Knowledge

42-15533322_24_36knowledge-posters

“To know that we know what we know, and that we do not know what we do not know, that is true knowledge.” Henry David Thoreau

My daughter is in grade 2 and was given an assignment,  a presentation on non-fictional and fictional animals to the class. The other night I checked her presentation and discovered two words I never had a clue about – warren (burrow or tunnel) and leveret ( young hare). My oh my, and I asked myself a question – “now what do you really know, old boy ?”

 

“Knowledge is of no value unless you put it into practice.” Anton Chekhov

  

 

In my previous job, we had an office mate who was dubbed  Mr. Know-It-All.  The guy always seemed to know everything more than anyone- cars, PC’s, stock market – name it and he has something to say about it. So one day, ” I took the man’s brain to the bank ” and invited him to be one of the evaluators of an entirely new service I was in charge of implementing, for he seemed to be knowledgeable with the subject. He agreed to my email invitation but never filed an evaluation report. One time at lunch he was telling us about an interesting shareware program he downloaded from the net. He promised to give me a copy of the software but never did despite a few friendly reminders from me. Strike 2. His actions made me think he was either a selfish jerk or a farce.  Surprisingly, I noticed his braggadocio ebb a bit after his no shows on my two requests.

 

 

“It is what you learn after you know it all that counts “… Earl Weaver, Manager Baltimore Orioles 

 

A frustrated wife complains why her husband’s career isn’t taking off as compared to a classmate of her hubby. Both went to the same school, got the same degrees, both are in the same field of professional endeavor, both immigrated to the country in the same year. Some people couldn’t quite get rid of the illusion. Diplomas and certificates aren’t passports to prosperity. School is like training. It is never the game. It just allows you to play the game. It is entirely up to you to perform. In this part of the world, unless you are applying for an elite job in the Navy Seals, employers are more interested in your game record, your adaptability to the team’s culture and not where you trained and who you trained with.

 

THE GREATEST LOVE SONG


Here we are on earth together,
Its you and i,
God has made us fall in love, its true,
Ive really found someone like you,


Will it stay the love you feel for me, will it say,
That you will be by my side
To see me through,
Until my life is through,

 
Well, in my mind, we can conquer the world,
In love you and i, you and i, you and i,
 


I am glad at least in my life I found someone
That may not be here forever to see me through,
But I found strength in you,


I only pray that I have shown you a brighter day,
Because thats all that I am living for, you see,
Dont worry what happens to me.
Cause in my mind, you will stay here always,
In love, you and i, you and i, you and i, you and i


In my mind we can conquer the world
In love, you and i, you and i, you and i.

 happy-valentines-day-animation6

 

 

32 Responses

  1. Cant see the clip from work; will check it out when I get home; but that is some lyrics!!!!

    Hehehe, my husband got me a choc pie and tulips last night after we both agreed we will not do Valentine’s Day. Of course we already had our preValentine dinner last Sunday. He said he didn’t break the rule because the gifts were not given on heart’s day itself.

    Hope you have a romantic day with your wife.

    • Ewok – simple but powerful methinks. I’m sure you would agree that the song is equally good 🙂

      Hey, I’m out of town actually. It’s also long weekend here, our new Family Day provincial holiday on it’s 2nd year. So it is a double celebration – Valentine’s and long weekend , hence my delay in responding to all your comments. Good that the wireless network of the hotel works well. Hope you had a swell hearts’ day celebration with hubs 😆

  2. I don’t like to compete at work. I just do my job. I really hate people who pretend to be smart when they’re not.

    I love Stevie. That song is beautiful, even when the words are so simple.

    Have a nice weekend Valentine celebration 🙂

    • Irrealis – whether you like it or not, there is some competition, in the eyes of your boss at least. I he has to give salary increases, he’d give the highest to the best performer 😉

      Hope you had a great Valentine’s celebration too 🙂

  3. Heh, this reminded me of that know-it-all A-hole who seem to have the answer for everything about the business, and even claimed to have a degree in a course I’ve never heard of. I was tempted once to tell him if he’s really THAT good, how come he’s still doing what he’s doing instead of heading his own company and wallowing in money?

