The Age Dilemma

A couple of weeks ago, a long time buddy of mine cracked a joke at our luncheon table at the wedding anniversary party of a mutual friend . The joke prompted me to update my Blackberry unit’s “blogging thoughts” folder šŸ™‚ The story happened to a Pinoy couple as they were touring Europe. At their Germany leg, the wifey suffered a weird case of dizziness. The group brought her to the hospital where she was administered by the staff at the emergency section. After about 30 minutes the doctor came, took note of the patient’s file, faced the general direction of the patients, and in his loud voice reverberating all over the room mentioned the woman’s name and asked in English – “ How old is she ? ” The Pinay immediately stood up, emphatically retorted ” I’m okay now. It’s alright. I’m well. Honest. ” The short end of the story is the question that caused the miraculous healing remained unanswered šŸ˜† Perhaps it could remain a mystery for a long, long time :mrgreen:

Why is it that women dread to tell people their age? Here’s a website that opines why women must not reveal their age. The website fits the bill like a perfect shoe. It is aptly called http://www.nevertellyourage.com/. Fine, suit yourself. Whatever makes you happy. It is perfectly understood. No sweat. Just don’t faint when the security conscious airline check-in attendant checks your passport and asks ” What is your date of birth ? šŸ™‚ ” Poor celebs. Everytime their natal days strikes the calendar, it is on the front page of the daily paper’s entertainment section. Dang, Madonna must be quite upset with the tabloids being up-to-date of her half-century countdown. šŸ™‚

UNINTENTIONAL REVELATION

At a dinner party, several of the guests were arguing whether men or women were more trustworthy. “No woman,” said one man, scornfully, “can keep a secret.” “I don’t know about that,” huffily answered a woman guest. “I have kept my age a secret since I was twenty-one.” “You’ll let it out some day,” the man insisted. “I hardly think so!” responded the lady. “When a woman has kept a secret for twenty-seven years, she can keep it forever.”

( Ooops.. 21 + 27 šŸ˜³ )

Ah…Woman.. Too Hard To Figure Out

A man was walking along a Florida beach and stumbled across an old lamp. He picked it up and rubbed it, and out popped a genie.The genie said, “OK, You released me from the lamp, blah blah blah. This is the fourth time this month, and I’m getting a little sick of these wishes so you can forget about three… You only get one wish!”The man sat, and thought about it for a while and said, “I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii, but I’m scared to fly, and I get very seasick. Could you build me a bridge to Hawaii so I can drive over there to visit?”The genie laughed and said, “That’s impossible!!!Think of the logistics of that! How would the supports ever reach the bottom of the Pacific? Think of how much concrete — how much steel!! No, think of another wish.”The man said, “OK, I’ll try to think of a really good wish.” Finally, he said, “I’ve been married and divorced four times. My wives always said that I don’t care and that I’m insensitive.So, I wish that I could understand women, know how they feel inside, and what they’re thinking when they give me the silent treatment. Know why they’re crying, know what they really want when they say “nothing,”, know how to make them truly happy.”The genie said, “Do you want that bridge to be two lanes or four?”

Okay, seriously now – what’s with the fear of aging , other than in Pinas, where job hunting at 45 is like finding a needle in the haystack, duh šŸ˜¦ Is it real ? Is it overrated? Are we just making abig deal about it? Are we putting too much premium in youth that we as a society are shooting oursleves in the foot?

39 Responses

  1. This is a really funny entry worth forwarding to married friends. LOL. =)

  2. That miraculous healing story is quite hilarious šŸ™‚ Don’t know why I don’t like to tell people my age. I think it must be included in the privacy act hahaha šŸ™‚

  3. this reminded me of my post, ‘So What If I’m Forty?’ on my 40th bday. was inspired to write about it when i noticed that most of my officemates hesitate to tell their age. i mean, what’s with not telling if your facial lines and marks and whatever show in your face? but what about those who still look young? they must be prouder still because despite the age, they can still compete, di ba?

  4. age might matter but not when you talk about respect as everyone deserves respect. i also noticed that ladies usually don’t reveal their age but i have good friends who easily tells their age when asked.

