PACQUIAO vs. CLOTTEY – The Event

The Pacquiao-Clottey fight leaves a sour taste in the mouth of fans who were extremely frustrated by the collapse of the Pacquiao- Mayweather megafight. For lack of a better term , my PPV channel simply refers to the fight in a rather nondescript sounding manner – THE EVENT. The fight may not be that spectacular in what is at stake for the fighters but the venue – the brand new $1.2B Dallas Cowboys stadium – is by itself already spectacular, making up for the lack of glitz and glamor of an opponent in Joshua Clottey. Manny is favored to win but experts say it will not be a cakewalk for Clottey is no slouch. The man may look sluggish but he is a gorilla with the tenacity of a hippo. He looks indestructible. His skin looks like premium leather fresh from the tannery and one wonders if the Pacman will need a razor to break his brow. There’s already ton of hype surrounding the fight courtesy of Gerry Jones, the billionaire owner of the Dallas Cowboys and Pacquiao’s savvy promoter, Bob Arum. Reportedly former President George W. Bush will be at the executive box of Jones to watch the Pacman. Action star celebrities with the likes of Steven Segal, Claude Van Damme, Mark Wahlberg, Mickey Rourke will be on the ringside to watch the Pacman. Of course, members of the mutual admiration society of Pacquiao’s ilk will be at ringside as well to watch the power of Pacman the great – Julio Cesar Chavez, Kelley Pavlik, Juan Manuel Lopez and Miguel Cotto. And… to top it all and this is really big… Dana White, the president of UFC, a rival sport that threatens to convert boxing fans to MMA ( Mixed Martial Arts) believe it or not will attend the fight and is rooting for the Pac to destroy Clottey in 8 ! He’s also handing out tickets to fans. Now that truly speaks of Pacquiao’s appeal to MMA fighters. With the Pac in the ring, it’s slam bang action from the opening bell. With Floyd Mayweather,it will be boredom city from start to finish.

Joshua Clottey said that when his manager called to break the news about the Pacquiao fight, he was so ecstatic that wasn’t able to sleep. When you fight the Pacman these days, you reap the harvest too. Clottey gets $1.5M – the most he could ever get on the planet fighting in the ring. In fact Clottey was so immensely thankful of the opportunity when he declared with a rather surprising magnanimity, about fighting a man he greatly respects ” if I lose to Pacquiao then I lost “. But Clottey is a bulldog that should not be taken lightly. The fight is by no means an easy one for Manny, at least on record. One thing that Manny only needs to do is mentally replace Clottey’s face with that of Floyd Mayweather. It may pump his adrenalin up full volume and harness his deep seated hatred of the man who tried to ruin his reputation with his senseless setroid allegation and he can end the fight with a sleeper like he did to Hatton. That will be a real treat to the 45,000 fans who will be watching the event live at the humungous stadium.

As usual, I’ll be at my buddy’s place with my six pack watching the fight with the regular crew. I hope the Pac fight end the fight early coz I’ll head down south for the spring break early Sunday morning. I only wish for another fight for the Pacman and that is with Floyd Mayweather and I will gladly urge him to retire as soon as he knocks the living daylights out of Floyd M. What sickens me more than his chicken act is his latest rhetoric – “ I’m out to clean up the sport of boxing “. Apparently the dork has hallucinations of being the commissioner of boxing instead of a fighter who gets paid to fight. What’s this guy on anyways ??? Overdose of Fukitol ? šŸ‘æ

THE GRAPPLE

The other day as I was buying my weekly supply for the fruit basket – bananas, apples, mandarin oranges and blackberries – I chanced upon a rather pricey pack of apples tightly packed in a plastic box. The name was a little strange – GRAPPLE. When I read the label, I found out that the GRAPPLE is actually an apple which tastes like grapes – totally . Now I admit I was totally ignorant that this genetically engineered sounding fruit ever existed. Nonetheless I bought a pack and googled the name when I got home. Well, here’s how they made this strange fruit which for starters I thought was an aberration of nature’s process. I like the cleverness of the idea but I won’t stop buying grapes šŸ˜‰

SCARY BIKE TRAIL

I don’t know about you but I think these guys are utterly nuts. I’d rather take a horse to walk this narrow trail on the edge of a cliff than a motorbike. Animals have a cunning sense of balance – just look at pictures of mountain goats scaling dangerous high mountains. At first I thought the video was a hoax, with some guy walking with a camera on his helmet but its for real ! Heck, I wouldn’t even speculate using a bicycle in this kind of trail ugh šŸ˜¦

24 Responses

  1. i love the part when you said that all manny has to to do is to mentally replace clottey’s face with mayweather (lol).

    good luck to manny.

  2. You know what, bro? IMHO, this fight is just a filler for Pacman for the lack of opponents face to jab his fist. He needs somebody as an absorber for those adrenalin his been reserving to fight Mayweather.

