IRONY

As I read the daily paper on my train ride to the office every morning, I find optimistic as well as pessimistic reports on both the local and the global economy but lately I have come to doubt the veracity of these reports because more often that not, they don’t translate into what I see and feel happening in the world around me. In short, they are ironic. I can say that there are two types of ironies I read in the daily papers- the complex and the obvious . Both leave me a sour taste in the mouth but the latter makes me grit my teeth with disappointment. Likewise my life is abundant with inexplicable ironies. Sometimes I tell myself that I am not a logical person that I claim to be.

Here’s a few :

– Canada is the 2nd largest oil producer in the world and has immense reserves, second only to Saudi Arabia. In fact it exports more oil to the US than Saudi Arabia, but how come Canadians pay a dollar more per gallon for their gas than Americans? Where is the damn money going?

– Unionized employees at GM Motors Canada are aghast by the decision of GM to close some plants and cut 2,000 jobs as the result of dwindling sales of trucks and SUV’s due to the high oil prices. The judge had to order the union to remove the blockade at the plant. GM is asking for $1.5M compensation for lost production due to the protest. These assembly plant workers are on average making $60 per hour and the highest paid in the auto industry. hmmmm…surprised by the closures ??

– They say that for every dollar you donate to charitable organizations, only 30 cents goes to the intended recipient and 70 cents goes to the cost of fund raising operations. To top that, a CEO of a well known charitable institution reportedly makes $500,000/year.


– Do we really know what is healthy to eat nowadays? Avoid carbs and sugar. Avoid cholesterol. Avoid fats. How about making a wonder pill with all the vitamins and nutrients so we don’t have to eat any longer ?

– If you are a movie producer and want to make some money , why give the movie a name people can’t even mention ?

– I have a bunch of DVD collections at home and haven’t watched about 20% of them. Some of the movies are waiting for my curtain call for months now – Aviator, Last King Of Scotland, Spiderman 3, Sweeney Todd-Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Golden Compass, to name a few…

– I have 3 golf bags with full set of clubs. I just bought a Mizuno 3 wood the other day. The amount of money I am spending is not proportional to the progress I am making. I must stop this silliness.

– With the abundance of land and lush vegetation in Pinas, it is unfathomable to think that the country will ever run out of rice to feed its people.

– With Zimbabwe’s hyper-inflation and the staggering exchange rate of 1 billion Zimbabwe dollars to 1 US$, incumbent President Mugabe is running for re-election !

WANT TO LIVE UP TO 100 ?

Here’s 20 tips to get to that century mark. Hope fully when you get to that age you will have some quality of life and not simply breathing 😐 :

1. get married
2. laugh out loud
3. buy a pet
4. quit smoking
5. exercise more
6. give your brain a workout
7. limit sun exposure
8. visit the doctor regularly
9. eat fish
10. eat more fruits and veggies
11. share a hug
12. limit alcohol
13. get your zzzz’s
14. stay positive
15. consume a low fat diet
16. go to the dentist regularly
17. manage stress
18. go back to school
19. take vitamins
20. drink tea

On staying positive, have you ever encountered people whose main preoccupation in life is to find out what others think of them ? Man, if all you ever care about in this world is a positive image free of criticism then just be a priest or a nun 😯

38 Responses

  1. Ouch, what a movie title ??? Nuts 😦

    Go back to school? I think I’ll get more stress instead of living longer LOL. I drink lots of tea πŸ™‚

  2. I might go see that movie whose title I can’t mention. Hehehe (Reminiscent of George Carlin’s Seven Words You Can Never Say on Television.)

    What I find appalling was when I also found out that a significant amount of the money we donate to charitable organizations go to their administration and operation. I also can’t understand why the CEO’s of such organizations are paid huge sums of money.

    As for living to 100, I need my zzzzs. πŸ™‚

  3. Reading those tips and looking at my own lifestyle, I don’t think I’ll live way beyond the age of 70. Heck I even doubt if I’ll reach 60 with the way I consume my fatty foods, hehe. πŸ˜€

    It’s curious why Canadians, as citizens of the world’s second largest oil producer, has to shell out more bucks per gallon than their southern neighbor. While in Saudi Arabia, a gallon of water costs more than a gallon of gasoline.

  4. I heard astronauts are taking only liquid drinks full of vitamins when they are in space.

    Screw up the country and ask people to vote for you again. Sounds like a familiar event in the third world. Pinas running out of rice, the ancient Igorots are much better than modern day Pinoys.