  5. Jeff – by all means ! :mrgreen:

  6. Irrealis – so you want age to be part of privacy act eh? Some people don’t want to join any contest because if they win and it is advertised in the papers, their age will be mentioned LOL.. šŸ™‚

  7. Bing – Believe me there are young people who are even more vain than older folks. When they get to thirty they think they’ve reached retirement age LOL šŸ™‚ I think the problem is, people are equate age with their goals and if they think they’re running out of time, they become paranoid with aging. I know may women who dread knowing they’re thirty and they’re still single. Some men who dread turning forty coz they haven’t bought a house yet.

  8. Dong – I think so, If someone wants to conceal his/her age, so be it ! One day I was in my boss office and we were talking about ideal weight for a person’s height and age. Our admin asst came and he calls her and asks – I’ll tell you if your weight is ideal. How old are you ? Ouch… She froze hehehe šŸ™‚

  9. I believe we are shooting ourselves in the foot by denying women (and men) by our obsession with youth. I don’t care how old a woman is as long as she’s smart, intelligent, and fun to hang out with.

    I don’t care much for age for I care more about a person’s substance rather than his/her form.

  10. Panaderos – right on bro, age doesn’t matter šŸ™‚ These days however, there comes a point in a person’s lifetime when being asked her/his age is considered obnoxious lol šŸ™‚

  11. Lazy BUT smart genie šŸ˜€

    I don’t care if people, Queen Elizabeth or the queen of Holland learn my age. I’m turning 40 next month and you know what? I feel so blessed! Isn’t it sad that everyday young people die around us and here we (I mean ME he he) enjoying our (I mean ME, excusez moi lol) prime years? Blessing! I think people who are hiding their age should be ashamed!

    anyhoo, I wish you and your family a great weekend, bro!

  12. Thess – very sensible genie šŸ™‚

    Right on .. You’re at a very ripe age and you should be thankful for the years you’ve enjoyed. They say women get more depressed when they get to 30 rather than 40 and men get more depressed at 40 rather than 50 ! Strange šŸ˜Æ

    Have a nice weekend too sis šŸ™‚

  13. lol @ mysterious healing. i tell my age, not my weight though. i am sensitive when it comes to the latter. otherwise, i’m alright. šŸ™‚

  14. Ipanema – hehe, you must be really keeping trim šŸ™‚ There are those that keep both their age and weight secret – totally mysterious lol šŸ™‚

  15. It’s not just the women who secretive when it comes to age, some men — especially the vain ones — are very tight-lipped when asked about their age.

    If I were that guy I would have asked the genie for three more wishes. I mean, it is technically still a wish, right? hehe. šŸ˜€

  16. Hahaha, that genie lost his brain šŸ™‚

    Men also hide their age if they are too old for girl they meet šŸ™‚ I think women don’t care about the guy’s age, unless he is like their grand-dad lol šŸ™‚

  17. Sngl – those guys who don’t want to reveal their age might be dirty old men who are trying to pretend they’re much younger šŸ™‚

    I think the genie was kinda lazy and feeding on his master’s gullibility šŸ™‚

  18. Ryan – I think the genie was genuinely expressing his inability to grant the very complex wish hehe šŸ™‚

    You have a point. Some guys may want to play old if they’re chasing an older girl šŸ™‚

  19. so funny!
    hmm… ayaw siguro nila sabihin
    kasi ganito…
    sabi kasi ng pinsan ko
    ang lalaki pag tumatanda parang alak
    tapos
    ang babae pag tumatanda parang suka
    hehe
    basta hindi ako may sabi nun
    yung pinsan ko
    haha
    tsaka
    20 na ang edad ko
    hehehehehe!

  20. hahaha i don’t really know what’s wrong with telling your age to other people, besides we all get older right? hahaha

  21. Prinsesa – that’s a good one – the man ages like wine and the woman like vinegar. I’d like to think the reverse though. Pag tumatanda ang lalake, nagagamoy suka’ hehe šŸ™‚

    If you’re in your twenties, there’s no question about aging for sure !

  22. Piapot – yep, we all get older but then, every one seems to want to the delay the aging process šŸ™‚

    BTW, thanks for dropping by. Was able to get your URL from the prinsesa šŸ™‚

  23. I think both men and women (and I’m generalizing here) don’t want to grow old because they don’t want to face their own mortality. In short, people don’t want to die. That’s why Cortez was in Florida, looking for a certain fountain. šŸ˜‰

  24. haha
    that’s news to me.
    ganun ba nagaamoy suka.
    dapat magawan paraan yan!
    sa tingin ko kahit 20 nga ako
    o kahit pagtanda ko pa
    hindi pa din magiging issue ang age sakin
    kasi
    i think
    i am too wise to want to be young again.
    šŸ™‚

  25. I meant de Leon, not Cortez. šŸ˜€

  26. The first time I sighed and told myself that I am too old was on my 16th birthday.

  27. The genie’s answer to the man’s last request (how to understand women) was hilarious — hahaha!

    *****

    I used to be 25. šŸ™‚ Now I’m 37 and turning 38…on Wednesday! I’m nearing the ‘Twilight Zone’ age: 40 (LOL)

    *****

    I don’t understand why it’s such a big deal for some women to reveal their real age.

