Silly Laws

clart.gif

Officer, can I pee in your helmet ? If a pregnant woman asks a British bobby this question, the officer better oblige as the woman under the British law can legally relieve herself anywhere she wants ! The British law also considers dying inside the House of Parliament illegal !Were they trying to discourage duels inside the Parliament in those days? Laws are laws and they’ve remained in the system for ages to the point of becoming obsolete and silly, inapplicable to the modern day code of conduct . A poll was done in the UK to vote on the 10 silliest laws still on paper and this was the result of the survey. I couldn’t find the list of silly laws but I found this on a joke archive.

A survey was likewise done on the present day top 10 silliest rules from the rest of the world . It is interesting to note that the penalty for masturbation in Indonesia is death. Exhibitionists and perverts better watch out ! Laws definitely evolve over time and I’ll not be surprised that in future a law banning humans from marrying animals may actually become a reality. I can see the world declaring war on smoking. Who knows, some countries may totally ban smoking. Now what about those who want to legalize pot ? Nuff said. I’m not going to rack my brains over this now 😦

MUSINGS FROM A TRIP OUT WEST

My friend who moved to Calgary , Alberta told me that he found the people there rather homey or “comfortably informal and inviting” which he thought was great. That old fashioned community spirit wherein everyone rubs shoulders with each other is encouraging especially in this day and age where new immigrants tend to be reclusive and xenophobic and reluctant to mingle with the crowd.

I had a taste of their “homeyness” on a couple of occasions in my last trip to the city. One morning I was on my way to work I had a nice chat with a charming middle-aged , fortyish lady at the elevator. We talked about the weather and the ongoing hotel renovations. Just before the door opened at the ground level, she asked me ” Can you help me bring stuff from my car to my hotel room ?” Ugh. What might be these “stuff” she is talking about ? Pet phytons on a trunk ? If they were humungous luggages, well there’s bell boys who can do it. My defense reaction was – “ Sorry lady, I am running late for a 9 am appointment at work. ” Whereupon she murmured walking away, quite upset ” Oh, well, people have their reasons.” Stupid request? Nah, I don’t think. Perhaps the lady was too homey or penny pinching with the tip for the bell boy. Suffice to say I wasn’t in a “chivalrous” mode at that time and rightfully so.

The other time was on the same trip, at the airport on my way back home. As I was tucking in my hand carry bag at the overhead baggage compartment ready to grab my aisle seat, the guy seated in the middle seat beside me on the same row was chatting on the cell phone with someone wishing him a happy trip. As I sat down, he immediately said hi to me which I thought was nice so I said hi too. At least I have a friendly neighbor but since I have an introverted manifest personality when it comes to plane rides, I was telling myself this would be our last conversation for the entire 4 hour trip. πŸ™‚ A couple of minutes later he blurted – “ excuse me, would you not mind sitting in the middle seat? ” Huh. What makes him think I’d like to squeeze myself like ham between two dudes? Do I have fetish with elbow rubbing? I immediately retorted – ” NO. Sorry, I prefer aisle seats when I travel ” . I’m always an aisle guy, and my travel agent makes sure I get the aisle seat when making my reservation. He said ” OK, that’s fine.” A few minutes later, I found out that passenger in the middle seat, the row just in front of us was his wife. Now I know why he asked me. The dude will have me swap places with his wife so they could be side by side. Stupid request ? NO if I was his buddy and I would give in but YES because he was a complete stranger and I couldn’t allow a stranger to grab my valuable real estate and cramp me up for 4 hours for his own convenience. Me mad ? Nope. The dude was just trying to pull a fast one on me without any explanation . Nice try but thanks. I can’t be a hero that time.

