Pageant Fiasco II

Last year we witnessed a horrendous fiasco on the pageant stage when actor Alan Thicke, then emcee for the Mrs.World pageant announced the winner yet a different contestant was crowned ! The blunder which was caused by miscommunication was reversed within minutes, to the utter disappointment of Mrs. Costa Rica, whose tears of joy were abruptly turned into embarrassment, when Mrs. Russia, the winner on record was finally crowned. The fiasco left a sour taste in people’s mouths and the only consolation if ever was its instant rectification.

Another fiasco happened lately, this time with the Miss California pageant when a winner was crowned but reversed in favor of another contestant days later, when the organizers found a discrepancy in the ballot tally ! How can this happen when prestigious accounting firms are hired to guarantee that results are tabulated perfectly ? How can a professional accountant mishandle grade 3 addition ?

The real question is – must the organizers reverse the decision ? If the final tally had been sealed, and a winner proclaimed in a real time contest which assumes that all due diligence had been exercised to ensure the accuracy of the tally, couldn’t we simply attach a ring of finality to it ? I remember the huge sign at the defunct Jail Alai fronton at Taft Avenue that said “el fallo del jues es inapelable” ( or so..) which meant “the judge’s decision is final” – end of story. What is your take on this?

Talking about pageant fiascos, here’s one from Miss USA that got her merciless boos from the boorish crowd who were clearly out to discredit her at every opportunity possible. 😦

Here’s one from Miss Universe 2004, a stunning lass from Australia on her attempt to dabble in ramp modeling. 😎

The 12-inch Flamer

Two buddies went were playing their usual weekend golf game when by sheer luck, both of them scored an eagle ( 3 strokes) on a par 5 hole. It was a monumental achievement for them so a celebration was in order. Guy A took a couple of expensive, first class Cuban cigars from his golf bag so both of them can celebrate their golfing milestone. Then he took a 12 inch lighter from his bag to light the cigars, the size of which bewildered his buddy.

Guy B : where did you get that weird lighter ?

Guy A : You won’t believe this but I bought this great looking used leather golf bag from a golf store and when I was cleaning it, a genie came out and he was the one who gave me this lighter.

Guy B : Is the genie still in the bag? Can I request him for something?

Guy A: Sure, here’s inside.

Guy A invokes the genie to show up and smoke came out of the bag and the genie appeared.

Genie : Yes, master. Is there anything I can help you with?

Guy A : Well, my buddy here has a wish and wants you to help him

Guy B : Genie, I want you to give me a million bucks right now, at this very moment

Genie : Your wish will be granted master.

A huge cloud of smoke appeared and the genie was gone. In an instant the entire golf course was filled with a million ducks !

Guy B : What the ??? I requested a million bucks – not a million ducks!

Guy A: Well, you know, the genie can’t always be right. Sometimes he makes mistakes.

Guy B now looks intently at the 12 inch lighter Guy A was holding…

Guy A : Now hang on. You’re not thinking of asking me if I requested the genie for a 12 inch dick are you ?

pip5.gif

26 Responses

  1. To my mind, this sort of fiascos could be one of those worst nightmares that I am always wary of, having won and so elated about it and then be told that it wasn’t actually the case.

    By the way, very funny joke. I enjoy’d it so much.

  2. Well one thing I can say about Miss Aussie, she’s got nice bottoms and those thongs sorta highlighted them… hehehe. πŸ˜€

    BTW, am amazed you still remember that Spanish sign at the old Jai-Alai building. Mukhang madalas ka yata dun ha? πŸ˜€ That place is all too familiar to me since I passed by that art deco building everyday for 5 years while at Adamson U… πŸ˜€

  3. My gosh that’s a bummer when your crown is taken away and given to someone. I hate that feeling.

    The joke is so funy hahaha !

  4. Hardy har har. πŸ˜€

    Indeed, they oughta get a new accounting firm to tally the votes. Then again, do they really need an accounting firm for that? hehe

  5. that’s so embarrassing. and you’re right with those people involved. couldn’t they get it right?

    lol @ 12 inches πŸ™‚

  6. Hehehehehe…. great joke!

    Very embarrassing but in the end it is good that the real winner gets crowned.
    Maybe Garcillano was among the people counting the votes… πŸ˜‰

  7. You must be a beauty pageant aficionado, BW — to have compiled all those “ooops, bloops” moments. I wonder if Ms. Australia won that contest … she should have!:)

  8. Woh, fallen lady and fallen skirt.

    Its a pity such mistakes happen with contests like this. It is humiliatiing to be announced a winner and then taken back.

    Have you seen “Man of the Year” starring Robin Williams? Imagine if same thing happened on a Presidential election.

  9. Major Tom – in an emotionally packed contest much like boxing or any other spectator sport, finality on the results is critical ! I bet you the pageant organizers can prevent these kind of things from happening if they really want to !

