Trivial Perceptions….

I remember one time I was at Toronto’s Pearson Airport and wanted to relieve my bladder so urgently and hurried to the closest washroom. I couldn’t find the men’s urinals so I quickly went to one of the stalls. I was suprised by the amazing cleanliness of the washroom, washed my hands, wiped them dry and exited the door. My cell phone rang and I stopped walking to answer it. As I was conversing on the phone, I noticed a woman come out of the washroom ! When there’s no men’s urinals, it ain’t the man’s washroom dude. Geez, brain malfunction or was I just plain dorky ? 😦

My 6 year old daughter who is now in Grade 1 is showing some sense of self-assertiveness lately. Last winter we checked in for 2 days at a downtown hotel for a change and just loafed around the city. Upset that she couldn’t get things her way, she told me – “Dad, we’re no longer at our house and this is a hotel and you’re not the boss in this place ” Nice try sweetie. πŸ™‚ That’s the benefit of going to school and chilling out with little imps I guess. But that’s perfectly fine with Dad πŸ™‚

Do you hate it when Pinoys speak English at a Pinoy store of all places? I’m a little ticked off with cashiers and attendants speaking English at their fellow Pinoys like ” ahh, dis is a pour ninety nine combo, rice, two dishes and a drink” and turns to the folks at the kitchen replying to a question and says “no, no, they went to tsartz ( church) together “ Geez. 😯 While queueing up at the cashier’s line at a Pinoy store, I was irked at a customer who took forever to place her order, speaking English the whole time. I was nodding my head to my wife who was just in front of me in the line and I was almost ready to give up when my wife whispered to me ” hey, she is not Pinoy. I think she’s Indonesian ” πŸ™‚

What did I do on Mother’s Day? No, I didn’t go to church devil me πŸ™‚ I had an 8am tee off with my buddies so I woke up at 600am while the wifey was asleep. Had a light breakfast and packed up my gear with a couple of chocolate bars, a banana and bottle of spring water. Before I left I conspiciously placed my daughter’s Mother’s Day card as well as mine with my “little gift” inside the card, by the dresser mirror. The wifey will never miss the cards when she wakes up and when she opens mine, I was betting she would smile and not think – “hmmm.. that dork is out for five hours again on Mother’s Day at that *&^%$# ” πŸ™‚

I came home past 1pm and while driving close to the house, came across my wife’s car on the road, opened my car window, waved and greeted her ” Happy Mother’s Day ” hahaha πŸ™‚ She was taking our daughter to the pizza parlor for lunch. They came home around 3pm and we all spent the rest of the day just bumming around town, had dinner at a Chinese restaurant in the evening. Man, it was a rather tiring but enjoyable day πŸ™‚

The Recording Industry Association of America’s Top-Selling Albums of All Time

29 Million

  • Eagles: Their Greatest Hits, 1971–1975, Eagles (Asylum)

27 Million

  • Thriller, Michael Jackson (Epic)

23 Million

  • Led Zeppelin IV, Led Zeppelin (Atlantic)
  • The Wall, Pink Floyd (Columbia)

22 Million

  • Back in Black, AC/DC (Epic)

21 Million

  • Greatest Hits, Volumes I & II, Billy Joel (Columbia)
  • Double Live, Garth Brooks (Capitol Nashville)

20 Million

  • Come On Over, Shania Twain (Mercury Nashville)

19 Million

  • The Beatles, The Beatles (Capitol)
  • Rumours, Fleetwood Mac (Warner Bros.)

Hmmm… quite a surprising list isn’t it ? Is this a reflection of who are buying records and what kind of songs people really want to listen to? But these artists were of the pre-cyberspace age when people had to go stores to buy records ! Except for Shania Twain who perhaps surprises more people by making it to the elite honor roll, most of these guys are rock solid artists who you won’t have any major beef with their making it to the list.

38 Responses

  1. Didn’t you read the sign on the toilet door ? lol πŸ™‚

    I think Shania is awesome and gorgeous so I’m not that surprised. AC/DC?? dunno about that.

