Valentine’s Day

gorilla.jpg

This is what I got for Valentine’s last year – a gorilla hugging a red pillow and a small red box of chocolates (gone). Perhaps my wife thinks of me as King Kong , totally crazy about her , jumping buildings and valleys, braving the Apache helicopter’s firepower so I can take her to my lonely den up the cloud laden mountains hehe 🙂 Isn’t he cute ? No?? That’s fine with me as long as she doesn’t pull a “prank” on me, sending me a Valentine basket at work which she did quite a few times. It embarrassed the heck out of me 😳 that I vowed to be absent from work every Cupid Day hahaha 🙂 My female colleagues were rather impressed ehem… my male colleagues surprised ( hey, did it really come from our wife?) 😛

bar_62.gif

monster37.gifWe’re not really that big with Valentine’s here unlike in Pinas where people celebrate it like crazy, with restaurants and motels getting too crowded 🙂 I’m going out for dinner with my wife and I’m not even sure who’s paying haha 🙂 Just kidding – the wifey and I share the same vault. Funny I mentioned this because here there seems to be an unwritten rule on who picks up the check. I tell you it’s great to be a girl in Pinas 🙂 On Valentine’s we try to give our partner something nice and meaningful. Some go the full stretch to give their loved one the big kahuna 🙂 I remember the time when I was in Manila and had to leave before Valentine’s , I ordered a dozen roses for my wife ( was still my girl friend at the time) from a flower shop in Glorietta to be delivered to her office on Valentine’s day. Many years after we got married she revealed to me that she called up the shop to check how much the flowers cost. She then told me I should have given her the money instead hehe 🙂

divider_29.gif

arg-cupids-revenge-trc-207x165-url.gifValentine’s was invented for a reason and that is to celebrate the heart that ticks and beats for someone special to us. I hope this Valentine’s Day will be special to you and it matters not if you don’t have one now – no worries, there’s 6,602,224,175 people in this world and don’t tell me you couldn’t score at least one hehehe 🙂 For those who have someone to hold on to, I wish for cupid to bond you even tighter ! Have fun !

divider_154gif.jpeg

29 Responses

  1. Wise ang wife mo. That Valentine basket worked.

    So intead of waiting for you to come home from work on valentines’ day, you decided to stay at home. Magaling. LOL

  2. Whether on a date, or just dining out with women friends,I always end up picking up the tab. I don’t know man, maybe it’s the Chinese in me…

    Happy Valentines to you, bro. 😀

  3. Happy Valentines Day!

  4. Can’t believe some guys don’t want to pay. I’d rather have King Kong hahaha 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day !

  5. happy valentines’s day, bw!

  6. finally, i got to see this famous bear your wife gave you last year! he is cute. 🙂

    hahahahaha…i would think the same, perahin na lang. some arrangements costs thousands of pesos. sos!

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your loved one! What did she gave you this time? 🙂

  7. Myepinoy – gives me a compelling reason not to work on Cupid Day for sure 🙂 I think it started when she was on maternity leave for 1 year and didn’t have much to do and it became a bad habit hehe 🙂

  8. Snglguy – know what, it’s probably a fallout of the feminist movement, the demand for equal rights so why not include paying for meals LOL 🙂 But in Pinas, we men seem to be chivalrous to the max and same like you, I pick up the tab always 🙂 Happy VDAY to you too 🙂

  9. Jeff – Happy Vday to you too bro 🙂 BTW, best of luck on your book 🙂

  10. Irrealis – well, maybe they should move Valentine’s day to the 15th which is payday haha 🙂 Happy V day to you too. I’m sure you folks celebrate it in South Korea too 🙂

  11. Mari – happy V day to you too – have a wonderful one 🙂

  12. Ipanema – considering that King Kong almost occupies the chair, he’s a bit big you know 🙂 Yep, she found out the dozen red roses was quite pricey and could have bought may things with it she told me hehe 🙂

    It is still noon of the 14th so I don’t know what she has for me tonight and we will surprise each other LOL 🙂 Happy VDay to you too 🙂

  13. happy hearts day, have a wonderful valentine celebration 😉

  14. hmmmmm ako flowers pa rin kahit isang rose lang…oh well, that’s because I never…uhhmmm okay shut up verns hehehe

    I love your wifey’s sense of humor…=)

  15. Nell – same to you bro 🙂 Hope you are having a wonderful Valentine’s Day with your loved one !

  16. Vernksy – Maybe I went super gungho with the flowers that time and tried to impress her too much hehehe 🙂

  17. Pards, Happy Valentine’s Day! Nice gorilla you have there! Hahaha

  18. Panaderos – thanks 🙂 I’m sure you had a rockin’ V Day too.. I took a day off today to rest 😛

  19. Never too late to wish you a nice Valentine, isn’t it? I hope it is every day Valentine’s Day for you and your wife!

  20. Sidney – thanks 🙂 I did have a great celebration with our little daughter in tow at dinner in a nice restaurant and she also slept in our bed last night hahaha:) Hope you had a nice V Day celebration too 🙂

  21. Belated Happy Valentine’s Day, BW!

    I’m not so much into this V-Day thing (good for my husband). I think I just watched TV and cooked chicken nuggets last Thursday. My husband, meanwhile, just monitored stories on climate change online (how exciting). BUT he did buy me a box of Lackerli chocolates (yummy!).

    By any chance, do you somehow resemble that gorilla? (LOL)

  22. P.S. Who needs flowers when you can have cash? LOL.

    I told my husband on our second year as husband and wife to stop giving/sending me expensive flowers during special occasions. Cash will do. LOL

  23. Jayred – my wife does have a sense of humor with the gorilla thing and if ever I look like King Kong, it’s her who would be in trouble hahaha 🙂

    I admit the flowers I sent her in Manila was a bit over the top hehe 🙂 Maybe I was just trying to say sorry, I can’t postpone my flight any longer.

    think Valentine’s Day is over rated really. It’s nice to have but not really mandatory 🙂

  24. I cant remember the last time I got flowers from my husband anymore. Its like a thing of the past. I guess, those gestures were really big in the dating/BF-GF stage.

    I think you still have the romantic touch. How was the dinner date. Ours was postponed for the weekend.

    Enjoying the winter yet? he!he!

  25. This is what I mean with eking out as much (splendid) little pleasures from this sometimes difficult life.

  26. Leah – yes, in the FF-GF days such gestures are very important. My wife actually prefers spa gift certificates over flowers nowadays 🙂

    Our dinner date was great and I’m still peeved with winter as always hehe 🙂

  27. Annamanila – if we can have holidays for presidents and even the dead, heck we could certainly have one day for the heart hehe 🙂

  28. I’m impressed when one continues to give flowers to the partner even if the two have been married for long already. It is even more impressive to have a wife who sends you flowers at work. Keep the love burning, bro.

  29. Abaniko – dunno but I feel embarrassed carrying the Valentine basket in the train. I have to drive in to work so I can load it in the car hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

