A Father’s Sacred Pledge (Thoughts on Father’s Day)


A father’s sacred pledge to his new born child :

With arms wide open
Under the sunlight
Welcome to this place
I’ll show you love
I’ll show you everything
With arms wide open

The song With Arms Wide Open was composed by Creed lead singer Scott Stapp upon learning the news that he will be a father. The song won the Grammy Award for Best Rock song in 2001.

[clearspring_widget title=”Lyrics” wid=”492da13d111f5ab4″ pid=”4a3ad6d5e2860884″ width=”300″ height=”270″ domain=”widgets.metrolyrics.com”]

It kills you to see them grow up. But I guess it would kill you quicker if they didn’t. Fathers Day Quote by: Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

Parents wish their children remain babies so they can hug and cuddle them forever. Children who don’t grow up and remain dependent on their parents forever are worse than animals who are left to survive on their own the moment they are capable to stand on their own and hunt for their own food. My father was harsh to us when it came to matters of self reliance and independence and I greatly thanked him for it. Suffice to say that when his job was done to provide me with the tools and knowledge to survive I was on my own, paddling my own canoe and seeking the rivers and streams I chose to go. I can honestly say that if I did not leave our house at 17 to study and finish university I would not be what I am today. The best thing a man can give back to his father is when he can one day say, ” I made my father proud of me”.

Don’t make a baby if you can’t be a father.
Fathers Day Quote by: National Urban League Slogan

There is nothing sacred with the act of having babies and not being able to take care of them, much more creating lots of them and have them wander around unclothed and hungry. Incidentally, the word sacred could be re-arranged to “scared”. Men ought to be scared of the thought of making babies and not giving them their much needed support and love. A father is supposed to be the leader, provider, protector of his household.

34 Responses

  1. i would just like to greet you a happy fathers’ day πŸ™‚

    • hope you don’t mind me moving you comment to this page πŸ˜‰ Thanks, hope you had a wonderful celebration for your dad too πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Father’s Day Bro!

  3. Just pass by to greet you a Happy Father’s Day, bro!

    • Thanks bro and I hope you don’t mind my moving your post to this thread πŸ˜‰

      I had a great time because the weather magically cooperated today. Hope you had a wonderful time celebrating with the family πŸ™‚

  4. happy dad’s day bw.

    better late than never. i was so busy and wasted yesterday that i haven’t got a time to greet my friends here. hope u had a great day with ur children. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks bro. I had gotten gifts, free lunch buffet with a jazz band in the background, a movie treat – twas fun πŸ˜‰

  5. belated happy dad’s day, bro. very good choice of song. i like it, even without the ‘father’ meaning.

    • Thank you bro. I’ve always liked Creed’s music as well as the powerful lyrics of all of their songs πŸ˜‰

  6. One of the many regrets that I have in this life is that I wasn’t able to give my Dad all the best things this world had to offer, and that would include grandkids.

    Happy father’s day, bro.

    • Thanks bro. No golf this time but just being with the family πŸ™‚

      Hey, wala bang “unofficial” apo ang Dad mo sa iyo ? joke lang … hahaha πŸ˜†

  7. “Children who don’t grow up and remain dependent on their parents forever are worse than animals who are left to survive on their own the moment they are capable to stand on their own and hunt for their own food. “>>> that’s so true. this is usual to parents having just one child.

    thanks for pointing out really the importance of a father. i like that quote.

    happy father’s day!

    • Judging from what I’ve seen, that is so true that over dependent kids tend to be the only child. Perhaps it is the fact that the parents attention is focused on their lone child to the point that they want things to be easy on him/her.

      Having said the above I have also seen only child kids who have grown to be very independent and responsible. It really has to do with the way the parents bring up their child.

  8. Oh I love that song, I didn’t know it was inspired by the birth of his child.

    Reading your quote by Barbara Kingsolver just reminded me I think I have 3 or 4 of her novels I have not even touched yet just sitting on my shelf.

    Belated father’s day to you. How was it?

    • Creed songs are all filled with powerful lyrics and that’s why I dig their songs πŸ™‚

      I have heard of Barbara Kingsolver but haven’t bought any of her books.

      Father’s day was excellent. I had nice gifts from my wife and daughter. For a change, my wife gave me cash πŸ˜† enough to pay for the green fees for my next 2 games and she also paid for the lunch and movie πŸ˜‰ I was pampered hehe πŸ™‚

      We had lunch at a nice downtown restaurant and went to watch Eddie Murphy’s hilarious comedy flick ” Imagine That” πŸ™‚

  9. Belated happy Father’s day BW ! I like the song. It’s so emotional. Hope you enjoyed the special day πŸ™‚

  10. A gay pops day to you. As singleguy articulated, wished I’ve talked to my late father more and asked him things he would love to have.

    Cheers!

    • Hope you had a nice celebration with your kids too πŸ™‚

      True, we always like to give something back to our parents. As a father, I think knowing that my children survive well is good enough for me πŸ˜‰

  11. nice trivia.i did not know about that until now.

    a very kewl song as well.

    belated happy father’s day. :p

  12. belated happy father’s day to you, bw! this is sweet. fathers are not known to easily express what they feel for their children or for those they love. but this is sweet. i like it.

    with arms wide open is a very nice song. one of my faves. πŸ™‚

    • thanks Bing. Hope you had a nice celebration for Papsie πŸ™‚

      I think our fathers were more militaristic when it came to dealing with their children. But times have changed. Fathers nowadays tend to be “buddies” with their kids and that methinks helps a lot with the relationship πŸ™‚

  13. Very nice post. It’s the decision of the couple to have a baby or not. But I agree, if neither partner is ready, better not have a kid.

    Happy Fathers day, BW πŸ™‚

  14. “A father is supposed to be the leader, provider, protector of his household. ”

    I read something like this in the Christian book, “The Four Pillars of Man” (sic).

    I know that you’re a great father and husband. Keep up the good work, BW.

    Belated Happy Father’s Day! I did greet you on Twitter. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you ! Well, you gotta ask my wife if I am doing well hehe πŸ™‚

      I believe the attributes of a father were leader, provider, protector and bishop – something to that effect. πŸ˜‰

  15. My father was not perfect, but he taught us a lot of things. We learned to be independent because of him. And he exposed us to a lot stuff that helped shaped our minds.

    Now, he’s very sick with Parkinson’s Disease. 😦 I think his days are numbered. I just have to see him one more time…

  16. I do think the behaviour of our parents affects our way of thinking. Parents who train their kids with the virtues of independence are doing the right thing.

    Sorry to hear about your Dad. Yep, perhaps you can make a trip to Pinas to visit him.

  17. i hope you had a great Father’s Day! sorry, very busy. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