  10. Sngl – yes, at one point in my life the Ajai Alai on Taft was a watering hole for me after office hours hehe . It was fun to chill out with friends over beer and enjoy the action packed event. I did bet but wasn’t immersed in heavy gambling πŸ™‚

  11. Irrealis – I bet you in the near future other women will sue the organizers for the horrible anxiety and embarrasment this kind of thing brings upon them. 😦

  12. Wil – yes, the are hiring prestigious accounting firms for tallying pageant results and you will hear familiar names being announced on stage. In fact in pageants I’ve watched, the accounting firm rep hands over the envelope to the emcee for announcement. Maybe the accountant screwed up the Excel spreadsheet hehe – who knows !

  13. Ipanema – it is really embarassing and worse, the organizers asked the outgoing winner to call the new winner on the phone to break the news 😦 Well, as consolation the outgoing winner keeps all her prizes but what would you feel when you hold a bash with family and friends to celebrate a fantastic win only to lose it days later? 😦

  14. Sidney – my redneck instructor told this joke on one sleepy afternoon in class, after the effects of coffee died out hehe πŸ™‚ We’ll never know – maybe there was a Garci character on the accounting team who rigged the tally for someone to win πŸ˜›

  15. Annamanila – it just happened I blogged about the Mrs World pageant fiasco last year, so this post is a sequel and who knows there might be a pageant fiasco III in the future hehe πŸ™‚ Well, you are right – the Miss Australia was Miss Universe 2004 !

  16. Leah – that would be a unimaginable if a president is stripped of his title after winning in and you witness the drama when Gloria Arroyo was nearly stripped of the presidency after allegations of cheating ! I would say a president being stripped of the titlet would be the supreme embrassment in any contest 😦

  17. Hahahaha… Fun.

    I thought you made a typo when you said “Mrs World” hehe… Didn’t know there was one like that. I guess you also heard about the latest Miss Puerto Rico who claims her dress has been sprayed with mace, making her breakout in rashes. Also the infamous Miriam Quiambao stumble that gained popularity but unfortunately wasn’t televised.

    I just moved to wordpress myself, it’s more user friendly dont cha think?

  18. Alternati – good to hear from you again after a long absence ! Hope you had a great vacation 😎

    Yes, there’s a Mrs. World contest for all its worth, and I don’t even know why there has to be one hehe 😯 I did see Miriam Quiambao’s slip on YouTube but it wasn’t as dramatic as Miss USA’s πŸ™‚

    Great decision to move to WordPress – it’s much more flexible and user friendly, let alone easier to access ! I got problems getting to blogspot sites lately and I’m forced to sign in to Google with my old blogger account so I can post handily. It’s become quite cumbersome 😦

  19. Oh no! What a cruel fiasco which I thought only happened in the movies. Remember, Zoolander? It was a spoof of the fashion industry that began as a short skit for the 1996 VH1 Fashion Awards? Anyway, in one of the scenes, Ben Stiller stepped up to accept an award meant for Owen Wilson.

    Love the joke!

  20. hmmm I don’t understand why they boo-ed Ms. USA…it’s kinda cruel.

    As for Ms. Australia..wished she did not do it like that, you know covered her behind…thongs are pretty common and with the skirt she was wearing, of course it’s expected she wear one. Besides Sngl is right…her butt is nice…sheesh why am I saying these things???

    Anyway di ko na gets ang joke hehe bucks rhymes with ducks…dick rhymes with??? I mean if bingi yung genie…

  21. Eric – yes, booboos even happen in such emotionally charged events such as beauty pageants ! Ouch, Ben Stiller’s goof up was really embarrasing 😦

    Thanks – told by a funny redneck was a treat hehe πŸ™‚

  22. Verns – that was really cruel and the media bashed the Mexican crowd for being boorish. Totally uncalled for in my opinion 😦

    The joke had to do with the 12 inch lighter. Perhaps when Guy A requested for a 12 inch dick or “flamer”, the “unreliable” genie erred by giving him a 12 inch lighter instead πŸ™‚

  23. ohhhh…blimey! isang meaning lang ng dick ang alam ko hahaha ano ba yan πŸ˜€

  24. Verns … no worries, I’ll keep my mouth shut hehe :mrgreen:

  25. I also noticed that you like your beauty pageants, bw. πŸ™‚ I also used to watch Miss USA and Miss Universe. Somehow, I’ve lost interest, or maybe I am just busy watching other shows. πŸ™‚

    And I’ve also wondered why they need accountants to tally the votes. It’s just a matter of simple addition. πŸ™‚

    Funny joke, and like verns, I’ve learned one thing. Never heard of flamer before used in that context. πŸ™‚

  26. Niceheart – it’s just a consequence that my wife likes beauty pageants hehe πŸ™‚

    Well, accountants add credibility to the process so that the public will believe that accuracy is guaranteed but in this case, the process stumbled 😦

    You’ve learned a new word I guess :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

