A LONG HOLIDAY POST

In a few days from now it will be Christmas Day and the usual excitement of the dinner with loved ones and friends is in the air. I’m one person who is more thrilled watching my loved ones open their gifts, seeing the joy in their faces. In these times of recession survey show that people would be spending less but that’s not what you feel when you visit the malls. Parties at the office are no longer the usual dinner dance at posh hotels. We had quite a few parties at the office but the one I most enjoyed was our departmental party where we took possession of our company cafeteria one late Friday afternoon and dined, drank, exchanged gifts and sang karaoke until our throats went dry. The highlight of our party was the spectacle of me and my two other Pinoy co-workers eating the balut. We made sure it was at dessert time and not during dinner so people could continue eating. 🙂 As expected, the reactions were mixed. Some were intrigued at how it tasted while others, reminiscent of that Fear Factor balut eating episode, were grossed out. A Caucasian colleague swore she would only eat it if it was a choice between having sex with King Kong. 😆


ON GIFT GIVING

It’s funny that a close friend of ours actually gave their 2008 Xmas present to us as late as April 2009. We gave our gift to them through a relative of theirs who live close to their home. What happened was we kept on making appointments for us to meet but it never happened. When we both attended a function at a restaurant, the couple whispered to us – “we got your Xmas gift in the car”. I guess there’s no such thing as embarrassing between close friends eh ? 🙂 We have lots of Xmas gifts we haven’t really used and rather than hoarding them in the basement, it is probably best to recycle and re-gift them. Boxes of chocolates, wine and gift baskets are the most common. I wanted to recycle a nice box of liquored chocolates only to find out that there was 2007 printed on the box ! Heck, I’ve been trying to find the expiry dates on these gourmet chocolates but there ain’t any it seems. 🙂

Between me and my wife, our gift giving is rather dreary and unexciting. I always seem to give her the wrong gift. 🙂 So we made the change a couple of years ago. She buys the gift she wants from my credit card of which she is a supplementary holder and wraps them for the Christmas tree. As for me, she takes me to the mall and tells me – this is what I will be buying you – asks for my concurrence. If she buys me a lot, she recovers it by buying herself a lot from my credit card. Pretty clever indeed 😉 She’s a very generous giver. When she accepts a long lost friend in Pinas in her Facebook account, she tells me – “ I’m the god mother of her daughter and geez, I haven’t given her a gift in ages”. She worries about it. Me, I would say with my horns gleaming – “ me, I ‘ve forgotten about all my godchildren. I am excused for being absent” hahaha. I’m bad – heartless, stolid, uncaring. Just check my avatar. 🙂

COOL GIFTS

Talking about cool gifts, there’s one that intrigues me – a camera GPS. The lowdown on this toy is it will allow you to pinpoint and attach the exact coordinates of the location where you took your shot. The data will be added to the XIF file of the photo to show where exactly on planet earth you took the picture from. This geo-tagging gadget will set you back some $279, but what’s the point here, unless you’re working for National Geographic ? It’s cool yep, because someone can get to Google Earth, plot the coordinates and say – hmmm, this is where he took the shot. No cheating this time folks. We now know where you’re taking those shots 🙂

Today I saw and ad in the local free paper of the Kodak Zi6 pocket HD camcorder going for 99 bucks, with free shipping. I went to the website and found an even better deal – the Kodak Zx1 with a 4GB SD card, camera case, battery charger for 129 bucks. A GB is worth 11 minutes of recording time so a 4 GB can give you 44 minutes. Not bad. An additional 8 or 16 GB would be really nice. Dang, I already did my Christmas shopping. I wonder if the price will drop after Christmas. I really want one but it will be after Xmas. 😉

