Reflections On The New Year


2009The new year story can elicit mixed feelings , be it a mixture of some sense of boredom, thankfulness, anxiety and optimism. The celebration matters not, for whether you participated in the revelry, the fireworks, the familiar hugs with auld lang syne playing in the background or worked out a graveyard shift at your workplace during the eve, none of us can proclaim 2009 to be the year of boom or bust. One thing we know though – a forgettable 2008 is certainly way behind us.


A mere digit change on the year doesn’t automatically alter the destiny of our world. It does however startlingly resets the earthling’s psyche with some degree of synchronicity, that we may not be playing a new game but at least we have changed venue. Same players, same game but a new playing field makes one heck of a difference, psychologically speaking.


When thinking of 2009, I am reminded of a previous post which highlighted this short snippet – from a materialist’s point of view :

 
quote

“Creative response to challenges is good; evil is stagnation. Unlimited power or unlimited knowledge is not good. If perfection were obtained, it would be boring. Only where there are limitations and challenges is there a game. Things that seem evil, such as dark ages and barbarism, often clear the way for a greater good. What appears to be progress, such as technological growth and natural science, often destroy things more valuable than itself. Good and evil are real enough from one point of view, but from a higher point of view, it takes both together to produce growth. Good may be bad if it leads to stagnation. Destruction can be as creative as construction. Graceful acceptance or retreat is often more creative than strength, initiative and bravery. Forgetting can be as useful as learning. Life is beautiful, in its evil and terrifying aspects as well as its good and gentle. Indeed, one requires the other to complete it. Stagnation is the only ultimate evil, and because of the devil in mankind, stagnation is always temporary. ”

unquote

 
piggy_bankBad can be good and good can be bad. This time around the evidence is so compelling. Man’s propensity for greed and the sophisticated tools he developed to amass tremendous wealth had triggered the button of self-destruction. Perhaps it is nature’s way of bringing equilibrium to an overly stressed system but severe damage had been done. The resultant financial crisis had led to the retrogression of the collective wealth of this world. The comforting news is we recognized our actions of self-destruction. We might be in a state of decline but not stagnation in my opinion. My hope for 2009 is man will use his superior knowledge, indefatigable drive and unflagging fortitute to subvert the evil of stagnation. In short, I am optimisic of a healthy economic rebound in 2009. If good and bad work together to produce growth there is reason to be optimistic. My part in this would not be cheering in the bleachers but doing my job to the best of my abilities, paying my taxes and supporting my government in every way I could. 2009 is one unique year where it appears that my success no longer entirely depends on my individual efforts but on a societal scale to a greater degree.

HAPPY NEW YEAR FROM THE GREAT WHITE NORTH


A view from my driveway on New Year’s day taken with my new toy, a Panasonic Lumix DMC FX35 acquired during last day of Boxing week sale 🙂 The price drop was simply irresistible, although I craved for its bigger brother, the pricier TZ5 with its 10X optical zoom which didn’t go down much in price, dang 👿  When you shop on Boxing day it better be a knockout, and I feel like I did score on this one, yeah 🙂 Suffice to say I now have a dandy camera I can hide in the palm of my hand and slide out from my breast pocket ever so handily to capture those photo moments. But other than size it has to be special and this baby with it’s 25mm wide angle LEICA lens, HD quality video, 10.1 megapixels, 4x optical zoom and proprietary AI ( Advanced Intelligent) auto mode are all I can wish for in a “buddy” camera 😎 Stuff it with a 4GB Class 6 SDHC memory card and I’m ready to go 😆

Well, the white stuff will be around for another 3 months and I can’t play my favorite game but that doesn’t give me enough reason to be grumpy and bitchy eh ? 😆 Hey, for an optimist like me, let’s just said it’s a nuisance hehe 🙂

I had a blast celebrating new year’s and I hope you did too. Wish you all the best for 2009 !

CHEERS !

hny3_whny5_b

34 Responses

  1. Happy New Year, Pards. Very nice new toy you have there! 🙂

    I do hope that the economies of the world recover in 2009. I hope that the economic devastation wrought by unbridled corporate greed ought to not be forgotten for our sake and those of future generations. It should also convince free market advocates about the need for regulation to prevent such a collapse from ever happening again. I hope.

    Take care, Pards! 🙂

    • Panaderos – the lessons learned from 2008 was extremely painful and I’m sure governments will have something done regulation wise to prevent a similar occurence in future. It is not over yet and the American model of capitalism is under serious challenge as we speak.

      The purchase of my new toy is more of a forced-to-good deal coz I don’t think I could ever buy it at the same price ever hehe 🙂

      Happy Year too and all the best for 2009 🙂

  2. I’m glad 2008 is over. Hope 2009 will be a better year for us.

    You really like blue, don’t you. It’s cute looking camera 🙂

    Happy New Year BW !

    • Irrealis – I hope too and wish that we could get over this wicked recession.

