GETTING HIGH ON OBAMA

barack-obama-21Everybody is getting on the Obama bandwagon these days. Sean Combs, aka Puff Daddy opined in his interview with CNN’s Larry King that he feels like there is more honesty in Obama than the proverbial old boys of politics and I couldn’t agree more.  Everyone seems to be suffering from the effects of a wicked recession these days so we all seem to be on Barack’s back cheering him on, irrespective of our political stripe. To me, Barack’s victory epitomizes the fulfillment of the desire for equality in the U.S. of A – not in Canada, France , Britain or anywhere. Credit the U.S. of A for such an achievement in the pursuit of equality, truly a milestone in its history. For those of us who aren’t Americans we can only cheer and perhaps hope that our countries can be equal to the task of giving its citizens equal opportunity to succeed and realize their dreams. The Kenyans have their reason to celebrate. After all Barack’s father was from Kenya and they can claim Barack to be their son too and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

At our usual cafeteria lunch talk last week, an Indian officemate of mine said, “I wish there will be an Indian (bombay) U.S. president in the future”.  I murmured to myself, darn we’re really going global, aren’t we? 🙂 And of course , not everyone is giddy with Obama, and that’s to be expected. Obama’s line in his inaugural address – ” to our enemies, we will defeat you” didn’t bode well with America haters, especially those hypocrites who hate America but continue to live in America, including those haters who live abroad but work for an American company.  The irony is , at the end of the day, the devil they so hate puts food on the table for their families 😡  Their disgust turns into cynical comments such as ” Obama isn’t really black. His mother was white – that’s why he won”.

Obama’s victory certainly inspired not only the visible minorities in America but also those in other parts of the world who are struggling with their identity. In many ways, Obama’s victory was heralded as their victory too. Even Manny Pacquiao’s pugilistic success is deemed to have parallels with Obama’s rise to power according to this article.  I don’t know about you but I get annoyed with some people who can’t delineate fantasy from reality,  especially those  who think a sports celebrity can save his ailing country through his victories. Another downside of such delusion is people’s tendency to equate patriotism with rambunctious cheering and flag waving.  Patriotism has more to do with good citizenship and nation building than cheering in the bleachers.  Obama stands a chance to change and save his country.  Pacquiao doesn’t – even if he knocks King Kong out in the first round. 


DO YOU HAVE GOOD MEMORY ?

I am absolutely convinced I don’t have good memory. I wonder what would I be today if I had super memory. I could have blazed through exams and aced them even if I didn’t comprehend the subject matter. A super memory is one heck of an asset any way you look at it – good and bad included. It makes you sharp, productive, efficient and makes you look damn smarter. Try your memory on this one and see if you could have beaten the doc 🙂

A psychiatrist visited a California mental institution and asked a patient, “How did you get here? What was the nature of your illness?” He got the following reply.

“Well, it all started when I got married and I guess I should never have done it. I married a widow with a grown daughter who then became my stepdaughter.

My dad came to visit us, fell in love with my lovely stepdaughter, then married her. And so my stepdaughter was now my stepmother. Soon, my wife had a son who was, of course, my daddy’s brother-in-law since he is the half-brother of my stepdaughter, who is now, of course, my daddy’s wife.

So, as I told you, when my stepdaughter married my daddy, she was at once my stepmother! Now, since my new son is brother to my stepmother, he also became my uncle. As you know, my wife is my step-grandmother since she is my stepmother’s mother. Don’t forget that my stepmother is my stepdaughter. Remember, too, that I am my wife’s grandson.

But hold on just a few minutes more. You see, since I’m married to my step-grandmother, I am not only the wife’s grandson and her hubby, but I am also my own grandfather. Now can you understand how I got put in this place?”

After staring blankly with a dizzy look on his face, the psychiatrist replied: “Move over!”