LOOKING AT 2010

THE ECONOMY

For me the economic recovery is still in the top of my wish list. Interestingly, last week, as me, my wife and daughter boarded the usually half-empty Sunday train to the downtown, guess who I saw sitting in the mezzanine section intently reading the Sunday paper all by himself – Jim Flaherty, the Finance Minister of Canada. The National Parliament is on a break so he’s back in his riding enjoying the holidays. I was a bit shocked to see a man of his stature taking the public transit. It was refreshing to see a politician (he is also an MP of his riding) rub elbows with proletarian folks like me in the commuter train. I was almost tempted to tell him ” Hi there Minister. You’re not going to raise interest rates in 2010 are you? “ 😉

ENOUGH OF TIGER WOODS PLEASE

Man, aren’t we getting an overdose of Tiger Woods already. Alright, the list has gone up to 14 and his sponsors are still twiddling their thumbs on the decision to drop him or not but give the man a rest. I was chuckling when Donald Trump patronizingly called Tiger “loyal” shocking Larry King and prompting fellow guest Dennis Rodman to clap his hands in a mockingly cynical fashion. Trump quickly clarified his moot logic by saying ” what I meant by loyal is he is trying hard to get back to his wife. Others would just simply leave ” LOL. Still fuzzy Donald. Loyalty rests on Elin – not Tiger 😳

PINAS ELECTIONS

As they say, in Pinoy politics, electing officials is a choice between the devil and the deep blue sea. Spare us the Joseph Estradas and the Bongbong Marcoses of the world – please. Elect an ugly fat monkey for president but none of these personalities that bring about doom and gloom and supreme embarrassment to the Filipino race. 😡 If you still want to have decent country and not one headed for the cesspool, stay away from these people 😯

PACQUAIO-MAYWEATHER FIGHT

Bring it on ! I can’t wait for the Pacman to zip Mayweather’s trash-talking mouth and knock him out to lalaland ala Hatton. I’ve gotten an overdose of the hype already and people want the fight signed and sealed for delivery in March. Today I read an article about an orthopedic surgeon saying that Pacquiao can smash and “disjoint” Mayweather’s shoulder nullifying his famed shoulder roll defense. I thought surgeons are all about helping people to heal 😆 Hey, the tip is great but I thought it would have been whispered to Pacquiao to make it a surprise weapon 😉 I’d go for the Pacman in this fight. I don’t care who you are but you can never win a tough match such as this with one tune up fight coming back from retirement. It’s like Federer having a year lay off, expecting to trash the best of the pack like Nadal after having beaten someone who gave Nadal a lot of trouble. It just doesn’t work that way, especially in boxing. I’d put 500 bucks on the Pacman without any reservations. 😎


I LOVE CHRISTMAS BUT THIS IS WHERE I’D RATHER BE

34 Responses

  1. We have downsized our celebrations during this time. It has been getting harder on the wallet to buy presents for each and every member of this large family. So we decided to just bring one gift to the luncheon and then we pick a gift to take home.

    My husband and I DO NOT buy each other gifts for any occasion. We do eat out on b/days and V-days.

    I would love to be able to charge whatever my eye fancies on that credit card though.

    Have the merriest Christmas ever. My regards to your precious family.

    • I know you have quite a large family so I guess that’s the best way to do it. It will be too much of a stretch to give a gift to everybody. One thing that me and my wife don’t celebrate is our wedding anniv 🙂 Dunno – we celebrate bdays, Xmas and mothers/fathers day ( i guess for our daughter’s sake) but we unconsciously forgot our anniv. Maybe Valentine’s is enough or it’s just that we don’t fancy recollecting how we got tied up for better or for worse hehe :mrgreen: darn, there’s just so many occassions to celebrate isn’t it ?

      Hey, have a wonderful Xmas with your loved ones too 🙂

  2. i love to have that compact HD camera . Love to be in the islands too !

    Christmas for me is more of party and food than gift giving 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you BW .

    • I can’t stand hearing “let it snow, let it snow” on the airwaves and in the malls believe me 🙂 I’d rather be in shorts sipping beer by the sea at this very moment hehe. Hey, easy on the food and booze 😉 All the best to you this holiday season !

