Way Too Many Choices

Have you ever gone inside a store wanting to buy something but end up buying nothing because there’s way too many choices? Or getting into a buffet restaurant that puts about 150 dishes on the table and you know you can only eat so much and therefore agonize on the decision on “what’s the best dishes” on the lot so you can get your money’s worth? It’s the same feeling when you get the Saturday paper, so thick that with all the advertising inserts that your hand can barely clasp the full breadth of its thickness. I dread the idea of reading the darn paper, let along figuring out who would ever have the guts to read the ad or the business section in its entirety, unless you want to waste your entire day off ? I have cancelled my subscription to the daily paper for so many years now. I am stressed with idea of reading hundreds of pages let alone disposing the darn paper, filling my recycling bin so quickly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The deluge of choices isn’t confined to the area of consumerism but likewise in other aspects of our lives, even in such canonical matters as freedom and democracy, to a point that it has caused decline in people’s happiness and may evolve into a societal concern. This week the annual congress of Humanities and Social Sciences will meet to discuss the phenomenon of wealthy and healthy socities in the western world getting depressed because of extreme liberalism and too much political freedom, and the general notion that an abundance of choice makes people unhappy.

Ironic isn’t it ?ย Young Pinoys of the later generations livingย ย in this country tell me that they are rather envious of their parents’ generation back in Pinas where people’s mission in life was pretty simplistic – finish high school, get a college degree, getย a job, marry and raise a family. Here their choices are significantly more, where they might postpone settling down in favor of career opportunities. Others may need a few years working and tightening their belts and pay up their huge student loan. Some venture to foreign lands to workย because it is exciting.ย ย 

Too many choices can be quite demoralizing and even intimidating sometimes. People nowadays are compelled to leave the investment decisions to their financial advisors because the options are so numerous and complex forย the ordinary man’s comprehension. With the 300 + channels on my satellite TV, I can’t seem to fix my viewing on one channel, often jumping back and forth on other channels.ย  In the days of public TV when there was no cable and only a handful of channels to watch ( channels 2 to 13 ),ย  the TV guide was much shorter and simpler and viewing wasn’t as stressful.

If way too many choices make people unhappy and confused, it does seem to confirm the proverbial adage – ”ย too much of anything is poison”.ย 

ย 

ย MY OLD BLOG

I received an email from someone who appears to be working for a web hosting site that offers a whole range of services – from hosting, design and providing content, politely asking me if he can buy my old Blogger blog for $50. The person indicated that since my blog is defunct and does no more than referring visitors to my new WordPress blog, he would like buy it. I blog purely for fun and have nary a trace of any ads on my old blog, so I was a little suprised. Blog offers might be an ordinary occurence and really no big deal but frankly, I have very little knowledge of how people make money through blogging, more so with my old blog which is no longer getting any hits. I have nothing against the offer except if not for the giving away my blog’s title and its intellectual content. I am assuming that if I sell my old blog, by default I relinquish everything on it to the new owner.

All the posts in my old blog had been replicated in my current blog. I would say that about 60% of the posts in my present blog are in my old blog since I moved 6 months ago. I don’t think I can sell the intellectual rights on my old blog and consequently lose 60% of the content of my current blog.ย  I mean not for 50 bucks, granting that it’s still a good 18 holes of golf ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have three options – resurrect my old blog, change it’s nameย and make it a 2nd blog, delete it or just keep it hanging around as it is . Considering that I can’t even give my current blog the tender loving care it needs, I opt for keeping the status quo for my old blog , keep it hanging around ๐Ÿ˜ Who knows, many years from now when I’m living in a cottage near a golf course and likewise beside a lake and the wooded forest where I can fish and hunt to feed myself, I could probably support 2 blogs ๐Ÿ™‚ That is of course if I have broadband internet access and satellite HDTV :mrgreen:

28 Responses

  1. our blog are definitely priceless. i know no one will buy my blog but even it someone wnats it, ill not exchange it with for any price unless it will be able to help more people.

  2. OMG, I can’t make up my mind if there are many choices. Sometimes I feel embarrassed for taking too long to make up my mind.

    I stopped blogging. They can buy my blog for a movie ticket lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. It’s just like going to the supermarket where you can spend hours and hours agonizing on which product to buy as there are now at least 5 or more brands of practically everything.

    Depression IMO is a phenomenon in every society. In the third world countries, there’s the lack of everything that has kept the people in a constant state of worry and depression. At the other side of the spectrum, boredom finally has set in for the people from where there is too much of everything that they now have to work even harder just to keep the status quo.

    As for your old blog, 50 bucks is a rather paltry sum considering the blood, sweat and tears you’ve put into it, hehehe. BTW, why not set up a password so no one can mess with it?

  4. Too many choices tend to confuse people and make them doubt themselves. In my opinion, it could also encourage feelings of insecurity since it leaves one with a feeling that he/she may not have picked the “best”.

    My cable tv service offers hundreds of channels but I seriously doubt if I watch more than 5 of those channels on any given night.

    As for your old blog, I agree with Snglguy’s suggestion. You’ll be better of password-protecting it so that you can keep it hanging around.

  5. i agree that the more choices, the higher the probability of unhappiness only because we are a society that never gets satisfied; we love to compare ourselves and our choices, and then when unhappiness sets in, we blame everything else around us except the very own choices we make.

  6. having so many choices do not only kill time but having a wrong choice could also be unproductive.

    back in the days, kids in spare time do not have much option to do in their spare time but to study. these days, computers, games, gadgets and lots of things compete with the time kids have for studying.