  2. Hmm, that washroom episode happened to me once inside a restaurant. I only realized my mistake when I couldn’t find the urinal, but since my bladder was about to burst I went ahead and peed to my heart’s content on the toilet bowl… bahala na I thought then. Good thing the place was still empty at the time otherwise I would have been chased out, hehe.

    The overseas Chinese, when they are among themselves usually speak in their native tongue. Be it in N. America, Europe or here in SE Asia, much to the consternation of the locals sometimes. But hey, that’s one way to keep our identity and remind us of who we are, right?

    As for those best-seling albums, I only have two in my possession from that list, The Eagle’s greatest hits and of course, The Beatles. Shows my true age, doesn’t it? LOL πŸ˜€

  3. Unforgettable moments there, especially the washroom episodes.

    The most I could remember ’bout a washroon event was when years ago, I was in the CR of a theater, nearly all alone and there was silence. After I had myself relieved, I went to basin with the mirror in front of it and washed my hands when suddenly I saw a person in dress (which I thought to be a woman) came in, seeing her thru the mirror. I was taken aback of course and wanted to inform her that she had a mistake by entering a men’s room. But as I was about to speak to her, she reached out for the front of her skirt and peed while standing, and with a blank look at me. I just turned away knowing she wasn’t a woman afterall, but a woman-wanna be.

    I agree completely with the list and I had all the albums, only shows they were that popular, selling even long after their release dates.

    I just thought Sgt. Pepper or Revolver should be in the list, and also U2’s Joshua Tree and Nirvana’s Nerevrmind.

  4. β€œDad, we’re no longer at our house and this is a hotel and you’re not the boss in this place β€œ>>> this is really funny. i love kid jokes in blogs.

    i was amazed with the list of the top selling albums of all time. i didn’t know eagles got the top spot. i agree that most of the people right now are using/buying/pirating mp3 instead of buying cds. so it will be very difficult to measure.

  5. Good that there were no women in the toilet πŸ™‚ It happened to me too but when I entered the room I got a horrifed look from one of the women LOL.

    Bribery works ha πŸ™‚

    That all time list is interesting. More than half of them I don’t even know πŸ˜‰

  6. This is actually an amusing read. I guess if you really had to go, you won’t notice a lot of things but to relieve yourself for comfort.

    I really hate it as well when Pinoys try to be so coΓ±otic. My sisters who came from US why Pinoys here try to speak english at jeeps samantalang sila natutuwang magtagalog. Oh well.

  7. Irrealis – honestly, it was a brain malfunction. πŸ™‚

    Well, Shania is Canadian so I guess T have to be sympathetic hehe πŸ™‚ It only means that AC/DC has a huge following, undoubtedly.

  8. I’m not really surprised that the top selling albums were from ’70s and ’80s. I think people nowadays realize that they only like a few of the songs on an album so they just buy individual songs for 99 cents on the internet instead of shelling out $15 for an album that may only have 4 good songs on it.

  9. Snglguy – would have been different if I was in dire physical stress – but I wasn’t. I was just surprised that I ended up in teh wrong washroom. I was really demented at that moment. Maybe I was just stressed 😯

    Know what, in a Pinoy store, you would know if the attendants are Canadian born. I mean I know the kids of the store owners who can’t speak Tagalog well – that’s fine. But bothways, customer or attendant, if you’re a Pinas born Tagalog speaking dude, for pete’s sake, speak Tagalog naman 😯

    LOL, if you did the Beatles it doesn’t mean you’re as old as them πŸ™‚ I mean I dig Johnny Mathis too coz my titas and titos played them when I was a little guy but I saw Johnny Mathis concert in Vegas on TV the other night and the crowd were all like my parents and some of them were in wheelchairs πŸ™‚ YOu would hate to be in that crowd in the same way you would look dorky in a Hannah Montana concert hahaha πŸ™‚

