MEME TAG ; S.O.S. LUNCH

I’ve been tagged by blogger friend Piapot, about the number 4. Here’s my response :

1. Four places I go to, over and over:

a. Nearby mall. Browsing for things to buy. Loafing around. Eating at the fast food section.
b. The driving range, to hit balls
c. The golf course every weekend – I can’t get enough of it
d. A resort about 1.5 hours up north where me and my wife have membership

2. Four people who e-mail me regularly:

a. my fraternity brods. I have a daily dose of jokes, chain friggin’ letters, and lots of stuff fit for the trash can hahaha 🙂
b. a female friend who forwards all sorts of stuff – interesting, mundane, useless… you name it, she sends them all. Trust me, you only need ONE of such friend in your life 🙂
c. my financial advisor
d. my brod-in-law

3. Four of my favorite places to eat:

a. Madinah, a middle eastern fast food store at the nearby mall. Shawarmas, falafel, t’bouli salad,etc.. I love the shawarma on a plate with hot pita bread.

b. Tim Horton’s – coffee, donuts, sandwiches, soup as quick as you can get them. No ATM cards here. Cash or Mastercard only. They just swipe your Mastercard and off you go – no need to sign anything which I think is cool. Thumbs up – said the lazy bums 🙂

c. Jesse Jr. ( Pinoy restaurant) – to satiate my craving for Pinoy food. Dang, I hate plastic spoon and forks but the servings are hefty plus you get to watch TFC ( The Filipino Channel) on a large screen TV. Feel ,act, talk Pinoy and hear the letters f and v murdered – just be a total Pinoy in this place 🙂 Great price – not great for diet conscious people though.

d. Japanese Homemade Restaurant – a REAL tacky name for a buffet restaurant 🙂 but offers a slew of great tasting Japanese dishes replete with desert and non-alcoholic drinks served at your table – all you can eat for 20 bucks. If you don’t care about cholesterol and fats, this is one heck of a place to go.

4. Four places i’d rather be:


a. a cottage by the lake with a boat and near a golf course

b. a beach in Mexico

c. a guided hunt in the Yukon Territories

d. a South American cruise

5. Four TV shows I could watch over and over:

a. Wild TV – a 24 hour hunting channel that shows all kinds of game hunts and kills using all kinds of hunting gear – rifle, shotgun, bow and arrow. I am glued to this channel 50% of the time.

b. FIGHT TV – shows UFC fights more than boxing. I love watching SO YOU WANNA FIGHT, where ordinary people don the gloves and hack away for 2 rounds – so hilarious 🙂 . I also like to watch Legends of the Ring – replay of the great boxing fights.

c. The Golf Channel – here’s another channel that puts me to sleep every night 🙂 I love watching this channel a lot for obvious reasons.

d. The FOOD Channel – I dig watching a cooking show especially those that use ordinary ingredients in their recipes. I love ordinary guys cooking simple recipes, those that are easy to cook and don’t require hours to prepare. Spare me those gourmet chefs making sauces like they are in a chemistry lab and using ingredients I never heard duh 😡 Give me a bbq show instead and I don’t care who is hosting as long as they’re not broiling rats – I’ll watch it anytime 😆

I’m not going to tag anyone – please feel free to tag yourself !

EMERGENCY LUNCH

As I was trying to park my car at the driveway at around 1pm my cellphone rang. It was my wife inviting me for lunch at a bar and grill joint at a strip mall where her office is located. Hmmm? Free lunch at a nice restaurant ? Not bad 🙂 Since I was drenched with sweat from hitting a couple of buckets of balls at the driving range, I told her I had to change coz I didn’t want to stink the place out. Lucky I didn’t grab a sandwich at the burger take out. I felt like eating healthy food after a workout and planned to eat a light lunch at home. My wife told me she was ready to order so I better hurry. The place was only about 5 minutes way from our house and since I’d be picking up our daughter from her classmate’s house at 230pm I had no problem. Besides, she said she was paying for the lunch 🙂

When I arrived at the restaurant, it was a little busy because it was a Saturday when people like to eat out. My wife told me that she was quite fed up with the Chinese food and wanted to eat something different. I barely got to sit down when she told me that a customer she dreads , who had been asking her out for lunch a couple of times in the past was in the restaurant eating by himself. When she saw him heading to her table, she took her phone and called me. When the guy said hi to her, she told him ” oh, I’m just calling my husband. He’s coming over to have lunch with me”. Now I got the point. The phone call was an SOS – a distress call 🙂 I’m probably the only the knight who actually rescued a damsel in distress with a free lunch 😆

It was a nice lunch actually. My wife ordered for both of us to save time. A couple of minutes after I sat down my order of chicken souvlaki on rice came. It’s my wife’s favorite food you see 🙂 In fact her order was her favorite food too. So guess what, after a few bites, we swapped plates. To give the story a more heroic ending, I told her she was free to leave if she’s stressed for time. She did, after finishing off the lunch, gave me a hug and a buzz on cheeks and I paid the bill 😆

34 Responses

  1. I was in Toronto a few years ago on assignment. I might have to ask you for Jesse Jr.’s address in case I have a sudden craving for Pinoy food while I’m in town. I went to a Tim Horton’s last year but it was in Quebec.

    That “emergency lunch” was quite funny. Good thing you got there in the nick of time to save your wife from a not-so-fun lunch. 🙂

  2. hahaha 🙂 I have an email forwarder friend too !

    Are you sure that this wasn’t her ploy so you’d pay for lunch? LOL 🙂

  3. i also like a guided hunt in the Yukon Territories because i do not know what that means. lols.

  4. I was half-expecting there’d be a confrontation between you and the other guy and he’ll end up pleading for his dear life. Hehe.

