PRICEY POOCH

dogs29.gifI have stopped subscribing to newspapers for more than a year now and the main reason why I did it was because I hate the clutter and the hassle of disposing them on garbage day. My favorite paper nowadays are the much slimmer freebies. I love newspapers that look like they’re doing a synopsis of the day’s events. I hate to read long news – a couple of paragraphs of a news item are just about ideal for me especially when I haven’t had my dose of caffeine yet. I just take the paper from the stands before I board the train, read the headlines, the sports section for 5 minutes and I’m on to my daily crossword for the remaining 25 minutes. I try to do 80% of the crossword and doze off for 5 to 10 mins before getting off. I do the remaining 20% on my return trip and simply leave the paper in the train or recycling bin at the station. Pretty boring routine, isn’t it? I also prefer to preserve my zombie-ish state and not to utter a single word until I get to the office- no cell phone calls if possible 🙂

Here’s a couple of today’s news bits that I thought were interesting :

PRICEY POOCH

Man loses his dog and puts a $15,000 reward for it’s return. What can one buy for $15,000 ? Hmm.. a brand new 1300cc, 4 cylinder car perhaps? Would you put up that kind of money for your pooch? Yes, if you have that kind of money to spare ! The good news is the dog was found and returned to its owner. For that kind of reward who wouldn’t be a bounty hunter for once ? 😆 I remember a female colleague of mine many years ago who told me she spent $17,000 in lawyers fees in a contested divorce case. It took almost the same amount for pooch to come home in a matter of days – life isn’t fair isn’t it ? 😦

And by the way – what do you think of this news bit ? Awesome isn’t it ? A few lines is what it really takes to tell the darn story 🙂

divider_111.gif

INFIDELITY DATING SERVICE

I’m not sure if this type of arrangement will fly in other countries, especially those that still suffer from the scourge of the machismo syndrome. Bad or good ? What can you say folks ? This is like saying – OK, perhaps I could try my darnest best to do anything to save this marriage ” for the sake of the children “( the proverbial excuse) so heck, maybe this dating service game can calm me down a bit 🙂 What would be really interesting is if you accidentally hook up with your spouse in the service hahaha 🙂 Whatever happened to swinging ?

There’s this belief that an unmarried person has more to lose than a married one in an illicit affair so apples to apples will be just fine – make it both married people then. Duh. What makes this service interesting is the organizer happens to be an experienced master craftsman in the field of infidelity so she is simply sharing her wisdom to assuage the suffering of her clients 😦 Now she seems to be pitching the idea that infidelity can be an alternative to the more devastating divorce – just be careful not to fall in love. Man, I don’t know about that. Sooner or later someone’s bound to get caught which makes divorce almost inevitable 😦

30 Responses

  1. My cousin and I once saw this actress on TV talking about how she loves her dog, how she sleeps with her, buy her stuff etc etc. We didn’t get it…we thought it was absurd. But when my cousin had a pet dog, she told me that it was really impossible not to love them like a human being because they are so “malambing” and so lovable.

    So you know…maybe that’s the reason why some people shell out that much for their pets.

  2. Wow, too much love for a dog. Lucky finder !

    What about the for better or for worse part of the marriage vow?

  3. I Came Across Your Site When I Was Doing A Google Search On “dating a divorced man” And I Found And Your Post “Dating advice to single women” Very Interesting. I Felt That I Should Drop A Note To Let You Know What A Great Site You Have. It is a great resource and a great place to drop by. I Also Have A Dating Site Which Demonstrates How The Power Of Online Dating Can Be Harnessed Internationally And With Great Success. Its strange that While online dating may seem like a new concept to some, there are currently thousands of singles who log on to online dating sites everyday in the hope of finding the one person out there who is truly meant for them.

  4. I Came Across Your Site When I Was Doing A Google Search On “dating a divorced man” And I Found And Your Post “INFIDELITY DATING SERVICE” Very Interesting. I Felt That I Should Drop A Note To Let You Know What A Great Site You Have. It is a great resource and a great place to drop by. I Also Have A Dating Site Which Demonstrates How The Power Of Online Dating Can Be Harnessed Internationally And With Great Success. Its strange that While online dating may seem like a new concept to some, there are currently thousands of singles who log on to online dating sites everyday in the hope of finding the one person out there who is truly meant for them.

  5. I Have To Be Honest And Say That I Enjoyed Your Post “INFIDELITY DATING SERVICE” I Came Across Your Site When I Was Doing A Google Search On “dating a divorced man” And I Felt That I Should Drop A Note To Let You Know What A Great Site You Have. I Can Not Agree With You 100% Regarding Some Thoughts, But You Got A Good Point Of View Over This Issue.

  6. I pretty much have the same routine on my way to work too.

  7. Some people love their pets very much that they won’t think twice about spending huge sums of money to pamper them or in this case, to have them back. I think that’s much better than what some of our countrymen do. They love their dogs so much that they think their dogs go well with beer. 🙂

    As for the infidelity dating service, for some people, it’s all about the freedom to do what one wants. Going back to your previous piece about glory and degradation, the same applies here. One is free to make one’s self and life better. But on the other hand, one is also free to destroy that life.