    As for Mayweather, I think he thinks his in WWF with all those trash his been spouting lately.

    • Clottey is a decent welterweight but with the way he fought the Pacman, he gave himself the title of the most boring fighter on earth and will have a hard time convincing people to watch him fight again šŸ˜Æ

  3. I think Dana White wants to see a clinic on how to destroy a bigger guy šŸ™‚ MMA fighters wish for Pacquiao’s boxing skills.

    Man, those guys are nuts ! Bikes should be forbidden in that trail. It’s very dangerous.

    • Yep, but unfortunately it was a clinic on how to fight a scared opponent šŸ™‚

      You’re right. There out to be a park ranger supervising the trails.

      • I have never seen Pacquiao gasping for breath after every round. It looks like with the volume of punches he got pretty tired near the 12th round. Clottey did not see this.

        • Pacquiao’s punch output is a record in itself I believe šŸ˜‰ For a minute I thought he would tire out but he did one heck of a punching bag workout in 12 rounds. Methinks Clottey was just totally thrown out of his rhythm and lost his sense of timing.

  4. Before I left for Legoland with my two little warriors for a week of fun, lots of pakyaw fanatics are still pouring in money for him like crazy. Manny was at -600 and Joshua at +450. My mula is with Clottey being a hardcore dehadista, can’t pass that kind of odds. My son is with me and a diehard Manny fan, always bragging how good he is, agreed but my money is on the othe fence, hehe….

    Those bikers really think they’re mountain goats for sure, anything to pump their adrenalins. They’re in their own world, they don’t even know Pakyaw is fighting tonite or even know him, hehe…..

    • Tough luck because Clottey showed up extremely scared to get a punch in the face. I think he may have felt manny’s punches that was why he was afraid to trade punches with him !

  5. I hate boxing. I’m scared of the blood. Clottey also looks scary šŸ˜¦

    That Grapple is so cute šŸ™‚ I’d like to buy one.

    • Clottey looks scary but this time, he was the one who was scared to fight šŸ˜†

      sure – try the Grapple. I’m not totally sold on it. I still like the real thing – the real grapes šŸ˜‰

  6. Ah well, win or lose at least everyone walks out of the ring singing their way to the bank. With that kind of moolah, I’d gladly get punched black and blue, hehehe. ;-D

    Grapple? What will they come up next? A pig that tastes like chicken, or vice-versa? šŸ˜€

    • you’re spot on bro. Look at what Clottey did ! hehe šŸ™‚

      Heard of the chicken that weighs as big as a turkey ? They’ve got them genetically engineered nowadays. Anything is possible these days šŸ˜Æ

  7. Folks, I’m on the road today. Will respond to your posts later.

    Manny won true but the fight was extremely one sided because of Clottey’s fear factor. As one paper put it,” Clottey played to survive but committed suicide in the process ” LOL.. That was how the game went šŸ˜†

  8. didn’t realize there was a fight going on until i was lying on my hospital bed and the fight was advertised. so the entire night i kept asking my husband to check his blackberry for updates or who won.

    • lying on the hospital bed – hope you’re fine.. I’m assuming you just too a nap while on duty šŸ™‚

      That’s find if you didnt watch the game. Clottey just showed up to collect his paycheck anyways šŸ˜‰

  9. the fight’s disappointing. what do you think?

    that is one addition to our selection of fruits – grapple. so, do i buy it or not, when it is already available here?

    • It was quite disappointing from an action perspective because fans always like to see top notch action when the Pacman is fighting. In the end, the Pacman won and that is the bottom line, that he moves on to fight Mayweather šŸ™‚

      It sells between 70-80 cents per piece here. You can probably get 12 real apples for 4 grapples šŸ˜‰ It is probably already there in supermarkets. I still like real grapes though šŸ™‚

  10. The Pacman won against Clottey. Will he be able to make it in the politics as well? Let’s see…

    I didn’t know anything about GRAPPLE until I encounter this in your site. Meron kaya ito dito sa ‘Pinas?

    As for the scary bike trail, for me it’s not a bike trail at all. As a motorcycle and bicycle enthusiast, I should say it’s too risky to pass that trail on a bicycle or motorcycle. Even a mule would hesitate passing such trail. Goodluck na lang for the guys in the video…

    • Just finished watching the scary bike trail full length. It’s so narrow and you can’t even turn back. Those guys are nuts šŸ˜¦

    • The Pacman should concentrate on boxing period. His concert in Hawaii after the Clottey fight was cancelled because of poor tickets. His movie was a flop. Admittedly he’s a sub par singer and actor and in politics ??? Tough to say but he will have a hard time winning, just like the last time.

      Pinas always gets everything so I’d like to think Grapple is available there šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

