I Missed Ya


imagesImagine a scenario where you spotted someone so attractive and she made you go nuts but you either froze gutless or lost her in the crowd. She raised your testosterone level so high that you morphed into a buck on a rut, jumping all over, trailing the scent of that wandering doe in heat. In this day and age of cyber technology despair not because there is a glimmer of hope in finding that lost inamorata and consummate that overwhelming desire to connect and hopefully, win her over.Β  Craigslist’s Missed Connections is one website that rekindles that hope of connection, however faint. It contains ad-like entries of hopeless romantics desperately trying to hook up with a lost crush πŸ˜‰ If you saw someone who caused your heart to thump wild, just plug in to Craigslists’s MC, throw in a bit of details on the who, where and when of the missed opportunity scenario and presto, you’veΒ broadcast that message to the worldΒ ! Β Now you have to pray that he/she drops by the site and reads and responds to your exhortation πŸ™‚ Β The odds of an entry being reciprocated is probably akin to the daily Pick 4 lottery, for it requires that person to browse the Missed Connections entries and figure out if he/she is on someone’s radar ! That’s like finding a needle in a haystack man. I mean, would I scour Craigslist’s Missed Connections and check if some soul had fancied me yesterday ? LOL πŸ™‚ Like – Darn, that might be for me. I was standing at that street corner that day, that hour and I was wearing a gray jacket mwehehe :mrgreen:


Here’s a sample published in a free daily paper today :

I didn’t ride the bus to Toronto with you, but was in the station in Detroit and sadly watched you leave. I believe you were there with your parents. I was sitting by your mother for a time. You had a green Palm Beach hoodie, olive skin, dark blonde highlighted hair and jeans. You were walking around a lot, and I caught you staring at me a few times. Maybe there was some interest?

I’m wondering what the connection success stats are – pretty low in my opinion. I’m pretty sure there are false respondents, with people faking their way to say β€œthat’s me” when they’re not, with the hope that they will connect nonetheless hehe πŸ˜† If we could have a website that reunites lost gloves, I’m not surprised at this one πŸ™‚ Cyberspace does seem boundless, don’t you think? 😎


Just Our Way of Saying Hello

hello_7Last Monday as the train was nearing the downtown station stop where most passengers disembark,Β  I sensed passengers slowly congregating near the south doors obviously wanting to get out of the train first.Β  I sawΒ this Pinay woman approaching the door area which was gradually filling up. The Pinay approached the Pinoy guy standing by the metal pole, and with a rolled newspaper in her hand, gave him a rather hard whack on the forearm and exclaimed ” Huy, damuho saan ka nagpunta? Ang tagal mong nawala a ! ” Whereupon the Pinoy guy’s eyes widened, fingers pointing at her ” Uy, kumusta ka ? Long time no see ! “. Slight push, mild shove.Β  Laughter ensued πŸ™‚ Another Pinoy guy came down from the stairs, obviously a mutual friend who might have heard the commotion. The Pinay blurted out “ O, nandito ka rin? Magkasama ba kayo?” whack ! She greeted him with one in the forearm as well πŸ™‚ Β All I could hear from that point on were statements punctuated with hahaha.. hihihi.. hehehe and they weren’t even telling funny stories πŸ˜† They were indeed noisy and passengers were looking, curious as to what was happening. I was shaking my head not with disgust but amusement. Sure enough the levity did rub off on me as I was smiling when I got off the train πŸ™‚

Β 

HOW ABOUT A “FORCED” CONNECTION ? πŸ˜†

<

35 Responses

  1. That’s a silly site. Funny at the same time πŸ™‚

    The video is hilarious. I laughed when the cell phone rang haha !

    • Irrealis – will you fancy using Craiglist MC too ? πŸ˜‰

      Would have liked the video more if it was in English πŸ™‚

  2. Site was humorous.

    Aaaaahhh, think only Filipinos get such excitements, hehe….

    Amazes me how you find these quite interesting videos.

    Cheers and goodhealth!