  7. Dong – definitely people have varying expectations of their personal blogs. For some, it is an expression of their
    artistic skills and can very very valuable to them and won’t give it away in return for a very meaningful value as per your
    example ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  8. Irrealis – too many choices plus the tendency of women to change their minds every time makes it even more confusing ๐Ÿ˜†

    Hahaha.. depends on what you have in your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Snglguy – you’ve mentioned precisely the point, that societies in wealthy and healthy countries who have satisfied their
    basic needs of food, shelter and clothing have no reason to be depressed. Sometimes it’s really not the issue of maintaining
    a particular lifestyle but rather the confusion arising out of so many alternatives and choices. It does sound funny and ironic but a big part of the problem in this part of the world is making informed decisions, from a plethora of options available to them ๐Ÿ˜

    50 bucks is pretty paltry – isn’t it? But It didn’t make me angry at all. At least he didn’t offer 10 bucks lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Panaderos – I’m with you there – people get worried if they picked the best option and fear that they may have made poor decision. As for too much freedom, it could also become a negative factor when people become discouraged and say – what the heck is happening to our society, to the values we once cherished? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    A blog password isn’t a bad idea at all ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Barry – yep, the “what if I chose this and that would have been better ” scenario can make people unhappy.

    Like me, I haven’t made up my mind up to now of what automobile GPS I should buy because I hate to be shortchanged with buying something that doesn’t work reliably with me ending up going the wrong way esp with the high price of gas these days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ There’s so many products and I have read the reviews and couldn’t still make up my mind as to which of the top 5 rated I will buy, dang ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  12. Lawstude – things were really different during our days I can tell you. Nowadays, kids and cell phones and Ipods and my 6 year daughter is already asking me for an Ipod and there’s a slew of these MP3 players you can buy in stores which can be quite confusing ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. “Young Pinoys of the later generations living in this country tell me that they are rather envious of their parentsโ€™ generation back in Pinas where peopleโ€™s mission in life was pretty simplistic – finish high school, get a college degree, get a job, marry and raise a family.”

    I humbly say stick to what youre parents did to produce you. So you will never make a mistake. I have no blog. I like bloghopping only ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. I like to have choices, but just like y’all, I can’t handle all the choices presented to me nowadays. It’s best to stick to the one you know, be it soap or phone plan, etc.

    All these choices make our head spin.

  15. Too many choices can be confusing at times.

    I remember a Swiss customer coming up to my outdoor market stand, where I displayed lots of bags, wallets, pencil cases made of recycled joice foils in different sizes and colors. She said that we had nice products. She then took time examining the products. It took her forever to choose what she liked. In the end, she said that the procedure was agonizing (LOL).

    About the old blog, I wonder what that guy had in mind. Isn’t it the one with the scary Chucky avatar (sic)? I would have sold it if I were you (LOL).

  16. maybe he needs the old blog for SEO…it still has some pagerank in individual pages…you know those spam comments with links to websites? ๐Ÿ˜›

  17. Ryan – old habits die hard eh? I like the Pinoy straightforward simplicity. I have known couples who opt not to have kids so they can maintain their luxurious lifestyle ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    Time for you to have a blog bro ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Ewok – agree with you. Same with me, I stick to what’s been proven and works to my satisfaction. Problem is with new things. It gets too confusing and becomes hard labor to come up with an informed decision so to speak ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  19. Jayred – that’s the reason why I do a survey before buying, take my time and also sleep on my craving – who knows it will dissipate overnight hehe ๐Ÿ™‚

    Right, it may have to do with Chucky :mrgreen:

  20. Tutubi – perhaps bro. MY problem is all of the posts in my old blog are also in my current blog ( I imported them) and if the buyer gets the intellectual rights to them, I will have to reliquish those posts in my current which I am not prepared to do ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  21. i hate the abundance of choices. few and several are many and to exceed them is a problem.

    for me, it prolongs the time of choosing. to many choices, the longer you ponder on which is to choose. then when you have chosen, you start worrying if you got the best. tsk tsk not good.

  22. narissa is me. he he ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Bing/Narissa ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s not so easy these days even with small items. In may case I had to postpone a lot of my purchases like the HDTV and car GPS because I wasn’t too sure if I was getting a good deal on price vs. performance ๐Ÿ˜ฏ A bit of research on products reviews on the internet also helps but it can be a drag ๐Ÿ˜

  24. hahaha! the price of mass customization and globalization.

    if you decided on that auto GPS, blog about it. hahaha. it would be interesting to know how you come to your decision. ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Barry – I did finally buy a car GPS, a Magellan Maestro 4250 for as my Father’s Day gift to myself hehe ๐Ÿ™‚ It does tell me to turn left and right ( with a voice comamnd) to get to my destination and gives me ample notice too ๐Ÿ™‚ Now i’ll never get lost !

    Sure I will blog about GPS in future. GPS are exciting, cool toys. We have GPS for golf, fishing, hiking, hunting and they really work well ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Yes, I know exactly what you mean. Too many choices – whether in buffet meals, Sunday papers, grocery items, etc. overwhelm me too and it’s nice to just relax and live the simple life sometimes and just take whatever you can get.

    I don’t understand anything about making money out of blogs either. I don’t understand either what the guy is buying. If it’s intellectual property, you mean, he’d buy your posts and make it as if it’s his own? Then, since those posts are posted in your new blog, if he’s the owner, then, you’d be the one infringing on his copyright? I’ve heard nga of people selling their blogs, but my tiny brain really couldn’t grasp or comprehend the idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Toe – agree and there are times when simplicity is called for if only to achieve our goal and reduce our stress levels – ironic indeed.

    I’m pretty sure if I sold my old blog, I’d be waiving intellectual property rights to my posts. Not a good idea for 50 bucks but I’m quite open to negotation hahaha ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. just passing thru….

    Looking for something else, but nice site. Have an excellent day….

Leave a Reply