  5. Irrealis – with that kind of title they can’t even put it up on the theatre board ! I think school makes your mind active the whole time. I drink lots of green tea too πŸ™‚

  6. Panaderos – George Carlin ( may he rest in peace) was one of a kind bro. Love him or hate him – he was good in his craft πŸ™‚

    Know what, we give donations to these charitable organizations, not knowing how they disburse the donations. THe CEO of United Way years ago was criticized for his $500K annula salary 😯

    Same here – I need lots of zzzz too. Darn I only sleep 5 to 6 hours every night. Funny because I sleep very well in the couch watching TV than in the bed πŸ™‚

  7. Sngl – we all have our shortcomings if we were to take the list seriously. I don’t have a pet for one but my daughter is already a handful and I dread vitamins . I feel that it’s doing the body more harm than good fro some reason 😦

    Well, it does piss me off to think that the frigging windfall from the oil only goes to the pocket of these oil companies. If there’s any consolation, these oil companies paying their share of taxes to the government and the country is no longer in deficit. This is one of the complex ironies I’m referring to 😯

  8. Ryan – maybe they should commercialize that astronaut diet πŸ™‚ Mugabi has just been stripped of his knighthood by the British givernment. News reports say that his political opponents are in hiding hehehe …and looks like he may get a landslide win. Pretty pathetic, don’t you think ?

  9. isn’t it ironic? we want to live up to 100 but at that age, do we still want to live?

  10. Lawstude – ironic indeed. It really depends on what you can still be doing at 100. If I can still play golf and have sex, why not? πŸ™‚
    Question is what woman in his right mind would like to have sex with a 100 year old man ? hehe πŸ™‚

  11. what a title for a movie!

    as to the ironies of this world, they also beautify this world we live in. without them, we will be ignorant of intrigues, arguments, complications, and the like that makes living interesting at the same time πŸ™‚

  12. i don’t know canada is producing oil. as for dvds, my rule of thumb is i don’t buy movies that i have not watched and enjoyed first. so i have dvds sitting in the house unopened, but i have seen them πŸ™‚

    with regards to charitable organizations, it is your best interest as a donor to check out their website and how they allocate the collected donations. i learned that the hard way too.

    on your tips, “go back to school”—school was pretty stressful place :), well maybe photography school, no stress there πŸ™‚

    have a good weekend, and give those iron a workout this weekend, okay.

  13. Bing – did this movie ever show in Pinas? πŸ™‚

    I do agree that the ironies provide us the turbulences necessary to appreciate the unpredictability of life in general.

  14. Ewok – Camada is a major oil producer with its immense oil sand reserves. Lol, your DVD habits are quite unorthodox. You look like you’re really buying to collect and not really view them πŸ™‚

    I’m now wary of who I contribute my money to after seeing an expose’ of their activities on TV.

    Well I guess as you said, going back to school doesn’t really have to be with the goal of academic pursuit. THey have what they call “continuing education” these days and learning French , tai chi or even cooking lessons can be an excellent form of relaxation.

    Have a nice weekend too πŸ™‚

  15. this entry left a wicked smile on my face.

    what a name for a movie, must be an indie.

    LOL.

  16. Is it really? Canada being a very large oil producer? Now that’s a surprise, I never expected that.

    Bythe way, it is so true how life is so full of irony, for I live those irony myself and I could go on and on speaking about it, we’d never end on that.

    But such is life. πŸ™‚

  17. I didn’t know that Canada is the 2nd largest oil producer. lucky but as the article questions “Where is the damn money going?” is indeed surprising.

    “I have 3 golf bags with full set of clubs. I just bought a Mizuno 3 wood the other day. The amount of money I am spending is not proportional to the progress I am making. I must stop this silliness.”>>>> finally he realized!!!

  18. Jeff – yes, it is an independent film Canadian film, much like the very successful and highly acclaimed movie Juno. It’s a gutsy move to name a movie that way, when theatres can’t even put them up on their billboards.

    I’m sure the DVD sales would make up for it πŸ™‚

  19. Major Tom – indeed it is, oil mainly from the oil sands of Alberta and Saskatchewan, being piped in to the US mid-west for distribution.

    http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0872964.html

    YOu said it. Life is a bit of an irony in itself πŸ™‚

  20. Dong – the money goes to the pckets of the oil companies as well ast taxes to to the provincial and federal governments. Excise tax ( fixed about 10 cents per liter) as well as provincial and VAT taxes ( percentage) are the main components in the price. Those oil companies that rip billions a year also pay their share to the provincial and federal governments. It is good that the country is in budget surplus and not deficit otherwise it would have been a much bitter pill to
    swallow 😯

    Right on – sell the 2 darn bags , keep one and get some money back and more importantly, find TIME to do it 😎

  21. Regarding the golf bags, perhaps take a lesson or two with a pro to help improve your game. πŸ˜€

    Mugabe is running for re-election because he knows that people will vote for him. If they don’t, then he will make sure that they vote for him via his thugs (aka soldiers).

