RAMBLINGS

On Burning Bridges

I got a voice mail message the other morning. The message time stamp showed 10:30 pm. Hmmm.. Who would think of a horned guy like me this time of night ? πŸ™‚ It was from my former boss. You see it had been a ritual for me and a former colleague to meet up with our former boss, at least once a year for lunch to update each other with our careers and the milestones in our lives. Perhaps he called to set up a lunch meeting. I dutifully called him immediately and after exchanging pleasantries, talking about his forthcoming business trips to South America , he asked me – “so how are you doing in your job?” Being a director of an IT consulting firm he was fully aware of the ongoing crisis facing the U.S. financial institutions these days. I said our company is surprisingly doing fine ( a U.S. global financial institution) but I’m bracing for the eventuality of a golden parachute . He replied – “well, if you get that golden parachute, let me know if you want a job. “.

This guy hired me for a job some 12 years ago and we haven’t lost contact with each other when we went our separate ways. I remember the incident when we were on a cab on our way to the airport for a flight to Vancouver, when the bloody taxi stopped in the middle of the highway, black smoke coming out of its hood. We were like half an hour before departure time and precariously in danger of missing our flight. He then looked at me and said – “can you climb that fence ?Β “, pointing at the steel fence that separated the neighborhood from the highway. “Sure I canΒ “, I said. We wasted no time – threw our suit bags over and climbed over the steel fence in our business suits with our laptop bags in tow, headed straight to a nearby auto shop to establish our coordinates. He called a cab company and refered to the auto shop as our pick up point. We arrived at the airport as the very last passengers and lucky we didn’t have any luggages to check in. One heck of an honest, down to earth guy this man is, and what a previlege to have his friendship. I once posted about not burning the bridge with a former employer. It certainly pays not to burn the bridge not only with your employer but your boss as well 😎

Β 

Cafeteria talk

Our cafeteria talks these days are focused on only one topic – the ongoing financial crisis in the U.S. and our future in the industry as employees. Everyone tries to pitch their dubious conspiracy theories on how the mess happened, likewise their self-designed bailout plans and rescue proposals to avert the impending disaster πŸ™‚ Today was no exception. As the conversations went full speed, a colleague joined the table with his tray, interrupted the conversation and told us in his calm voice – “did you read the headlines today ?” Everybody said – “if that’s newΒ well, you tell us about it ” . With everyone silent, he said – “Clay Aiken ( American Idol ) finally come out of the closet and confessed that he’s gay.” Β :mrgreen:Β  I wanted to do a toink, toink on the guy’s head πŸ˜†

Β 

JOLOGS MOVIE

Toe blogged about this movie A Very Special Love and guess what, this movie is showing in Metro Toronto, in our part of the city ! Last week my wife and her Pinay friend on they day off became total jologs and drove to the cinema house near the our local town centre to watch the movie. Not content, my wife also bought the pirated DVD last Sunday at an Asian mall. Me? I haven’t watched it yet πŸ™‚ Looks like we are seeing a steady supply of Pinoy movies being shown in local theatres here after the Indian Bollywood movies caught the cinemas like wildfire. The word jologs wasn’t in existence yet when I left Pinas but hey, jologs or no jologs, it’s a treat to watch any Pinoy movie in theatres here πŸ™‚

Β 

Clubhouse – CLUB INTRAWEST
Destin, Florida
Β 

48 Responses

  1. Hi bro, long time no c! Back from my almost 2 months of pagkakahimlay πŸ˜€

    hey, the last photo yours? nice angle πŸ™‚ Pinoy films: I was in Pinas but never saw a single movie, natatakot ako maiyak eh (i guess kulang pa pagka jologs ko he he)..lastly, I’m glad you found a good friend in your boss!

  2. Your officemate was quite funny hahaha πŸ™‚ I think we all know Clay Aiken is gay !

    Your former boss is a good guy.. rare πŸ™‚

  3. You don’t strike me as a ‘jologs’ type of guy (LOL). But I guess Pinoys in the Diaspora do crave for a slice of home every now and then.

    ****

    I have no idea who Clay Aiken is since I don’t watch “American Idol.” We don’t have American channels here in my area. But I can Google him up, hehe. Was he the one with long hair? (I saw some clips on “Larry King Live” (we do have CNN here).

    *****

    I agree with the personal policy of not burning bridges at the workplace.

    *****

    Love the colors in the pic. πŸ™‚

  4. Correction: IS he the one with long hair? (Not “was” — he’s not dead yet, LOL). Typos happen when you study German and French at the same time.

