Forgetfulness

2004-06-17As I was queuing up for my regular haircut at the men’s barber shop last Saturday, the third barber became available and shouted “next”. It was my turn but I was waiting for my regular barber, the Russian girl with a heavy accent to finish and wasn’t too keen on being cut by the man so I motioned to the burly guy who barely came into the shop to say ” hey, you can go ahead”. The guy stared at me and came over and said ” how are you ? Remember me – your neighbor !” I was stunned and then exclaimed ” Larry ! How are you man. Long time no see”. I swear I totally failed to recognize the guy, granting that he almost doubled in size and his hair was all grey. How can I possibly forget this Portuguese speaking dude from Brazil who some 4 years ago or so helped me fix the screen on my kitchen exhaust which was inhabited by breeding birds ! Darn, but I did forget and it was embarrasing ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Last September I went intoย a Guess store and saw this young man smile at me and I thought –ย what’s this dude smiling at me for ? A few minutes later I saw my wife having a conversation with him. It turned out he was the son of one of our friends. He and his family attended my daughter’s backyard birthday party last July. ย Dammit I felt sorry for the kid, forย not even returning his smile. I just had to laugh it out and say my eyes failed me . It would have been more insensitive for me to say – sorry I didn’t recognize you. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Has this ever happened to you ? I don’t think its dementia or the onset of Alzeihmers but its a real drag when you forget someone’s name or fail to recognize a persons face. I’m not that terribly forgetful except the instance where I was frantically looking for my socks for 15 minutes only to find out I had placed hanging on my right shoulder ๐Ÿ™‚ The memory lapses may have to do with age or just an occasional blip on the grey matter’s cells. Since I often stumble with person’s faces perhaps I need to be more interested with people ๐Ÿ˜ณ I might be filtering people’s faces by my affinity or close relationships with them and dismissing all the others easy. That’s probably while I scored low in the “too interested” test in my previous post. ย I do the crossword in the train daily so I’m doing my due diligence with regard to exercising my brain. It still however doesn’t prevent me from losing my socks ๐Ÿ˜†

Corny Pinoy Jokes :

Lito: Pare, ano ba ang kaibahan ng H2O sa CO2?
Joseph: Diyos ko naman! Di mo ba alam ‘yun?! Ang H2O ay water! At ang CO2… cold water.

Stewardess: Do you want a drink, sir?
Sir: What are my choices?
Stewardess: Yes or No.

Wife dreaming in the middle of the night suddenly shouts, ‘Quick, my
husband is back!’
Man gets up, jumps out the window and realizes, ‘Damn!
I AM the husband!’

Doc: For your health take only a cup of rice, lean meat and a saucer of kangkong. Fruits for dessert and lots of juice….
Fat guy: Doc, shall I take them before or after meals?

Bush: What are the pollutants in your country?
Jingoy: We have lots of pollutants.. ..we have sisig, kilawin, chicharon, mani
Erap: Anak, may nakalimutan ka, Boy Bawang (cornik).

Misis: Delayed ako nang one month pero huwag mo munang ipagsabi. Nahihiya ako…
Mister: Okey.
Kinabukasan, dumating ang taga-Meralco. ..
Taga-Meralco: Misis, delayed po kayo ng one month.
Misis: Ha? Bakit mo alam?
Taga-Meralco: Nasa record po.
Misis: Sasabihin ko ito sa Mister ko.
Mister: (Galit at nagpunta sa Meralco.) Bakit naka-record diyan na delayed ang misis ko?
Taga-Meralco: Kung gusto ninyong mawala sa record, magbayad kayo!
Mister: Eh kung ayokong magbayad?
Taga-Meralco: Puputulan kayo!
Mister: Eh anong gagamitin ni misis?
Taga-Meralco: Pwede naman siyang gumamit ng kandila.

Sa isang classroom…
Titser: Class, what is ETHICS?
Pilo: Etiks are smaller than ducks.
Titser: Okey, that duck will lay an egg on your report card.

IT SUCKS TO BLOG BUT NOT ABLE TO VIEW YOUTUBE ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

21 Responses

  1. Bro, you’re not the only one suffering from forgetfulness. It happened to me countless times before. Nakakahiya… Argh! It comes with age I think…

    Hahaha, very naughty ad indeed. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. This happened to me for a lot of times. And instead of them (the ones I couldn’t recognized) feeling embarrassed coz’ i know my face was totally in blank, it was I who really felt deeply ashamed while thinking how to reciprocate. So, far I have dealt with them well and been in good disguise. I just make sure we don’t about names. hehe!

