Random Questions


Here’s my reponse to blogger friend EWOK’s tag :

1. WHAT WAS I DOING 10 YEARS AGO?

Was working at the time for a large company implementing its enterprise data network in North America and got invited to work for a former employer, a global financial institution. Bit the offer for the second tour and remained surprisingly loyal despite the high-stress work environment. Still employed in the same company up to now, as a technology manager in the operations group.

2. WHAT ARE THE FIVE THINGS ON MY TO-DO LIST TODAY?

1. paint the wooden stairs ( kitchen to the backyard) with natural cedar color
2. mow the front and back yards
3. go to the driving range to hit a few balls
4. watch the British Open golf championship on TV
5. take my daughter to her swimming lessons

3. SNACKS I ENJOY:

nuts – peanuts, cashews, almonds
antipasto – olives, pickles, veggie sticks

4. PLACES WHERE I LIVED:

– Bacolod City
– Manila
– Country A
– Country B
– Toronto

Note : Sorry I can’t name A and country B – to maintain my anonymity ( silly paranoia)

5. THINGS I’D DO IF I WERE A BILLIONAIRE:

PHILANTROPIC :

– give money to immediate relatives and loved ones so they can live more prosperously
– build a small health care center in my hometown to provide free consultation and preliminary health care to poor people
– Start a charity in Pinas that requires people to DO SOMETHING before they GET ANYTHING
– Start a trust fund designed to finance a university degree program for kids from poor families, all expenses paid – tuition, board and lodging

PERSONAL :

– start a business in Pinas
– go back to school to study business
– invest in the stock market ( with the expertise of financial advisers of course)
– invest in sound business ventures ( keep the money growing)
– keep myself free of stress

SELF-INDULGENCE :

If I had a billion dollars, I’d blow 5% – $50M on ANYTHING- keep the rest, thinking that I’d be bankrupt the next day πŸ™‚

– fly my family and very close friends to a return trip to Pinas on a $5,000 per hour private intercontinental 10 seater Learjet.
– take a 3 month round the world cruise
– go crazy on hunting trips all over the world – Africa, New Zealand, Alaska, Yukon Territories
– buy vacation houses in 5 different places around the world
– fly my family and friends to a Caribbean island to celebrate our 10th wedding anniv and take all of them to a 1 week cruise on a private yacht
– keep 100 x $100 bills handy so I can light up my (occasional) cigarettes with them

OH NO, NOT AGAIN MICHELLE

Golf phenom/future superstar Michelle Wei got disqualified again, this time for not signing her Friday score card at the State Farm Classic golf tournament ! Gosh, Michelle how can you botch this game when you look like you’re on your way to winning your first pro tournament ? Tournament golf is a weird game. Really. You could get DQ’d for not signing your score card, or even adding the score wrongly !

Can you imagine if this was the final game and you handed your score card to the officials, giddy and excited to receive the winner’s trophy and the half a million dollars check and you get DQ’d because you screwed up the addition ! Ouch.. πŸ‘Ώ I’d curse my grade 2 teacher to death πŸ˜†

31 Responses

  1. Nice to know these small and big things about bw. You have good plans and projects in mind, so good luck and be a billionaire soon! πŸ™‚

  2. if we’ll know country A & B, we’ll know you? paano?

    sana friend mo ako. para pag billionaire ka na, kasama ako. hehe ;p

  3. “keep 100 x $100 bills handy so I can light up my cigarettes with them” – eh, I thought you quit smoking? πŸ˜€

    Me, I’d use those bills to light up not my ciggies, but my Cuban cigars, hehehe. πŸ˜€

  4. Can I exchange those 100 x $100 bills with 1 dollar bills? hahaha πŸ™‚

    Yay, early sign of Alzheimers for Michelle Wie? That’s a bummer 😦

  5. […] same company up to now, as a technology manager in the operations group. 2. WHAT ARE THE FIVE THINGhttps://bwzone.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/random-questions/Poulter, Harrington share lead at British Open AP via Yahoo! News Ian Poulter sent the English crowd […]

  6. maybe the golfers got short term memory loss. lol
    i think it’s weird too.
    maybe somebody else can add it
    if there’s a risk of d’q if you got it wrong
    what if you sucked at math
    such a discrimination!
    lol

  7. Those are all worthy things to do when you have a billion dollars. I guess the next step now is to actually get a billion dollars. πŸ˜€

  8. Annamanila – thanks. Re the grand plans – it’s a big what if – it might happen  πŸ˜†

  9. Tin – that’s what you may call β€œparanoia” lol πŸ™‚

    I guess all of us have it in some shape or form and silly me has it on that country A and B question. I have friends who read my blog but at the same time, I am not comfortable with my other acquaintances to know I have a blog. Don’t know why – sometimes I think I work for the CIA – toink, toink  πŸ™‚

    Sure – you are invited to the Caribbean bash – all expenses paid :mrgreen:

  10. Irrealis – sure – why, do you want to burn the $100 yourself? LOL 

    Michelle Wie’s a very smart girl and gifted with athletic talent– I guess she just needs to mature a bit and be aware of all the nuances of the game. Dang, maybe I should caddy for her and I’ll do all the math on her scorecard lol 

  11. Sngl – there you go – I edited the post to say β€œ occasionally” hehe.. Nope I am not a smoker – just a social smoker 😎

    I’d like to light my cigarrettes or cigars for that matter , with a 100 dollar bill, inside a pub and see if people will call me crazy hehe  No worries, I’d tip the server the same money I burned – so she doesn’t lose sleep πŸ˜‰

  12. Prinsesa – I do my scorecard every weekend when I play – perhaps Michelle Wie was thinking of something else lol  The rules say that you and your playing partner ( your opponent , in fact) sign the respective score cards ! If she didn’t sign her card, her partner can’t do much about it.

    I can tell you documented stories of people who where DQ’d in major tournaments – missed the win because of the scorecard booboos – ouch 😑

  13. OK, sama ako sa trip…please consider me as a friend.

    Its raining so much, I bet, mowig the lawn will always be in your list.

  14. Wil – you’re right. That’s the 64 dollar….er.. billion dollar question ! :mrgreen:

  15. Leah – you’re included in the $200,000 one way private Learjet trip to Pinas lol πŸ™‚

    Darn, yep it rained like crazy ! But no worries, I love the short deluge for my lawn. MY grass will be golf greeny again πŸ™‚

  16. wow! i love that billionaire list!!! hehehe…

    “buy vacation houses in 5 different places around the world” —- very cool! maybe you can buy an island.

  17. Dong – that’s a great idea but it has to have a golf course though hehe πŸ™‚

    You can be my guest anytime πŸ™‚

  18. give money to immediate relatives and loved ones so they can live more prosperously – pwede ba magpalist as immediate relative he he πŸ™‚

    Start a charity in Pinas that requires people to DO SOMETHING before they GET ANYTHING – very sound idea and philanthropic indeed!

  19. Bing – your application is approved hehe πŸ™‚

    I thought it would be a nice test as to how see people would really like to help themselves πŸ˜‰

  20. 100 bills to light up your ciggy? at dollars pa! wag, sayang. akin na lang. hahahaha!

  21. thanks for joining in the fun. sabit ako sa hunting trip, but i’d do my shooting with a canon pwede.

  22. Mari – I thought you were exchanging it with P100 bills hahaha πŸ™‚

  23. Ewok – no problem – thanks and I’m having fun πŸ™‚

    I hope you meant Canon ( camera) and not the 20mm cannon they fit on fighter planes. That will blow a moose into minced meat LOL ! πŸ™‚

  24. whoa! you really know for certain how to blow them billions! just realized i’d be stuck when i get to question # 5. could be the reason why i’m not so keen to buy a lottery ticket. i’m quite happy ticking lists 1-5 in question # 2. if i happen to get a fat inheritance from a long lost granny, can i buy your ‘help’?

  25. Howling – same here, I could go no farther than question #2 LOL πŸ™‚

    Sure man, I’d be happy to help you spend your inherited billions. haha πŸ™‚

  26. Bro, the number 5 item shows more a lot of who you are.

    In my so-called bell curve of life, you are already on the other end. and it means you are growing younger. Just kidding.

    BUYING, i mean going into stock market? why not buy warren buffet’s BRK a shares. At least, you do not have to worry accounting and counting how many shares you have in your portfolio position.

    with the current price of US$117,100.00 per share, 20% of a billion dollar, you have only 1,707 shares to account for. LOL

    BTW, 1 share of that is enough for me in case you are willing to donate. ha ha ha

  27. Myepinoy – figure me paddling my kayak on that tsunami bell curve lol πŸ™‚

    Man, I’m too scared to dabble in the stock market bro so I always leave it to the experts! THat’s one heck of a stock price. Wonder what it was 20 years ago – 10 bucks ? LOL πŸ™‚ Well, Warren Buffet certainly makes it hard for people to own the share !

    Deal !! I’d drop your BRK share when I transit my Learjet at the Riyadh airport. Why don’t you just hop in and join me on my way to Pinas ? We can burn a few 100 bills on Cuban cigars along the way hahaha πŸ™‚

  28. Don’t forget me ha?

  29. Ysrael – of course not ! If you’re in my blogroll, you’re in haha πŸ™‚

  30. I’m glad that I’m in your blogroll. Hahaha

    You’re from Bacolod pala. One of my best friends at my old job came from Bacolod too. You probably know the family. πŸ˜€

    As for Michelle Wie, I don’t know what else to say about her. I feel bad for that kid.

  31. Panaderos – that’s extending your luck to your blog friends πŸ™‚

    It’s quite a small world- isn’t it? There’s a good chance I would know your family friend, if he hails from the same city as me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

