ON PENNY PINCHING; MEME TAG

In this financially challenging world of ours, and it matters not what financial condition we are in, we often fall back to some form of austerity measure and begin to tighten our belts so to speak, so we can maintain our balance sheet in good order. Much like a corporation trying to stay financially healthy by cutting employees and selling dormant assets, we behave in a in similar way by changing our lifestyle and dumping habits that make us reach our wallets more often than necessary.

There’s another kind of thinking that pervades people’s minds though – the notion that one way to get wealthy is saving every penny whenever possible. The natural consequence of this thinking is close to mortifying on the pleasures of life much like a monk would. But is it effective ?

Here’s an excerpt from the book ” The Rules of Wealth” that talks about penny pinching and its effectiveness on gaining more wealth.

RULE 32 : Small Economies Won’t Make You Wealthy But They Will Make You Miserable

quote

Is it penny wise, proud foolish ? I don’t think so. I think that trying to make small economies in order to become prosperous is doomed to failure. It won’t make you rich but it will make you miserable. And being miserable isn’t a good place to start out each day. You need a decent breakfast and a positive attitude. Cutting out your daily cappuccino might help you lose weight, and it might reduce your caffeine intake, but it isn’t going to make you rich and it might well make you feel miserable.

So what about all that penny-pinching stuff? It seems to have been invented by the puritans – if you enjoy it, it has to be wrong. Some people get satisfaction out of being frugal, but if that isn’t you, then don’t deny yourself small pleasures in the belief that that’s the way to wealth.

Hang on though. Didn’t I say in an earlier Rule that the rich are eagle-eyed and that you had to stop money leaks? Indeed. But that’s different. While getting your finances in order is a good thing, going without isn’t. Make sure aren’t giving money away by being careless (those are the leaks) but don’t deny yourself the very small pleasures that enrich your life – just don’t go mad. If you can’t afford what you want, buy less, but buy quality. Save up by all means for all those purchases, if you really need them, but don’t start thinking that giving up little luxuries, little treats, little life enhancers, will somehow increase your wealth. It won’t. It will keep you trapped in the poverty cycle. Escaping from the poverty cycle and the penury mindset is your key to success, your path to prosperity.

Wealthy people don’t scrimp and save. Sure some of them are quite tight fisted and you’d have to crowbar their wallets off them. But while they watch their money carefully, they don’t cut the odd coffee or buy cheap jam in the hope that it will make them more wealthy. It obviously won’t.

Like being on a diet, if you deny yourself every small pleasure, you’d probably fail. Little indulgences are the way forward. Now who else is going to tell you that?

unquote

Many years ago, I organized a picnic lunch for a group of friends and their families. I chose a picnic area about an hour an a half away, not too far. It is by a lake where the children could swim and adults could go fishing. Moreover, boat rentals are available to those who want to go boating on the relatively small and clean lake, dotted by pretty cottages on the shoreline. When we came to the picnic area which is private and partly shared by the campers nearby, I overheard a female friend complaining about the entrance fee of 6 bucks per car. Huh? Coming from someone whose husband sports a pretty pricey Rolex watch I was stunned. She paid and I just shook my head.

Obviously I can’t chastise the woman and condemn her to say that her actions were wrong – each of us have our own unique convictions. However, consistent with what the author said, a fee worth a couple of cappuccinos could take her and the family into the picnic grounds to enjoy the day. I didn’t understand what the big deal with the 6 bucks entry fee was about. It certainly wouldn’t have added much to her wealth.

EROTICA TAG

Here’s a meme tag thrown at me by Prinsesa Musang – use these words in a short essay of not more than 200 words. Just because the words whip, handcuffs and leather are in the list it doesn’t necessary connote erotica. So I did a little twist and veered away from the sexual content for a change and gave it a bit of Freddy Kreuger flavor

1. sleepover
2. whip
3. handcuffs
4. leather
5. sexy
6. threesome
7. hairy
8. shotgun
9. squeeze
10. explosion

It was time for the long planned sleepover at a friend’s large brick cottage close to the woods. The three of us buddies were having beer and playing pool at the basement. The walls looked unfinished giving it that dungeon-ish look. It felt eerie. Suddenly a weird, creaking sound of a door slowly opening momentarily stopped our conversation. Lo and behold, a leather clad dominatrix with a whip and handcuffs along with two sexy, flimsily clad broads showed up . Wait a minute, we need to get the dominatrix to form a threesome play ! All of a sudden the dominatrix rushed towards me with eyes glowing red under her mask, groaning, her dead white skin turning hairy black. I took the shotgun from the wall rack, aimed at her, squeezed the trigger and bang… a huge explosion. I blinked my eyes….huh. where am I ? I was still holding the shotgun lying prone, concealed under the heavy bush. I saw a huge buck slumped some 90 yards away , its lungs ripped apart by the sabot slug. Dang, I dozed ,waiting tooooo long for the deer to come out of the bushes for a broadside shot. Bad dream.

24 Responses

  1. that said, i am not giving up my trips to the manicurist. πŸ˜€ every trip relaxes me and unloads the stress i accumulated from my fast paced life.

  2. Hahaha I like the twist on the Erotica meme. Good one! πŸ™‚

    I agree with penny pinching. I believe we’re entitled to enjoy life as long as we don’t forget to set aside some funds for our other goals in life such as retirement, kid’s college education, etc. Financial advisers suggest that we set aside certain amounts to fund those goals. Any other money left after that could be spent on things that will make the quality of our lives better.

