Pruning the Clutter

cleaning_lady.jpegOne of the things I always slack on is pruning my clutter and that is getting rid of junk, organizing things and keeping the place neat and tidy and I am talking about my office LOL πŸ™‚ I am a notorious slob when it comes to office organization. I probably need a good day to dump old documents, put files in their respective folders, and get rid of junk that had been lying around for sometime. My house is much better though, thanks to my wife who keeps things clean and organized. There is more to be desired at the backyard though thanks again to my sloppiness. All I really need is to devote a weekend day to keep it it in tip top shape but blame it on the terrific summer that made me go somewhere else to enjoy the outdoors. Sometimes I hesitate to cook because it will make the house smell. A bunch of air fresheners and aromatic candles are always around to suppress any foul smell.

But what’s the point really – why prune the clutter? I won’t go as far as endorsing fengshui to the letter but I do believe that pruning the clutter and keeping things neat and tidy at home the office gives you that relaxed, exhilirating feeling, in some respect some renewed energy to make you do your business better. The feeling of more room to move around, less junk to deal with, the coziness makes living more pleasurable. Others believe that a cluttered bedroom affects the love life of the couple as clutter is representative of “stagnant, sluggish energy” according to this article. Nothing beats a bedroom smelling fresh with clean sheets, organized closet, dust free furniture I think. And what do you think of the 80/20 rule , that we wear 20 percent of our clothes 80 percent of the time πŸ™‚ I do think it is true and I have clothes I haven’t worn for years , still stuck in my closet. This is the same case with the junk we have accumulated over the years.

Well this week I will not be going anywhere but work on my backyard and dispose of the last batch of junk that’s been sitting in the garage for weeks. Oh and I forgot the office. This coming Friday I will spend half day getting rid of the clutter in my office. Yes, pruning the clutter isn’t just for show – it is necessary to make us feel good about ourselves πŸ™‚

WHAT’S IN A NAME TAG

Here’s a tag from Ipanema about What In A Name and here are the rules :

1. State your middle name. If it’s too long or not sounding so good, then think about the name you wish you had as a middle name. And use that, of course.

2. For each letter of the middle name stated in Rule #1, write a specific trait or characteristic of your person and elaborate reasonably.

My parents gave me my grandfather’s name ( maternal side) as my middle ( Christian) name which is quite long and since I have never ever used it in my life there’s really no reason for me to use it now hehe πŸ™‚ Let me use my official middle name as in my mother’s surname for this tag OK ?

Ddaring as in adventurous, wanting to try new things every now and then as long as they are not overly risky and not conflicting with my principles. Nope, not in the same league as Ben Affleck, a die hard New York Yankee fan who would rather make love to a man than wear a Boston Red Sox hat πŸ™‚

Iimpulsive .. I am impulsive by nature and have the tendency to make rush decisions especially when I know that the damage won’t be that catastrophic. I am quite conscious of the risk/reward penomenon though and will never bet my house in a dog race πŸ™‚

Aamiable.. I am very friendly and loyal to people who are nice to me. I value friendship and admire people who are very independent and honest. I can’t stand crybabies and hyper-sensitive people who can’t take a ribbing πŸ™‚

Zzany… I was crazier when I was younger but dealing with poker faced, serious business people everyday for the last two decades of my life had made me mellow down a bit. I always dig a good joke and like the company of bubbly, lively people. I feel entertained by bubbly and talkative women πŸ™‚

32 Responses

  1. Hey, welcome to wordpress. Nice new look. And I noticed that you brought along the little red horned devil. πŸ™‚

    I have also been uncluttering our house this summer. I started when I had a two-week vacation. I pulled everything out of the closets, sorted out what we don’t used anymore, had a garage sale, donated some stuff. There’s still some organizing left to do. Just a little bit. Parang bagong paligo ang pakiramdam once you have cleaned up everything. πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Niceheart. I can’t help but chuckle when you mentioned the little red horned devil , my alter ego haha πŸ™‚

