Mind Games

psychodog.gifI am a total stranger when it comes to psychology or psychiatry for that matter therefore I am in awe, in complete astonishment at how the mind can be mended to come up with a desired behavior. My amazement goes to the fathers of psychiatry and psychology who developed theories about the mind and behavior, a subject matter that is totally abstract and dynamic. I happen to agree that the eye is simply an accessory to the understanding of reality, and that reality is nothing more than the perception of the mind, which differs from people to people. Without the mind, there is no such thing as reality. I marvel at mind experts who have the audacity to proclaim a sex offender completely rehabilitated and unlikely to offend again. Perhaps they really know or are they just hazarding a guess ?

It always boggles my imagination when experts attempt predict a person’s behavior through a response to a series of questions, often through a written test. We see these happen in employment applications and management seminars. Are these tests really accurate ?

If there is one thing that is definitely not me, it is being a prefectionist. I’m not sure if I ever met a perfectionist in my life because I know I can’t deal with one 😦 I am an advocate of doing things right but I will not want to kill myself going for the gold all the time. In other words, I shoot for 90 when I take exams – never 100. I pity folks who cry when they get 95. 😦 There’s a difference between lowering your expectations and beingΒ  realistic and practical and I think we all ought to know what it means. That’s just me – as they say different strokes for different folks 😯

Going crazy with confusion

A psychiatrist visited a California mental institution and asked a patient, β€œHow did you get here? What was the nature of your illness?” He got the following reply.

β€œWell, it all started when I got married and I guess I should never have done it. I married a widow with a grown daughter who then became my stepdaughter.

My dad came to visit us, fell in love with my lovely stepdaughter, then married her. And so my stepdaughter was now my stepmother. Soon, my wife had a son who was, of course, my daddy’s brother-in-law since he is the half-brother of my stepdaughter, who is now, of course, my daddy’s wife.

So, as I told you, when my stepdaughter married my daddy, she was at once my stepmother! Now, since my new son is brother to my stepmother, he also became my uncle. As you know, my wife is my step-grandmother since she is my stepmother’s mother. Don’t forget that my stepmother is my stepdaughter. Remember, too, that I am my wife’s grandson.

But hold on just a few minutes more. You see, since I’m married to my step-grandmother, I am not only the wife’s grandson and her hubby, but I am also my own grandfather. Now can you understand how I got put in this place?”

After staring blankly with a dizzy look on his face, the psychiatrist replied: β€œMove over!” :mrgreen:

For fun, here’s some tests on self control, perfectionism and adultery. I think they are quite interesting. I encourage you to do it and feel free to share your results πŸ™‚ How’s your promiscuity rating ? hehe πŸ˜›

28 Responses

  1. I commented once on your post about Anna Nicole. Interesting blog you have here.

    I don’t put too much trust on psychological questionnaires. I think of it as an approximation technique and not exact science. It could be pretty close but never to be written in stone.

  2. Funny joke ! Gosh, I fail badly in self control =)

  3. …but I am also my own grandfather

    that line is like the funniest! haha

  4. if there’s one immortal power i’d like to have, it’s knowing how to read people’s mind as they think. ;P

    i’m not fond of psychological tests, but once in graduate school, a classmate ‘forced’ me to answer her EQ test and i’m glad i did well. haha.

  5. I took the adultery test and here’s my result:

    You rate as: Low risk promiscuity – 0 to 6 points

    Responsible, dependable, caring and happy with their own lot. They will not look outside of the relationship for their thrills and do not rely on novelty to give themselves the high of being in love. They have greater satisfaction, a greater degree of investment in the relationship and a lack of perceived alternatives – they look only to their partner for all the benefits of a loving relationship.

    Man, my life is sooo boring! πŸ˜€

  6. Cato – thanks. I think so too but some people put more weight on these written tests. Some companies filter out applicants based on their psychological test scores – aka separating sheep from goats !

