Embarrasing, Awkward Moments II

The other day I attended a breakfast seminar sponsored by one of our business partners. The venue was at a hotel and was pretty intimate, with just about 5 tables for guests. After donning my name tag, our account rep immediately approached me and we got stuck in the business as usual conversation at the breakfast table. We then stood to get coffee and I was ready to fill my cup he whispered in a light hearted way ” hey, your fly is open“. Ugh..*&^%$ Β Lucky me he was not a she. Would a SHE ever tell me that my fly is open ? πŸ˜† Okay, my fly was open so what. At least I didn’t go around the room shaking people’s hands with my zipper open hehe. Β I just pretended to be an exhibitionist, laughed it off and zipped the darn thing. For a moment I was thinking the zipper might have been broken. It would have been a disaster but I was wearing suit anyway so visibility was a bit hampered πŸ™‚ Never trust the damn zipper. Grope your crotch every now and then to be sure 😎

About 10 years ago while working for the provincial electric utility provider, I went on a one week training at the lab of a well known telecommunications manufacturer. Surprise of all suprises, a familiar face showed up at the classroom – a former colleague from Pinas ! He was a senior engineer back then and I was a young engineering assistant trying to break into the workplace. It is truly a small world to think that we ended up working for the same employer here. There was a bit of an awkward twist to our roles this time around though. He was a technician at one of the branches while I was a senior engineer at the main office. Roles reversed and that’s just the nature of life I guess. I hope to see the younger ones surpass me in the days to come. They say for this world to be progressive, the children should ideally achieve more than their fathers did and the fathers must accordingly cherish the advancement of their children.

Do you have awkward, embarrassing moments to share ?

BOOZE AND BRAIN

We have been told that a glass of wine a day is is healthy and helps prevent heart disease now we are being told that booze in general speeds up the shrinkage of the brain as man ages. Β Which is which ? What’s the next bad news ? Β Many years ago when I was visiting Italy, I was told that the people of Chianti region lived longer than the rest the country. Their long life expectancy was speculated to have been due to their regular consumption of the world famous Chianti red wine. Heck, I’d go for the brain shrinkage as long as booze takes me to the nineties πŸ™‚

REALLY STRONG BEER

42 Responses

  1. I hate it when my zipper fails, even my jacket zipper.

    LOL, my brain would have shrunk by now πŸ™‚

    That beer ad is tops man πŸ™‚

  2. Worked with a few dykes years ago and am sure one of them pointed it out, hehe…

    This “crybaby” was under me bigtime. Reversal of fortunes came along and lo and behold, we’re in the same network, technically above me. But before he started spewing whatever “ideas” for me to implement, the retirement door was waiting for me.

    Well, Bush 41’s war ended quickly. Bush 43’s war is still raging and quite unsuccessful.

    Luv witty commercials like this. Cheers!

  3. Your fly was open? OMG πŸ™‚ I drink wine too but getting drunk is my only one worry.

    Funny ad !

  4. Natez1 – I gather you are not fazed by the shrinking brain news πŸ™‚

    Zipper accidents do happen πŸ˜‰

  5. TrueBlue – hahaha.. they were your buddies then πŸ™‚

    Older folks normally find it tough to accept younger folks surpass them at the office but sometimes the changing of the guards with younger, fresher minds is a positive thing.

  6. Irrealis – I was using a topcoat walking from the train station to the hotel so I was pretty much covered up πŸ™‚ Was glad the rep called my attention .

    I drink but couldn’t recall the last time I got drunk. Maybe my brain has already shrunk πŸ™‚

  7. My old doctor prescribed a glass of red wine. More to relax me I guess than the heart benefits it gives. I still don’t consume more than before the prescription, but it’s still good to drink in moderation.

    I don’t think I would point out to the opposite sex if his fly is open. Patay malisya na lang ako.

    Embarrasing/awkward moment? A long time ago my bff and i were with this girl who likes to match up people. So one day, the three of us were in the dining room of our building when she summoned one of her homies and introduced her to my bff. When it was time to say hi and shake hands, both bff and I were not extending our hands because before the match maker showed up we saw the guy scratch his butt, sliding his hands under his shorts [ he was wearing basketball uni] and did not go near the faucet to wash his hands. It was pretty awkward for us. I don’t think the guy had any clue why we didn’t want to shake his hand!!!!