  8. the idea of infidelity as an alternative to divorce is bs. it’ll complicate things more.

  9. Verns – i know what you mean. We become so attached to our pets especially if they are so malambing. What if your partner is so malambing – you will spend a fortune to keep him too ? hahaha 🙂

  10. Irrealis – dogs are very loyal pets and I am not surprised if people become attached to them. 15 grand is a bit too much though but again if one is loaded like this guy , I guess he can spend the money 🙂 I mean he can offer a reward for 200 bucks but if he’s crazy about his dog, it’s his money anyways.

    Unfortunately the better or for worse vow is just for show and people have very poor memory when it comes to this matter 😦

  11. Jeff – maybe it is the lack of caffeine that makes me grumpy hehe 🙂

  12. Panaderos – you like them spicy eh ? hehe 🙂

    This reminds me of an incident in Manila where a dog was accidentally hit by a jeepney and all of a sudden a man comes from nowhere and tugs the dog on his shoulder and runs. I’m not sure if he was trying to rescue the dog or thinking of caldereta haha 🙂

    This infidelity dating service is a money making scheme feeding on people’s frailty and I have serious doubts of its efficacy 😦

  13. Mari – it does complicate things more when feelings of guilt start to bother people. I guess those people who are terribly frustrated with their relationships become more adventurous.

  14. Dating a Divorced Man – we all have our own takes on such a controversial issue and there is never a single answer that appeals to everybody. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  15. so much money to spare huh?

    i don’t think that it is a better alternative to divorce. this seems to make it more messy. 😦

  16. For those with means, $15K is nothing when it comes to their favorite pooches. I bet Paris Hilton wouldn’t balk on spending twice that amount on her chihuahua.

    I’m sure this type of dating service will flourish in this country. The list of members would be like a who’s who in business and politics…. 😀

  17. Big Bro since I’m a “dukha” mantinir na lang sha sa akon man nga lambing eh hahaha now if he got lost then it really depends on how he got lost…if he got lost because he went sniffing other women then I also know how to do that “cariño brutal” thing or maybe reclusion-perpetua…

  18. That is indeed a lot of money for a dog…

    As for the other issue I guess some people like complicated things. 😉

  19. I don’t have much money but if ever, I am prepared to give my last cent to someone who could return my pug! OR better yet, I will just buy an extra leash and make sure he sticks close..cheaper than any reward..o di ba?

    re: infidelity…suddenly faces of BradGelina and Jennifer Aniston flashed before me ..forgiven? forgotten? encouraged? changed world?

  20. Ipanema – some people do have some moolah to spare 🙂 It does appear more messy doesn’t it? I guess for some people marriage is merely nothing more than a paper agreement 😦

  21. Snglguy – Paris Hilton does pamper her chihuahua to the max 🙂 I’m not surprised if she bequeaths all her fortune to the lucky pooch 🙂

    You’re thinking business now bro hehehe 🙂

  22. Verns – the super-lambing but woman-sniffing guy doesn’t deserve any ransom I suppose hehe 🙂

  23. Sidney – it’s a lot of dough and what bothers me is people who will exploit these wealthy, altruistic dog owners and start dognapping to get the reward 😦

    Yes some people are bit more adventurous and like to take risks 😐

  24. Thess – I can understand your feelings for your very cute pug 🙂 Yes, buy him a long leash. There’s also the GPS dog collars available nowadays that creates a vibration when the dog crosses the coordinates set on the GPS forcing the dog to go back to his master :)It is a service so it is quite pricey.

    Oh you know those celebs – they change partners every now and then 🙂

  25. You have Fidelity website, which deals with finances and then you have the infidelity website which is a completely different website. hehehe. For some reason, I’m no longer shocked about websites like that infidelity website. Could be b/c I live in the US which has a 50% divorce rate. Probably another reason why I’m still single. hehe

  26. Wil – an of course, the word infidel also means something else hehe 🙂

    The divorce rate is quite shocking indeed. The bad part is it can really mess one up financially especially if it is a contested divorce where at least one party claims assets from the other 😦

  27. Perhaps you’ve also read news on cats getting millions in inheritance after their owners die. Lucky felines.

  28. Abaniko – yep, super rich Leona Helmsley bequeathed most of her fortune to her pooch, more than what she gave to her relatives duh 😦

  29. Westerners really love their dogs don’t they? 🙂 I remember on my sister’s wedding, she asked my Mom to make a tuxedo for her American fiance’s poodle. I was in charge of bringing the tuxedo but forgot it… they were all so mad at me and I couldn’t understand what the big deal was all about. 🙂

    Newspapers in Cambodia are so thin… you could read them in a minute. 🙂

  30. Toe – a pooch in a tuxedo? – that would have been dandy ! 🙂 It would have been nice if it happened and you posted pictures of it hehe 🙂

Leave a Reply

