A Typical Breakfast ; My Desktop

breakfast-003.jpgHere’s a typical breakfast for an ordinary working class dude like me – carrot muffin with white cheese, yogurt, banana, a glass of orange juice and coffee ( still in the brew when I took this pic). I would occasionally substitute muffin for a bowl of cereals but this kind of breakfast is good enough to take me all the way to lunch, around 1pm. Tapsilog would be too heavy and quite a luxury for me these days, something I would take along with my buddies after a very early 6am tee off on summer weekends. We usually head out to a Pinoy restaurant and enjoy the tapsilog or longsilog brunch as soon as we finish by 11am.

What about you – what did you have for breakfast today ? πŸ™‚

MY DESKTOP
desktop.jpg I was tagged by SNGLGUY on the desktop meme so here it is – just click on the pic to expand. This is one of the holes at the Mountain Course at the Lake Placid (NY) resort where we stayed last spring. The first time I played I forgot to bring my camera. As I was teeing off the 10th hole from a cliff, I saw a couple of deer grazing off the fairway. It was an amazing scene which I missed ! The next time I played I lugged my rather bulky Fuji S6000fd camera with me which I wasn’t too thrilled to do. I am now absolutely convinced that I need a hi-quality compact point and shoot camera that would easily fit in my pocket. Well, Xmas is on the horizon and I have my sights on the widely acclaimed Fuji Z5fd which won the best ultra-compact digital camera award in Europe. Now I have a Xmas wish to work on πŸ™‚

Illegal Aliens now OK to Have Driver’s Licences

I was just stunned with the news thatΒ  Governor Eliot Spizer had ordered his government to start issuing driver’s licences to illegal aliens in the state of New York ! Not too sure about the legal intricacies of such an order ( which I am not prepared to argue about) but I gather that this executive edict did not require state legislation. It was said to be part of Spizer’s election promise and the time for it’s implementation has apparently come.

I am not prepared to take a hard pro nor con side of this debate because Spizer’s rationale seems to focus on the emotional and economic fallout of illegal aliens driving without a legit license and appropriate insurance coverage thereby endagering the lives of its citizens, leaving them no viable option for seeking compensation in event of accidents . What happens if an illegal alien without insurance rams your car? Who would pay for the damages ? This situation had caused insurance companies to raise their rates to protect the public from such occurrences! The economic implication certainly carries weight but the safety factor I think carries the bulk of everyone’s concern. An untrained driver, totally ignorant of driving laws and regulations is a walking time bomb. The governor’s bold decision to bite the bullet and say – we don’t care if you’re legal or not but we want you to get certified to drive like everyone and get yourself covered with approriate insurance – is pretty much the only sensible card left for him to play. Driving without insurance is suicidal. In Ontario the fine is a whopping $5,000 for the infraction.

Now pundits will take their calculators and say – 500,000 new drivers paying for licences would translate into $M revenue for the government. If all of them take insurance coverage that will be another $MM for the insurance companies. Others will say – that’s bonus points for the good governor making good his election promise. He had just won the votes of the large immigrant community in his state. Whatever but I’m sure anyone would agonize over a decision that places damage control over supreme adherence to the law of the land. If we take the law to the letter, these illegal aliens have to be denied driver’s licenses in view of their illlegal status. But we are talking of an unstoppable runaway train called illegal immigration that cannot be eradicated no longer so perhaps it is time to declare defeat and have the the illegals pay their way through the system like everybody else. I can understand people’s emotional reaction to such a bold decision. It is definitely a hard pill to swallow.

28 Responses

  1. I eat cereals with milk for breakfast. I used to not take breakfast at all but I decided to have something to eat every morning to increase my body’s metabolism.

    As regards illegal aliens given driver’s licenses do you think they’d go and get those licenses? I think they’ll think twice because they’ll be giving away personal information which can be used to track them. And we all know they’d rather remain incognito since they can always be deported anytime.

  2. Coffee and cereals for me, although on occasions I’d go for sinangag and fried eggs or tuyo. I bet you miss the pungent aroma of dried fish in Canada, hehe. πŸ˜€

    As for those illegals being given a license to drive, I think it’s a good move by the NY governor. Although I don’t know how many of those TNTs will come in from the cold and announce their illegal status to a federal employee…

    Hey thanks for doing the tag, bro. Have a great weekend. πŸ™‚

  3. I had just finished posting about my favorite breakfast these days — chilled papaya πŸ™‚

    To get a New York State License or resident ID, you must support your application with another valid US identification document; I used my passport. I wonder how these illegal aliens will now apply for one?