  28. Prinsesa – we must change that quote about men and women lol šŸ™‚

    Hmm, agree. I don’t think I’d wish to be 16 again hehe šŸ™‚

  29. Wil – ahh… that elusive fountain of youth which was mystified by the legendary Ponce de Leon. Is it the reason why many people retire in Florida? šŸ˜†

  30. Mon – if you were depressed with turning 16, might it be – ” that damn, college. I can’t stand the thought to going through 4 years of agony ” šŸ˜†

  31. Jayred – congrats on your impending arrival at the twilight zone šŸ™‚ Beats me too but I guess we just have to respect those who want to remain anonymously young hehe šŸ™‚

  32. i’m 33. šŸ˜€

    there.

    seriously, what’s with the age thing anyway? i was thinking, maybe these people look older than their actual age or vice versa (thanks to cosmetic surgery).

  33. Ha-ha-ha Nag-aamoy-suka maybe that’s the reason why we oftentimes heard “may asim pa siya’.
    Seriously, I don’t care about the age matter, but I understand women when they lied about their age as long as sexually active pa rin sila.(kasi ‘yun daw ang nagpapabata sa mga babae)

  34. Mari – wooo, 33 is ripe, like hinog na hinog na bayabas šŸ™‚ You’re at your peak šŸ˜Ž

    Yeah – reducing your age yet not looking like it doesn’t make sense šŸ˜Æ

  35. Ysrael – hehe, mas mabuti pa ang asim kaysa pakla lol šŸ™‚

    Me, too. I don’t mind women who lie about their age as long as they say – kili-kili amoy pinipig and and singit ay amoy Choco-Vim ( buhay pa ba ito? – ok chocolate milk hehe ).. That’s what counts.. hahaha :mrgreen:

  36. I usually don’t hide my age. But there are times when I don’t feel comfortable revealing my age. Just for instance, when I am the oldest one around. šŸ™‚ Although, I must say that it flatters me when they learn my age, and they would say that I don’t look like it, that I look young for my age. šŸ™‚

    I understand why there are women who would hide their age. Because let’s face it, as much as we’d like to say that age doesn’t matter, people can be prejudiced by age, especially women’s age. Especially nowadays when your supervisor could be a lot younger than you. Or when people know that you are in your 50s, you might not want them to know that you in menopause stage. These are just a few things that I could think of right now.

  37. Niceheart – I tell you we Pinoys esp our women look a lot younger even when they’re 10 years older šŸ™‚

    I guess we’re a little luckier here in Canada where a person’s age isn’t a criteria for job position. To a certain degree, people are protected and age discrimination is doscouraged. LOL.. don’t even think of menopause. It might be better than you expect, sexually that is šŸ™‚

  38. What’s with the fear of aging? I have devoted a whole blog site to it but I haven’t found really good answers. But let me try again for you.

    Can it be we are a youth-oriented society? That most of us are superficial, giving premium on the externals?

    Wala din kasi tayong ancestor worship?

    In the case of jobs, here they’re so scarce. It’s an employers market. They demand a college degree, for example, even for jobs that do not require it. They can discriminate against women, married women especially, older people, the handicapped,gays. Dyan, di pwede yun di ba?

  39. Annamanila – that’s quite courageous of you to devote the blog to the issue – hehe šŸ™‚

    It does appear hypocritical when employers only hire the young ones because the older ones are has beens are are no longer productive. Methinks the government must take the lead and be an example in eliminating age discrimination in the workplace.

    Over the years, we have noticed that North American airliners have employed an increasing number of older air-hostesses, some of them probably already retired
    ( women retire at 55 here). Contrast this with Asian airliners who all have young, tall and pretty looking air hostesses. Right off the bat – it appears to be cultural šŸ™‚ Asians put a lot more premium in youth it seems.

Leave a Reply