  7. Irrealis – ugh, really? Looks like you have to work on it. I hope it’s just with implusive buying and nothing else hahaha πŸ™‚

  8. Verns – that line was the kicker I think 😯

    I tried to understand the joke carefully and the man seems to be telling the truth πŸ˜€ Looks like a psychologist concocted this joke hehe πŸ˜†

  9. Barry – reading other people’s mind would be awesome I think . That would be one heck of a power πŸ™‚

    Those test are kinda weird. I remembered taking a battery of tests for a job promotion and one of the tests asked me to write a 500 word max essay about a square, just a square box etched on a plain white paper πŸ™‚

  10. Sngl – great ! looks like you’re a perfect candidate for a “professional husband” hahaha πŸ™‚

  11. wholly crap! this guy surely has one messed up family. i’d go crazy as well if i had to remember all that stuff, hahaha πŸ˜€

  12. Nell – just imagine how more screwed up it will be if his grandfather married his step-daughter hahaha πŸ˜›

  13. Low level promiscuity sucks! πŸ™‚ I scored a 5.

  14. Whew! Now I’m dizzy πŸ™‚

    It’s been said that if only Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels had an idea about how the mind works (Freud came later), they would have known from the beginning that communism will not work. Hitler, on the other hand, supposedly exploited group psychology to the hilt; hence achieved incredible power.

    But only thing I know about the way the mind works is through the old adage, “thoughts manifest themselves.”

    Enjoy the weekend!

  15. funny how i shared this with our big boss earlier today and he had to scratched his head. even telling me that he has to read it again cause he’s LOST! hahahah, have a great week end bw πŸ˜€

  16. Hahaha! That is one twisted family tree.

  17. i took some tests…definitely not OC but i am a medium risk promiscuity

  18. Panaderos – welcome to the club ! Looks like we all need to be a bit more adventurous hehe πŸ™‚

  19. Eric – I had to read it very slow hehe πŸ™‚ It is also astonishing how man’s man can change its reaction towards reality, more so on a societal basis. Perhaps the mind does evolve, particularly in its interpretation of morals, of what is right or wrong. 😐

  20. Nell – you made your boss think too hard today bro πŸ™‚ It does look like a puzzle being solved backwards, isn’t it ? hehe πŸ™‚

  21. Ferdz – it would be nice to see how the family tree really looks like haha πŸ™‚

  22. Leah – you’re medium risk ? hehe πŸ™‚ I’m a low-risk wimp – can do no better than committing “emotional adultery” haha πŸ™‚

  23. and i thought i’m an OC! weee di pala. kaya lang, i took the adultery test and i belong to the medium risk promiscuity. that is funny. πŸ˜€ no i am not going to take this seriously. but, how come? how come? he he

  24. actually, psychology is a course that i somewhat want to take up for college. but my dad doesn’t like. and i think i’ll be good at that. hehehe ;p

  25. Bing – you’re medium risk too? πŸ™‚ Might have to do with your answer to liking of horror films hehe πŸ™‚ For the life of me, I don’t see the correlation of enjoying horror films to the propensity to commit adultery ! There must be a sinister connection that I am not aware πŸ‘Ώ

    Not to worry because the medium risk band is rather wide and if you’re in the bottom half you’re likely to be low risk. Now if you are in the top half – I don’t know about that hahaha πŸ™‚

  26. Tin – same as here, both my dad and grand father wanted me to be a lawyer and I refused vehemently. If I did, siguro politician na ako ngayon πŸ™‚

    It’s never to late to be a psychologist – you’re still young. If you become one, let me know and I’ll be your first patient hehe :mrgreen:

  27. bw,

    I wonder what the correlation is between sleeping with the lights on and adultery. Is one more sexually adventurous if he/she prefers to sleep with the light on?

    Just wondering. I can’t sleep with the lights on. Hehehe

  28. Panaderos – not sure but sleeping with the lights on ( incidentally I blogged about this believe it or not :)) is different than having sex with the lights on hehe πŸ™‚ Perhaps they mean having sex with the light on !

Leave a Reply