    Nonetheless, there was a time when a van full of illegal aliens would purposely ram into another car so as to collect insurance money for all those “injured” passengers now suffering from various ailments.

  4. I always wonder why in college even though breakfast is usually skipped, people still get fat..I think everybody gets fat in college hehe

    Anyway they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I eat mine at around 10am so I think that is already brunch and then i would intentionally forget to eat lunch πŸ™‚

  5. Abaniko – skipping breakfast I also used to do but found that it’s not that great for the body, esp if you are in a high stress environment. Yes, cereals pretty much covers what you need as opposed to taking a heavy rice meal.

    I agree that there’s that element of distrust that that simply won’t go away on the part of the illegals. I think a big percentage of them suspect that later on they’d be in trouble 😦

  6. Sngl – my wife will kill me if I fry tuyo in our kitchen ! The smell gets into curtains and somehow gets stuck in it hehe πŸ™‚

    It’s a good move and if I were an illegal alien I’d go for it to get myself covered so I could drive and live normally. There’s lawyers who could always back you up in case you think you were duped by the govt. Never easy, ain’t it ? 😦

  7. Eric – yep, papaya is an wonderful , healthy fruit but one wonders why it is ever present in the daily menu of priests. It may have sex suppression qualities for all we know hehe πŸ™‚

    The insurance scam you mentioned happens everywhere and unfortunately it involves the collusion of medical doctors in the cases they unraveled. As for this new law, proof for at least one year residency in NY state is required by law to be able to apply for the license.

  8. Verns – absolutely true that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I’m an early riser so the idea of brunch doesn’t seem to work well during ordinary work days πŸ™‚

    I think brunch is OK as long as you give yourself enough food to last until the evening. I love the idea of brunch esp on Sundays πŸ™‚

  9. For breakfast, I just have peanut butter/jam on wheat bread with milk (lactose free). I then bring fruits like bananas, apples or cantalope slices to work that I munch on throughout the morning. If it’s a weekend, I usually scramble an egg and have that with either tomatoes or onions or potatoes. πŸ˜€

  10. My regular breakfast is served by Tim Hortons. Medium coffee, single cream, a bagel sesame seed with either peanut butter or butter, sometimes cream cheese 3 little fruit bites danish in apple flavour and that will last me to about 1 or 2 P.M. when I’m ready for lunch..

    A co-worker with suspended license got caught driving without insurance, and after being fine a minimum of $5000 has the suspension extended. Good for him, he could no longer afford to pay for the car and insurance which if re-instated could cost him more than $3000, and also good for the safety of the public….

  11. hey..you’re in WP na rin? That’s a healthy breakfast. Good if you are able to do that everyday. On weekdays, I try to have a healthy bfast but almost always falter.

    Since its a weekend, today’s breakfast was toasted Pita bread with butter and Jam and orange juice. tomorrow will proabably be Bacon and toast.

  12. i have sinangag on Sundays, and sometimes on Saturdays. on regular days, nesvita, coffee, a slice of bread. if lucky, i have pancit palabok as breakfast, which i buy from a little karinderia along the street. i share it with friends because i cannot consume one order. sayang naman. if lucky again, i can have bacon and egg sandwich prepared by Papsie. πŸ™‚

  13. Sandali, ako nalilito sa yo…hiatus my foot…hahahaha. πŸ™‚

    OH, I can answer your question, later sa blog ko.. It was supposed to be my post today. Eh I have tradition every Sunday. So, bukas ko na i-post. I usually have coffee, toast and water. If I’m running out of time, coffee lang.

    I don’t think illegals will really go and present themselves. That’s just too weird for these NY authorities to think of such scheme. And you’re right, what about insurance? Do they have it? Impossible. Crazy idea.

  14. Wil – I love peanut butter, esp the crunchy one πŸ™‚ Unfortunately my daughter can’t bring any peanut-based food to school because of the peanut allergy policy so we don’t stock much of peanut butter at home. I like bringing fruits for snack at the office too – banana, apples and oranges are great.

