THANKSGIVING TIME

images_winIt is Thanksgiving long weekend here (Canadian) and it is customary for people to celebrate Thanksgiving Day with roast turkey dinner amongst family and friends. It is always a two day celebration for us – one with family and a potluck dinner with our closest friends. It’s that time of the year when I’d be bringing turkey sandwiches for office lunch the entire week. Yep, I’m that lead vulture in charge of recycling left over scraps from the fat bird 😉

It is also an opportune for me to be thankful for this blog being chosen as Best Pinoy Blog Abroad Award in the recently concluded PBA 2009 contest. I’ve always said before that I never won anything for free in my life. It seems that in anything I have won in the past, I had to break sweat. No raffle nor lottery wins for me. It always had to involve some decision making on my part. The fat lady never sings the blues nor smiles in my direction and I have admitted this to be my fate until the next 7,000 year polar reversal cycle completes and reboots our planet 🙂 I have to greatly thank the blog friends who nominated me – yes, there’s more than one of them and I had to accept only once 😉 I also like to thank my blog friends who I rub elbows in cyberspace almost everyday, some of whom have been with me for many years, others since the inception of this blog. I greatly value your friendship.

The irony is, since I am blogging anonymously, a handful of people and I mean it literally – not more than a 5 finger count – know my true identity, name and face alike. Therefore I take this accolade and gloat literally under my hat coz I am not prepared to go gung-ho with bragadoccio and take the 5 people out to a Carribean cruise 🙂

I’ve always said before that this blog is never about me but my thoughts and I strive to endeavor to express them as they are and I hope, without getting obnoxious. The greatest thing about the virtual world of cyberspace is you can experience that seemingly limitless freedom of virtual existence and at the same time achieve virtual greatness. The last time I verified the definition of “gloat” in the dictionary I got this : gloat – to look at or think about with great or excessive, often smug or malicious, satisfaction… hahaha. I would be cautious to use this word in the real world next time. For now it’s fine. I’m ready to face the charges for virtual gloating 🙂

turkey05Thanksgiving is a time to recognize that God has put a smile upon our faces each passing day. We say ‘thanks’ for the most precious gifts in our lives – our family, friends and loved ones.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE !

42 Responses

  1. Congrats on the award! 😀

    Canadian Thanksgiving sounds like American Thanksgiving. The American Thanksgiving originated with European settlers celebrating with the Native Americans. I imagine the Canadian Thanksgiving has a similar history.

    • thanks bro. It is just like American thanksgiving and celebrated in the fall after the harvest. Thanksgiving here was declared a national holiday in 1957.

  2. wow. Congratulations BW. That huge turkey video is funny . 🙂 Happy thanksgiving to you too.

  3. Congratulations, BW! You deserve the award. Your posts on your blog are well thought off that if you’re paid for blogging your ideas, I’m sure you’re richer by several hundreds of thousands (Canadian dollars, ha?) by now. Keep on blogging, amigo! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • thanks bro. My blog friend Jeff Reiji had a post about the diffrence between ” storyteller” and writer and I think the former fits me to a tee therefore I don’t deserve to be paid anything serious hehe 🙂 cheers..

  4. Congratulations. Did you win any prize ? LOL on the video. Why cook a turkey bigger than your oven ? 🙂 Hey, happy thanksgiving to you too !

    • thanks bro. Frankly, I don’t know if I won a prize with the award but that’s okay hehe. Hope you have a great one too dude 🙂

  5. Yay! Congratulations!

  6. Again…congratulations with your award…. well deserved…
    Maybe you can send your Turkey leftovers to your blog visitors back home in the Philippines!
    Don’t forget to add some booze in your balikbayan box!

    • thanks bro. Sure, I can stuff that big turkey in the video into a balikbayan box and I will have no room for anything more 🙂 Hey, why don’t you buy the beer since you’re a winner too haha 😉

  7. “There is no such thing as a free lunch” as the saying goes. You “broke sweat” to find your place under the sun. But its all worth it. Congratulation for winning that award, bro! You deserve!

    (Pasalamat ka hindi ako sumali!) >: D

  8. I keep forgetting that you celebrate Thanksgiving a month earlier than we do. I hope you had a good one.

    And I’m sure the award was just the gravy, right? Congratulations. You are truly deserving.