SO YOU THINK YOU CAN DANCE

I had attended ballroom dancing lessons with my wife but quit when when she had the baby.  My favorite was the jive because it’s fast and I felt like I was doing a workout.  No tango for me please coz I might collapse of boredom 🙂 Give me something fast and exciting 😆

37 Responses

  1. If Gloria isn’t running again in 2010 I might suggest her to go to the USA…. what about a first female Filipina president of the US. That would be HISTORY ! 😉

    • Sidney – now that would be a real wild one eh , except that Gloria will be disqualified on the grounds that she isn’t born in the USA 🙂

  2. Obama is really over-hyped man. I hope he does well otherwise all the hope will have gone the way of the dodo.

    The joke really cracked me up 🙂 It’s comprehension and not memory being challenged here LOL !

    • Natez1 – over-hype is the right word bro. I mean there’s a guy who opened the Obama Cafe here. As long as it is taken as fun, fine with me 🙂 It does challenge your comprehension, doesn’t it ? 😉

  3. I need super memory too. Isn’t there a technique to do it?

    The video is hilarious lol. I hope the boy is okay 😆

    • Irrealis – yep, there’s books and seminars on how to enhance memory. People say these techniques do work. hmmm.. might have to try it… provided I have the time 😉

      The boy looks like a tough critter – I’m sure he was ok after the kick punch hehe 🙂

  4. About that Philboxing article: So what the heck was he trying to say? That Pacquiao and Obama share the same destiny? That he could someday be this country’s long-awaited savior? man, I have this nagging feeling that the writer is head over heels enamored with Pacquiao, so much so that he’s looking at the world through rose-colored glasses… ugh!

    • Sngl – I hope the author wasn’t alluding to Pacquiao being “presidentiable” coz if he did, he would be the ultimate moron 😆

  5. i am scared with Obama’s presidency because people expect so much from him. He is but human only after all. sana hindi siya magsuicide pag dating ng araw. LOL. i think he and GMA are different people, parang hindi sila magka wave length. LOL.

    • Prinsesa – it’s pretty scary thought considering what Obama needs to fix, not only in the USA but to spearhead the recovery all over the world ! It’s a pretty tough call for him for sure 😯

      I don’t think GMA is comparable to Barack, not from where both came from at least. Gloria is the daughter of a former Phil president and that alone speaks volumes of why she is in office today 🙂

  6. IMHO, it’s ultimate ka-cheapan to compare Pacquiao with Obama. Pacquiao’s not worthy enough.

    Until now, I could still hear the buzz here in Manila that Obama is anti-offshoring. Since I benefit in this industry, I hope it’s not true. Let’s wait and see.

    • Jeff- agree . It’s like comparing apples to oranges duh 😦

      Well, Obama had been criticized by the world community with his “buy American” clause in his gigantic stimulus package. Most economists say he is wrong with his protectionism posture. On the “offshoring” issue, I believe he cannot stop companies that would like to reduce cost and my prediction is offshoring would continue to roll in this hard recession we are in.

  7. “… I get annoyed with some people who can’t delineate fantasy from reality, especially those who think a sports celebrity can save his ailing country through his victories. ”

    Yup! Not only that, I get pissed off with sports celebrity who keeps mouthing “this fight if for my country”! When what he really means is “watch my fight, so more royalties for me”.

    As for the dance, I only know two steps: Sweet and Very Sweet! : )

    • Blogusvox – some papers have been saying – “why too much nationalism in every Pacquiao fight ?” Why don’t Spaniards go berserk if Rafael Nadal wins ? Why didn’t Roger Federer run for a political office in his native Switzerland ?? Good question.

      Freddie Roach had said that he fears that Pacquiao runs the risk of losing all his money the way he hands out money to people. Maybe Pacquiao had pledged 10% of his winnings as balato to the poor that’s why he always says “para sa atin ito ” ?? I have nothing against philantropy but I am not impressed with the handout/balato thing, when some people seem think that Pacquiao is their cash cow, and they line up at the town square to get their money everytime he wins 😦

      On sweet and very sweet – that’s very safe style of dancing bro. hehe 🙂

  8. At this point, I am sick and tired of talking about Obama — LOL. Talk about hype. Well, I can only help he delivers the goods.

    That was one confusing story. 🙂 Fortunately, I have a fairly good memory.

    Wow, you took dancing lessons? The jive is a very difficult dance. (I enjoy watching BBC’s ‘Strictly Ballroom Dancing.”) The YouTube video was funny, LOL!