  5. Thess – welcome back ! Ang tagal ng bakasyon mo ha. Good for you πŸ™‚

    I know the feeling. When you’re on vacation in Pinas, you’re just so busy with many things that watching movies becomes low priority. Yes, he’s not my boss anymore – a good buddy now πŸ™‚

    Yep that’s my pic. It’s also in my Flickr sidebar πŸ™‚

  6. Irrealis – it’s obvious.. Clay Aiken is as soft as Kleenex haha πŸ™‚

  7. Jayred – Clay Aiken placed 2nd in AI 2003 but he bested the winner, Ruben Studdard in terms of record sales. He was kind of a heartthrob for younger girls πŸ™‚

    well, there are no jologs here hehe πŸ™‚ I watched the first 15 mins of the DVD. mukhang OK naman πŸ™‚

  8. He’s a real fine guy. If all bosses are like him, then it’ll be a better place to live. I once also had a boss like that, leaving me all his contact numbers when he left our agency and made me promise to contact him if ever I needed a job. But sadly, he was stationed faraway from town when I badly needed one some years ago. But he was a real good man, like a father or older brother to me.

  9. “It certainly pays not to burn the bridge not only with your employer but your boss as well”

    I couldn’t agree more, life sometimes play a mean joke that we just don’t know if we will ever need somebody again soon.

  10. What a wonderful ex-boss! I’m sure you’re also a swell guy to work and be with; hence, the close relationships sustained.

    Glad to know your company is all doing all right. Many of my colleagues in NYC are in dire straits these days 😦

  11. Glad your ex boss is a great guy. Mine was a first class A-hole 😦

    we need jokers to lighten up sometimes, don’t we ? πŸ™‚

  12. Major Tom – we all have high esteem for bosses who are fair and respectful. More than anything, a great friendship is developed as the result of mutual trust and respect, esp if you and your former boss had achieved something,
    an accomplishment at the workplace that both of you can cherish as a great team effort πŸ™‚

  13. Lawstude – totally agree with you. When we leave a company, it doesn’t hurt to exit gracefully as a true professional should πŸ™‚

  14. Eric – we did accomplish a lot when he pirated me from a previous job. He left ahead of me to join another company and I went my own way. The camaderie was great πŸ™‚

    Having worked for a Wall St investment bank yourself you probably know the feeling, how people are in the edge of their seats right now. Hopefully the 700 billion bailout which still has a lot of unanswered questions will alleviate the situation 😎

  15. Natez1 – well, looks like he’s someone you already burned bridges with quite unfortunately. For me I would not hesistate to disassociate myself with such dismal people.

    There’s jokers everywhere you go it seems. A bit of humor here and there certainly breaks the monotony of office life πŸ™‚

  16. i’ve had not so nice experiences with former bosses and despite of that, i managed not to burn any bridges. i know that it’ll come in handy in the future, for reference checks.
    on clay aiken – coming out of the closet is not really news to me. the moment i saw him on tv, my gaydar told me that this guy is gay or this gay is gay. ha! whatever. he’s gay!

  17. Mari – good for you because you will need their reference ! Some managers take it very personal and feel betrayed if say a person leaves for a greener pasture.. this selfish attitude really sucks 😦

    Hehe..your gaydar is very accurate πŸ™‚

  18. I don’t burn any bridges either although I’ve had my share of bosses I didn’t particularly like. In those instances, I made sure that I said my goodbyes appropriately. But once I left the building, I faded from their scene.

    As for Clay Aiken, his announcement was basically a non-announcement. πŸ˜€

  19. Panaderos – and your memories of those people have long been forgotten. At some point, after we achieve our own success we also learn to forgive and forget, don’t we ?
    We just charge the bad trip to experience πŸ™‚

    A non-announcement I agree LOL πŸ™‚

  20. i also believe that we really need to value the previous company as much as we value the company we are to work in the future.

    the old company shaped who we are today and the new company will shape our future. both of which are equally important.

  21. interesting ang choice of news ng officemate mo ha.

  22. umakyat ka ng bakod in suit and with laptop and all? wow! cool! hehehe.

    cafeteria talk – at least diba, ibang topic naman.

    panoorin mo a very special love. nakakakilig. hehehe ;p

  23. Dong – right on. To a certain extent, our previous employers are like school because they trained and molded us to what we are now !

  24. Prinsesa – no surprise coz he’s a bit of a character anyways πŸ™‚

  25. Tin – yes we did climb the fence in our suits πŸ™‚

    I watched less than half of it coz my wife and my daughter likes to watch it every now and then. It’s my wife who seems nakikilig hehe πŸ™‚ I thought the music theme isn’t bad at all πŸ™‚

  26. LOL on the cafeteria talk.

    I can only hope that the US financial disaster will have little effect on the BPO industry in the Philippines.

  27. In my line of work, it’s more important never to burn bridges with clients. You may change companies or strike out on your own (like I did) but you will definitely need those clients… πŸ™‚

    Oist?? Clay Aiken is gay?? *as if I care* πŸ˜€

  28. Jeff – I always look forward to lunch time πŸ™‚

    Unfortunately, whether we like it our not, the BPO’s are around because of the financial strength of the companies these financial institutions serve. Keeping them afloat and profitable certainly ensures the viability of the BPO industry.