      Well, the special only came out in blue so I can’t do much about it I didn’t mind. Would have been different if it was pink hehe 🙂

      Happy New year to you too 🙂

  3. If you can’t play golf, play with your lumix and take lots and lots of wintry sceneries like this one.

    How was you new year? I trust you had a good one.

    Peace and prosperity this new year.

    • Ewok – know what, that wouldn’t be a bad idea hehe 😆

      I had a blast came home at 2 am and had to headed out for dinner with the family at a friend’s house the following day Jan 1 . We couldn’t be at their party so we continued the following day 🙂 I still have to go to another friend’s house for a new year’s dinner Jan 2nd in a neighboring city. I don’t think we have to cook for a whole week with all the left over food 🙂

      Wish you and your hubs a prosperous new year !

  4. Now THAT’s one drool-worthy toy.. Compact and easy to carry and most importantly, easy to shoot pictures on the sly, hehehe. 😀

    You know what’s worse than having to go through a recession? Seeing those responsible get away unpunished… and still stinking rich. Man, I’d like to see those people hanged in the public square.

    • Sngl – with a 45% price drop, it was a no brainer. Actually the first store I went to ran out of stock and I nearly bought the TZ5 🙂 so I had to go to another town the next day to score it. Dang, I still have to buy the HD cable so I can play it directly on my HDTV – it didn’t come with the package . Oh well, you can’t have it all 🙂

      Except for Bernie Madoff who clearly deceived his clients with a Ponzi scheme, it is very difficult to establish the proof of corruption on the financial institutions because they all attempted to make deals for the benefit of their clients and got hefty commissions in the process. A loose regulatory system in the States is mostly to blame. For instance, the subprime crisis never happened in Canada because the government required everyone who didn’t put a 20% down on the house purchase mortgage insurance from a government backed insurer. This meant you had to pay 2% of the cost of the house on inusrance FIRST so you can be loaned a mortgage by the banks. Having said the above, there should be new regulations on derivatives trading esp those exotic investment products that trade on virtual assets.

      Sure enough, Bernie Madoff ought to be hanged 😦 Incidetnally Ponzi type schemes have also happened in Pinas.

  5. Analysts says this crisis may last until mid-year, then stabilize and hopefully goes up. I hope they are right this time.

    May we weather this with minimal sacrifice on our part.

    • Blogusvox – I hope so too. Too early to tell but the first trading day of the year, Jan 2 the stock market indeces all over the world was up. In fact the trading days before the new year, the indeces were also up. Hopefully this positive mode will prevail for next year 🙂

      I cringe when I see strikes happening. In this wicked recession times, what kind of salary increases would people like to see ? Some companies couldn’t even afford increases and would prefer to see people not lose their jobs, rather than paying increases and fire a few. Case in point bloody Canada Post employees are on strike as we speak, so are the teachers of a private university here, demanding pay raises like you won’t believe 😦

  6. “It does however startlingly resets the earthling’s psyche with some degree of synchronicity, that we may not be playing a new game but at least we have changed venue.”
    >>>this is the part that i liked the most in this post. so good to start a year with such a reflection. it’s reality that we need to face.

    • Dong – as the quote in this post says, “The object of a new year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul”.

      It’s undeniably clear that consumer confidence plays big part in the life of this recession we are presently undergoing. If people are upbeat and optimistic, it makes a heck of a difference 🙂

  7. Happy New Year BW! 🙂 Wow… the view from your driveway is like winter wonderland! 🙂

  8. Toe – Hello there Tita Toe ! I’m so glad to hear from you 🙂

    Well, I if you notice, my driveway has evidence of hard labor – shovelling the snow by yours truly haha 🙂 I bet you won’t like the idea of doing this everyday. Once a week is fine though hehe 🙂

    wishing you a prosperous 2009 !

  9. I was surprised to find out that 2008 was a bad year for a lot of people, myself included. And let me add my voice to the chorus that 2009 will be challenging, but I’m hoping for good things to come.

    • Jeff – the high oil prices and the fianancial crisis of 2008 made it much worse on a global scale at that because we really are a global economy nowadays.

      Hope fully this year 2009 will be a much better one. There will be a period of painful adjustment which is part of the resizing of the economy but I am hopeful that prosperity will return.

  10. Look at all that snow. Reminds me of our car buried in snow after going on a four-day holiday last Dec. 31. It has been snowing here, too.

    Nice to know you’re happy with your camera purchase. 🙂

    I wish you a Blessed 2009 filled with God’s love, joy and peace. May our faith in Him increase day by day.

    • Jayred – so you have been vacationing this holiday ? Tell us about it ! We had a snowstorm on the 23rd and freezing rain on the 24th – can you believe that ? 😯 I ‘m still hoping I don’t buy a snow blower this winter hehe 🙂

      Absolutely. Our faith plays a big part in dealing with a turbulence such as an economy on the brink of depression. Wish you a blessed 2009 too and more prosperity and abundance to your and your loved ones !

  11. Woah! A new Lumix! I love those cams with Leica Lenses.

    happy new year BW!