    P.S. Was meaning to tell you, BW…”X-Pat Files” the blog is dead. 🙂 I update JJ, though. Thanks.

    • Jayred – it ain’t over until its over they say and I hope that Obama really does well coz the world is pinned on his shoulders as we speak ! We are “forced to good” with Obama as he seems to be the last card on the table these days 😯

      Yes, I took dancing lessons with the wifey. There is a Pinoy couple who are both DI’s here and we enrolled with our friends. We were a great pair ( ehem..) but our dancing career was cut short by her pregnancy hehe 😉 It’s been a while and she hasn’t worn her dancing shoes since and we’re pretty rusty nowadays 🙂

      Sure, I will fix the link with your new URL.

  9. Oops…sorry for the typo error there. I meant to write, “I can only HOPE he (Obama) delivers the goods.” Sorry for that.

    Have a nice Sunday!

  10. you don’t like tango?!?! that’s the dance that i would love to learn

    • Tin – I visited a Cuban club here in town a few times years ago and before 10pm every night, they had a group dance step lesson ( free) on the floor taught by a dance instructor. When 10 pm strikes, people take to the floor and boy it was salsa time. I was just too impressed with the folks who dance the salsa well. That’s the reason why I liked jive because it is fun to dance, much like boogie. We ( the wifey and I) only finished rhumba, cha-cha , jive and a wee bit of mambo when we quit. You tend to forget the steps when you don’t dance anymore believe me 😉

      As for the tango, I feel like I’m going back in time to my parents’ days with it and yikes, I feel like is so antiquated and not hip hehe 🙂

  11. The world seems to think the world of Obama. 🙂 I didn’t vote for him but I hope he succeeds. Some people don’t like him because they disagree with his proposals and I’m fine with that. But some people disagree with him because of what he is. I have a serious problem with people who have that racist attitude. Obama deserves the chance to make his ideas work.

    As for Pacquiao, I truly hope that his feet remain firmly in the ground. I hope he will manage his finances well. It will be sad if someday, we find that he and his family are back to square one simply because he stupidly threw all his money away. 😦

    • Panaderos – the good thing is Democrats believe in Obama. I was also impressed by Speaker of the House of Reps Nancy Pelosi’s opinion on Obama. She admires Barack’s intelligence and drive to make a difference in the lives of people he serves. He’s on the helm now and there’s no turning back and I hope he succeeds.

      As for Pacquiao, he must understand that he is a boxer first and foremost and whatever he wants to become after his boxing career is done isn’t in the bag for him. The worst he could do is dole out part of his winnings to people so they would vote for him when he runs for a public office in future. OF course, let us not discount the opportunist politicans who would ride on his bandwagon for their own political gain , as well as the morons in the press who think that Pacquiao is a godsend 😦

  12. There’s a politician from Louisiana who is Indian. he’s governor, I believe. So your Indian friend can have hope. hehe

    Funny video. I saw it coming though. hehe

    • Wil – I heard about that 🙂 Well, I told my office mate – ” aren’t you happy that Sanjay Gupta ( CNN Medical Correspondent) had been nominated for Surgeon General ?” 🙂 I saw the knockout kick coming too – hehe.. nah, the kid is OK 🙂

  13. Cant we do a cha-cha with the constitution of the US ?

  14. I remember some locals here in UAE wanting to look like Obama. Hahaha.

    Re: Pacquiao, that’s indeed a dellusion. =)

    • WitsandNuts – really ? I’m not surprised coz Obama’s middle name is Hussein ! 😆

      I don’t know but when I see these old Beatles videoclips of fans crying and fainting while their idols are on stage , it could be another form of delusion I guess 😆

  15. It’s uncivilized for civilized people to hope for Obama’s failure. That’s politics at it’s lowest point. Many rightwingers can’t seem to get over his assuming the throne.

    Pakyaw’s legacy in the Philippines will be intact ONLY if he steps aside from politics. What is he going to prove as a congressman – that he can legislate? He can lose all his next fights from here on but at least there’s always a place for him in boxing history.