  15. Vic – I love the bagel and cream cheese combo too but I could only take small coffee. I dig Tim Horton’s coffee – I brew them at home all the time πŸ™‚

    Ouch- that fine is diabolical 😦 I’ve been checked for license and insurance during the Xmas season when they frequently stop drivers to check for driving under the influence of alcohol. Gotta have insurance coverage – these are things we must take seriously.

  16. Leah – yep, I migrated to WP too. It’s much easier and more user-friendly. I know what you mean – if it is the weekend we tend to cook breakfast in the mornings because we have lots of time and off goes our diet πŸ™‚ . Yesterday I had 2 eggs, a slice of ham and 2 toasted pandesals.

  17. Bing – we don’t normally cook breakfast during work days so we rely on easy to make stuff like cereals and light sandwiches. I love BLT – bacon, lettuce and tomato on grilled toast. Pancit and palabok, rice are great but a bit too heavy for my tummy for breakfast πŸ™‚

  18. Ipanema – toast, coffee and water are very light indeed and so easy to prepare. When I’m in a hurry I just take a bagel with cheese and buy my coffee at the train station πŸ™‚

    Well, the good governor says that they’re the Department of Motor Vehicles and not the INS ( Immigration and Naturalization Services). My guess is if illegals continue to hide and get into trouble with driving violations the penalties would be more severe, aka deportation.

  19. I had the proverbial steaming black coffee and pan-de-sal. It’s most convenient that way.

    Don’t you think it’s just a roost or a bait for New York to offer licences to illegal immigrants? They’re get the licenses but they’d be apprehended on the other hand for overstaying.

  20. what a healthy breakfast, bw! i wish i had an appetite for an early meal, pero parati akong walang gana eh. instead i eat more lunch time, which i know is not healthy at all. really need to alter my diet to a one similar to yours.

    naku illegal aliens can get drivers license! that’s not good hah, forgive me but i’m an advocate for doing things in the most legit way. kasi that can cause more harm in the future, dba? just my two cents hah πŸ˜‰

  21. Every other day, the kids and I have kanin and eggs. And on the other days, we have pancakes. And of course, we always have hot MILO. We should also have fruits eh? But not enough time for that in the morning. πŸ™‚

  22. “Illegal Aliens now OK to Have Driver’s Licences…” – I think it was a decision made and based on practicality. =)

  23. Typical breakfast for us? Usually just bread and cheese. πŸ™‚ Pag sinisipag ako, fried rice and sausages. πŸ™‚

    Illegal aliens with drivers’ license? Now that’s something I don’t think will ever happen here in Japan. Btw – completely off-topic – starting next month, all foreigners coming to Japan will be fingerprinted and photographed as well. Hayy.

  24. Major Tom – hot pandesal and steaming black coffee is quite easy to prepare. I used to love strong black coffee to the max but eased up on it a few years ago . I now put whitener instead of cold milk or cream to make it lighter. Cold cream somehow makes the brew a little colder. I like it steaming hot πŸ™‚

    I does appear like a bait to some people but if one needs to protect himself, it is better to register. If I were an illegal I would definitely consult my lawyer first.

  25. Nell – I know the feeling. There was one period in my working life where I used to skip breakfast coz I had no compulsion to eat. Sometimes a cereal bar would come in handy, where you can eat it while on commute πŸ™‚

    Definitely agree with you – first things first. I guess the good gov of NY is quite frustrated with the whole thing and therefore went with the damage control solution. I am not surprised of the opposition votes to this proposal from New York state residents.

  26. Nicehart – looks you’re sticking with the Pinoy breakfast with that Milo. I guess the kids need the Milo esp during winter πŸ™‚ Fruits are great and you can have the kids bring some in the lunch bag.

  27. Jeff – yes, the decision is based on practicality, on making the best out of a losing situation I would think. There’s those that would insist that observance of the law is paramount but if you look at the long term implications if nothing is done on the damage control side , it is quite scary.

  28. Kathy – just like us, avoiding to cook in the morning seems to be the concern. We only cook breakfast on weekends ( pag sinipag) but we’ve been used to easy to make breakfast for years now. πŸ™‚

    Knowing the stringent rules in Japan, I don’t think it will happen. I can be bold to say that illegal immigration in the US had become a nightmare because lawyers, in collaboration with politicians always strive to find loopholes in the legal system and then do their very best make an ass out of the law 😦

Leave a Reply