In this day and age of where our social skills are challenged by the pressures of the rat race and the tension of racial conflicts, such requests are unthinkable , if you’re not imprevious to a rude reply, and akin to mortal sin if spoken in the urban sprawl of super large cities or megacities. It is thought provoking though to be asked such naΓ―ve or almost silly questions. It just goes to show that people in smaller cities are more upfront , transparent and less adversarial than their big city counterparts. In truth, I wasn’t pissed or anything , in fact pleasantly surprised that such naΓ―ve and silly sounding requests are still being asked in some places, and people aren’t too concerned that they would get a rude reply. Or perhaps I looked like an overly nice guy who couldn’t swat a fly – who knows ? πŸ™‚

34 Responses

  1. How do get the fish drunk ? Pour whiskey in the aquarium? Hehe πŸ™‚

    I like to sit in the aisle too. I can go to the washroom anytime without disturbing anybody. What was this guy thinking?

  2. I think that lady just wanted some s*x with you… πŸ˜‰
    I don’t think I would exchange my aisle seat for a middle seat. I am claustrophobic!

  3. Oh, this suplada is an ice queen, I mean aisle queen πŸ˜› I don’t like being seated by the window or mid because I really really hate saying to the person next to me ” I need to pee, move!”

    he he kidding! but really, nothing but the aisle seat pls.

    Are you also celebrating Thanksgiving in your area? Yes or No, I wish you Happy Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

    and be careful, don’t turn the speaker too loud to listen to you know what.

  4. Irrealis – I have no clue how to make a fish drunk hehe πŸ™‚

    I don’t know what he was thinking. Frankly, I don’t have the guts to ask someone to change seats with me without a reason .

  5. Sidney – hahaha… far out man. I didn’t think of it that way. I just wanted to stay away from being a baggage boy LOL πŸ™‚

  6. Thess – that’s precisely the reason why I told my agent to book me an aisle seat on both return trips !

    Yes we had our Thanksgiving in October pa. No problem – Happy Thanksgiving to you too. Sure I’ll listen to it intently and give u feedback hehe πŸ™‚

  7. Stupid politicians equals stupid laws. And there are no shortage of them. I’ve read a couple of those laws (and some more) in The Book of Lists parts 1 to 4, and I tell ya, sometimes I wonder if these guys were in their right frame of mind when they came up with those silly, but amusing laws… πŸ˜€

    I dunno but, I always take the window seat whenever I fly, sorry for the passenger next to me should I decide to relieve my bladder two times in an hour, haha. πŸ˜€

    Some people can be so wily, no? Putting up a friendly front just to get you to do a favor from them.

  8. Sngl – a case in point, rape is one charge that is incredibly difficult to convict in this part of the world but in Pinas, it is easy to get a death penalty on rape.

    You’re right, some of them are amusing, esp that law in Vermont where the wife must have written permission from the husband for her to have false teeth hehe πŸ™‚

  9. Thess – I’ll say this in my blog – that song EMBRACEABLE YOU you sang is AWESOME and the video is great and the quality of the sound on my Altec-Lansing speakers is fantastic ! WOW , you rock sis πŸ™‚

  10. I’m not much of a traveller but I do prefer the window. I guess, I like looking out the dreamy clouds.

  11. oh brother! may nabola na naman ako! ha ha ha! pero seriously, thanks for listening. btw I am currently scouting for speakers for my office slash music studio slash photography studio (tipid ano? *lol* ) can you give me an idea which Altec you have? bec. my room is approx 300cm W x 500cm L and i wish to get a surround set…this is tricky for a small room. (oops sorry off topic)

    i actually came back re: stupid laws…i wanted to say ‘wait til I write the present dutch stupid laws!! (kukulo dugo mo) I’ve been restraining myself from writing about it, for many reasons pero who knows, i might explode one of these days.

    we don’t have thanksgiving here..but since friends are coming over tom. for dinner, I might create my own πŸ˜‰

    have a good weekend! πŸ™‚
    ps.
    ang daya mo! d mo pa sini-share yung crab rice mo..akala mo nakalimutan ko na ha! ano pati reaction ni misis? :D:P

  12. People’s attitude sometimes teach us to be like them. I experienced some rudeness which is quite alien in our culture. But sad to say sometimes, I get even. Especially in a work situation where people try to abuse your being ‘nice’. I am not always nice! I give them a piece of my mind and the nest time they approach me they watch their words.

