Ahhh… The Little Pleasures of Life

Wars, sectarian strife, terrorist bombings, political assasinations, genocide – why do we have such horror and misery in this world, pray tell ? As the great book wisely says, we must fill our minds with good thoughts and of things of beauty πŸ™‚

Ahhh, the little pleasures of life… Couldn’t we all just stop and smell the roses, see and enjoy the beautiful things around us ? Life is just too precious to waste πŸ™‚

divider_136.gif

MARCH BREAK – I’ve been re-energized

You really appreciate the much needed break when you wake up at 530am and shovel up the driveway for an hour so you can leave (duh) and enjoyΒ  a 30 deg reversal in weather, from -10 to +20 deg C at the time you reach your destination. By the time we reached the clear skies and the relatively warmer climes of North Carolina a day later after an overnight motel break, I noticed that our van was so dirty and ugly filled with chalk like dried snow splattered all over its body. It looked like husky running the Iditarod dog race in the Artic teleported right into Main Street USA. A quick trip to the auto car wash was needed to give it a decent look and not like the spy who came in from the cold πŸ™‚

If you think I was crazy driving 900 miles ( 15 hours) one way, there were many crazy folks like me out there as evidenced by the numerous Ontario car plates I saw at the resort. In fact there were crazier folks than me who came all the way from middle earth and I’m talking Quebec and New Brunswick hehe πŸ™‚ Eastern North Carolina was the quickest way I could get to a 20-22 deg C weather. I could have driven 6 hours more to get to the tropical climes of Florida but no thanks. I was contented with walking around on flip flops, shorts, T shirt and playing golf with retired septuagenarians who can no longer control their fart πŸ™‚ If there was any place in the world you could play 3 rounds of golf with cart for $100 in a good course, it was in this place. It was my golf paradise – no beaches and margaritas for me this time. Having breakfast and Pinoy lunch (courtesy of the wifey , the perennial rice queen) – beef sinigang, ginisang monggo with pork, grilled prawns –at the porch with the sun on my back was like living a normal life again.

I’m quite fortunate enough to live at the southern part of Canada where the sunny climes of the US of A are driveable. The strength of the Canadian dollar was a real bonus too. But more importantly, not seeing the white stuff for a week was exhilarating. If you try to put me farther up in the great white north I’d rather go back to good old Pinas because I can’t put up with old man winter any longer 😎

divider_16.gif

Maryland Crab Sandwich

crab-ck-581705-l.jpg

I love the African-American β€œsoul” food of the South. I love the emphasis on pork dishes – pork roasts, bbqs, boiled pork in carrots and potatoes and especially slabs of shredded roasted pork on a golden , buttery bun. Splashed with gravy and chili sauce it is orgasmic hehe πŸ™‚ One non-soul food dish that I got fond of in this trip was the Maryland style soft crab sandwich. Very simply, it is a seasoned soft shell crab deep fried whole, with all the arms and legs ( minus the gills of course) and dropped smack dab in between a kaiser bun. I love the crispy and crunchy crab taste when you bite right into the sandwich. Having a cole slaw on the side and a mug of beer to down the sandwich is definitely better than sex πŸ˜›

Β 

27 Responses

  1. You must be really sick with winter haha.

    I love to try that crab sandwich πŸ™‚

  2. Whoa! Who’s that hot-looking chick in that You Tube vid with the Sergio Mendez background music? The sight was enough to fill my mind with, ehem… “good” thoughts this Good Friday. Mwehehe πŸ˜€

    900 miles in 15 hours? That’s quite fast, bro. Here in Pinas a 900 mile trip would take you around 20 to 24 hours. Then again, they have better roads where you’re at…

    That soft-shelled crab sandwich looked delicious, man. Are you supposed to eat the whole thing with the shell? Kinda reminds me of the fried crablets of Casa Ilongga…

    Oh btw, have a fun and happy Easter, bro. πŸ˜€

  3. That girl is hot πŸ™‚

    Is there anything better than sex ? πŸ™‚

  4. Irealis – you bet. I’m contemplating of filing a divorce with winter hehe πŸ™‚

  5. Snglguy – she’s Pinay-Canadian Riza Santos, Miss Earth Canada 2006 πŸ™‚

    The roads here are wider and better although there is a strict speed limit – 65mph and in some states 70mph. I could have gone straight but we took an overnight motel break bothways and treated it like part of the vacation πŸ™‚

    Yes, you have to consume the crab in its entirety, including the crunchy legs, with the sandwich πŸ™‚

  6. Ryan – she looks good bro πŸ™‚

    Yes, there are things better than sex hahaha πŸ™‚

  7. That was a great vacation you had, bro! On the US side, did you drive down I-95 on your way to North Carolina? How was your experience at the US border? Was there a long wait before they let you guys through? A friend of mine complained that he had to sit for 4 hours at the border trying to get home to New York from Montreal.

