Why Your Cell Phone Should Have A Camera

images.jpegA camera in a cell phone isn’t just for teenagers having fun. It could save the day for you, a handy tool ready to be called to action any time. A couple of months ago, in a bumper to bumper traffic exiting a large strip mall parking lot, I bumped the car in front of me as I was picking up my sunglasses which fell on theΒ  floor of my van. It was a very light bump and I immediately went down to sort things out with the driver of the other car, a soft-spoken young Asian man ( either Chinese or Korean), with a noticeable accent. There wasn’t any gash or dent in his bumper and neither with mine. He told me he borrowed the car from a friend and just to be safe, he took my phone number and noted down my car plate.

Two days later, he left a voice mail at home asking me to call him up to talk about the “collision” which I shrugged off because there was nothing to talk about.. He then left another voice mail making threats about querying my license plate if I did not return his call. I was a little irked so I called him up to find out what his issue was. He said he spent 700 dollars fixing his bumper damage and asked me to pay him LOL πŸ™‚ I swear I could have strangled the guy if he was in front of me ! I then said – well, how very stupid of you to let me go if your car was that badly damaged pal ! The protocol is you should have taken my insurance number and driver’s license details and I would have done the same so with yours so my insurance company could fix your car. What the hell are you calling me for? If I did damage your car you should be talking to your insurance company not to me. Then he replied – this will cost your insurance premium to go up if you report it to your insurance so better pay me with cash! Then I said – look, first of all, I wasn’t born yesterday. Second, I am not an illegal alien and I’m not giving a single cent to you because I am insured . Thirdly, if you don’t stop harassing me I will report you to the police whereupon my wife picked up the phone upstairs and interjected – I have his phone number and I’m calling the police right now….click..click.. hello? He was gone. Nice try dude.

Well, if I took a snapshot of the ” collision” before we parted ways, this wouldn’t have happened. My Blackberry doesn’t have a camera – my wife’s phone does and she was with me at that but it slipped my mind to take a shot because the frankly, there wasn’t a scratch more so that the guy looked like a puppy πŸ™‚ Upgrade your cell with a camera. You’ll never know. It could bail you out of trouble. It could bail someone out of trouble. It could be a witness to a crime scene. It could catch criminals.

THE RISING LOONIE

loonie.jpegI stayed a little bit at the office today to finish some of my backlogs and went down at around 7pm to grab a sandwich at a hot dog stand close to our office. I took a Polish sausage and pop for 3.50 bucks and gave the man 20. He then asked me – can I gave your change in U.S. dollars? I hesitated a bit and said – why not? He gave me 10 U.S. dollars and 5 Canadian, a loonie ( 1 dollar) and 50 cents. Heck, I could use the 10 dollars when I cross the border at Buffalo I said πŸ™‚ Fact is , later on when I calculated the 10 U.S. at the exchange rate at end of the today’s trading, it amounted to 9.93 Canadian ! I lost 7 cents in that bloody hot dog deal he he πŸ™‚ It’s an awkward feeling. We’ve been used to the U.S. dollar being higher. The last time the loonie was higher than the greenback was in 1976 and I wasn’t here yet. The loonie had gained parity lately and even surpassed the greenback by fractions of a cent and who knows what the future holds for the loonie. A strong loonie would give me more buying power but will hurt Canadian manufacturers big time. The strong dollar has opened a new set of problems for the Canadian economy. Hopefully the good will outweigh the bad. For now, get on with the cross border shopping πŸ™‚

35 Responses

  1. Now you know why I keep upgrading my phone cam , hehe. They’re really come in handy during those “unforgettable” moments… πŸ˜€

    BTW, I’d probably freak out if a Canadian bum approaches me and asks, “Hey buddy, can you spare a loonie?”

  2. Sngl – those “moments” happen every now and then ! There was this off duty police officer here who slapped someone in a road rage. Some kid with a cellcam took a shot of the moment and brought justice to the situation πŸ™‚

    Hahaha… the loonie comes the loon – the bird in the picture πŸ™‚

  3. some guts this guy has trying to rip off people. my phone has a camera but poor quality though.. 😦 time to change i think πŸ™‚

  4. BTW, bro. I have something for you in my blog today, check it out.. πŸ™‚

  5. Be sure when you buy a camphone, the pic resolution is good otherwise, in situations like this, you may end up bing insulted for a poor shot where the real dents and scratches don’t show. Hehe.