    Hope the guy in the video didn’t get beat up, hehe….

    • TrueBlue – no time for partisan politics when the problem threatens everyone – that’s for sure. The old dogs seem not to understand the seriousness of the recession methinks 😦

      Maybe Pacquiao feels that he is the best thing that happened to Pinas in the last 5 years so he needs to do something about the plight of the poor. That’s a calling for sure but he should understand his limits and the people have spoken that they want him to box and not dabble in politics. I guess when you have a billion pesos in your bank account you pretty much think you can do anything.

      Might be his son… who knows. The boy looks like a tough critter… I’m pretty sure he’s OK 😆

  16. Parang bitin yung Pacquiao-Obama article. Parang gusto kong sabihing : And so?

    The Obama success stirred up in me an interest in racism in the US and I just picked up a book written by an African-American born a slave in the 1800s, who became a major figure in the struggle for human rights. It’s called Up From Slavery by Booker T. Washington.

    Hey, that “I’m my own grandpa” story I’ve heard from a movie called The Stupids, which I saw when I was a kid. The main character, Stanley Stupid, was on a talk show and he explained his predicament by means of a song. The song went “It was so many years ago when I was 23, I was married to widow who’s as lovely as can be. This widow had a grown-up daughter who had hair of red. My father fell in love with her and soon they were wed.” The chorus was “I’m my own grandpa” repeatedly. So I already am familiar with this case that I didn’t get so confused while reading it. I memorized the song when I was about 8 or so, and I managed to pull up the first stanza in my head. The rest I can’t remember much.

    My friends call this my weird talent—I happen to remember quite a lot. One time we’d be talking about movies and my friend would talk about a line she loved, and I would quote it word for word. This weird talent was very handy when I was in school, I must say. I did well in subjects that required memorization of names, places, dates, and events, even scientific terminology.

    Hmmm, Jive seems fun. Social Dances 101 was the only PhysEd course in college that I passed with flying colors. All the others—badminton, volleyball, arnis—I barely got out of alive.

    • Kat – bitin ba ? hehe. I think the author means that Pacquiao is also a godsend like Barack 🙂

      Interesting … the book sounds like a real good read. Hmmm.. so you have good memory. Just last night I watched a TV program about taking care of our brain. The irony is we go and take physical exams yearly but not including our brain ! The prgram said we need to have our brain scanned too. The program was good and scary at the same time hehe 🙂

      Dancing is a great exercise they say… never too late to learn 🙂

  17. BW, I’ve always wanted to take dance lessons and learn how to do the jive and cha-cha-cha, among other things. 🙂 I wonder if you can do the Bollywood-type of dance.

    (Thanks for removing the XF title. Medyo traumatic kasi sa akin yun, LOL.)

    • Jayred – dance lessons are a little pricey but if you know someone and do private lessons, you can strike a good deal. We use to go to ballroom dancing clubs with our friends to test our skills and it was fun. I’m not interested in tango nor waltz though 🙂 Bollywood ?? yikes … I don’t want to embarass myself hehe 🙂

  18. and another local politician eyeing malacanang also said RP needs an Obama 😦

    • Tutubi – the RP version of Obama if ever it happens will be “owned” by the you know who. Joseph Estrada in some ways looked like he was representative of the underprevileged but his true colors came out barely 2 years into his tenure. Maybe RP needs a dictator to straighten things up 😦

  19. After watching “Slumdog Millionaire,” parang I want to know how to do a Bollywood-type of dance (LOL).

    Yes, dance lessons are very pricey. Here, one should pay between 60 to 100 USD per hour for dance lessons (ex. salsa or samba). So what I do is just to watch dance shows on TV and teach myself how to dance in front of the mirror (LOL). My husband naman is a hopeless dancer. He really has two left feet!

    • Jayred – it’s pricey I know. Ours if I remember was a friendly 30 bucks an hour with 5 lessons minimum at the basement of a Pinoy couple who are both DI’s. The basement had hardwood floor and can accomodate about 5 couples. The couple also sold dancing shoes and records – the whole kit and caboodle about ballroom dancing 🙂

Leave a Reply