  3. That camera GPS is really nice but I doubt if it matters to ordinary folks who just want to take good pictures.

    As for the Kodak, I’m curious as to the picture quality on HDTV since its only 720p.

    Dennis Rodman and Donald Trump ? LOL. What a combo 🙂

    Hey, Merry Christmas to you. See you in those islands pal 🙂

    • I know. That GPS is a nice toy only if I have extra money to spare 🙂 Hey, I got the Zx1 I ordered through the mail yesterday. Was expecting for a post-Xmas delivery but it came nonetheless. Right, the 720p isn’t the greatest on HDTV ( it came with the HDMI cable which is a bonus) but good enough for the PC and for posting on blogs and YouTube. I hope to do a review of it in my blog 🙂

      LOL on Rodman and Trump.. the last people you would guest to talk about loyalty hehe.

      Sure, see you in the islands this winter. Dang, I’m trying to get on a cruise while the price is low. Merry Xmas to you bro .

  4. That’s the difference between celebrating it there and here. Even with all the decorations at our flat, the spirit is just isn’t there!

    Merry Christmas to you bro and to your family.

    • Oh, I’m sure your Pinoy friends will celebrate with spiced up grape juice in thermos bottles to rekindle that missing spirit hehe 🙂 Have a nice Xmas and New year with your family bro. All the best 🙂

  5. Months I love the most, December and January – can’t wait for these months to turn to summer with all the global warming wranglings.

    Rarely buy me something for xmas but I did bought me a pressure washer which was a big disappointment, 1750psi but still weak for me, hehe….

    Trump is a cry baby. He’s got the mula so he can always speak his mind even if it’s idiotic.

    Seasons greeetings to you, your family and to all your followers. Cheers to a more prosperous life ahead and goodhealth.

    • man, the dead of summer in your area is diabolical. How many times have I burned myself accidentally touching parked cars haha 🙂 Maybe you should trade it in for a stronger psi. I’ve been eyeing a snow blower but I need a minimum 5hp and it occupies a lot of space in the garage – forget it. I’d shovel instead and do a forced work out 🙂

      The Donald can say anything he wants coz he took care of all his exes very well 😉

      same to you. Merry Xmas and Happy New year to you and your loved ones.

  6. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Christina Cox, NEW MLM LAUNCH. NEW MLM LAUNCH said: A LONG HOLIDAY POST « The Warped Zone: I was chuckling when Donald Trump patronizingly called Tiger “loyal” sho.. http://bit.ly/4NcH5b […]

  7. Fellowship, feasting, giving and receiving gifts are all the buzzwords in a Christmas setting. Make your Christmas a one to cherish for years!

    Enjoy the holidays BW.

  8. Christmas is indeed different this time around, we may not buy as much gifts or extravagant noche buena this year but celebrate we will 😀

    Merry Christmas BW and have a blessed celebration to you and your family 😀

    • True. In these times of recession, gift giving has to be sensible so as not to over-extend ourselves. people these days are worried if they’ll still have jobs next year ! But this won’t dampen the spirit of Xmas as you said 😉 Merry Xmas to you and your loved ones too 🙂

  9. I received late gifts also for Christmas (and birthday). =) Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  10. Merry Christmas Bro.

  11. I do a lot of re-gifting too since I end up not using quite a number of the gifts I received not because I don’t like them but simply because of the volume.

    I support PacMan too to finally silence Mayweather once and for all.

    Merry Christmas to you and your dear family, Pards! I wish you all the best in the coming year. Take care. 🙂

    • I just make sure I don’t re-gift them to the source but you’ll never know coz you forget hehe..yikes 🙂 As for the wines, I keep them all 😉

      The Pacman fight is toast due to an illogical demand for drug testing by the coward Mayweather . We’ll see what happens 😦

      Merry Xmas and Happy New Year to you and your loved ones… have a safe holiday… See you next year 🙂

  12. It’s been ages since I last gave gifts to my “inaanaks” hehe. I’m such a bad, Godfather. 😀

    Re that Canadian finance minister, it is indeed refreshing to see a high ranking person who makes no bones about his position and be like one of us ordinary folks. Dito, kahit na councilor lang me bodyguard pa at naka-wang wang pa ang sasakyan. Heck, even their car’s license plate say’s “Councilor”… what more pa kung higher ranking official?