    • Ferdz – actually LEICA also sells the C-LUX3 which is identical the Panasonic Lumix Fx-35 and they both have image stabilization. Looks like FORD and MAZDA building the same cars but different brands 🙂 I like LEICA’s reputation for quality too.

      Wish you a terrific 2009. Keep winning those awards man 🙂

  12. Man is the most unsatisfied living creature on earth..we want things now..the next day we realized that we no longer want them because we start to crave for more. And though God’s gift of knowledge to mankind is overwhelming..still He didn’t say that we may forget our limits as human.

    “My part in this would not be cheering in the bleachers but doing my job to the best of my abilities, paying my taxes and supporting my government in every way I could.”–if all people in this world think the way you do bw, then it would be a wonderful place to live in.:)

    Happy New Year and Godspeed!

    • NYL – man is never satisfied with what he has. True it keeps the world progressive but it also destroys when greed becomes excessive !

      We can only do so much to contribute to society and sadly, many of us think that society is responsible for everything we need. Wish you a bountiful and prosperous 2009 🙂

  13. Very intuitive refelections here bro and truth to be told, I must admit that a one-digit number has such great psychological meanderings to the popular mind, and this must not seem to be. Yet, there’s some benefit in being positive about it all, those talk about changes for the better, resolutions and improvements. It makes life much more livable and tolerable.

    BTW, great take on your scenic frontyards and I can see how powerful your new cam. Way to go bro and Happy New Year to you and your family. 🙂

    • Major Tom – the new year basically resents the counter and when you THINK you’re starting all over it does make a big psychological difference 🙂 2009 is a bad time for partisan politicking. The government must focus on the economy at all cost because a misstep can have grave consequences. I hope the Pinas government start thinking seriously on what it must do to alleviate the effects of the economic slowdown.

      Cheers to you Major Tom and all the best for 2009 !

  14. 10 megapixels sound great. Nice treat for yourself indeed. Cameras have sure come a long way. Belated Happy New Year, bw! 🙂

    • Wil – the megapixel race is certainly on but fortunately, it isn’t the only determinant 🙂 It is amazing how these companies manufacture a slew of models with minor differences and they do nothing but confuse the consumers ! A bit of research on the reviews certainly helps 😉

  15. Many say it will be a painful 2009 and the light at the end of the tunnel will show at the end of the year.

    That’s a nice little camera. The features are quite impressive.

    Hope your new year will be a good one BW.

    • Natez1 – anytime we are struggling to come out of a recession, it is always painful. I am hopeful that the rebound wouldn’t take too long and govts are helping out the best they can.

      Thanks – may you have a prosperous 2009 bro 🙂

  16. This recession will surely teach lots of people how to better manage their lifestyles in the future. Agree that the new administration will do it’s darnest to bring up the economy to normalcy. People are hurting all over.

    Not into electronic gadgets but happy megapixel year to you and family, hehe….the least I can do.

    • TruBlue – you mentioned something very important – lifestyle change. I think that’s the name of the game in the near future. The crisis had shrunk people’s net worth and the natural reaction would be to tighten a bit on expenses and forego the usual luxuries 😯

      Happy megapixels to you to bro 🙂

  17. “Jayred – so you have been vacationing this holiday ? Tell us about it ! We had a snowstorm on the 23rd and freezing rain on the 24th – can you believe that ? 😯 I ‘m still hoping I don’t buy a snow blower this winter hehe.”

    — Yes, BW. We were in Paris for four days. We went there on a whim, now that Switzerland is officially part of the Schengen area. It was so cold when we went there. Was not able to shake the hand of Mickey, Pluto and Daisy tuloy when I had the chance — LOL. My legs and hands were as stiff as a board na kasi, thanks to the very cold climate on the day we visited Disneyland.

    Freezing rain? Yikes! I guess that is expected na, right? Canada is well-known for its very cold climate. I guess hindi ako pang Canada since I have arthritis, hahaha.

    • Jayred – it’s tough when freezing rain comes the day after the snowstorm, para kang nag papala ng leche con hielo sa driveway hehe… wet and heavy snow , ugh 😦

      I bet you enjoyed your time not only in Disney but Paris in general. I always liked the smell of perfume in the metro (subway) trains. Ang gaganda at babango ng mga babae nila subalit hindi ko lang alam kung naliligo araw araw hehe 🙂

      Well, Toronto isn’t that cold to be honest compared to the praire provinces ( Manitoba and Saskatchewan) where the average nightly winter temp is within the -20 C 😯 One indication that we aren’t that cold is cars being sold here don’t have block heaters 🙂 We’re a few degrees lower than NYC in fact 😎

  18. that is so true – a single digit change doesn’t mean that the person would change as well or the world for that matter. i never believe in resolutions.

    hope you had a good start for the new year!!! 🙂

    • Ipanema – resolutions are always meant to be broken. Interestingly, stats shows that memberships in fitness clubs always rise in the new year and people tend to slack up and totally forget about it by Xmas time hehe 🙂 That goes to show how people deal with the most talked about new years resolution – losing weight 😯

      My start was quite alright – hope yours is too 🙂

Leave a Reply

