8 Random Facts ++

Here’s the meme tag that blogger friend Thess tagged me – 8 Random facts about me :

1. I don’t wear cologne. I’m happy with a quality after shave lotion that lasts for a better part of the working day. I love scents that are mild and makes people sniff around for the seemingly disappearing scent πŸ™‚

2. I love caps. I have more than 2 dozen baseball/golf caps notwithstanding the ones I misplaced and lost over the last 2 years.

3. I adore kids for their happy disposition and the purity of their innocence. I don’t mind waking up with my daughter’s Webkinz stuffed toys all over my bed.

4. I hate people who exploit the green movement like politicians who increase taxes for the “benefit” of the environment, like proposing to impose green “fines” who use their cars to drive downtown instead of public transportation which to me is plain hogwash 😦

5. I hate movies with lots of crying episodes, especially Pinoy dramatic movies. Since movie is an art form, the message of misery or tragedy can get across powerfully and poignantly minus the “huhuhu” or crying hysteria. You can either relate a sad story or start wailing like crazy to evoke emotions and Pinoy movie makers seem to prefer the latter.

6. I’m not a fan of fiddle (violin) music. Please don’t take me to a show or pub with people jumping up and down with fiddle music in the background. No offense here but I am incredibly bored with it.

7. I bloghop at the office πŸ˜‰ but unfortunately our network security rules don’t allow the Blogger comment pop up window 😦 So what I do is comment on the WordPress blogs ( and others ) at the office and do my Blogger comments at home πŸ™‚

8. I’m a generally impatient person but not one who would easily lose his temper. I absolutely believe in the saying ” the size of a man can be measured by the things that make/him her angry” πŸ™‚

Consistent with my anonymous blogger profile, I had to age my pic several years over so I can hide my identity 😎 I won’t be tagging anyone so please feel free to tag yourself πŸ™‚



NEVER TOO LATE

Brian May, the lead guitarist of rock band QUEEN is truly an odd fellow . After spending several decades playing with a world renowned band, May finally got the icing on his illustrious life, a Ph.D. in Astronomy at age 60 ! It’s never to late to get that elusive degree isn’t ? Now May has a challenge in front of him, should he decide to pursue a career in astronomy full time. It looks like May may very well keep his day job and be a rocker by day and scientist by night or vice-versa πŸ™‚ Well, Brian May just proved it – it’s never to late to get that degree you’re wanting. Heck, don’t think you’d be launching a new career at 60 but if that degree is meant to justify or prove something to yourself, it’s definitely worth it . It’s just one of those things you want to achieve before you die I guess 😎

WHERE ARE THEY NOW ?

The Ventures probably started it all in the 60’s and Pinas naturally followed the instrumental pop craze with its own brand of Pinoy instrumental rock. The Electromaniacs was one band that stood out from the rest and defined its own niche in the Pinoy rock history. Its music brings me back to memory lane when I was a young boy growing up in the province. Electromaniacs original music was played on radio, the blaring speakers of the town’s public address system during town fiestas, the “bayle” or public dance events in towns and cities. I really never knew the personalities behind the Electromaniacs “combo” but all I could remember was their distinctive electric guitar music that drew people into the dance floor whenever it played. Hearing their music now makes me nostalgic and brings back happy memories of loved ones who are no longer around – my grandparents, my dear aunt who doted on me, the happy days when all I cared about was play, play, play.

May 2, 2008 is the day when the original Pinoy rock groups will meet and play once more, perhaps for the last time at the YEBA Combo Festival at the Fort to celebrate a special and memorable era of Pinoy music history.

50 Responses

  1. identity well-hidden lol. have a nice day.

  2. is that the almost black and white (bw) look? πŸ˜€

  3. I’m with you on #s 2, 5 and 7. I have quite a number of baseball caps myself with each one designed to match a particular outfit. Hehe I can’t stand too much crying in Pinoy movies too for more often than not, I think they’re overkill or an unimaginative way of relating a sad story.

    I’m not surprised about Brian May at all for all of Queen’s members were college graduates. I just can’t recall the name of the university but I believe they all graduated from prestigious British universities. Those blokes are smart.

  4. ahhh…. that music is very relaxing. sounds like hawai’ian music. πŸ™‚

    Not a fan of the fiddle? Who’d have thunk? hehe. I also bloghop at the office, but, shhhh. πŸ˜€

    Brian May is 60 already? And a Ph.d in Astronomy. Carl Sagan would be so proud. πŸ˜€

  5. Thanks for doing this tag πŸ™‚

    where was that picture taken? hotel lobby? lemme see if photoshop can make you un-anonymous πŸ˜› I’m with you on 4,5,& 6 while the reverse of 8 is true for me he he *laging galit!*

    Cheers for Mr. May!

  6. I still have my stuffed toys up to now. Can you email me the original version of that photo? hahaha πŸ™‚

    Dr. May should cut his hair now πŸ™‚

  7. Aye to #5. That’s why I don’t watch Filipino soap operas. Cinema Paradiso, my all-time favorite film, was a poignant movie sans the loud crying.

