Thoughts for Year 2010

The typical dilemma for those of us in the 9 to 5 workplace is the lack of recognition or let me put it in another way, our “perception” of our boss(es)’ lack of recognition of our effort and dedication. Whatever the reasons are – legit unfairness or remonstrations of our bloated egos, there is always a case to make when it comes to not getting the breaks we expect. This reminds me of the movie Picture Perfect, where an advertising analyst portrayed by Jennifer Aniston went ballistic when she did not get the credit for the savvy, highly successful ad she conceptualized for a major client. The credit went to the other senior members of the team and not her, the brainchild of the ad. The senior marketing executive of the firm told her that the reason why he did not give her a promotion was he wasn’t sure he could keep her because she was young, single and unattached, with no mortgage and car loan liabilities and she could f-off anytime to the competition ! The short end to the story was she concocted a plan – paid someone to pretend she was engaged… well just watch the movie 🙂 Just an aside – Jennifer Aniston might not look like a goddess like Marilyn Monroe or Elizabeth Taylor but man, the way she walks- the swan-like graceful trot – kills 😉 Her walk is as sensual as a nude pose, to me that is. 🙂

Okay, the movie Picture Perfect I watched many moons ago might be a dumb example 😉 ( and I thought the movie, if not for the delightful Jennifer Aniston was wishy-washy to say the least ) but it illustrated how people can go crazy when it comes dealing with frustrations in the pursuit of their ambitions.

THOUGHTS FOR THE NEW YEAR

My resolution this new year will revolve around being realistic with my expectations with work, family and the world around me. I’m paying a visit to the book Rules of Life again for tips and snippets of wisdom on maintaining my sanity 🙂 Here’s one :

RULE 28 : LIFE CAN BE A BIT LIKE ADVERTISING

quote

Someone once said that half of the money he spent on advertising was wasted but he didn’t know which half. His point was of course that if you can’t tell which half, then you have to keep on doing the whole lot, fully aware that not all of it will produce rewards. Life is a bit like that. Sometimes it seems so unfair. You put in loads of effort and nothing back. You’re polite to people and everyone seems rude back. You work up a sweat and others cruise it. Well, you don’t have to keep on doing the 100 percent because you don’t know which bits will pay off. I know it isn’t fair but then life isn’t. Your efforts will be rewarded eventually but you’ll probably never know which efforts are being rewarded – or for what – and which aren’t.

We tend to think we are being lucky sometimes when actually we are being rewarded for some bit of effort long ago that we have forgotten about. We have to keep going. You can’t give up on the grounds that you had a setback or two because you don’t know which setbacks are the ones which count and which aren’t. I suppose it’s like the number of frogs you have to get acquainted with before you find your prince ( or princess). Or the pearl of oysters you’d have to open to find a pearl.

But whatever you do, don’t lose heart because things don’t seem to be panning out. Only by keeping up the efforts will rewards come in eventually – and you’ll never know from which bits comes the best reward.

Most well balanced and happy people will also tell you that sometimes you have to work at something without looking for a pay-off – apart from the immediate pay-of that we are being kept busy and thus can’t get into trouble. Always looking for success, rewards, a pay-off, can be detrimental to our wellbeing when things don’t pan out. Sometimes it is OK to do things for the sheer enjoyment of doing them. I love painting miniature water-colours – tiny, tiny landscapes. Once in a while someone will come along and suggest I put them into an exhibition or sell them commercially. And every time I do it fails miserably and I give up for a while. Once the dust has settled, I always go back to them and I have learnt it is a personal thing and no longer will I try to sell them or show them. They are a not-for-profit part of my life and immensely rewarding. No, you can’t see one.

unquote

KEEPING THE BALANCE

Suffice to say that doing nothing and expecting mannah to fall from heaven doesn’t cut it. The proverbial saying God helps only those who help themselves is truth – not an illusion. If you’re waiting for some genie or a miracle – good luck. If you’re waiting for a lottery jackpot, make sure you buy the darn ticket because it’s not going to fall into your pocket. 🙂 Going back to Rule 28, I can only say that it is up to us to sense where we really stand. True, we must perform our best but at the end of the day when the exploitation smell stinks it entirely up to us to douse the fire or escape from the pit. There was one point in my career when I thought enough was enough so I bolted out of the company. Despite the initial anxiety of a new environment, it was the best decision I ever made. It exposed me to a new world – new culture, new players, more freedom to express myself. The personal growth I experienced was more gratifying than I ever imagined. Sometimes our expectations aren’t met to our satisfaction but as I have always told my close buddies ” I’m working to be ready for my next employer“. That only meant that I keep myself sharp, just in case I had to move camp. This time around I stuck too long with my employer and looks like I’ve invested too much time and in for the long haul. I hate the feeling but I must not waver and still do my darnest best, keep myself dignified and sharp, enjoy my work and maintain the balance between “I’m stuck” and “I like it here” 😆 I’m like in a marriage and for me to file a divorce would be disastrous, at least financially 😉 But if I’m told I’m no longer liked and loved despite my loyalty and performance then I’m bound by law to get a “financial package” for the aggravation. Que sera sera – I’m OK bothways 😎