    • Snglguy – boy aren’t we sometimes tempted to say – well, prove it to me. As they say, we talk a lot about ourselves but others have already judged us by our actions hehe 😉

  4. It’s a form of sickness – the pharmaceutical industry might as well come up with something to treat these diseases. I’m just curious if these “know it all people” will partake of the pills designed for them, hehe….
    True story, I’ll make it short: A friend, Henry W. had no clue about flying a Helicopter but he flew one to safety when the pilot had a heart attack. That was his version and we knew he was so full of it!!

    Not a fan of SW, but the song is a good one, and he continues to smile which is good. Happy Hearts day.

    • TrueBlue – the “dysfunction” will be a quite difficult to diagnose me thinks 😉 Wow, that’s one heck of an experience – if true that is haha 🙂

      Happy Hearts day to you too 🙂

  5. I just recently read Malcolm Gladwell’s “Outlier”. It’s true, according to his research, that brains, diplomas, etc. are not sure tickets to success. It needs hard work, perseverance, grit, and of course, the right opportunities.

    • Toe – thanks very much for the tip – I’ll check that book out ! Yes and a great part of success is also taking advantage of opportunities and they never come to you. You have to chase them 😯

  6. There are some bright people who cannot work with others. That’s why they don’t achieve much in life.

    Stevie Wonder made a lot of great songs. They say it us difficult to sing his songs. That’s what the American Idol judges aways say. If you sing a SW song, you’re almost guaranteed a negative review.

    • Natez1 – you know what, that’s very true that’s why teamwork is very important in the workplace. There are always dorks like to work alone and not cooperate with others and they’re a pain in butt for the organization 😦

      SW has a very high vocal range hence not easy to emulate but in the R&B department, he’s one of the best. His songs are wonderfully crafted – melody and lyrics wise 🙂

  7. Happy Valentine’s Day !

  8. “The more we know, the more we don’t know”. That’s science in its naivety.

    In my experience, the most talkative is usually the shallowest guy in the group.

    And your right. Diploma and certificate may land you in a good company, but it doesn’t mean instant promotion.

    BTW, I’m glad your site’s fixed. Can’t get in here since yesterday.

    • Blogusvox – true but that most talkative one would likely be the boss 😉

      Diploma and certificate may land you in a good company – initially, but then onwards, it is your game record that dictates your career, at least in this part of the world where people pay you because of what you have done and accomplished and not of what you have learned.

      The was some WORDPRESS upgrades this weekend and I had difficulty too but it looks pretty much stable now.

  9. mr know it all – every place has one. ignore na lang.

    schools, training and success – it really depends sa diskarte ng tao. there’s thing pa nga with high school valedictorians… they always end up pinaka loser sa batch… I don’t know if it’s a coincidence… pero ganun yung nangyari sa high school batch ko, my brother’s and my sister’s and most of the people i know….

    • Jeff – we meet mr know it all, all the time don’t we ? 🙂

      Funny you said that and I’ve seen it in Pinas lot too. Now that’s proof that good grades doesn’t cut it until you play the game. that’s where it really counts.

      Here in Canada I was surprised to see that they don’t have that valedictorian and salutatorian thing that we have back in Pinas. Their valedictorian is someone who is chosen by the students as a leader, most likely the president of the student league and he is not necessarily the one with the highest academic grade. To honor academically excellent graduating high school students, they award them with medals and outright scholarships in university but there is no 1st,2nd place rating. They also don’t have honor rolls in primary and elementary schools – and I agree because young minds evolve as kids mature. Nature yata natin sa Pinas ang competition or contest everywhere we go.

