HOLIDAY CHEERS

santasee022ea12a2When I think of Christmas, pictures of happy and giggling children inevitably comes to mind because frankly there are no happier human beings than children during the yuletide season. It isn’t hard to draw this conclusion because once upon a time I was a kid myself. Christmas time was like living in Disneyland – carols, food, gifts and abundance of good things made the atmosphere so. It was almost like a time warp, where time pauses and a Shangrila-like world rushes in .

santa3aThere was a time when I questioned the existence of Santa Claus and my parents punished me for being such a brat, for trying to convince my siblings that the fat man and his reindeers were a hoax. When we woke up early one Christmas morning , I couldn’t find my gifts ! Looked like Santa was upset, ignored my letter inside the stocking and totally passed up on me. My world crumbled. 😦 My aunt then told me ” maybe you should look around more. Santa may have placed your gifts somewhere , not by the Christmas tree”. I ventured into the kitchen area and lo and behold, the gifts were there just beside the garbage bin. Such was my lesson for being an imp and I stopped berating the fat guy after that. 🙂

candle21aAs we age, the meaning of Christmas transcends beyond the jovial celebrations, with a much deeper and symbolic meaning. Sometimes I just frown upon people trying to be too politically correct with the adamance to say Merry Christmas. I see no malice in wishing happiness on someone. I just hope people don’t go too far and start dropping the fat man from the list because SANTA could also be spelled SATAN 😯 These buffoons may celebrate Christmas eve at the laundromat washing their dirty linens but that won’t stop me from wishing them Merry Christmas. 🙂

 

BE CAREFUL !

We all look forward to a jolly holiday and sometimes get too rambunctious celebrating the season. Be careful – don’t drink and drive. It is fine to go to the pub and have a pint or two but get a designated driver. More importantly, be wary of picking up a stranger ! 😆

HAVE A REAL SWELL CHRISTMAS YO ! :mrgreen:

mryxmas021ea1b2a

HAPPY HOLIDAYS EVERYONE !

52 Responses

  1. Just passing by to greet you:

    Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year (I hope) to you and your family.

  2. Hey BW, happy holidays… speaking of… I still plan to do my shopping on January like what I did last year… =)

  3. Ako poy namamasko lamang. Meri Krismas!

  4. I agree with what you said about some people being overly politically correct. I must say that I’m not too fond of replacing “Merry Christmas” with the generic-sounding “Happy Holidays”. I abhor replacing “Christmas Holidays” with the pagan-sounding “Winter Holidays”. I’m sorry but by saying “Merry Christmas”, I wish goodwill and peace to all men, regardless of their religion and sexual orientation. I am in no way imposing my religious beliefs on them but it’s unfortunate that the PC police view it another way. Too bad. I’ll stick to Merry Christmas until my dying day.

    Merry Christmas, Bro. I wish you and your family all the blessings of the season. 🙂

  5. Merry Christmas BW. Happy New Year too.

  6. That burping/passing gas video is pretty disgusting. hehe

    Merry Christmas, bw! 🙂

  7. Merry Christmas! Don’t eat too much! 😀

  8. Merry Christmas to you too BW ! Santa placed your gifts in the kitchen? LOL That was mean 🙂

    The vultures singing the carol is pretty funny hehe 🙂

  9. Jeff – Merry Xmas to you too… Look forward to another book of yours in 2009? hehe 🙂

  10. Ewok – Maligayang Pasko din sa iyo at pamilya mo 🙂

  11. Panaderos – LOL on the PC police hehe 🙂 Even at our Xmas party, we sang some Xmas songs – at least I did insist but no one complained ( 50 % of staff are non-Christians) – baka lasing na rin sila 🙂

    Merry Xmas to you bro. Hope you have a wonderful celebration 🙂

  12. Lawstude – Merry Xmas to you too bro and keep posting those pretty pics of Pinas 🙂

  13. Wil – disgusting ba ..hahaha… goes to show everybody can enjoy Xmas !

    Merry Christmas to you too pal 🙂

  14. Abaniko – don’t you know it’s the diet breaking month ? hehe.. Hey, don’t drink too much 🙂

    Merry Xmas to you to bro 🙂

  15. Irrealis – swear I found my gifts near the garbage bin hehe 🙂

    Hey, Merry Xmas to you too girl ! Don’t drink too much 🙂

  16. Your parents are funny. 🙂 Well, at least you learned your lesson.

    Merry Christmas to you too, bw!