    • thank you sis. Yep, it was the gravy or maybe the cranberry sauce haha 🙂 Yes we celebrate thanksgiving earlier than you folks perhaps because of the weather. We are still OK here weatherr-wise Some places in the far north have snow already yay 😯

  9. Where’s my turkey sandwich? 🙂

    Congratulations again, BW! You really deserve that award, you know. Your blog posts are highly relevant and well-researched. And your pics are great! Not to forget, your blogsite is super updated. One would wonder how you manage to find time to blog when you’re so busy in the office, at home, and on the golf course. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    P.S. It’s time I dedicate a virtual chicken dance to you to celebrate your winning the Best Pinoy Abroad blog awards. (Enter: Music)

    • thank you again sis. Do you want dark or white meat for the sandwich? 😉 LOL on the virtual chicken dance 🙂

      I try to commit to one post a week so i guess it’s quite doable given the hectic pace of life. As for the pics, yay, I consider myself as a beginner trying to compensate my shortcomings with technology. Although I have good tools, both equipment and software, I really need more time to learn photography 😳

  10. Congratulations on winning the Best Filipino Blog Abroad award! 😀

    Btw, since the PBA website doesn’t have any banners for the winners, I’ve decided to create one myself and I’d like to share it with the other winners. If you want one, just let me know and tell me what size you want it in and I’ll gladly make one for you. 🙂

    • Congrats too on your winning the best technology blog award . Well done 🙂 No surprise you have the banner/widget solution at hand ! 😉 Sure, I will email you the size and thanks very much for your assistance 🙂

      • You’re welcome! Forgot to say Happy Thanksgiving earlier. I’m not used to it coz here in the US we celebrate it in November. 😀

        Btw, I see you’re already using the banner. Looks good. Hehe

        • No worries pal. I got family in the US to greet every year and yours is much closer to Xmas than ours 🙂

          Yup, I got it on. Thanks vm for your help 😉

  11. Congratulations BW! That is very well deserved! Keep on blogging! 🙂

    Happy thanksgiving! Can’t believe it’s thanksgiving already… so Christmas is just around the corner. 🙂

  12. congratulation for winning the award!i saw ur link and here I am hehe.

    have a great week

  13. Pinas is always best. After the storm, thanksgiving and xmas araw-araw.

    Responsible blogging is all it takes to win, and of course, consistency. Congrats.

    • Thanks bro. In short, mas exciting ang Pinas basta walang calamity 🙂 Hey, there’s an exciting November ahead of us when the Pacquiao-Cotto superfight heads to your city. Roach and Berestain ( trainer of Marquez and of late, de la Hoya) upped the ante on the Pacman, making predictions of a KO win over Cotto. I couldn’t wait to see the fight 😉

  14. Two weeks before I went to UK and Europe (8-20-09), I’ve made my bet already as soon as the odds were posted. I will reveal the stupid bet on November 15.

    Another interesting fight and more interesting if it was Pakyaw and FW. Both are quite good since each haven’t been hit real hard by their stupid opponents.

    I view boxing as MMA/UFC, solid punch on the face and kiss the night goodbye. Cheers!

    • Now that explains why at one point you commented “Europe sucks” 🙂

      If Floyd Mayweather comes to realize that he’d been ducking boxers his size and beating up on smaller guys like Marquez then he will understand why the Pac deserves more money than him because the Pac fights guys bigger than him and wins hehe. Good luck on your bet 😉

  15. sorry if I become OOT.. just drop by to congratulate you as a winner of Best Filipino Blog Abroad award… keep up the goodwork.. happy blogging friend 🙂

    happy thnx giving!!!

  16. many people already congratulated you on your well-deserved award so let me just say a simple request:

    keep those posts coming! 😉

    • Thanks vm bro. and good to hear from you after Ondoy. Glad you’re ok 🙂 It’s a bonus for a great hobby but I love my day job more hahaha 🙂 Sure will keep it coming 🙂

  17. Congratulations, Pards! Very well deserved! Your posts are always well thought out and well written. This award’s way overdue. Take care. 🙂

  18. hey, hey, where was i when all this happened? he he i was not aware you are a finalist and you won!

    congratulations, bw! your blog is one of those i treasure. truly. and you really deserve it.

  19. Hey, is it too late to congratulate one of my oldest buddies in the blogosphere? 😀

    I know it sounds so cliche now but, you really deserve the award, bro.

    Oh and a belated Happy Canadian Thanksgiving to you as well. 😀

    • thanks bro 🙂 never too late they say but hey I’m glad you didn’t say “one of my oldest buddies in the blogosphere and biosphere” hahaha 😆

  20. better late than never and congratulate you on this post. but i believe i am one of the first to greet you thru your previous post. nagcomment agad ako once they announced your name. i wasn’t at the award venue because of floods in my place but i was able to watched it thru live streams. again, congrats… ang galing.

    • I thought you were at the event ! I didn’t know about the video stream else I could have watched but anyways many thanks again, esp being the first to notify me 😆

Leave a Reply