  10. Major Tom – you mean a person in skirts peed standing up? bwahahaha ! :mrgreen: That’s kinda scary bro πŸ˜†

    The record stats are real and when you see Hootie and the Blowfish and Alanis Morrisette selling 16 million albums and make it to the top 20 it is unbelievable. These two came up with super hot albums and didn’t do much after that but heck, they hit pay dirt just for once 😎

  11. An entertaining post:=)

    Yah, being an avid Eagles fan, I take pride in them having the largest selling album. I had that one and lost it and am thinking about buying a replacement, even though I have those same songs from Itunes. Shania’s album is so magnificent, I wonder if she could ever duplicate that success; same with Thriller.

    Hah, you could get away with golfing on Mother’s Day? You have one heck of an understanding wife. You better have treated her right with her present πŸ™‚

    I speak Tagalog and Kapangpangan and Ilocano when I speak to people in Filipino stores and it irks me when I hear others labor through their English. Come on, when we go to Mexican restaurant don’t we say, poquito por favor? Seriously πŸ™‚

  12. Dong – I know what you mean. Kids come up with pleasant surprises every know and then. Honestly I prefer kids who reason out than sit in the corner and say yes all the time πŸ™‚

    It’s a different story now with the music download readily available. But I mean they can still come up with stats for those who pay for downloads and buy CD’s from stores but I wonder how accurate these stats would be to reflect a record’s popularity.

  13. Ryan – I would have hoped to see a woman inside the washroom when I went in, but there wasn’t one. Well I guess she was inside the stall πŸ™‚

    Bribery? hahaha πŸ™‚ It does work sometimes πŸ™‚

    Generationa gap eh ? They’re names from the past πŸ˜‰ and most of them aren’t making records anymore and just do tours every now and then that’s why you don’t see much of them.

  14. Ferdz- that’s why it is better if men’s and women’s toilets are side by side πŸ™‚ As well most of these public toilets have no doors, esp in the malls so they make the signs bigger. In my case it was just a mental block I think πŸ™‚

    It’s OK to speak English if you want to show respect non-English speakers within listening distance but in a Pinoy store it is awkward when you talk to the attendant in Tagalog and he/she replies in English, ang lakas naman ng accent duh 😦

  15. Ewok – you got it. If I played golf on Mother’s Day, I must have done something to escape her wrath hahaha πŸ™‚

    I got the Eagles Hell Freezes Over “unplugged” DVD and it’s undoubtedly awesome when played with on a surround audio system πŸ™‚ I didn’t realize they’re that hugely popular. I imagine because they are kind of a pop/country group, they got the country folks to but their records as well πŸ™‚

    Yep we even converse in local dialects at Pinoy stores if we encounter attendants who are ka-probinsya. There’s also an element of Pinoy pride I think when you want to speak the language amongst your fellow Pinoys.

  16. Wil – you got a point there bro so I don’t know if the stats for gold or platimum based on record sales are that reflective of popularity.

    I’m also surprised to see Britney Spears in the 14 million sales category considering she came out at the height of the cyberspace craze πŸ™‚

  17. oh, it’s irritating to hear Pinoy English to tell you frankly. Sana mag Tagalog na lang noh?

    it’s nice that you give each other space. πŸ™‚

  18. I used the men’s CR (wc) more than three times in the past. Absent-minded me.

    Your daughter reminds me of my 5-year-old niece, who’s a smart aleck. I put her in her place kasi feeling American citizen (LOL).

    I’m glad I’m not married to a man who plays golf or tennis. My sis-in-law is kawawa in this respect.

    The Beatles…unbeatable.

  19. Oops, I forgot to add a Smiley face after the golf comment. Sorry.

    *****

    Well, there are lots of Pinoys who seem to think that speaking Tagalog is a sign of inferiority.

    Dito naman, some Pinoys, who have been here for a loooong time, speak Swiss German to me. Ano ba yan.