  8. We’re the same on #1 hehe don’t use much cologne. I thought the smel of soap and water is good enough. Same with #5 and #7 hehe

  9. Oh man, is that the mustache? You did say that you sported a soup strainer once, hehe. πŸ˜€

    Ah, those 10-hankie Pinoy movies… don’t you just love to bash in those overflowing tear ducts?

    Hehe, I remember the electromaniacs, it was at the height of the so-called Combo craze when they came out. Their contemporary and sometime rival was RJ and the Riots, who are still very much around.

  10. Lawstude – I had to degrade the picture into an oldie several times over so I could get the desired effect. At least I didn’t lose me hehe πŸ™‚

  11. Mari – haha.. the orig picture is colored but due to the degradation, it seemed to turn into bw – black and white πŸ™‚

  12. Panaderos – I collect them to match my outfit likewise but end up giving it to people sometimes. A few of them I really like and wear them more than others.
    D
    oes it include the late Freddie Mercury too ? Perhaps the members of QUEEN were all college students who formed a band – quite impressive if
    they all have college degrees πŸ™‚

  13. Wil – the slow instrumental music of the Electromaniacs are a hit with slow dance way back when. As a kid I used to watch the public dance in our town and I remember the music very well.

    Yep, it’s never too late to get a degree, even at retirement age πŸ™‚

  14. Thess – no worries madam. Hmmm, you have an eye of an eagle 😎 You’ve been watching too much CSI episodes it seems so I’ll not be
    surprised if you can reconstruct it – but it’ll still be me hehe πŸ™‚

    As for no 8 – take it easy on the hubby ok ? LOL πŸ™‚

  15. Irrealis – wooo.. I’m quite shocked..you also want me to autograph the picture ? kidding… hahaha πŸ™‚

  16. Abaniko – sad movies don’t need to be looking like a funeral LOL πŸ™‚ It is the story that matters the most. Me I’d like to get something
    meaningful out of the movie – not just to clean my eye duct !

  17. Ferdz – I just get suffocated with the strong smell of cologne at times. It’s pretty challenging out there in Pinas because of the heat unlike here where you hardly sweat. Sometimes people think that if they don’t
    sweat they won’t smell πŸ™‚

  18. Snglguy – yeah, it’s a decoy coz I don’t wear it anymore for a few years now hehe πŸ™‚

    Do you see those folks with swollen eyes coming out of the movie theatre ? I mean what would I get for crying profusely? Well maybe for some it
    relieves them of a heart ache πŸ™‚

    Can’t believe the Electromaniacs are still alive and licking !

  19. i found a way to deconstruct your photo and show the real bw! for those interested to see the photo, send me a message! hahahahaha πŸ˜›

    i love baseball caps, too; hate melodrama as well; but i enjoy listening to fiddle (violin) music. and yes, i’m impatient, too but extremely good at managing my temper (yeah, EQ rocks!) πŸ™‚

  20. Haha… I like that aged sepia photo of you BW. πŸ™‚

    Naku, OA talaga yung mga Pinoy movies… not only the crying… but all that screaming and throwing the stuff on the dresser. πŸ™‚

    A PHD in Astronomy? These original rockers are really geniuses!

  21. Glad to meet you! Bata pa!
    Interesting tidbits.
    I know almost know who you are! πŸ˜‰

  22. Barry – You would need the BW Code to unlock that pic hehe πŸ™‚

    I dig caps and like women who wear them over their pony tails πŸ™‚ Re managing my temper, I think my problem is being prone to road rage. I gave a guy the middle finger the other day – not a good idea 😦

  23. Toe – I noticed the more I degraded the pic, the more the bigote shows haha πŸ™‚

    One time we ate at a Pinoy restaurant here which had a large screen TV showing exclusively the TFC Pinoy channel. It was a heavy drama soap opera and my little girl who isn’t too conversant with Tagalog finally said ” How come she can’t stop crying ? ” LOL πŸ™‚

  24. Sidney – thanks. ” we almost know who you are” -that’s very funny LOL πŸ™‚ I’d say not exactly young but more of young at heart, belonging to the same generation as cool lads Snglguy and Abaniko πŸ™‚

  25. The Electromaniacs are still around?? I thought it was only Ramon Jacinto and his group who are still active in the local combo scene.

  26. Sngl – what I mean is, they are still alive LOL πŸ™‚

  27. LOL on #5 πŸ˜‰

  28. road rage? that sounds family to me. LOL! πŸ™‚

  29. Photocache – :mrgreen:

  30. Barry – I get real peeved when some careless dude cuts me off so close – I get excited 😦 I know I’m calling for trouble if I behave like a pit bull so I must have a freshly brewed coffee whenever I drive to help calm my nerves πŸ™‚

  31. Bro, i think you need to see the film seven samurai by Kurosawa.This somehow fits your taste for a movie in an art form.