  6. Irrealis – I didn’t expect the puppy faced dude to be a hustler – a pitiful hustler at that haha πŸ™‚ Yes – time to get a better cell cam !

  7. Sngl – yep, I dropped by. Boy your desktop is a mirror of your blog – squeaky clean actually πŸ™‚

  8. Abaniko – absolutely. A better quality cell cam is necessary so you can get better evidences hehe πŸ™‚

  9. Amazing what people would do to fleece others of their cash. Even more amazing is how these guys would appear like soft-spoken gentlemen in person but only to turn out sounding like seasoned extortionists in the end.

  10. BW, you were definitely not born yesterday! Ikaw pa. πŸ™‚ I’m impressed how your wife handled the situation and backed you up during the phone call harassment. LOL

    I’m not so much into cell phones (I don’t like texting and I don’t like calling people using my “Handy” unless it’s an emergency). I have an old Nokia mobile phone (circa 2001) which I use until now. However, I’m a camera freak (I have lots of cameras). And I always have my lightweight digital camera with me wherever I go. I use it during ‘racial discrimination’ moments. LOL. Parang pang citizen journalism. LOL

  11. Crooks everywhere… if you can’t trust anybody anymore… 😦

  12. Eric – this reminds me of the movie DERAILED where Clive Owens, a successfull exec met a beautiful lady at the train station ( Jennifer Aniston) and got too friendly with her. Their mutual attraction ended in a hotel whereupon they were robbed at gunpoint inside the room. The robber even went further to blackmail Owens and Aniston and extorted money from them to prevent their spouses from knowing the affair. In the end, Aniston was the real girlfriend of the robber and both were pro con artists πŸ™‚ Looks like an old story line hehe πŸ™‚

    Anyhow, what I’m trying to say is , the least person you expect can sometimes become the snake πŸ™‚

  13. Jayred – yes, my wife was the consummate team player . She did gave the knockout punch this time πŸ™‚

    LOL on the “racial discrimination moments” hahaha πŸ™‚ Maybe you should carry a spy camera instead πŸ™‚

  14. Sidney – on second thought, I might have been too friendly with the guy and he thought he could con me easily:) I should have worn my horned helmet with smoke coming off my nose hehe πŸ™‚

  15. “Maybe you should carry a spy camera instead.”

    Exactly! I said that to my husband last time; that I need a spy camera…you know, the type used by undercover cops and journalists. Hahaha. Tapos upload ko yung videos ko sa YouTube account ko. LOL.

  16. scammer yong mokong na yon hah! akala siguro nya eh maloloka ka nya. speaking of ins premiums, kakataas lang nong sa akin. cause of the accident my brother got into. the ins says my bro was at at fault. huhuhu =( cell phone cam does come in handy, like in accidents and events were you need to document stuff.

    i hope that is the last time you hear from the scammer!

  17. Jayred – I’m trying to get a spy camera too. I have a large front lawn
    and I ocassionally see canine droppings. They’re natural fertilizers
    I know but it does bother me when I mow the lawn on weekends πŸ™‚
    It’ll be fun when I see a dog walker relieve his pet in my yard hehe πŸ™‚

  18. Nell – here they’re strict with car insurance nowadays, esp with
    young drivers. I know someone ( less than 20 years old ) who got fined $300 for dangerous driving and the following year the insurance company declined his coverage. He has to wait for 3 years until his name is out of the high risk driver list until he could get coverage again.. ouch ..means he cannot drive for 3 years 😦

  19. What a fraud that guy was (the one with the phony bumber damage) and if you ask me, I couldn’t do what scums like that does and I really wonder why guys like that do exist. I mean why the hell do they do that for? I don’t think a guy with a vehicle like that could go hungry in Canada that he’d duped 700 dollars out of an innocent guy like you.

    It’s true about the usefulness of phonecams—in many instances already, it had been useful in solving crimes and witnessing calamities like hurricanes and earthquakes.

  20. thanks for that reminder. my phone is a blast from the past. πŸ™‚ it is really a help if one has a camera.

    wow, you’re really enjoying the parity huh? well, last week euro rose against the US. but as of yesterday it gained momentum again. am not sure by how much.

  21. Major Tom – I can assure you he got an earful from me, a lot of unprintable words in fact. 😦

    Unfortunately my Blackberry is issued by my office so I can’t upgrade it with a camera. I may have just go get a cell camera with the pay-as-you go, aka load it with some minutes every month kind of deal.