  20. Ipanema – I’m really not missing Tagalog that much coz I speak Tagalog with the wifey all the time but Pinoy restaurants folks should be Pinoy flag bearers and speak the language to their compatriots at all times ! Gosh, I sound so cynical – do I? 😯

    YOu’re absolutely right. SPACE IS WHAT HOLDS MARRIAGE TOGETHER – what an oxymoron ! I mean I’ve seen wives who jump up and down coz the husband disappeared for 15 minutes and all the guy did was drive around the block to get some fresh air ! Believe it or not a Pinoy couple raised this issue in our of our church Sunday school classes – gawd, so embarrasing – grow up !

    Maybe my wife can’t stand seeing my face the whole day so she allows me to play for 5 hours hahaha πŸ™‚

  21. Jayred – we all have our washroom tales to tell eh ? πŸ™‚

    I’m glad my daughter has the guts to challenge me πŸ™‚ I remember a radio talk show host who said that kids that say yes all the time might be goaded to do what others say – what if someone offers your child drugs at school ?

    I know you missed the smiley hahaha πŸ™‚ Dunno sis but a huge part of marriage is the art of negotiating IMHO πŸ™‚

    Same with me, I want to feel at home as if I am in Pinas when I’m in a Pinoy store so I’d prefer to speak Tagalog at all times πŸ™‚

  22. I hate it too when Pinoys continue to speak English even in a Pinoy restaurant or store. It strikes me like a barrier that they immediately raised between them and the others. Since they have the right to conduct themselves in such manner, I also have the right to have nothing to do with them.

    Regarding those record sales figures, were they just based on US sales? I find it quite hard to believe that a Garth Brooks album would sell 21 million copies while none of the other Beatles albums made it to that number. For a lot of people all over the world, Beatles songs have become the soundtrack of their lives. Just my 2 cents on why I have my misgivings about data compiled in the US.

    Kinda reminds me of People Magazine’s list of the 100 Most Beautiful People in the World. It seems to me that about 70% of the people on the list are Americans. Hahaha But I digress.

  23. “Dunno sis but a huge part of marriage is the art of negotiating.”

    I agree with you, actually. (I was just kidding.)

    My sis-in-law sometimes complains of my brother being away for a long time every time they visit my parents. He plays tennis or golf, and she is left behind with two hyperactive kids. (Well, I know what you mean about kids not saying “yes” all the time. Pero minsan my niece crosses boundaries na. She tells us grown-ups what to do. I think the key is to balance things out.)

  24. your vignettes are not trivial at all. πŸ™‚

    and talking about Pinoys speaking English in Pinoy stores, here in Manila many call center agents (no offense meant) are guilty of the same–they speak English even in public transport, in public places way out of their “English only zones” in the office. More irritating is when you know they deliberately want you to hear them speak English just for the sake of it. πŸ™‚

  25. Panaderos – yes, it does look hypocritical to be talking in English when you’re inside a Pinoy store or restaurants with your fellow Pinoys, esp if you talk in Tagalog and being replied back in English 😦

    The stats is world-wide sales bro. These record companies track the album sales all over the world. The list is kinda surprising for me too 😯

  26. Jayred – well, in this part of the world we don’t have yayas and household help so in my case, if I mowed the lawn for 2 hours and vacuumed the house from the basement to the 2nd floor, I think I deserve a day off πŸ™‚

    I sometimes tell my wife to spend half day shopping or going out with her female friends. It does take the stress out of her system. Nakakasawa ring parati kayong magkasamang parang linta πŸ™‚

    Kids have the tendency to “railroad” adults into giving in to what they want and we have to be careful in letting them go over the line. As that famous song goes ” Give them a sense of pride to make it easier “…

    We can certainly shut them down completely but I also give a reason why I can’t allow them what they want πŸ™‚ Kids behave arrogantly because they haven’t figured out their role in the household or I should say parents fail to make them understand their role.. ha, words of wisdom from BW ( kuno) hehe πŸ™‚