MESSAGE FOR THE NEW YEAR

A minister was completing a temperance sermon. With great emphasis he said, ‘If I had all the beer in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’ With even greater emphasis he said, ‘And if I had all the wine in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’ And then finally, shaking his fist in the air, he said, ‘And if I had all the whiskey in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’

Sermon complete, he sat down.

The song leader stood very cautiously and announced “For our closing song, let us sing Hymn #365, – Shall We Gather at the River..” 😆

ALL THE BEST FOR 2010 !

34 Responses

  1. I watched Picture Perfect but did not like the ending 🙂

    I just hope I don’t have a stupid boss hahaha. So far so good 😉 Good luck for 2010 !

    • I agree. The ending was a little sucky, esp when the couple stole the church wedding scene ugh.

      Me too. Lucky not to have a stupid boss 😉

      Hope you have a blast this new year’s 🙂

  2. Very nice blog! Keep up the good blogging!

    I hope you can come visit my blog sometime.

    http://bigworldcentral.wordpress.com/

  3. Happy New Year. Health and wealth this 2010.

    I did not like that movie at all. That’s the one with Kevin Bacon right? Boy that Kevin Bacon really rubs me the wrong way in this movie – which means he’s a really good actor 🙂

    I have to stop and collect my thoughts and see how I want my new year and new decade to start and which direction it leads.

    More power.

    • Yes, Kevin Bacon looked like he was Tiger Woods for a moment, didn’t he ? 😆

      It sometimes pays to have a plan for what we need to do in the new year. It may or may not work but so what 🙂 I might not be able to trek to Machu Pichu in Peru, my first ever personal photo expedition but it is still in my plan 😉 I hope a buddy of mine who I know is a photo nut would come with me.

      More power to you and your hubs too for the new year 😆

  4. wondering why Brad Pitt left Jennifer Aniston for Angelina Jolie 😉

    Sometimes it is painful to watch our efforts wasted and I agree with you that you can only go on for so long or else it is sayonara. Some people are patient while some aren’t. I’m not.

    lol on the sermon. booze up this new year pal but don’t drink and drive ! Cheers.

    • Angelina is way too creepy for me bro hehe 🙂

      I’m impatient like you too but over the years I have tremendously appreciated one of Buddha’s quotes – ” the greatest prayer is patience ” 🙂 there is no mystical or supernatural baggage on this one but it does work 😆

      Hey, the commuter trains are free after 7pm today until new year so I can drink and be merry. Cheers to you too !

  5. If you happen to have an a**hole as boss and you are in his doghouse, no matter what you do will be futile, time to move out. There is always that culture of favoritism, was in both ends of that premise.

    Happy New Years to you and family and to all your dedicated customers. Cheers to the new year.

    • Fortunately my boss isn’t a Ahole so I stayed with him for some time now hehe. More than anything, fairness is something that people have difficulty finding in the workplace. It’s double sided – mismanagement and favoritism isn’t only caused by management but by the bloated egos of the staff as well 😯 I’m quite happy with the team spirit of the crew I’m working with so I stayed for a long time 😉

      Hey – let’s hope for the big fight between the Pac and loudmouth FloydMJr in Mar. hehe… Have a blast with new year ! Cheers to you too 😆

  6. Happy new year to you and your family!

  7. Happy New Year BW. All the best in 2010.

  8. happy new year bw!

  9. Happy New Year Bro!

    Wishing you and your family all the best this 2010. More wealth and Good Health.

    • Thanks bro. Same to you. I wish for you to make those awesome trades that will enrich your employer hahaha 🙂 I’m sure you’ll get some of it in way of a fat bonus 😉 All the best to you and your family for 2010 !

  10. Oftentimes, in many workplace, you get s**t thrown at you not by the boss, but by your fellow employees and immediate subordinate or supervisor. But yeah, there are bosses, too, who have no scruples about taking credit for your efforts and leaving you out in the cold. Worse, they’d even cheat you out of your commission, citing some lame excuse.