  5. anong kaligayahan ang nakukuha mo sa golf?

  6. ha ha ha. At least she paid the bill in kind – hug and a buzz on cheeks.

    I just wondered if we can do that to the beautiful waitress. LOL

  7. and o, i thought the act of your wife was cool.

  8. Panaderos – they have a few in the city. The one we go to is at the corner of Brimley and Sheppard at Scarborough. You won’t miss it 🙂

    The restaurant is rather slow in their order turn around so you’re right, she wouldn’t have fun with her lunch if this guy sat or her table 🙂

  9. Irrealis – LOL.. no, she wouldn’t do just that to have free lunch 🙂

  10. Lawstude – hahaha… the Yukon Territories is one of the provinces of Canada ! It’s in the far north. Caribou, moose and white mountain goats there are awesome 🙂

  11. Abaniko – nope, no confrontation required. Besides, I’m guilty of it too hahaha 😉

  12. Prinsesa – dunno, but as they say, sometimes golf is better than sex lol 🙂

  13. Myepinoy – that was just a down payment – she owed me a lot more hehe 😉

  14. Prinsesa – she could have gone and eaten somewhere else but I guess the ending was quite alright 🙂

    BTW, I’ll do the erotica tag later, ok? It’s quite a challenge so I need more time hehe 🙂

  15. You mean the guy still insists on asking your wife out for lunch, even though he knows she’s married? Man, that is ground for manslaughter! Hey, maybe you can practice your hunting skills on him, mwehehehe. 😀

  16. Sngl – nope, he’s not yet a stalker, for now at least. Besides, I don’t think I can eat him hahaha 🙂

  17. Funny episode 🙂 What if you couldn’t come to lunch? That guy would think she was pulling his leg 🙂

  18. Natez1 – Funny you asked by I also asked her that question 🙂

    If I didn’t show up I guess she already sent the subtle message. She didn’t want to elaborate on the phone coz I may get worried but you know what, I’m a little bit “enlightened” on these matters so I take it easy 😉

  19. Uhmmn, great places and great food. I dont know, if you ask me about a place I want to be, for rnr or relaxation, I feel like I want to go to some Bhuttan highlands and meditate.

  20. While I like to do the ordering for the both of us, I am mindful of the fact that I had the tendency to order the same things over and over. That way we don’t get to sample other dishes. That’s why we have a meeting of the minds before giving in our orders. And he’s got an adventurous palate so I’m trying to catch up.

    Around these parts we have our own version of Jesse Jr, with a tv showing Pinoy shows and showcasing a variety of Pinoy dishes. I tell you people drive far to have a taste of home.

  21. Major Tom – going to Bhutan or Nepal – that’s awesome too. I’ve seen TV documentaries of these places and it’s a totally different world out there – so pristine and unspoiled.

    Great places to meditate. Methinks you are a real thinker Major Tom 😉

  22. Ewok – not my wife 🙂 She’s still fixated on rice dishes. For her, a dish without rice is like drinking cola minus the sugar 😯 She’s not adventurous palate-wise like me although she’s picking up on Indian and Arabic food – as long as it is eaten with rice hehe 🙂

    Great to know you have Jesse Jr out there too 🙂

  23. wow! “d. A resort about 1.5 hours up north where me and my wife have membership” >>> i like these! i can stay there all day.

  24. Hay, we don’t have a Jesse Jr. here in our small Swiss town. Would like pa naman to mispronounce the p and v just for a feel of home. 🙂

    Like you, my brother is so much into golf, too. To be honest, I can’t understand why he enjoys it so much. 🙂

    Your wife must be quite a looker. I mean, there’s this male officemate who keeps asking her for a lunch date. That has not happened to me for a long time now, hahaha. I miss my pre-domesticated days, when I still looked presentable (LOL).

  25. Dong – we can only use the facilities for free but if we want to stay overnight, we still have to use our allocated membership points which we can use in other affiliated resorts too 🙂

  26. Jayred – haha.. you crave to hear the mispronounciation eh? we got lots of them here 🙂 We have no Pinoy mall yet but there’s one small mall here the Chinese folks graciously share with us and make us feel at home 🙂

    It’s actually a customer, not an officemate 🙂

  27. thanks for doing the tag!

    And your wife is so cool! nice idea!:-)

    And i have something for you in my site!:-)

  28. Piapot – no problem. OK, I’ll check it out 🙂

  29. you have two things that i also love to watch – UFC shows and the Food Channel.

  30. Bing – I dig Food channel a lot. I kinda missed Emeril Legasse’s show though coz I found his recipes were very “cook-able” 🙂

  31. We have an equivalent of Jesse Jr. here in Ibaraki, and the name of the restaurant is Fiesta. Buffet-style, all you can eat (ata) for 1000 yen. Ironically, I’ve never set foot in that place – Pinoy ba talaga ako, hahah! I also have cravings for Filipino food from time to time…but the thing is, I think I’m more used to Japanese food nowadays such that I find Filipino dishes too fatty, too oily, too meaty, and too salty. 😛 Adobo is a rare thing on our dining table. Miso soup and fish are the regulars. 🙂

  32. Kathy – I really have to agree with you there. I have shunned lechon for many years now. In fact lechon is more symbolic than anything at least here in Canada, where Pinoys are health conscious ( except for my wife hehe ).

    I can’t take binagoongang baboy, paksiw na pata, crispy pata any longer – I just can’t, mentally 🙂

  33. So did you enjoy the SOS lunch? In enjoyed he story very much. Good thinking — on the part of your wife. And good for you — you accepted the invitation without fuss. 🙂

  34. Annamanila – yes, I enjoyed the lunch 🙂 I’d like to consider myself an enlightened person sometimes 😉 so I did not make a big fuss about it.

Leave a Reply