  27. Barry – the office An “English only zone” ? LOL πŸ™‚ That’s very interesting. Are they’re making the office a school again? I remember when I was in grade 3 our teacher imposed and English only rule in class. It was quite chaotic I tell you ..you hear things like.. ” I cannot play becus I have stomak ik. No, not my – him”. We all sounded like babbling 2 year old tots. πŸ™‚

    Now for two Pinoys speaking English inside a public transport – what might be the reason? Baka hindi sapat ang practice nila sa office πŸ™‚

  28. Palagi ako napapagkamalan na japs, korean or chinese dito. most often than not, after they are done with their english talk, i would say, “Ano ka ba kabayan, purong pinoy ito.”

    And mind you once they heard me speak tagalog, makikita mo sa kanilang mukha na na-relieve sila, similar to that feeling after a succesful disposal. lol

  29. Reading this post feels like watching a sit-com. And I feel your “the Raymond”. Hmmm. Everybody Love BW ain’t a bad idea.

    I always thought Thriller was the best selling album. Now I know it isn’t. Thanx for the info.

  30. that story at the pinoy store reminds me of my bi-ep’s story on sfeech depect.

  31. BW, thanks for your “kuno” words of wisdom. I actually know what you mean because I studied child psychology. It just so happened that I’m childless now.

    Of course, you (and your wife) need a break. My husband and I are aware that we don’t have to be together all the time…as you said, parang “linta.” We all need our own personal space. That’s healthy actually.

    I just mentioned about my sister-in-law’s predicament with my bro (delicate issue). Parati kaming nagtatalo ng kapatid ko dyan. May pagka macho kasi sya like my Dad, LOL. He won’t admit it, though.

    So it had nothing to do with you, of course. πŸ™‚ Just want to be clear on that.

    Happy weekend.

  32. MyePinoy – I have an Indian friend who finished his university degree in Pinas. Man this guy speaks Tagalog so fluenty – his accent is even better than Visayans and Ilocanos. He worked as an OFW in Saudi and can you imagine the shock Pinoys have when he butted in into their conversations πŸ™‚

  33. Lawstude – that’s very kind of you bro hehe πŸ™‚

    I have a buddy who refuses our weekly email tee off invites 9 out of 10 but when I ask his wife ( if we are in their house or my wife is talking to her on the phone) if he could come, 9 out of 10 it is a success πŸ™‚ Feeling ko his wife takes too much pride by showing me that she’s in control . Boy, I would hate to be in his shoes I tell you 😯

  34. Mari – Baka nga may may sfeech depect yung mga attendants sa Pinoy store. LOL πŸ™‚

  35. Jayred – I am also “macho nurin” sometimes hahaha πŸ™‚

    No worries sis, pinaguusapan lang. I have horror stories to tell from here too with some people I know 😯 Sabi nga nila, as long as we do our responsibilities at the house, we can have time to relax too. I have actually relaxed a bit more on my fishing activity because its much grabe – eats up the entire day πŸ™‚

    It’s a long weekend here – Victoria Day on Monday. Have a great weekend too πŸ™‚

  36. * probably a brain malfunction…coz ‘he’ had to go!

    * daughter is smart lol!

    * nakuuu ang sarap manabunot ng mga pinoy na *hindi na marunong’ magtagalog *tirik mata* …like that Pinay working at Harrods (London) candy section, may english accent pa kamo tipong may bara ang ilong sabay sabi: ‘payb pipti’

    * what’s your handicap? (only asking it but I know nothing about golf ha ha…I only play it on my PSP)

    * Shania? surprises me too…but must give her credit, she’s a fine artist.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  37. Thess – brain malfunction indeed πŸ™‚

    Harrod’s is an elegant store, e di lalo na sa Pinoy store – hindi bagay hehe πŸ™‚

    Im 18 handicap – it sucks no? I’m trying to break 90 this year 😯

    Shania got into the country music scene and she did very well. Methinks country is much easier than the traditional pop. I was surprised too.

Leave a Reply