    Di ba? I tell people, if you are good to me, I am going to be better than that. But if you show something else, it’s an eye for eye. πŸ™‚

  13. by the way, those are really silly laws.

    as for plane seats, I prefer the window or the aisle. I only stay in the middle seats when my children were young – avoid fighting and so i can feed the other one. πŸ™‚

  14. Leah – you’re just like my wife. She prefers the window seat too. That’s OK if it is a short flight but for longer flights, you see nothing but clouds. I like the freedom at the aisle seat πŸ™‚

  15. Thess – I know about the laws you’re talking about, like it is legal to smoke pot in Amsterdam hehe πŸ™‚ I haven’t been to Holland and it is on my list the next time I visit Europe.

    Here’s the list of Altec Lansing speakers. I only have a 2 speaker system for two of my systems but the quality is very good.

    Check this link : http://www.bizrate.com/computerspeakers/brand–altec-lansing/products__att259–43253-.html

    Yes, I did the crab rice which is fairly easy to cook. I added cilantro though.. it was good πŸ™‚

  16. Ipanema – I know what you are saying. Sometimes our being nice and hospitable are being misconstrued as our weakness. Frankly sometimes, Pinoys become sensitive to direct statements. We’ve been used to being magalang, with our usage of HO and PO. Maybe we should eliminate them so we can just say what we want, without the fear of being disrespectful hehehe πŸ™‚

    I guess it’s different when you have children in the flight. In your case the middle seat is almost compulsory πŸ™‚ I

  17. Flying commercial flights is bad enough without the guy next to you asking to switch seats. This happened to me once before, and it took not even a fraction of a second for me to say no. The nerve of that guy.

    Rather too forward of that woman you just said hello to in the elevator to ask you to carry some luggage for her from the parking lot. And I thought New Yorker were weird. Unbelievable … lol.

  18. When I was on a waiting for a train last year, a lady asked me if I could help her carry her luggage onboard. I told her yes and she ended up giving me a few dollars as a tip. I was surprised since I wasn’t really looking to make money that day. hehe. But a lady asking you to help her carry luggage from her car to the hotel room? hmmm… for me, it would depend on how attractive she is. haha

  19. That’s why I never really like to visit the south here in the states. You could end up in jail with stiff (no pun intended) penalties in most southern states for oral sex..with your spouse included! How they find out? I don’t know.

    Caucasians who are familiar with our asian culture are quick to exploit our kindness in their favor.

    I almost fell for a trick during a sorority hazing being conducted at a Westwood apartment complex outside of the UCLA campus where I work. The ploy was a pretty lass drying her underpants by her apartment patio 4 floors above the sidewalk where I was walking to my favorite burrito place in the plaza. She drops one of her wet panties a few feet infront of me and when I looked up to where it came from, the pretty lass was up ther pretending to be so helpless and told me that she will buzz me in the front door and if I can take her wet panty up to her room. I said no, rolled up her wet panty and tossed it up to her. Proceeded to wash my hand at the sprinkler and while I was doing that I heard girls giggling upstairs, that’s when I knew that it was a trick. I never found out what they were trying to acomplish with the trick.

    Window seat for me and I splash myself with the most obnoxious smelling cheap cologne or after shave lotion that I get free from the cheap motels that I stayed in prior to boarding the plane. No cheap fake niceties from me during the flight, no conversation and if the person sitting next to me has flatulence problems during the flight, I will smother him or her with the complimentary throwaway pillows!

  20. Very silly laws indeed. The corruption laws in our country are also silly—coz they won’t work at all. πŸ™‚

  21. they are silly and funny laws indeed. they must be a result of a still young generation, innocent or ignorant – whichever – not thinking of the probable effect and results in the future.

  22. And speaking of silly, stupid laws, how about the ones imposed by the Taliban during their rule in Afghanistan, where even music and kite flying were considered offenses?