  22. huy, even if you’re a priest or a nun you still get criticisms ha.

    1. talaga? trivia saken yan.
    3. i don’t doubt that. and they use charitable orgs just to be exempted from tax diba?
    4. i think that would happen in the future
    5. nyek! anong title yan
    6. dami din sa house. gusto ko lge manood ng dvd pero ayoko nung nasa bahay. hehe
    7. adik! hehe
    8. oo nga..
    9. that’s politics

  23. Hmmm. That is where your previous post comes to play. Money, Money, Money.

    By the way i am campaigning for INSULARE and DONGISM in Filipino Blog of the Week. Kindly VOTE for them in Talksmart’s or my blog. The poll is in the upper right side of the blog. Just check both their names. Take Care!!!

  24. OMG, from those 20 tips on how to live up to 100, I practice only half!

    But personally, I won’t want to live that long if I would just be a bed ridden old woman. πŸ™‚

  25. Wil – very true and I’ve done a short intruction course once and must do a serious ( and pricey ) this time. I also have some DVD instructionals which greatly helped. If you really think about it, the technological evolution in the game is just so amazing, with the materials they use nowadays in both equipment and balls are just plain awesome. The irony is – who buys them? Those who want to upgrade of course and they’d coax you trade your hardware for peanuts 😦 I’d rather sell mine in Ebay where I can get something back or maybe give it to my relatives 😐

    Gosh – Mugabe won again – would you believe? No foreign dignitaries came to his inauguration and rightfully so πŸ‘Ώ

  26. Tin – would you believe, a friend of mine told me that in his town, two priests duked it out with their fists at the cemetery during All Saints Day, because of the intrigue fueled by their respective “fans and supporters”. It turned out that one of the priests, split from the town diocese and formed a church in a prosperous part of the town supported by some affluent families. What a spectacle – fighting priests hehe πŸ™‚

  27. Lawstude – true.. Hey, no worries bro, I’ll drop by your website and extend my support πŸ™‚

  28. Rhodora – As long as you do the MAJOR ones like having a yearly checkup, NO SMOKING, watch your diet, have some exercise, avoid stress and laugh a lot, you should be OKAY I would think πŸ™‚

    They say that 50 years from now, people would beat the 100 year life span easily, largely due to advancement technology of delaying the human aging process.

    The aboriginal guy who did my backyard told me his dad is 106 years and still cooks for himself πŸ™‚ The man has 23 children. Amazing isn’t it? πŸ™‚ But you’re right, 100 years doesn’t buy you much if there’s no quality of life any longer 😦

  29. those are nice tips except for the pet. how i wish i could donate every single animal we have at home. 5 dogs, 6 cats and reproducing more, chicken, etc etc… i hate pets. 😦

  30. Wow, that was a timely health tips for me, because I’m turning 50 tomorrow and I will try 50% of them, thanks.

  31. cool tips.. this maybe considered in the exercise category – increase your willingness to walk factor πŸ™‚

  32. i’m doing only 8 out of the 20 you listed, which could mean i’ll probably live only until 80. LOL.

  33. Mari – 5 dogs and 6 cats are a bit too much to handle πŸ™‚ I think it is nice to have a pet as long as you can take care of it well. Here pets are considered part of the family. I remember our then pet dog always got a periodic reminder letter from the local vet clinic. The letter is addressed to the house, with the dog’s first name and our family’s last name hehe πŸ™‚ We are covered by the government health care program but we have to pay for the dog, and it’s not that cheap – quite ironic indeed : shock:

  34. Ysrael – congrats ! YOu made it half-way already – you’re one for the next half hehe πŸ™‚

  35. Dimaks – thanks πŸ™‚ Yes, on willingness to walk, you have to be serious with it. I always walk when playimg golf and last weekend I carried my golf back throughout the 18 holes. I did not use the pull cart nor rented a power cart and boy it was tough to walk with some 30-40 lbs on your back for the whole 6,000 yards punctuated with hills in between. Result -boy, I had a tremendous workout but my score suffered hehe πŸ™‚

  36. Barry – 8 is better than nothing. I guess it is not a linear relationship really. Doing the most critical buys you more points so if you do the major ones, your passing grade will be a lot higher ! πŸ™‚

  37. My mother was the one to notify me of Carlin’s demise. I have to say I think we are a bit kooky as a race.

    Working in a health food store I see people at their most extreme.

    :”was this metal harvested organically? My doctor says…”

  38. Keith – I guess folks who go to the health food store are health freaks, obsessed with anything organic πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