      I remember the late comedian Bert “Tawa” Marcelo’s line – ” bakit, anong akala nyo sa akin? hindi nyo ba alam na valedictorian ako sa Baliwag Elementary School?” 😆

  10. Being a know-it-all is a sign of deep insecurity. Their knowledge tends to be “a mile wide but only an inch deep”. I bring them off their high horse by asking them questions that will force them to reveal if they know or understand the details of what they’re mouthing off.

    I can’t stand those people but unfortunately, a number of them end up in the ranks of senior management. They help project a positive company image but when it comes to the work that needs to be done, they are quick to hand it off to their able subordinates. Corporate world really sucks when it comes to this.

    • Panaderos – first of all, let me tell you that I like your new avatar 🙂

      That’s fact of life, when success can be likewise be achieved by the OPM ( Other People’s Money) and OPW ( Other People’s Work) syndrome. Some people possess the skills for this OP stuff 😉

  11. Now you can give your selfish officemate a codename: Mr. KIA (Know It All). =)

    • Witsandnuts – Mr. KIA – that’s a nice one.. It could also mean Killed In Action… coz he never shows up when it comes to action time hehe 🙂

  12. I don’t think I’ve heard that STevie Wonder song before. As far as his love songs go, “My Cherie Amour”, “You are the Sunshine of My LIfe” and “For Once in My Life” stand out in my mind. 🙂

    • Wil – Michael Buble cut a version of You and I but I think Stevie’s original is the best because it is sang with a single instrument – a piano. Stevie is also fond of doubling the octave at the end of the song because of his powerful range 🙂 His song called Lately , equally beautiful is another example 🙂

  13. Warren? Leveret? BW, nakaka-insecure naman ang daughter mo a (LOL).

    Know-it-all people…they’re everywhere, sad to say. I can’t really stand them so I try to avoid them as much as possible. 🙂 I think it’s my Christian duty to pray for them (LOL).

    In this world, EQ has more bearing than IQ.

    Nice song. Very dated nga lang ang hairstyle and fashion sense. 🙂

    • Jayred – I know, that made me feel a little suspicious of myself haha 🙂

      Yep, they should also learn how to pray for themselves 😉 Agree – EQ is the one that takes you where you really want to go.

      I believe this was 70’s song so totoy pa si Stevie Wonder noon 🙂

  14. LOL what do you know i did not know about those two words too. i think kids these days are smarter than before because they have so many resources and the information explosion is just everywhere!

    • Prinsesa – the tools kids have these days are way more sophisticated than ours. My daughter for example registers on the web every Webkinz stuff toy she buys, gives the toy its birth certificate and dresses them up in their virtual outfits. I also see her logging in to Family Channel doing picture puzzles. When I was seven years old I was climbing trees back home LOL 🙂

  15. In the graduate classes i am taking, particularly on Human Resource Management, our teacher often warned us about such guy as the “Mr. Know-It-All” guy in the workplace. They can become a negative in the whole of things, becoming more of a burden than a good thing. Overzealousness could be so harmful that way.

    • Major Tom – as long as Mr Know It All doesn’t mess around with his peers, that’s alright I guess hehe 😉 It could be so negative when such person intrudes on everyone’s business, that’s for sure 😦

  16. Walking encyclopedias..minsan may pakinabang, minsan annoying but the great pretenders are the worst! Been there, done that yan yung parating sinasabi ng isang kakilala ko lalo na pag bumabiyahe kami, then i found out binabasa niya lang pala yung details ng mga lugar sa mga tourist literatures pero pag pinakinggan mo siya parang galing siya talaga sa mga lugar na kinikuwento niya.

    Hey, that Stevie Wonder song “You and I” falls in the category of my “Makalag-lag panty” songs!

  17. Noypetes – masyadong resourceful and imaginative yung kaibigan mo. Binasa lang e been there and done that na 😆

    “Makalag-lag panty” songs! ” hehehe… masyadong nalasing sa pagibig 🙂

Leave a Reply