    I saw that Kodak digital video recorder in one of the malls here. I thought it was cool. Problem is, it doesn’t have on optical zoom but rather, a digital one.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family, bro. 😀

    • Was it pres. Elpidio Quirino who proposed the abolishment of the compadre system because he said it corrupts government ? 😉

      LOL on the councilor plate hehe.. there is no shortage of glory hogs. I guess politicians here are small time compared to our politicos there 🙂

      Yep, the Kodak camera is perfect for Youtube and web type postings- but not for HDTV viewing unfortunately. I think I got a good deal with 4MB memory, battery charger and case – I don’t need anything else 😉 Its very easy to use… i was kinda shocked how simple it is really. Even my 8 year old can use it with no problems.

      Hey, Merry Xmas to you and your loved ones too bro. All the best for 2010 !

  13. oh Love island it is! whoa! i like that too.

    Merry Christmas to you and all those celebrating with you.

    • Man, I can’t wait to get to these islands…. perhaps in the Spring break 😉

      Same to you bro… have a wonderful Xmas and keep that camera clicking 🙂

  14. Happy holidays to you and your lovely family!

    Can I have the camera please? 🙂

    • Same to you – I’m sure your Xmas was wonderful – hope you have a bountiful new year 🙂 Sure – the pocket camcorder is a great toy. My daughter likes it a lot more than me hehe 🙂

  15. Is the Pacquiao-Mayweather fight even going to happen? It would be too bad if it didn’t.

    The only good thing that’s come out of this Tiger Woods story is the jokes. Did you hear that Tiger’s caddie was voted man of the decade by Wingman magazine? hehe

    • The fight is off because of the ludicrous demands of Mayweather for Olympic style drug testing, I always said that Mayweather is a boxer and must comply with the rules of the Nevada Boxing commission where the fight is to be held. He has no business inventing his own drug testing rules. This only shows how scared he is to fight Pacquiao.

      “Tiger Woods is no tiger . He is a cheetah ” 🙂

  16. we downsized our celebration too but not the tradition—going to Mass as a family, eating noche buena, just being together on Christmas eve and day.

    i hope your Christmas celebration this year gave you more happy memories to bring into the new year.

    • The tradition and spirit is important even during hard times. A celebration – grand or not completes it and reaffirms the love we have towards our family and friends 🙂

      Same to you bro. and wish you a bountiful 2010 🙂

  17. pacquiao-mayweather? sorry. hindi na tuloy. hehe.

    balut? as in the ones where you can see the chick? i don’t want to try it again as much as possible.
    re gifts, i didn’t give gifts to anyone this year. hehehe. see! i’m worse than you. hehe ;p

    • darn, the fight is stalled because of Mayweather’s ludicrous demand for Olympic style drug testing. 😦

      Yep, the balut with the chick is tasty. For me, there is no balut if there is no chick 🙂

      I did give lots of gifts to my family and relatives both here In North America and Pinas. As for my inaanaks, most of them are big anyways ( I only saw them once during the baptism ugh) coz I have been gone long from Pinas – sorry na lang sila coz I don’t know where they are hehe 🙂

      I received a lot of really cool gifts – a 3-wood golf club, remote control for my SLR, photography book, a Bluetooth for my cell to name a few 😉 When you give dandy gifts, you are bound to get good ones too 🙂

  18. Great post. I learned some very valuable information from it. I have been struggling with addiction myself for much of my life, so what you wrote really meant a lot to me. Take it one day at a time!

Leave a Reply

