Lights Out !

fa05068.jpg I’ve been used to sleeping with the lights out since I was a kid and with that mild insomnia threatening me every now and then making me sleep at night with the lights on would be equivalent to torture, and that is depriving my body of much needed rest and sleep and making me almost useless the next day. Our bedroom is devoid of light when I go to sleep at night, except for the red LED lights of my alarm clock which rests on top of the TV and the light green panel of my phone set. These are the two devices that illuminate my room enough to give me that sense of orientation, of where I am in the real world in case I wake up at night. My windows have blinds that allow light into the room as indication that morning has broken. Science says that our bodies are sensitive to light and our pores react to light thinking that it is morning releasing the hormone cortisol to give us the energy we need to start our day. Turning the lights on might trigger the release of cortisol making us unable to sleep.

I remember my uncle’s wife who couldn’t sleep at night if the super bright flourescent lamp in their bedroom wasn’t turned on. I’m thinking, what if my wife is like her ? Man, that would be one heck of an incompatibility, wouldn’t it? Incidentally my uncle had mistresses but other than his being a police officer which was sort of a justification of his womanizing ways , I’m now thinking maybe his spending less nights with his wife may have something to do with him not able to sleep with the lights on. LOL.

Sometimes a bright room does help in transitioning between dream world and the real world though. The moment you wake up, you immediately know you’re back to the real world. One time my wife read a book to our daughter in her room, decided to sleep with her that night minus the small lamp shade that usually serves as the night light for the room. Then she had a dream of someone sending her a box frozen chicken at her parents home. Her brother helped her open the box and both of them were appalled to find frozen rat carcasses instead of chicken ! All of a sudden, live rats came out of the box and started chasing her. She was running frantically to elude the creatures she fears to the max and was on to the “bangungot” stage when she woke up but at the same instant, my daughter moved with her small hand accidentally smacking the right side of the wifey’s face ! Since my wife was still transitioning from the dream world to the real world in the pitch dark bedroom and couldn’t make sense of reality yet, she thought the rat had jumped on her face, whereupon she started shrieking wildly – WAAHHH WAHHH ! I was sound asleep in our bedroom and knew diddly squat about what was happening to her !

She didn’t make a big deal out of it but related the incident the following day when we were having coffee after dinner at a nearby mall. I nearly choked with the Cinnabon bun when I heard the story. I was laughing my ass off for a while and I told her I’m glad you didn’t wake me up that night because it wouldn’t have been fun for someone to wake up and laugh his ass off instantaneously πŸ™‚

Do you sleep with lights out ?

MODERN DEFINITIONS :

Cigarette: A Pinch Of Tobacco Rolled In Paper With Fire At One End & A Fool At The Other.

Marriage: It’s An Agreement In Which A Man Loses His Bachelor Degree And A Woman Gains Her Master…

Divorce: Future Tense Of Marriage

Lecture: An Art Of Transferring Information From The Notes Of The Lecturer To The Notes Of The Students Without Passing Through “The Minds Of Either”.

Conference: The Confusion Of One Man Multiplied By The Number Present

Compromise: The Art Of Dividing A Cake In Such A Way That Everybody Believes He Got The Biggest Piece.

Tears: The Hydraulic Force By Which Masculine Will-Power Is Defeated By Feminine Water-Power.

Dictionary: A Place Where Divorce Comes Before Marriage and Success Before Work

Conference Room: A Place Where Everybody Talks, Nobody Listens & Everybody Disagrees Later On.

Ecstasy: A Feeling When You Feel You Are Going To Feel A Feeling You Have Never Felt Before.

Classic: A Book Which People Praise, But Do Not Read.

Smile: A Curve That Can Set A Lot Of Things Straight. Yawn: The Only Time Some Married Men Ever Get To Open Their Mouth.

Etc.: A Sign To Make Others Believe That You Know More Than You Actually Do.

Committee: Individuals Who Can Do Nothing Individually And Sit To Decide That Nothing Can Be Done Together.

Experience : The Name Men Give To Their Mistakes..

Philosopher: A Fool Who Torments Himself During Life, To Be Spoken Of When Dead.

Diplomat: A Person Who Tells You To Go To Hell In Such A Way That You Actually Look Forward To The Trip.

Opportunist: A Person Who Starts Taking Bath If He Accidentally Falls Into A River.

Optimist: A Person Who While Falling From Eiffel Tower Says In Midway “See I Am Not Injured Yet.”

Pessimist: A Person Who Says That O Is The Last Letter In ZERO, Instead Of The First Letter In Word OPPORTUNITY.

Miser: A Person Who Lives Poor So That He Can Die Rich.

Father: A Banker Provided By Nature.

Criminal: A Guy No Different From The Rest… Except That He Got Caught.

Boss: Someone Who Is Early When You Are Late And Late When You Are Early.

Politician: One Who Shakes Your Hand Before Elections And Your Confidence After.

Doctor: A Person Who Kills Your Ills By Pills, And Kills You With His Bills.

Office : A Place Where You Can Relax After Your Strenous Home Life

24 Responses

  1. I have trouble sleeping if there is any type of light on (e.g. light from the hallway, a nightlight, etc. oops, I used “etc”, hehe). A sleep mask definitely comes in handy during naps when the sun is still up or when one can’t avoid having light in a room. If not a sleep mask, I use a sweater sleeve or some other cloth to cover my eyes to block out the light. Regarding the marriage definition, some may say its actually the man who gains his master. hehe

  2. I sleep with lights out, but I want a little glow around the room so I won’t stumble on anything when waking up to go to the bathroom. The aircon has digital settings that keep lighted while it is turned on – so it provides that glow I want in the room. πŸ™‚

  3. I do not only sleep with the lights out, but with a pillow over my head, hehe. πŸ˜€

    Hahaha, I think I have those modern definitions too buried somewhere in my inbox. Although I should say “Ouchh!” to the first word in the list, haha. πŸ˜€

  4. I sleep with a tiny lamp shade at a corner of my room . I still feel a little freaky with total darkness 😦

    I love the new definition of Ecstasy … so poetic πŸ™‚

  5. Hi, I stumbled on your old blog during a google search. Most people like me sleep with the lights out but what if my partner wants it on ? Now that makes me think a live in agreement makes sense . Don’t marry if you can’t sleep together !

