜‰ My blogger is fine though. Haven’t reached the “last straw” yet. hehehe

  9. Iskoo – thanks. Hopefully I can also move all my Blogger posts to this new template πŸ™‚

  10. Wil – I think those Blogger themes that have “comments preview” feature are constantly affected by the bugs or it might have been that the theme you selected is rock solid hence you haven’t experienced any problems πŸ™‚

  11. Welcome to the wonders of WordPress, bro! πŸ™‚

    It’s easy to transfer your files from Blogger to WP. In the Dashboard, click “Manage” then click the “Import” tab, and WordPress will do everything for you (that is, after giving them your Blogspot log-in info).

    You’re lucky. These days, it’s easy to import files from Blogspot. When I decided to move my files from Blogspot to WP (that was in Sept. 2005), naku, I had to do it manually (I then suffered from tendinitis) just because I didn’t know how to do it on my server’s control panel (Bluehost). WP has now made it easier for bloggers to transfer from Blogspot to WP.

    As for your old Blogspot blog, you can just change the template there if ever you just want to make it presentable for IE users. πŸ™‚

  12. P.S. So, try using that “Magic Button” (aka Import tab) pronto so you can officially say that you’ve transferred to a new blog home. If you can’t still figure it out, I’m just an e-mail away.

  13. Thanks VM Jayred..I know you had burnt the midnite oil on your move to WordPress way back when πŸ™‚ I actually figured out that magic button to import Blogger posts and comments into WordPress myself and it was a cakewalk. One caveat though – it will only work on NEW Blogger accounts that went into the Beta mode, i.e. those who log in with their Google accounts which I was- luckily πŸ™‚ And yes, I will fix my old Blogger template so IE users can view it.

    One thing I’ve noticed is – it did not move the YouTube images so I still have to manually edit all of them – not many so it shouldn’t take me night and day . I could also post the YouTube URL instead if I get lazy πŸ™‚

    Don’t you notice the comment field in this post not incrementing ? It’s probably because I moved the sidebar to the left or I changed my admin name.. Oh well, it’s not a big deal – I’ll sort it out πŸ™‚

  14. Hey, this is cool. At last you’ve decided to get WordPress, ha? Is this account for free? I’ve been contemplating on shifting from Blogger to WordPress. Friends are encouring me to do it. But I’m still too lazy for this. Besides, I like Blogger because it’s free and I like my current template so much that I haven’t changed it for over a year now.

  15. Abaniko – it’s very easy bro. Just access wordpress.com and register as a user, download a template and play around with it. You can move your Blogger posts and comments very easy too just like I did.. although I found that not all comments were imported… but that’s fine But before you move, make sure you are on the new Beta Blogger account otherwise you cannot use the magic button to import your posts πŸ™‚

  16. Abaniko – yes its free..unless you want extras. You can check the wordpress website for terms and conditions.

  17. ok. i’ll update your URI. thanks. πŸ™‚

  18. welcome to wordpress, bw! nice to have you here =)

  19. Thanks very much Nell. I sure did have fun setting up this blog πŸ™‚

  20. BW, I want you to know that I’m very happy that you moved! I was one of those unfortunate souls who from time to time experienced trouble accessing your site in Blogger.
    I’ll update your URL in my blogroll soon.
    Happy posting! πŸ™‚

  21. Kathy – thanks very much… The funny thing is if not for the problem getting too severe, I wouldn’t have moved ! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