  22. Ipanema- it is definitely a big plus to have a camera at your fingertips when you need it . You can use it as evidence to complain about the fly in your soup hehe πŸ™‚

    Yes, so far the dollar is still steady. It’s Canadian Thanksgiving long weekend here so a trip across the border won’t be a bad idea πŸ™‚

  23. I exactly have the same problem and it was a contractor’s van who later called me that he sustained a major damage. nothing on mine and imagine a heavy duty van being smashed by a small car? so i just called my insurance to settle the guy’s claim. but my insurance fought him off as my agent is my buddy at the Gun Club.

    Remember the year when our $ was 10 cents higher than the U.S. and it was the time when cross boarder shopping was fun. I think this time we will be on par with the us for long while. our economy is stronger…

  24. Vic – what a bummer – good that your insurance company fought off.
    In my case, I think the guy thought I was a neophtye who knew nothing about these things. It turned out that he was the ignoramus πŸ™‚

    I think it was around 76-77′ ? Well, I wasn’t here yet during those years . It’s the first time for me πŸ™‚

  25. Yes, I agree. Cam phones are very handy. You don’t have to fidget with them as you do with big cameras. Instant na instant talaga ang pics, they are less intimidating and you can take pictures more discreetly. πŸ™‚

  26. baw baw baw..ikaw pa kwartahan nya Bro! alamun ni uy! hahaha

  27. I still haven’t found a use for the camera of my phone yet, and I hope I wouldn’t have to. =)

  28. i totally agree. i have a lot of photos in me phone that i usually use to blackmail my friends. lol.

  29. bw, remember that incident few years back where a Somalian gentleman was punched by cops after some kind of Celebration outside the EX when some tourist from ottawa took the video and shows the guy was not resisting at all? that guy who lost some teeth, sued the Police based on that video and he won and awarded lots of Mullah. one time i even carry a voice activated recorder, just in case. no luck though…

  30. Geez! And those people think they could blackmail BW? No! hehehe I think that guy is really stupid.

    yes, a cameraphone is really helpful. You should get one lie that pink Razr there. hehe jk πŸ˜›

  31. Oh yes, I totally agree BW. And if you happen to chance upon a news-worthy event, you could even send your photo or video to CNN’s iReport. πŸ™‚

    Naku… that guy is a swindler ha.

    I like that name… Loonie! πŸ™‚ I’m having problems with the rise of the peso against the dollar myself. My hard-earned dollars are diminishing in value everyday in the Philippines.

  32. nung nasira phone ko bigla, inisip ko tlga ng matagal kung bibili ako ng camphone. i didn’t. camera na lang. hahaha. ngayon, phone ko walang camera pero okay lang. basta dala ko lagi camera ko.

    yan ba phone mo?

  33. Mmmmm lovely post buddy,”Y Ur Cell Phone Should Have A Camera” ,camera cellphones are really the hottest gadgets in the marketplace these days.

  34. Off topic: I have something for you in my blog. πŸ™‚

  35. Rhodora – I know you have a spiffy cell camera..You’re all set.. Good for you πŸ™‚

    Verns – I guess I was just too nice to the guy so he decided to milk me further πŸ™‚

    Jeff – ohoh.. you better get one now !

    Chelsea – you’re naughty hehehe.. As long as you guys are having fun, that’s dandy πŸ™‚

    Vic – I remember that story… video or camera is still tops I think bro πŸ™‚

    Ferdz – if I was filthy rich, I would sue that guy and let him stay in jail for a week for his blatant stupidity hehe πŸ™‚

    Toe – CNN would pay you top bucks for that photo hehe πŸ™‚ I know what you mean. The US Dollar is kinda low these days. The CAN dollar is higher even with peso exchange rates. Sayang, when the Canadian was 64 cents US 5 years ago bumili ka sana ng maraming loonies with your USD. You could have made a fortune seriously πŸ™‚

    Tin – nope that’s not my cell. I use an office issued Blackberry unit http://www.blackberry.com/ which has internet access, email and cell pero walang camera nor video. Unfortunately, my office does not approve of camera upgrades 😦

    Do you like the pink cell? Very feminine ang dating πŸ™‚

    Ipanema – thanks, I’ll drop by soon.

Leave a Reply