  32. MyePinoy – thanks. Seven Samurai is lauded as the best film that ever came out of Japan and I MUST get a copy of it πŸ™‚

  33. Bro, go watch the Kurosawa’s “The Seven Samurai”. If you loved the “Magnificent Seven” then you’ll surely love it since the gunslinger movie was based on this hack and slash B&W film… πŸ™‚

  34. “…I don’t wear cologne.”
    – I guess you don’t smoke. Me, I have to wear cologne because I’m irritated by the smell of cigarrettes after my yosi break….

    About your pic, I thought you were really that old. He, he…

  35. Sngl – I love collector items type DVD’s and Seven Samurai seems to fit the bill πŸ™‚

  36. I used to collect caps when I was in college, and got so used to be wearing it that the school prefect had to always remind me of not wearing caps within the inside of the buildings.

    I had to complain this to the Dean of Students Affair for it was impeding on my personal right I had reckoned then.

    Hey, good glimpse of you in that not-so-aged picture. At last the mystery behind the name starting to unravel.

  37. Jeff – I guess when you’re a smoker you got to suppress the smell. Because of the no smoking rule here ( everybody has to smoke outside the building rain, snow or shine), the effect of smoke is rather minimized but again I see smokers here use some spray to suppress the smell.

  38. Major Tom – you’re a real fan of caps having to tussle with the Dean to have your cap worn hehe πŸ™‚

    Had no graphic to put into this post so I decided to degrade my not so old picture to shield my identity 😎

  39. So I take it that you don’t like the music in “Fiddler on the Roof”? (I love the film! And I used to have violin lessons.)

    Kids..it’s hard not to adore them. They are just fun to be around. And I like their honesty and innocence.

    You look like the young Rod Navarro in your clear-as-mud pic. πŸ™‚

  40. Jayred – I love violins when played in symphonies but not in pubs with people square dancing and jumping up and down 😯

    About kids’ honesty, the other day my neighbor across the street (a mom) took my daughter to play with her little girl (her classmate) and shen she came back to return my daughter to our house she asked my wife, ” oh, looks like you’re buying a new van – your daughter talked a lot about it “. Now we wonder what she’s been telling her ! You can’t keep secrets with kids I tell you πŸ™‚

    LOL… comparing to Rod Navarro is like an upgrade from economy class to first class hahaha πŸ™‚

  41. I’d like to think you are older than me BW πŸ™‚

    PhD in science is a tough one. Brian May is one tough and smart dude. Is that Electromaniacs? I heard that song many times before but don’t know who play it.

  42. Ryan – it’s alright bro. I would be concerned if you thought I was 20 years old hehe πŸ™‚

  43. naku ha? nag post na ng fektyur. bata pa nga. πŸ™‚

    lol…i know #7 from last year, hahahaha.

    ah, there’s no age limit in educating oneself. at least he did some thing for himself.

  44. Ipanema – I couldn’t find an appropriate graphic for my post so I placed my “clear as mud” pic hehe πŸ™‚ You can almost know me by now LOL πŸ™‚

    I read the news of an octogenarian who graduated with a BS degree. I guess he fulfilled his dream before he passed on. It’s never too late πŸ™‚

  45. hala, huli ka! nag bloblog hop ka pala during ofc hours, hehehe. joke lang, ako rin kaya eh gawain ko yan. bwahaha! it’s good to know more things about you, my friend. sayang at ginawa mo pang blurry yong photo mo. brad pitt, ikaw ba yan? hehehe πŸ˜‰

  46. Nell – yun nga eh, maybe our network security are shadowing my internet access. I’ve seen demos of these systems that monitor internet access – they’re very detailed ! Kaya lang, there’s more than 10,000 users they have to monitor hehe πŸ™‚ Sometimes, dahan lang ako πŸ™‚

    LOL.. that’s the problem with being an anonymous blogger πŸ™‚ Brad Pitbull siguro bro haha πŸ™‚

  47. I like sad movies, ofcourse, ones with story and content.

    Webkinz are cute. My daughter has 3 of them. I think she and your daughter can click.

    Maybe, I’ve seen you before, So mysterious kasi.

  48. Leah – my daughter also has lots of clothes for her Webkinz toys πŸ™‚

    Yeah, I think we may have seen each other being in the same city and attending Pinoy functions. Maybe you were that girl who snubbed me hahaha πŸ™‚

  49. I love caps. I have more than 2 dozen baseball/golf caps notwithstanding the ones I misplaced and lost over the last 2 years.
    >>> wow! i am also into it when i was in high school but when it some of it got lost, i decided not to buy more. but i still wear caps. maybe you can one day post a photo of all your caps.

  50. Dong – me too – I wear them when I go out esp on weekends. It does keep my head warm in the cold and cooler in summer. sure, I’d be happy to take a photo of my caps πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