  29. Sngl – the customer is the lifeblood of companies. Lose your customers and it will be trouble city.

    Me too. That’s why I wanted to give the guy a toink, toink on his head πŸ™‚

  30. Hello again

    Burning bridges is never a good idea to begin with, but so does not speaking your mind. Good or bad bosses appreciate an honest opinion sooner or later. Honesty gets respect in the long run.

    I had a good boss, then a bad boss, followed by another bad boss. The bad ones tend to burn the bridge. I build a new one. To this day my bad boss became a good boss.

    Now I’m the boss of myself, just ask my boss.

    Good day God Bless.

  31. Cafeteria Talk:
    It’s very disconcerting. Sub primes and the lot. We’re stressed to the limits of our wits.

    I’d still say laughter is a good medicine. Creative and out-of-the-box solutions come from a mind that sees humor.

    Worrying certainly wont help.

    Jologs:
    Love your own. Bahala na corny. Atin naman.

  32. this is a nice reminder for me. i’ll try not to with the A holes in my current job. who knows i’ll probably be needing their services anyway?

  33. Thanks for this mixed bag of anxious, heavy, light and nostalgic posts. A microcosm of life ha.

    I like the image of men in corporate wear climbing a fence to meet their flight sked.

  34. Soulshiek – know what, even if you leave the company with bad blood methinks that sooner or later you kinda forget and forgive, credit it to experience and lose the animosity, especially if you become successful professionally πŸ™‚

    Laughter is certainly the best medicine πŸ™‚ I look forward to my daly cafeteria talks hehe. I always get an email on my Blackberry telling me to come down coz the group is in session hehe πŸ™‚

  35. Bing – hahaha.. perhaps you should take it easy πŸ™‚ Hard to think that these people would be giving your references in the future eh? Life is unfair !

  36. Annamanila – thanks too… I guess the mixed bag is what makes our life a little bit more exciting eh ? πŸ™‚

    LOL.. on the image. I was glad my pants didn’t rip πŸ™‚ Now you have quite an idea how my former boss makes decisions hehe πŸ™‚

  37. Seriously, I don’t know what jologs mean. I was out of PI when that term came out and I have never been back so I am at a loss, kindly clarify that please.

    I was told by a very wise person when I resigned my first job here never to burn the bridge between me and that boss. I would have loved to work for her still, except that things changed.

  38. Photocache – here’s what the wiktionary says :

    jologs

    A young person from the squatter area, usually a teenaged male or female.

    “May mga jologs na nakatira duon sa may creek”
    Some punks live there in the creekside slums

    Parang it’s a more definitive form of bakya crowd 😯

    That was good advice for in your future job searches, your manager may need to provide a reference for you. It pays not to spoil the professional relationship πŸ™‚

  39. That’s an exciting airplane story… smoking cab engine, jumping a fence. πŸ˜€ Good thing you guys caught your flight. The last time I had to hurry to the airport was in Los Angeles when my flight from San Francisco was late and I missed my connecting flight. Couldn’t really run with luggage. πŸ˜‰

  40. That is quite an adventure , jumping over a fence like that in your suits. Funny, its almost like a scene from a movie. Its good that you have a well established friensdhip. Goodluck in this financial crisis. I hope Canada can survive as well.

  41. btw, there’s lots of Pinoy movies showing in the theatres here now. I should try to catch one again soon. I watch the Sharon caregiver movie a couple of months ago.

  42. Wil – last time I went to Manila I missed the connecting flight in Hongkong due to a snowstorm delay in Toronto. We left in the evening on another flight instead of afternoon. We weren’t that worried but the Pinoy senior citizens who were on the plane, some of them travelling as far as Isabela were definitely affected 😦 I hate missing flights 😦

  43. Leah – we just had a disastrous day when the NY and Toronto stock markets were down about 7% 😦 Yep, hopefully Canada will survive this storm but whether we like it or not we are affected.

    There’s now a steady flow of Pinoy films being shown around the various parts of the city with significant Pinoy population which is great. My wife got Caregiver on DVD πŸ™‚

  44. Good jobs, in most cases, are obtained through referrals/networking. So, never, never antagonize anyone. You don’t know what help you can get from the guy later. πŸ™‚

  45. Abaniko – so very true. Bad blood may result in character assassination and you won’t get the job !

  46. hahaha, about the clay aiken comment. as if if wasn’t obvious enough from the beginning of american idol. funny, how i was close to whacking my bro-n-laws head at walmart when he saw this magazine of clay aiken. said to me — he’s gay! i looked at him and said, you’re one kind of a guy. hahaha πŸ˜€

  47. Nell – we all knew it and it wasn’t much of a surprise coz it was very obvious even in the media but our officemate was just so hilarious when he innocently thought it was a real news item hehe πŸ™‚

  48. Keep it up, bookmarked and referred a few friends.

Leave a Reply