    I am more forgetful with one’s name more than the face. But really, other than this instance I am slowly showing signs of being so forgetful with other stuff.:)

  3. Dang, that cartoon really cracked me up man ๐Ÿ˜†

    On the video, might try to use flavored condoms now ๐Ÿ˜‰ hehe.

  4. ha ha those jokes are not new to me anymore but they still made me laugh ha ha

    well, been experiencing bouts of forgetfulness. a lot of things affect the mind actually, and one is stress. as one ‘matures’, it becomes prevalent, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. happened to me a lot of times! really embarrassing! it happened when i bumped into college friends, former co-workers and present co-workers! i recognized the faces but the names unfortunately, escaped me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. You’re not the only one who’s becoming forgetful, I’m afraid I am too. I am also bad remembering faces and names…what’s the matter with me?!

    that video is funny lol!

  7. Tell me about it! I have a hard time with names as well. Although I recognize the face, I always forget the name. And I feel bad since they know mine.

    I love Pinoy Jokes, the Erap ones never die. It always makes me laugh.

  8. Hahaha! I love those jokes!

    Forgetting the names of my former students whenever I bump into any of them is embarrassing. Sometimes, when I accidentally meet some of them, I would hurry off to consult the yearbooks I have kept in my cabinet to refresh my memory. Or at other times, pag talagang gipit na – I ask: “What’s your name again?” Nakakahiya, halatang tumatanda na. ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. BW… I bet you are better in remembering the face of women. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I’m a scatterbrain so forgetfulness seems to be my second nature ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    That video is funny hahaha ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. It does happen to me, too. Maybe it’s because I’m: 1) myopic, 2) too precuppied with things all the time, and 3) generally “bangag.”

    A male neighbor in Manila told me last year it’s because I always have this ‘tunnel vision’ when I walk outside our home (“Derecho tingin mo parati”). Funny, I didn’t even recognize him and he has been our neighbor ever since I was a kid! Embarrassing.

  12. always happens to me. hehehe. i’m not good pa man din with names

  13. My problem is diffirent, faces I remember really well. Now the names I often forget. So it gets awkward when I say hi and I have someone with me to introduce with this person whose name I forgot.

    I am the same way with books I have read. I know the story, I can’t remember the title and the author. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy weekend. The hubby is planning on going crabbin again. I think I’ll beg off this time :(. I’m just not in the mood for crabbing three weekends in a row no matter how much fun it is.

  14. I think I’m pretty good at remembering faces. As for their names? Not really. hehe.

    I like the 1st and 2nd corny jokes. hehe

  15. I’m good with faces, but names are just to hard to remember. I once met a familiar face I’m sure we went together in primary school. Since I couldn’t put a name on the face, I just called him “classmate” in a cool way. Later on he ask me “Nakasama ba kita sa section 3, di ba taga section 1 ka?”.

  16. Again, it’s one of nature’s mystery for me at least. There are just people that virtually stood out amongst others, like forgetting someone you’ve met last week yet you remember a particular person whom you came in contact with ages ago.
    Used to have this car and can memorize the Vehicle Id Number by heart (that’s almost 20 letters and numerals jumbled together!) YET can’t remember my plate numbers which only consists of six, hehe….

    Cheers to you and happy thanksgiving to all!

  17. yes i believe it does. in my case it’s not people that i forget. it’s mostly materials.

  18. i am bad at names but not so with faces. what’s embarrassing is that i talk to a person for hours and still i could not remember his name.

  19. memory gap yan hehe
    i also fall into awkward situations like that

  20. I can remember faces pretty easily, but sometimes not the names. People always say I have a sharp memory because I often remember something I have read or have studied ages ago (even I get surprised with myself when I suddenly blurt out names, places, events, or worse, dates!) when the situation calls for it. I’m also called OC by my friends because I make lists for everything and write myself reminders all the time. But it’s the simple things that I forget, and I’ve had many episodes just like your sock incident.

  21. I equate forgetfulness with the amount of tasks to be done, like the level of being so busy of work is collateral to the amount of being forgetful. I often experience this at work and get embarrassed often, like forgetting the very room I am about to enter and start a lesson.

    But if my load is so much lighter, I do not have much problem like that.

Leave a Reply