  3. I’m a little self-indulgent and would like to learn penny pinching, sometimes πŸ™‚

    Unlucky dominatrix haha πŸ™‚

  4. Mari – good for you ! It’s really not even rewarding oursleves – just the little pleasures in life to make us feel good πŸ™‚

  5. Panaderos – yes and there’s a fine line between being self indulgent and spending money to keep our sanity πŸ™‚

    Thanks, I thought a little twist would be nice. Hope I didn’t sound too Kreuger like πŸ™‚

  6. Irrealis – it’s a mind ste but try it out and see if it makes you feel miserable πŸ™‚

    Haha.. good it was just a dream πŸ™‚

  7. people just need to identify ones needs and wants. and from there, we can save ourselves some money.

    ako nga eh i’ve been unemployed for close to five months now, and if i haven’t save something before that. i would probably be homeless now. unemployment check, is simply not enough to hold the fort. we need to realize, hindi araw araw eh gloria!

    and i’m not saying that one has to give up everything. konting disiplina lang, and pagpapahalaga sa pinaghirapan natin. dba πŸ˜‰

  8. I think that woman’s problem isn’t financial. It’s frugality to the max. Some people are plain Scrooges 😦

  9. Nell – very true. We really only need to fulfill our needs first then temper our wants a bit and we should be prepared for the eventuality of what if.. esp here in North America where jobs are easily eliminated !

    Mahirap din kasi ang kayud lang ng kayud dapat may konting little pleasures ang buhay di ba πŸ™‚

  10. Natez1 – frugality is as bad as being wasteful they say. Both become miserable in the end 😦

  11. Ay! I’ve met a lot of those scrooge types who would rather go into an argument rather than pay an extra buck, and the worse thing is, they are all financially well-off.

    Great twist on the erotica tag, bro. But why twist it? I would have loved to see your dark side, mwehehehehe. πŸ˜€

    Have a great weekend, bro

  12. Sngl – strangely, I seen such people so stingy with others, yet they pamper themselves! would you think it would be just plain selfishness ?

    Well, you’ve seen the dark side of me with the twist hehe πŸ™‚

  13. I’m glad you’re posting this. At least I won’t feel bad about my purchase of camera accessories. Hehe.

  14. Abaniko – same here, I spend money on my hobbies too, but it they’re something I terribly enjoy. Sometimes I just think of it as a gift to myself or patting my own back. Let’s just say I deserve it hehe πŸ™‚

  15. To each his own, di ba, when it comes to frugality.

    In my case, I don’t spend my money on brand name clothes and accessories, simply because it’s not my style to be stylish. To me it’s just a waste to do that. To other’s it may be the opposite.

    The money I saved on these things, I go to ‘brand-name’ restaurants and enjoy the experience. Others think parepareho lang ang pasta, so it’s a waste. Kanya kanya lang yan eh. Just find a way to tighten where it’s possible.

    The most wasteful I felt I have been: Paying $30 for parking at the Giants ballgame.

    The best bang for my buck: Paying $10 entrance to Crater Lake National Park in Oregon.

  16. Ewok – yep, everyone has his own take on conserving the treasure chest for their preferences πŸ™‚ As long as the little pleasures aren’t viewed as evil, I think it’s okay. I have a 50 buck expense for the weekend green fee starting from spring till fall but that’s a given, almost part of my existence πŸ™‚

    Man, the Giants can charge anything they want and people will just flock to see them. Fans just support them like crazy ! I’m a little lucky I get free invites to the Jays, Raptors and Maple Leafs games once in a while πŸ™‚

    The best bang for my buck was a 6 bucks outdoor concert featuring Seals and Crofts and Little River Band. I would pay 20 times that amount to see them again πŸ™‚

  17. The Giants suck this year, but on that day it was a Wednesday day game, they managed to fill 39,000 seats out of the maximum 42,000+. I guess you could say that yeah, we love the Giants, we suckers!!!!

  18. Ewok – even without Barry Bonds, the Giants are still a big draw! Reminds me of the 92′ and 93′ Blue Jays when they won the World Series back to back. We can’t get tickets. The dome was full house to the 50,000 seating capacity πŸ™‚

  19. “a fee worth a couple of cappuccinos could take her and the family into the picnic grounds to enjoy the day.”>>> hahaha…. some people are simply that way.

  20. Dong – strange, isn’t it? πŸ™‚

  21. You’re so very right. Once there was this financial guru who kept on advising his listeners to save even a peso everyday so that in 30 years, they become rich as the money accumulated and multiplied by interest. He was even advising his patrons not to have meriendas, to drink softdrinks, just save them. I was thinking, 30 years is such a long time. It’s not worth it for me not to drink softdrinks all my life.

  22. Major Tom – I’d say if you set aside 10% or even 5% of your salary to some tax free savings plan, then you can have your little pleasures without getting miserable !

    As what the author says, it is silly to be relying on small economies and depriving yourself of your little pleasures, thinking that such penny penching can make you wealthy 😯

  23. It is a financially challenging world! Much more in the Philippines than in most other parts of the world.

    And yes, that’s a good advice — one shouldn’t be pennywise but pound foolish. I for example, don’t scrimp on things that are important (well, everyone’s priority list differs from the other’s) — like good food, books, and good education for the children.

  24. Annamanila – everyone one has his/her priority list as you said and my list includes the little things that makes me happy, things that restores the soul so to speak πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