    Parang bagong paligo is exactly the feeling – bagong anyo so to speak πŸ™‚ My wife is even more notorious when throwing things. Her declaration of what is junk is a bit too aggressive πŸ™‚

  3. “that we wear 20 percent of our clothes 80 percent of the time” – Oh that is so true. To this day, I keep finding rarely-worn clothes (jackets and long-sleeved work shirts especially) still languishing in my closet after many years…

    Hey maybe you can start a garage sale this weekend and make a buck while cleaning out your backyard. πŸ˜€

  4. Guilty! If you see my garage, you’d feel better. My wife love’s teasing me about my junk parts. She said I could build another bike from all the stuff I have in the garage. The few rules I strictly tell my boys is that if they use my tools, it better be put back where they got it from. Special tools are not to be touched by other than myself. Other non motorbike/car related objects can only remain in the garage for 3 days max or it gets locked in the “bartolina” of garden tools in the backyard.

  5. Sngl – we did deliver a few bags of clothes to the donation center just to get rid of the clutter.

    Been planning to do a garage sale now but my wife isn’t so excited about it . Heck I have a lot of good golf clubs to sell but I won’t give it away for peanuts though hehe. For the not-so-good ones, I might be able to donate it πŸ™‚

  6. Noypetes – so your precious motorbike has the exclusive rights to the garage area hehe πŸ™‚ I can also understand how you value your tools- of-the-trade πŸ™‚

  7. You are correct. We have to schedule a day or half a day just to clean/organize or get rid of clutter. ten minutes here and there will not do. And the 80/20 rule seems to apply to everything, even clothes. Looks like I should get rid of my Member’s Only jacket. hehehe. kidding. although I used to have one in the 80s. πŸ˜€

  8. Wil – I have a bad habit of postponing my uncluterring plans πŸ™‚

    I do have good clothes that are out of fashion, even some good sunglasses that kinda look weird if I use them nowadays πŸ™‚ It’s kinda hard to part with esp if they were pricey when you bought them. My wife wanted to throw my giant JVC VHS-C manual camcorder circa the 80’s and I feel bad . I know I will never use it anymore because I have a much better and later model but I can’t seem to part with it. It still stays junk in my basement until it becomes a collector item hehe πŸ™‚

  9. First of all, I want to express how good yur new template look. I always thught that WordPress.org is so much better trhan Blogger and it loads so much faster.

    About “prunin” the clutter, I have very similar min on such and I have no doubt that a clean and fragrant environment would bring positive things in life…

  10. My desk and office is one big junkyard. I have a hard time trowing anything away. I might ned it in the future… 😦
    Good luck with the big clean up!

  11. Major Tom – thanks. I was forced to move fast because Blogger was having problems. WordPress is just so much more user-friendly than Blogger in my opinion plus they have hundreds of themes ready for download πŸ™‚

    Too much clutter also affects my mood that’s why it is a must for me to clean up and organize every now and then.

  12. Sidney – I am like that too especially with documents…and emails.. scared to throw because who knows I might need it later. And indeed I’ve encountered situations where I needed them πŸ™‚

  13. I’ve adopted the one in, one out rule. That is, say for example, I bought a new pair of shoes, then I must rid my closet of an old pair. Same with clothing. This way, I’ d avoid accumulating excess stuff.

    In NYC, there’s quite a number of thrift shops one can donate some old stuff to and receive tax credit for them in return.

  14. Eric – that’s a sensible way of doing it rather than getting another shoe rack at the garage ( which I have ) πŸ™‚

    Good that in NYC you can get a tax credit for donations – here we don’t. Here we do have donation bins too for charitable orgs. Goodwill ( one of them) takes used clothes and sell them at their used clothes outlets all over the city, with the profits going to charity .