    Like you, I’m so tired of the winter. I am so tired of having to put on several layers of clothing just to do simple stuff such as run to the grocery or post office. So sick of it.

    Riza’s pretty and that soft shell crab sandwich certainly looks very appetizing. πŸ™‚

  8. Hate mo talaga ang winter ha? I’ve pretty much learned how to live with it. πŸ™‚

    The Maryland crab sandwich sounds interesting. Soft shell ba? I wonder how long they have to boil the crabs. Or are there crabs that have softer shells than the others?

  9. Panaderos – We crossed the border at Buffalo, NY and on to I-79 via Pittsburgh, PA and connected with I-95 in Virginia and North Carolina.

    The border crossing wasn’t too bad – it took us about 30 mins. Coming back it was about the same time and much quicker but since Canadian border guards don’t even check our passports as long as you answer their questions correctly.. They just check the car plate number to make sure that it is returning to Canada.

    The first time I ordered the Maryland crab sandwich my wife ate half of it hehe πŸ™‚ So the next time I ordered for her coz I didn’t want her to spoil my appetite πŸ™‚

  10. Niceheart – maybe it is for the fact that I don’t have a winter sport that’s why I hate winter πŸ™‚

    The soft shell crab is one that has molten or shed its hard shell so it is very soft and can be eaten entirely. In North America the blue crab is one specie that is harvested with the soft shell. The deep fried ones are very tasty and crispy and you feel like you haven’t wasted anything when you eat all of it including the legs hehe πŸ™‚

  11. You sound like you’re really disgusted with winter. And it’s understandable naman.

    You know, you’ve just committed adultery with a crab sandwich, with the help of coleslaw and a mug of beer.

    Who’s the girl in the video? Your wife?

  12. I forgot to say: Happy Easter! (Your last line kasi distracted me from my original intention.)

  13. Jayred – nope, she’s not my wife LOL πŸ™‚ She’s Pinay-Canadian Riza Santos, Miss Earth Canada 2006.

    The reason why I chose the video is because of its simplicity and the liveliness of the accompanying music ” Like a Lover” by Sergio Mendes. Unfortunately we don’t make this kind of music anymore. This video clip makes me feel optimistic and pulls me out of my winter blues. When I watch and listen to it I feel like the sun is up, the beaches are open , the roses are blooming and there’s love in the air πŸ™‚

    Happy Easter to you too πŸ™‚

  14. Happy Easter bro!

    I’d love to have that Maryland Crab Sandwich with cole slaw on the side and a mug of beer. ha ha ha.

  15. Myepinoy – here’s my mug – cheers πŸ™‚

    Happy Easter to you too.

  16. 15 hours? That’s too long for me. I don’t even like driving 2 hours to go to Sacramento, California’s capital. The weather must be that bad up there, huh? hehe.

    I had to look up who Riza Santos is and it looks like she’s on Pinoy Big Brother. I don’t really get why that show is so popular. I guess people want to see if people are going to hook up or something. To each, his own.

  17. ah, it feels so good when one is revitalised! hope you enjoyed your holidays! πŸ™‚

    great shots!

  18. Maryland style soft crab sandwich, better than sex? no kidding, huh. he he was just thinking now that you must be very hungry that time.

    it must have felt revitalizing..

  19. Wil – look what we have to put up with just to see the sun hehe πŸ™‚

    Long driving can be enjoyable if you take the driving itself as part of the vacation.

    Beats me why the show is popular. Well at least there’s a pretty face you could see but beyong that I don’t know. 😯

  20. Ipanema – you bet – I was revitalized. Have to wait for another 5 months to go for another vacation πŸ˜‰

  21. Bingskee – you may suspect that I have an overdose of sex ha hehe πŸ™‚ When you go idling for a week, there’s always a danger of overeating πŸ™‚

  22. i can’t wear flip flops and shorts at 20 degrees. i’ll get frostbite. hahaha!

    happy easter!

  23. Now, that’s a real nice crabby patty; Sponge Bob would surely be all grin if he puts his hand on one.

    Have fun and enjoy your ‘warm’ holiday bro…

  24. Mari – considering the 30+ degrees gained when we got there, 20-22 deg was quite a relief for me. Heck, I could live in a 20 deg weather all year long hehe πŸ™‚ Happy Easter to you too πŸ™‚

  25. Major Tom – you bet I enjoyed the short vacation.. Happy Easter to you too πŸ™‚

  26. i saw riza in one of malls here and she looks hot, though i hate that her face seemed so made up. i prefer women with less or no make up πŸ˜›

    and that crab sandwich? damnit, i want to try it. can you send me one here in Manila? haha

  27. Barry – the only time you can see women minus any make up is when they wake up in the morning I guess πŸ™‚

    i don’t think Fedex will accept a frozen sandwich for overnight shipping haha πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