  6. when my husband was away, i sleep lights on. but if he was home, of course, lights out. i’m a coward. i tend to imagine a lot. even noises can be associated with something not nice and that’s the start of my insomnia. but when he was home, it’s lights out. i know someone is there to protect me. πŸ™‚

    lol at new definitions. true noh? πŸ™‚

  7. Wil – I remember airlines give out masks on long flights, to make sure that passengers are well rested. It used to be part of the package along with sleeper socks so you can remove your shoes and wear it instead. In my case, I require the minimum, faintest light possible .

    I think there’s a typo in that marriage definition. It should be β€œ a woman gains her masters β€œ meaning master’s degree hehe  πŸ™‚

  8. Rhodora – good that you have an aircon unit that gives out a night light. In my case, our A/C and heater are centrally controlled. It does make sense to have some illumination so you won’t have to grope in the dark like a blind man when you wake up at night to go to the bathroom πŸ™‚

  9. Sngl – looks like you are over-protected with that additional cover on your head bro , never mind Arabella l guarding you hehe  πŸ™‚

    My dad smoked for 30 years, quit when he was fifty. He passed on when he was 87. It’s never too late to quit smoking !

  10. Irrealis – you must be one of those Pinoy kids brainwashed by ghost stories when you were young . I was too but then when I came to this country, I found that there are no kapre, mananaggal, aswang here hehe. I bet you don’t have these stuff in Korea too 

    These definitions are double-edged, aren’t they πŸ™‚

  11. Anonymous – well, there’s always the possibility of a compromise , that either party may cave in. How about sleeping in different rooms ? It’s a bummer but can be an option πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment .

  12. Ipanema –I think you were fair, in that your husband didn’t have to deal with the threat of insomnia LOL.. When you were together – lights out ! Great..hehe.

    Looks like yours may be a matter of trusting that your house is completely safe and that you have your big boys in the other room watching over you . This can hopefully make you sleep better.

    Yep, some of those definitions are ironically true πŸ™‚

  13. lights out!!

    lol @ the definitions. My favorites are Smile and Yawn hehe

  14. Verns – you mean you’re not scared of santermo any longer hehe πŸ™‚

    I actually like the Diplomat. It does fit the job description of the U.S. Secretary of State πŸ™‚

  15. “Boss: Someone Who Is Early When You Are Late And Late When You Are Early.” – cliches are there for a reason. I can’t believe this one is true.

    Anyway, my schedule changes every two months. When it’s night shift, I can still sleep (well) during the day.

  16. Jeff – re the BOSS, how true indeed. For some reason, when you’re late, the BOSS shows up before you πŸ™‚

    I remember my first job required I had to work on night shift and boy I had to take sleeping pills on occasion. It does require getting used to. It’s not good to switch between night and day shift every week ! One or two months is about right πŸ™‚

  17. I definitely sleep with lights out, a pillow and my trusted Mrs. P ( a pink soft hippopotamus stuff animal ..yeah yeah, I’m almost 40 and still have ’em bunch) My husband sometimes had to find me under my paraphernalia to kiss me goodnight he he

    ‘love your Modern definitions…wicked!! πŸ˜€

    btw, did you cook the crab rice?

  18. We’re the same. I cannot properly sleep with the lights on. If the lights are on, I put a pillow on my head so I’m not bothered by the glare.

  19. Thess- you’re still comfy with your security blanket like my daughter who sleeps with 6 stuffed toys πŸ™‚

    Will try to cook it this weekend, my cooking day. I’m a crab nut and love those foot long SUBWAY crab sandwiches πŸ™‚

  20. Abaniko – with a bucket of San Mig, sometimes we sleep soundly forgetting to turn the lights off πŸ™‚

  21. BW, my husband says I’m like our pug, we both can’t sleep without ‘toys’ beside us.
    Your daughter only have six? *lol* kidding, mate.

    Oh, then please don’t forget to share with us your kitchen expertise. Bummer, our SUBWAY do not offer crab sandwiches (crab is just too expensive and lots of locals aren’t that familiar with it.)

    have a fun weekend..and happy cooking!!

  22. Thess – you and your pug are both spoiled πŸ™‚ My daughter has 6 Webkins stuffed toys she’s fond of right now so they all go to bed with her. She does have heaps of stuffed toys that need to be recycled soon .. https://bwzone.wordpress.com/2007/04/ πŸ™‚

    Yes, our SUBWAY and the new QUIZNOS have crab footlongs on their menu and for a much lighter snack, I like toasted bagel with crab meat which is available in any bagel fast food counter. My wife is the “rice queen” in the family and she eats a boatload of rice for every meal LOL.. I’m sure she’s eagerly waiting for the crab rice recipe hehe πŸ™‚

  23. I feel sorry for that woman’s husband who had to contend sleeping with a flourescent light on in the bedroom. I hate those suckers. I mostly have lamps with bulbs that cast a yellow glow all over the house.

  24. Eric – I won’t be able to stand it too and that’s probably why my uncle had a mistress so he can sleep better, at least half the time during the week hahaha πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