  23. Eric – these homey folks are the present day cowboys of the country much like Texas. It is common to see folks in this part of the country don their jeans, boots and cowboy hat wherever they go. I have observed that their 5 star hotels are quite mediocre by international standards – quite small but functional and never luxurious – not in the same league as those we have in Manila. This might be an expression of their no nonsense, hardworking and spartan mentality in my opinion.

    As for NYC – you know the saying.. if you can make it in NY you can make it anywhere πŸ™‚

  24. Wil – we were both guests in the hotel and I wasn’t quite sure if she just checked in. I was doing a project at theat time and my mind was hell bent on not screwing it up and meeting the deadline so my interest with the opposite sex was at it’s lowest hehe πŸ™‚

  25. Noypetes – punishment for oral sex with your spouse ? LOL ! When was this law created. You’re right and how the hell would they know ? πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you didn’t fall for that sorority trick ! I remember in my old frat days we used to wear a frat badge to alert people that we were under initiation and not deranged jerks πŸ™‚

    The guy with the flatulence problem better sit at the aisle hehe πŸ™‚

  26. Major Tom – these laws you are talking about might be double edged, susceptible to many interpretations . The funny thing also is the lawyers are so preoccupied with finding legal loopholes with laws and with the help of politicians, make a total ass out of the law !

  27. Bing – true. When some of these laws were created, serfdom and slavery was still prevalent and their provisions only made sense at the time they were legislated. Such laws, which had never been officially repealed, are inapplicable and most of them totally taboo in our modern day society. One wonders what will happen to our existing laws say a century from now.

  28. Sngl – if music and kite flying were considered offenses, then what were normal things ? I also heard that schooling for women was banned as well as dipping in the swimming pool. The latter I can imagine as the Taliban look like they smelled worse than goats hehe πŸ™‚

  29. i should call you sardonic bw, hehehe! and speaking of this old lady ‘ang kapal hah?’ nagkausap lang sa elevator eh may favor na agad. heheh, ang sama ko talaga!

    now i’m reminded of this co-worker before who would always asked me to recheck her reports (as in almost everyday hah). i guess i got to my saturation point, that one time she left another one of her papers on my desk without even asking. i got so pissed and i decided to teach this person a lesson. so i shredded her reports, put it inside a manila envelope, and with a marker pen; i wrote CONSIDER THIS DONE! hahahahah. i was on cloud nine that time. needless to say, she didn’t asked me for another favor. bwahahah :mrgreen:

    sorry hah, napakwento ako…

  30. Nell – masyadong homey ba yung lady hehe πŸ™‚

    Often times yung kindness natin or pakikisama is being misconstrued I agree. Kaya ako I try my best to be upfront so there is no misundertsanding or misinterpretation.

    So you did insert the shredded paper into an envelop ? LOL… I guess she’ll never ask you a favor ever again πŸ™‚

  31. Illegal to die in the parliament building?! hahaha

    I heard that a pinoy legislator once sought to repeal the law of supply and demand. Another wanted to outlaw typhoons.

    Sometimes, in my worst of moments, I wished Christmas would be outlawed too. But then I always end up celebrating it to the hilt.

  32. Annamanila – Repeal the law of supply and demand? . hahaha. I just might have the idea who that politician was πŸ™‚

    I’m with you on outlawing Xmas too hehe.. it’s that time of the year when you can run but can’t hide when it comes to stressing up your wallet πŸ™‚

  33. Perhaps, you really look like an overly nice guy. πŸ™‚

    Last year, on a plane trip en route to Manila, a German lady wanted me to give up my seat for her boyfriend who was sitting at the other end of the row. Had she sounded in a less demanding way, I would have said yes. However, she was quite demanding and insensitive. So, I said, I didn’t like to give up my aisle seat, albeit in a diplomatic way. She then bugged the European guy sitting beside his boyfriend. Surprisingly, the guy obliged.

    Like you, I’m an aisle seat person.

  34. Jayred – maybe I do look overly nice 😳

    But you know what the twat just asked me plainly if I wanted the middle seat with no explanation whatsoever so I was a little irked. Even if he did, I would not have given him my seat anyways hehe 😈

Leave a Reply