  17. Xmas party is at my house so the xmas tree is up. First time in many years, hehe…

    Hmmm…first video reminds of the movie “Crying Game” which starred Forest Whitaker.

    Second video looks like PakYaw, Chavit, Noli, Atienza, and his trainer just having fun!

    Merry Xmas and Happy New Year to all!

  18. kapag araw ng pasko feeling ko birthday ng lahat ng mga bata..kasi nga di’ ba , baby Jesus is the living symbol of Christmas. and it’s the kids that best depict Christmas…opinyon kolang..ahehe! kaya ang sarap maging bata.:D

    merry Christmas!

  19. Niceheart – hope you have a wonderful Christmas celebration. We already have 2 winter storms this month so far and one is coming tomorrow 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and your family 🙂

  20. TrueBlue – looks like you are celebrating Christmas with a blast at your house hehe 🙂

    I’d say the vultures would be Atienza, de Castro and Singson. I’d spare the PacMan this time LOL 🙂

    Merry Xmas to you and your loved ones 🙂

  21. Cliffnotes – sarap maging bata uli sa Xmas no? Lalo na pag marami kag regalo hehe 🙂

    Merry Chistmas to you and your loved ones 🙂

  22. I never had Santa Claus as part of my growing up years. I was very thankful to my parents for that.

    Happy Christmas. Hope you’re not buried under a lot of white. Enjoy.

  23. Ewok – I was just an imp but I enjoyed my years with the fat guy and his cool gifts 😉 We were six siblings and it was a lot of fun I tell you. Tradition passes on to my daughter too 😆

    We are miserably buried in a lot of white after a couple of snowstorms that came 2 days apart ugh 😦 It’s definitely a White Christmas for us… Hope you have a nice, warm Christmas with the family 🙂

  24. I remember Christmas as a time when I would get these crisp, newly-issued bills (obviously withdrawn straight from the bank in those days!) from beloved uncles, aunties and godparents. Oh, it was just pure bliss. 🙂 I agree 100% that Christmas is the best time of the year, for children! 😉

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, bw! Enjoy your white Christmas.

  25. Kathy – oh yeah, I remember those crispy bills from my ninongs and ninangs. The carnival like atmosphere in our town with the parols and lights, the incessant playing of the carols, the firecrackers just made my world a total funland 🙂

    Merry Xmas to you and your family . Hope you enjoy your first Christmas in your newly adopted country !

  26. Hahaha, I like that Trojan ad. Oo nga naman, you’ll never know who you’re going to pick up these days, especially when you’re piss drunk. You might wake up with a sore butt… you know what I mean.? hahaha. 😀

    Anyways, Merry “non-politically correct” Christmas to you and your family, bro. 🙂

  27. Sngl – don’t really think this is a Trojan commercial bro. – just those dudes who drop these funny clips on YOuTube 🙂 It safer not to get too drunk eh? LOL 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you and the family bro… don’t drink and drive…and be careful hehe 😉

  28. First of all, that trojan ad had me in guffaws. Very so funny.

    Anyway, I did believe in Santa when I was not so little kid back then. One night, while my siblings were hanging their socks, I tried to hand a sack by the window and my aunt asked why that was so. I said that I had wished that Santa gives me a bicycle and I reckon it wouldn’t fit in a sock so I had a sack hanged instead.

  29. “at laundromat washing dirty linens” on Christmas – looks like a low-lifer to me 🙂

    The video clips are hilarious haha.. Merry Christmas to you BW… cheers 😆

  30. Major Tom – hanging a sack for the bike for Santa ? That’s so funny haha.. I know my younger brother wanted a horse ( ala cowboy) to match his cowboy outfit and the dual holstered guns 😆 I got the brown holsters and he got the black… we had to put those rolls of paputok inside the gun and played OK Corral running gunbattle with our pals… man, those boyhood days were just awesome 🙂

    Good you guys have the 13th month gratuity – thank Marcos for that 😉 Here, we don’t have that luxury plus the taxman will grab 30% of it anyways, yikes 😦

    Hey, have a wonderful Christmas with the family. All the best !