    And talk about doing nothing while expecting manna to fall from heaven, that reminds me of so many people here who attend masses religiously not to pray for their souls, but for a shot at the big time, i.e. the lottery.

    Hope you and your family had a great time celebrating the new year, bro.

    • One thing I believe bro is the attitude of management also reflects on the conduct of employees. I am handling people too and the one attitude I hate the most is someone who keeps on reporting what others are doing. I make it known I make myself clear, that I will not entertain such behavior. Again, everyone is different. There are those who can’t and will never be team players. It is up to management to carve out a team that performs according to the skills of the people. Bottom line is, no matter how good you manage if your senior manager is an Ahole, things will break down eventually. 😦

      hehe.. it is not unusual to find such people praying to win in a majjong game or the hueteng. The worse ones are those who pray that they could stumble upon a fat purse on the street, dropped by someone they don’t know ugh 😦

      Hey, hope you have a very productive and bountiful 2010 !

  11. Watched that Jennifer Aniston film, and I swear: I forgot the whole storyline. I guess it was forgettable. 🙂 Well, as far as I’m concerned.

    Here’s wishing you and your family a blessed new year! May God bless the work of your hands and may you become a fruitful channel of His blessings, online and offline.

    • I totally agree with you. That movie was in fact included in the list of rotten tomato movies 🙂

      We came home after 3am in the morning in a weather in the plus side of the Celsius scale ( awesome – no snow) after celebrating the new year countdown with friends. The highlight was a whole lechon which I’m proud to say I never touched 😉

      Happy new year to you and your hubby too.. I wish you a prosperous and bountiful 2010 🙂 My blog is one that drags me out of my comfort zone and shakes me to let out thoughts that are imprisoned in my being 😉 I promise I will try to be a good boy in 2010 hahaha 🙂 Here’s a bear hug from me 🙂

  12. Happy New Year to you and your family.
    Your post is my first blog read for the year. It is a good perspective to start the year and contemplate.
    Thanks.
    We are our own destiny…we are the only one who can make things happen.

    • Hope you had a wonderful New Year’s celebration last night 🙂

      All the best to you and your family in 2010. Let’s hope for snow-less winter for starters 😆

  13. That’s the advantage when you’re a contract worker. I don’t care about praises or pay-hike. The only motivation I get it to finish the contract and then be ready for a renegotation of another contract.

    Now I know why you’re interested in my doodles. You have an artistic inclination yourself, bro. But I sure hope to see some of your paintings!

    Happy New Year!!!

    • Being ready to negotiate for another contract also means that you have to be in good standing with the employer 😉

      I’m severely handicapped when it comes to art that’s probably why I am an art lover.

      All the best for 2010 my friend 🙂

  14. haha such a nice sermon…it will stick with you rather than lenghty ones

    happy new year!

    • you bet. We all gathered at the river this new year’s eve, didn’t we ? 😆

      I wish you a bountiful and prosperous 2010 !

  15. Happy New Year Bro…More power in 2010!

    As to New Year’s resolution…maybe I’d follow ur advice, to see things half-full instead of half-empty, that’ll keep me off from nagging depression… 🙂

    • That’s a more optimistic way of looking at it – half full rather than half empty 🙂

      Hey, you’re a vibrant and gifted young man – stay positive and explore the world. I wish you the best in 2010 !

  16. I forgot the story of the movie Picture Perfect, maybe I should watch it soon.

    I wish that 2010 would be a great year for everyone.

    • The movie’s theme kind sucks that the only thing I remember well was I wished I was Kevin Bacon for once hehehe 🙂

      A great and bountiful 2010 awaits everyone. May you have a good one.

  17. I haven’t seen picture perfect as well but I can relate to your points there about being employed, getting the credit you deserved and firming up to move on to another comapny. There are times when it’s hard to discern on satying put or ssaying enough is enough. I guess when everyday you”re dragging your feet and you look forward to end the hours of misery it’s time for a fresh environment.

    Happy new year BW! More fun 2010!

    • I really only watched the movie because of Jennifer Aniston 🙂

      True, sometimes the situation is unpredictable and hoping for changes within the company is the key for you staying which might be a long shot.

      In my case, I decided to leave because the workload was miserable for starters and I didn’t like the style of my boss who kept people in the dark of his plans the whole time. In truth, I was offered more money to stay but I had enough of the misery. It was fortunately a good decision on my part.

      hey, have a wonderful 2010 and soar to greater heights!

Leave a Reply