  8. Ewok – I like a glass of wine during dinner too. I happen to think it is healthy.

    Bwahaha…he’s gross. I won’t shake the guy’s hand either !

    One time I had a meeting with a bunch of sales people and saw this guy pick his nose with his right hand. I had second thoughts of shaking his hand but I had to. I took his left hand with my left hand and shook his hand so I avoided trouble hehe πŸ™‚

    Frank Sinatra never shook hands with anyone. He reportedly wore gloves all the time.

  9. I think a SHE would have been better, no?

    Thanks to you I know understand why my brain is so small !

  10. hahaha… at least it was discovered at the start of the day.

  11. “Do you have awkward, embarrassing moments to share?”

    — Gee a lot. But I don’t think I have the time right now to write them all here (LOL). Well, if it’s any consolation to you, I’d like you to know that my fly is almost always open when I go out. Blame it on absent-mindedness.

    I don’t drink wine — I’m a water and iced tea sort of person — but I do serve my husband some red wine every now and then. It’s good for the heart daw, di ba? I don’t know about the brain shrinkage theory, but somehow, my husband shows signs of it sometimes (LOL).

  12. Sidney – hahaha.. that would certainly confirm one’s exhibitionist tendencies πŸ™‚

    Booze – the elixir of life, keeping us happy through the shrinkage πŸ™‚

  13. Dong – agree, it would have been a total disaster !

  14. Jayred – sometimes we do have senior moments, dont we ? πŸ˜†

    I love red wine too. I think I’d take the risk of the brain shrinkage hehe πŸ™‚

  15. err, i had a broken zipper once and inside the restroom i was patiently trying to fix it. some employees came in and i was so embarrassed to be seen frantically ‘tinkering’ with my crotch in front of the mirror. hahaha πŸ™‚

    that beer ad is hilarious. beware women! hahaha.

  16. It would have been far worse if you forgot your pants bro, that’s what happened to some people in real life, would you believe?

    Uhmn, lately I have some embarassing moment like about a month ago, I was with college and fraternity friends and I think i drank too much that a somewhat familiar fellow came by our area and I started greeting him and told him that we just met at his cousin’s house. It turned out that he was not that person i knew.

    So it was kinda embarassing that I just went, “Oh, sorry”.

  17. Barry – they were probably wondering what you were tinkering with LOL πŸ™‚

    Beware of fatal attractions hehe πŸ™‚

  18. Major Tom – bwahaha… that would be a total confirmation of brain shrinkage πŸ™‚

    Hehe.. a case of mistaken identity… Me, the reverse. This guy way back in Pinas at the passport office approached me and chatted with me in a very friendly manner. We were just fine…. and then when I got home…. I came to realize…. he was a dude from the same high school with me, a year behind me ! I He never said anything about our high school.. I bet you he thought I remembered him. I had some kind of amnesia there πŸ™‚

  19. That zipper thing happened not to me but to someone I was talking to, a few years ago. Now here’s the kicker, that someone happened to be a woman who worked for a client of mine. I noticed her fly was opened when she sat down in front of me as we were about to discuss something. I really don’t know how to break the embarrassing news to her so I just pretended not to see the peek-a-boo show, looking directly instead into her eyes while talking. πŸ˜€

    Wine is bad? Oh come on… what’s next? Beer causes cancer?

  20. Sngl – LOL on peek a boo πŸ˜† I know the feeling… I’d be embarrassed to tell her too !

    Here’s one more – booze makes the person look older fast- what else can effectively impact people more than looks ? hehe πŸ™‚

  21. haha. That commercial is funny. πŸ˜€

    Embarassing moments? Many. Some I’ve blogged about. hehe

  22. The zipper thing happened to me just yesterday. Good thing it was just myself and an old gentleman who were on it. I wasn’t able to zip up without him noticing so what I did was that as soon as the elevator doors opened, I quickly walked through the lobby and out into my car in the parking lot. I zipped it up in there. πŸ˜€

  23. Wil – remember to drink Brahma to exorcise evil spirits hehe πŸ™‚

    I know you did blog about it πŸ˜‰

  24. Panaderos – dang, if you read my post yesterday it could have given you a heads up πŸ˜†

  25. I love that beer commercial…

    a colleague once said to me that a superstition or something paranormal ain’t true if it doesn’t have an english version…

    kulam = voo doo

    manananggal = ????

    therefore…

  26. hehe!i experienced that same embarrassment back then..yayy!i had to roam my eyes to make sure that only one or two noticed.hek!

    too bad i can’t play youtube in my pc.