  31. Natez1 – we will say CHEERS to those low lifers won’t we ? 😆

    Merry Christmas to you too and be careful with strangers haha 🙂

  32. Maligayang Pasko sa yo bro.

  33. Myepinoy – same to you… Maligayang pasko sa iyo sa kingdom of SA. Ingat lang sa grape juice na may sipa’ … baka may mutawa sa tabi-tabi haha 🙂

  34. bro, ayaw na kasi isa sa officemate ko kinuha na sa taas dahil sa grape juice na may sipa.

    sabi noong wife, noong dinala nila officemate ko sa st lukes hospital para sa treatment, ang unang tanong, ofw ba sya sa middle east? so it turned out na sa st.lukes hospital, marami mga patients nila from here ang nag-abroad ulit permanently dahil sa pawis ng grape juice (na may sipa).

    at sigurado ako, simula kagabi at hangga bukas marami ang nagpasko o magpapasko sa oblong. lol

  35. MyePinoy – ganoon ba. Mabagsik pala ang grape juice na yan no? 🙂 Do people come to the Christmas party with thermos bottles hehe ..

    Anyway, theres no DUI in KSA at saka walang breath test kaya maraming nakakalusot 😉

  36. happy holidays!

    hoping for a much better 2009 despite the gloom

  37. dati nung alam ko ng walang santa, di ko sinasabi para may gifts pa din ako. hehehe

    1st video.. mukha naman lalaki talaga yung girl eh.
    2nd video… di ko alam kung cute sila o ano. hehe

    merry Christmas 🙂

  38. After a rather stressful Christmas celebration with the “outlaws” (LOL), I want to wish you a belated Merry Christmas!

    P.S. I can’t help noticing that of late, the YouTube videos you are featuring in your blog are always sex-oriented. I wonder why. Wala lang 🙂

  39. Tutubi – Merry Christmas to you too 🙂

    I’m pretty bullish on 2009 which will be a turn around year for the most painful economic downturn we’ve seen since the depression. No way but up ! 😎

  40. Tin – hehe… I was officially expelled from the Santa Claus deal once I finished grade 6 🙂

    I did a bit of sleuthing you see and I saw my parents and my aunt haul in boxes into the house ( our gifts ) , thinking we were all asleep 😉

    Meryy Christmas to you too. Hope you had a blast 😆

  41. Jayred – I didn’t have to chill with my “outlaws” but relatives and friends – it was still stressful. hehe 🙂

    Well, if you look at my Christmas post of 2007, I am still consistent with the season’s theme 😉 In fact my last two video clips were quite relevant to my posts . It so happened that my searches took me to those videos LOL 😆

    Merry Christmas to you and your hubby. Hope you had a wonderful celebration with your inlaws ! 😆

  42. Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones!!!

  43. Merry Christmas to you and your family and all the best for the New Year!

    Santa is such a jovial fellow, its hard not to believe. He came by and everyone was happy including myself.

  44. Ipanema- Merry Christmas to you and your family too 🙂

    I’m sure you had a wonderful celebration at your hometown. I haven’t done so in many many years !!

  45. Leah – I hope you daughter didn’t see Mommy kissing Santa Claus hahaha 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you too and sure enough snow storms and freezing rain didn’t dampen the spirit of Christmas for us eh? 😆

  46. Merry Christmas!

    I stopped believing in Santa when I was in the 6th grade. My classmate told me so. 🙂

    • Mari – as for me, I started doubting the fat man when I was in grade 5 🙂 Truth or not, I had fun anyways hehe..

      Merry Christmas to you and your family too 🙂

  47. “There was a time when I questioned the existence of Santa Claus and my parents punished me for being such a brat, for trying to convince my siblings that the fat man and his reindeers were a hoax.” >>> hahaha… that’s a funny experience and you even stopped beraging. hehehe… that’s a cute story to remember the old times. i agree that the kids are indeed the happiest human beings during christmas.

  48. Dong – it’s fun to reminisce the old days, esp when as kids we weren’t worried about anything and all we cared about was toys and play 🙂 Hope you had a fun Chritsmas celebration.

  49. greet lang kita ng happy new year 🙂

    bisita ka ba dito next year? 🙂

  50. Happy New Year to you Tin. Hope you’ll be having a ball celebrating it. Ingat lang sa firecrackers 🙂

    I have plans , depending on how the economy goes but I’ve got to catch it before the airline ticket prices go up ! If I do, I’d hook up with you 😎

Leave a Reply