    • TrueBlue – good that there is some kind of control imposed else the site would have been hijacked by spammers and stalkers πŸ™‚

      We Pinoys are a bit unique with some of our rituals no? hehe πŸ™‚

      When I blog, I try to get photo, clip art, quote, joke and video clip – all of them relevant to the subject matter and it could be quite a task and that’s why I blog about 2 topics all the time, to give me a bit of flexibility πŸ™‚ I keep a list of blog-able topics in my Blackberry when thoughts suddenly come to mind and also browse YouTube for interesting videos and store their URL’s in a separate bookmark where I can search for one that is apt for my post . Obviously without Google the way I blog would be quite a chore 😎

  3. That Craiglists’s MC list will surely attract “desperate” women, stalker and other weirdos you are sure you don’t want to be intimate with. Reminds me of that movie “Sleepless in Seatle” where the son talks about his widowed father on the radio. A lot of women were interested on the father. : )

    • Blogusvox – there’s never a shortage of “opportunists” in this world hehe.. I also doubt the authenticity of the entries. I read an entry that went ” one of your legs is shorter but I really think you’re cute” πŸ˜† Some people may use the MC as a revenge arena, to get even with others πŸ™‚

  4. Hmmmm. the chances of finding someone there is rather slim, but maybe I’d put up an ad just for the kick of it. I’d also include a photo of me wearing the clothes I had on that day.

    In my 23 years I’ve had that feeling 3 times, and I call those three guys Beatiful Stranger Number 1, 2 and 3 respectively. Beautiful Stranger Number 3 I saw last December 30th. I was on a bus and he was on another bus and we looked at each other meaningfully as our buses are lined up at the toll gate. And I was like, “Oh my Gawd,” and I can tell he had the same reaction. I kept looking for his bus after we got past the toll gate but never saw him again. Oh well.

    • Kat – wooo… Beautiful Stranger 3 as recent as dec 30th. Talk about fresh memory πŸ˜‰ Looks like we need a Craigslist MC site in Manila as well πŸ™‚ Would have been nice if you could at least meet.. but.. doesn’t always happen. Oh well, who knows, he could be deaf-mute for all you know hehe πŸ˜†

  5. I think I’ll stick to using Craigslist to find tenants so that I can establish a “financial” connection with them. Hehehe πŸ˜€

    Seriously, there’s even an adult-oriented section within Craigslist that caters to people who are seeking partners for casual sex.

    • Panaderos – yep, there’s lots of good deals at Craigslist man πŸ™‚ Looks like anything under the sun would be possible at that site the way it evolves hehe πŸ˜‰

  6. I agree, you have more chance of winning the lotto or getting hit by lightning than getting a reply to that desperate message, hehe.

    Re that viral video, I’d probably be tempted to do that too, provided the woman is as hot as the one on the vid, hahaha. Just Kidding okay… πŸ˜€

    • Sngl – I’d be suprised of the success of this scheme to be honest. But as they say, hope is important πŸ™‚

      Hehe.. problem is, a hot woman such as that on the video seldom travels alone πŸ™‚

  7. I better check that Craiglist’s Missed Connections site. Someone must have fancied me when I was hanging clothes in our aparrtment building’s backyard in the summer of 2005…looking like the female version of Quasimodo. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, I doubt it if people will be able to reconnect with their crushes via t online hat list.

    *****

    Those noisy Pinoys would have gotten a scolding from Swiss train passengers, I tell you. One Pinoy engineer got a reprimand from a Swiss passenger when he was listening to his iPod.

    Personally, I don’t really mind ‘joyful noise’ as long as it’s not in excess.

    *****

    Funny Vodaphone commercial. That lady is a famous French actress. She still looks stunning to this day.

    • Jayred – LOL on the female version of Quasimodo πŸ™‚

      They weren’t disrespectful and no one complained of the noise. I guess everybody was just interested to get down the train at that time hehe πŸ™‚ There’s really no privacy in trains. I dunno why people insist to making long conversations on their cells while on the train !

      Is she a French actress ? No wonder πŸ˜†

  8. Sorry for the typo:

    I meant to write: “…reconnect with their crushes ONLINE via THAT list.”

  9. will i get a chance finding someone who borrowed money from me and disappeared to nowhere? πŸ˜€

    sometime pinoy have the tendency to get loud unmindful of the people around especially if they frolic with each other’s company. when i am with my friends, i laugh a lot and sometimes loud LOL it’s the joy of being with friends that makes one forget, me thinks.

    • Bing – well, you can put an ad asking your creditor pay the money hehe.. nickname muna.. baka sakaling mapahiya hehe πŸ™‚

      Nothing wrong with being expressive IMO as long as people aren’t rowdy ! I disdain taking trains after the HLH hockey or NBA basketball game is over. Man, there’s lots of folks who seem to have taken a beer to many and they’re bloody loud, ugh 😦

  10. Yes, BW. She’s a famous French actress, a very good one at that. Her name is Emmanuelle Beart.

    Yeah, I know that the Pinoys you saw were not disrespectful; not at all. I have nothing against joyful noise. I was just saying that if that incident had happened here, nakupo, makrekreklamo na nang sobra ang mga noise-sensitive Swiss. The iPod incident I was telling you about made me shake my head in disbelief. Some Swiss people just need to chill out.