  27. nice commercial hehehe. meron din pala kulam sa mga puti.

    embarrassing moment?

    blind dates are always embarrassing.

  28. don’t ever get caught with an open fly in front of a lady hehe

  29. That was just a big laugh! hahaha i guess i would have the courage to tell you that your fly is open, no malice included! haha πŸ™‚

    Life really do changes its path once in a while, but i sure do hope and pray to always surpass every twist and turns it has for me in the near future! haha

  30. Jeff – Pinoys are very superstitious folks indeed. When I came to this country, no one ever heard of kapre and mananaggal. As a people we still couldn’t shake off our paganistic roots even until now duh 😦

  31. Cliffnotes – lucky that you noticed your open fly in due time πŸ™‚

    Oh, that’s too bad. How could you ever imagine blogging with being able to play YouTube? Or a you blogging at the office ? hehe πŸ™‚

  32. Lawstude – meron namang knowldge ng vodoo rito, brought about by those folks who came from the Caribbean islands but hindi masyadong ginagamit.

    Blind date embarrasing? Methink not always except when you don’t like the person, you’d be trying hard to end it hehe πŸ™‚

  33. Tutubi – that’s what we can call mortal sin hehe πŸ™‚

  34. Piapot – thank you now I know you’d be willing to save me from trouble πŸ™‚

    Sometimes we win the race sometimes we don’t but as long as we finish, that’s what’s most important I think πŸ™‚

  35. […] his Embarrassing Awkward Moments entry, BW recounted an awkward moment he had concerning an open fly… HIS fly to be exact. […]

  36. One time at the office, while zipping up my fly at the restroom, the zipper got busted. This meant having my fly open the whole day. Good for me because I was wearing an office barong that time. Had it been a long-sleeved polo, I could have snuck out from work and head home just to change.

  37. I’ve been told many times that I move so gracefully. I’ve also been asked if I did ballet or something, because I do everything in an absurdly poised way. But my feet have embarrassed me many, many times.

    The most embarrassing was when I was attending a national congress for student journalists five years ago. In a lecture hall full of students from Luzon to Mindanao, I ran across the aisle to meet someone I saw at the other end, and I tripped. And then I slid. The floor was very smooth and shiny and I slipped for a few feet before ending up under one chair. I was so embarrassed that I pretended to be knocked unconscious and people had to drag me from under the chair.

  38. Abaniko – a busted zipper is one of my worst nightmares. Happened to me once and was lucky it was winter. I had to put my trenchcoat on and had to go home !

  39. Kat – I gather then that you move like a swan πŸ˜‰ .. keep it up 😎

    That’s a smart way of getting away from embarrassment – pretending it’s a serious accident πŸ™‚

  40. i was completely unaware that i had chocolate froth on the tip of my nose. 😦
    had breakfast at mcdonalds. ordered the usual muffins and hot chocolate. after that, i was off to the bank to pay my bills. the teller at the bank didn’t tell me that i had a brown spot on my nose. why would she anyway? 😦 i was absolutely sure that they saw it because when i got home the brown spot is pea-sized! other than the teller, the manong konduktor at the bus saw the brown spot as well as the other strangers in the jeep, and the people on the rush in ayala.
    moral of story: always check my nose after drinking hot chocolate at mcdonalds.
    people might have thought that it’s a boogie. waaaah! 😦

  41. Mari – hehehe.. sounds familiar. I saw a girl once in the bus back in Pinas. She’s quite pretty and pa-charming todo pa but didn’t realize she had a butil of kanin sa kanyang chin. Buti kung puting kanin e medyo galing pa sa sabaw LOL πŸ™‚

  42. Would you consider submitting this post to a Blog Carnival? Brad Montgomery, humorist and motivational speaker, is hosting a “Humor in the Workplace” Blog Carnival. Check it out:

    http://blogcarnival.com/bc/submit_5519.html

Leave a Reply