  15. i do that too, from time to time. donating clothes and getting tax credit. but if you ask my mom, she’d tell me to put it inside a balikabayan box , ship it home and give it some people back in the province. goodwill na rin. dba?

  16. nice descriptions! thanks for playing along. πŸ™‚

    i can only live with a clutter up to a certain point then i have to do something about it. in the office not so. i dont know where to find things! πŸ™‚

  17. Hi bw!
    I used to be an OC but after I got married, my husband’s trained me to slow down a bit which resulted to a new ‘slob’ me! well, not always. And I only permit clutter in my office, elsewhere in the house, it’s a no-no.

    have fun de-cluttering this weekend..maybe you can take a before and after pictures?
    Regards from the Netherlands..and also thank you for visiting my page.

  18. Nell – yes, we did send a few balikabayan boxes with old clothes and shoes which were in very good condition , and we sent 1 box with just my daughter’s baby clothes, shoes and toys for my niece πŸ™‚

  19. Ipanema – thanks.. My office is in a mess maybe because the cleaners come in every night to take the garbage out… but my files are still here and there … πŸ™‚

    Just yesterday, I got a call from a collection agency about a parking fine at a subway station which I paid 3 years ago ! I was so incensed because I did pay it – now I have to go back to my records to get the evidence and hope I did not throw my bank statements !

  20. Thess – a little “slobbery” wouldn’t be that bad as long as you get back on track fast πŸ™‚ I’m very well behaved in the house too as someone is watching over me hehe πŸ™‚

    Thanks for dropping by too !

  21. i think i need to fix the clutters in my office na din. not only in the office, but also in my life. oh well, i’ve fixed na yung sa life ko. so yung sa office na lang talaga. hehehe.

    and re your description.. parang magkakaparehas lang ha. hehehe. nice ako sayo diba? hehehe ;p

  22. Tin – nice to know that you have taken care of the clutter in your life- it’s definitely more important than office πŸ™‚

    Yes, you are nice to me and I will be super-nice to you ! hehe πŸ™‚

  23. bw, hello! Is it too late to tag {my desktop free view} you? I was actually thinking of including you kaso shy ako he he.
    anyway , no rush naman ito and only if you feel like doing it..nevertheless, I’ll include your name on my list.

    have a good weekend!!

  24. Thess- no worries . I considered myself tagged hehe πŸ™‚ Have a nice weekend too !

  25. oh, it is stressful to see clutter! when i was younger and the kids are younger still, i used to ‘prune the clutter’ more often. today, it is becoming occasional ha ha πŸ˜€ i dunno, nakakasawa din to put things in order if in a few minutes, magulo na naman, o makalat na naman. hay..

    letter A and Z description is obvious.. πŸ˜€

  26. Bing – looks like you’re less stressed by clutter nowadays as the kids are now much bigger πŸ™‚ About the A and Z – it’s true, I promise hehe πŸ™‚

  27. nice new place you’ve got here…

    anyway, I take pleasure in cleaning stuff. I’m somewhat of an anal person.

  28. hahahahaha…you have to go back 3 years ago? i can only keep those things in a year then on to the rubbish!

    anyway, good luck! πŸ™‚

  29. Jeff- thanks. I had fun doing the migration which was easier than I thought. πŸ™‚

    Good for you that you’re pretty detailed in cleaning up the scraps. I have to do much better in that area, esp the office πŸ™‚

  30. Ipanema – disgusting isn’t it ? I may have to get a fax of my statement from the bank if I can’t find it and I’m thinking of charging the Parking Violations agency for the bank’s 5 bucks charge for the statement.. I’m serious.. I can’t be responsible for their sloppiness 😦

  31. speaking of prunning the clutter, nagla-idea ako kungg ano ang gagawin ko ngayong gabi πŸ™‚

  32. Iskoo – maglilinis ka ng husto mamayang gabi kamo …ano nga ba yang gagawin mon – mukhang exciting yata ? hehe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