    Talking about loud voices, the caretaker of our apartment building filed a complaint to us last month. Malakas daw boses namin at night when my husband and I converse. Ano ba yan.

    *****

    Yeah, I used to look like Quasimodo — hahaha, what with the nine loads of dirty laundry I had to attend to every three weeks. πŸ™‚

    • Jayred – hmmm… never heard of that name before. Now I know who she is if I see her on the plane hehe πŸ™‚

      Sobra naman ang pagka-uptight nila. If I was there, I swear baka maka-sungay ako ng Swiso di oras hehe πŸ™‚

      Re your uptight neighbor naman, baka naman malakas ang boses mo.. especially when… hehe.. never mind πŸ˜‰ hahaha :mrgreen: If were you I will also file a complaint that your neighbor snores too loudly and both you and your hubby cannot sleep at night πŸ™‚

  11. The possibilities are endless in cyberspace so I am not surprised with this Missed Connections. Would I use it? I don’t know. Under different circumstances maybe, not for love connection, but you know like someone you thought you recognized from a long time ago. Reconnecting.

    I would rather listen to those kabayans who are loudly speaking Tagalog than those who are acting so —-ay ewan. I’d rather not say, new year na new year eh naiimbiyerna ako.

    Hope the first full working week of 2009 is good.

    • Ewok – you bet, it would be an excellent way to reconnect with someone like a long lost relative or friend.

      LOL on na-iimbyerna πŸ™‚ Sinabi mo ‘day. Relax lang and have fun at mahaba pa ang 2009 hahaha πŸ˜†

  12. pinoys everywhere, eh?
    how’s life there far from pinas?

    • Tutubi – marami-rami rin ang Pinoy dito which is good coz masaya πŸ™‚ Life here is cold πŸ˜† but manageable, tahimik and everyone seems content to mind his own business πŸ˜†

  13. The MC site can be sabotaged if too many people sign in for useless reasons other than reconnecting. So far I am for the idea. I think it gives people blind hope πŸ˜‰ But you’ll never know – you might just reconnect πŸ˜‰

    The video is crazy. The girl should slap this guy in the face for being such a dunce lol πŸ™‚

    • Natez1 – as always, there will be people who would exploit the holes in the system. There are dorks everywhere it seems πŸ˜† As for blind hope – that’s what it seems to me too πŸ™‚

      As for the dunce, some people would do anything to one-up on their friends hehe πŸ™‚

  14. Craigslist! πŸ™‚ do you check on this every day hoping one was for you? πŸ™‚

    goodluck! πŸ™‚

    • Ipanema – nope coz that would be like throwing a stone at the moon πŸ˜† I’d probably have more success pag kinapalan ko lang ang mukha ko hahaha πŸ™‚

  15. That video is hilarious! πŸ˜€

    I’ve heard about that Missed Connections in craigslist. I agree with you that actual connections through that are probably low. although you never know.

  16. that was one funny video… grabe ang defense mechanism niya ah… =)

  17. Really one kind of a novelty web service, finding one chance lost encounters. Considering that i have such kind of experiences before, not only because of crushes, but also of some other interest, like familiarity of faces, I could appreciate that kind of thing going on in the net. But the chances is just too low, as you estimated. But maybe one day, that might change.

    • Major Tom – come to think of it – if every one gets a Facebook profile connecting with lost people is a very real possibility ! But again, there are people who have strong concerns on privacy and don’t want their profiles adverstised. But who knows, society and technology will evolve to a point where having a profile on the web is as ordinary as the sun rising every day πŸ™‚

  18. oo nga naman.. lost gloves, nahahanap.. tao pa. ako nga ang tagal ko ng gusto malaman yung name nung crush ko sa simbahan, pero di ko pa din alam. hehe

    di ka nagpakilala sa mga nakasabay mo sa train?

    at sobrang natawa ako sa video πŸ™‚

    • Tin – it’s high time na nga na magkaroon ng Criagslist’s MC sa Manila hehe.. Come to think of it – it’s a free for all. Merong m4w, w4m,m4m, w4w ( m for man ; w for woman) πŸ™‚ I can guarantee na pag meron sa Pinas, there will thousands of entries daily πŸ™‚

      Nope, I didn’t introduce myself for fear that I would steal the scene haha πŸ˜‰ Glad you liked the video πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

