Through The Barricades

The recent G8/G20 summit in Toronto brought about supreme paranoia to the core downtown area where the conference was to be held. Barricades with strong wire mesh atop concrete slabs were constructed around a few square kilometers deemed to be within the perimeter of the event. Employers in the area were asked to keep minimum staff at work during the event week. I was one among those told to work from home. A few days before the event week while headed out to lunch, I caught sight of this gorgeous creature with her breasts exposed, interviewing people with a camera man, along what would have been a barricaded thoroughfare in a matter of days. I could have taken a frontal shot with my Blackberry but took an innocuous back shot instead ( click on pic for larger view).My buddy quipped ” man, is Naked News back in the airwaves ? “ My buddy was referring to the defunct early morning news hour show at one of the local TV channels here where good looking women announced the daily news bare breasted. It had gone off the air for sometime but it is indeed back – in a much more bolder fashion as a pay site ( warning : mature content website) on the net or an adult subscription channel on cable. I always wondered why TV stations employ good looking women to announce weather updates. Is it because weather is such a boring topic ? I am a sucker for news casts but I have yet to understand why would someone strip her clothes off to deliver the latest news on the BP oil spill or the latest casualty in Afghanistan 😯 Or… maybe I should try watching πŸ˜†


WORKING FROM HOME

Working from home isn’t bad as long as you don’t do it for too long I think. I tried 6 days in a row and didn’t quite like it. Despite my cozy home office and the modern technology that made my overall voice and data access transparent to that of my work office, I got terribly bored.

Here’s the reasons why :

a. I go to the fridge for a snack every now and then ( ruins my diet)
b. My wife calls me to cook rice and/or heat the food before she comes home for lunch. Being a part time waiter and dishwasher are added to my workload πŸ™‚
c. I get irritated when our home phone rings when I’m working in the basement.
d. I watch too much TV.
e. I get disturbed by my Blackberry when I am napping
f. I feel sluggish since I don’t move around a lot
g. because I relax during the normal hours I am compelled to work at night to make up for lost productivity

I didn’t find the energy to execute things as I normally do when I am at the office. It is probably because I am an extrovert by nature and I feed off the energy of my officemates. I think it is OK to work from home at least once or twice a week. I kinda missed the commute, the crossword puzzle on the train, the cafeteria talks πŸ™‚

THE TOP 10 AWKWARD TV INTERVIEWS ( sports )

It’s just me but don’t you think Jim Everett’s “attack” on commentator Jim Rome was a bit contrived when he got upset with Rome calling him “Chris Evert” ( after legendary female tennis hall of famer )? Jim Rome later on said it wasn’t “staged”… hmmm.. dunno πŸ™‚

22 Responses

  1. I’m not surprised why they made it a pay site or channel subscription. It’s definitely not mainstream news casting πŸ˜‰

    Some sales folks like to work from home. I would I think but again, I am not in sales.

    Any fight on a talk show on TV is always staged. Just like those Jerry Springer shows hehe πŸ˜†

    Hey, glad you’re back from your sabbatical πŸ™‚

    • definitely not mainstream – glad it remains as a pay site or adult channel subscription instead of free air TV programming.

      True, sales people don’t have to be in office except for meetings with colleagues.

      hehe.. you remind me of those pathetic Springer episodes πŸ™‚

      I caught up a sudden dose of blog laziness πŸ˜†

  2. naked news ? That’s crazy 😦

    Some jobs can be done at home. Others can’t, especially those in customer service.

    Sports celebs have big egos that’s why it is hard to interview them.

    • it is crazy indeed.

      Well, home office still works for customer service as long as it is not a face to face service. Nowadays call center agents work from home as long as there is a phone + network access.

      You said it. Sport celebs have the biggest egos 😦

  3. I tried working from home while on leave (I was on call, unfortunately) while still in the Philippines. I enjoyed it for a while then didn’t like it because of too many distractions. So unproductive.

    It’s nice to “hear” from you again. Welcome back!

    • there’s pros and cons but I agree, it is unproductive in many ways. Again it is my personal opinion.

      Thanks. I’m back for good.

  4. I’ll join protests, any protest, that includes getting naked para lang makatawag pansin. >: D

    I think for me working at home would be a great plus. Menos gastos in transportation, no “time-in” or “time-out” and I don’t have to bother what to wear while working.

    • hehe.. that’s one strategy of gaining supreme attention πŸ™‚

      True – menos gastos I totally agree but there’s no fun !

  5. Jim Rome purposely did that in my opinion, and although he still has his show, it’s mostly ESPN viewers, don’t think he is a household name.

    White talkshow hosts conservatives who are racial arsonists sell their racists monologues hoping to make it big in radio and Cable TV. It’s nothing new.

    • If the talk show fracas with Everett was for real, I bet there would have been lawsuits left and right πŸ™‚ Rome manages to get into controversy every now and then and you’re right he’s not a household name.

  6. someday i would love to work from home part time. but right now, i’d be totally unproductive if i do it at home.

    where have you been? why the long break?

    • Working home part time would be great but full time – I’m not sure. My job doesn’t fit a home office job. I mean I can remote desktop to my PC at the office and do everything like I’m at the office but the instant face to face coordination and the ability to concentrate and be creative is something I can’t do at home.

      I caught the blog laziness bug – seriously. I suddenly found a lot of time to do things like watching lots of TV, tending my lawn, reading, playing golf and just relaxing, enjoying the tremendous summer weather πŸ™‚

  7. hello, hello! what a naked post, er…what a post to start from a sabbatical!

    where have you been?

    do you know that i was thinking about how good it is to work from home? now i am changing my mind.

    • Took the shot in June and it took me a month to blog about it πŸ˜‰ Except for a short business trip I went nowhere and did nothing except enjoy the summer – hence the seriousness of my post hehe πŸ™‚

      It is great to work from home once or twice a week but doing it all the time isn’t my cup of tea. Even if I am alone in the house with the wife at work and my daughter at school, I found it hard to be productive ! I still like the vibrancy of the office atmosphere. Maybe I am enjoying my work and love the people I work with πŸ™‚

  8. Bitin!! Man, you should’ve taken that frontal shot instead. I wonder how your wife would react though, hehe.

    Since I’m doing freelance work these days, I sometimes work from home, right inside the airconditioned comfort of my bedroom. Trouble is, I always end up napping or watching tv more than work, hehe. Anyways, my work entails me to be on the move, or on the road most of the time so in effect, my car doubles as my office. I was thinking that, if the business gets better in the future, I might have to get me one of those Winnebago, complete with a driver and the comforts of a home office, hehe. πŸ˜€

    • My wife is a sport. As long as I lay my hands off, I’m far from trouble city hehe πŸ™‚

      A Winnebago with TV, internet G3 access would be real dandy since it will be your roving office πŸ˜‰ As for the driver, hmm.. that would be your least maintenance expense wouldn’t it ? Lucky you coz here it will be your most expensive cost πŸ˜†

  9. long time no hear πŸ™‚

    kaya pala, I’m a bit puzzled why you didn’t like working at home

    well, iba din kasi ung thrill ng bumabyahe tuwing pumapasok

    lalo na sa Pinas, adventure talaga

    • There are times when I work from home but more often out of necessity, like one time I had my water heater fixed and someone has to be home. But I always prefer to commute to work for the adventure , esp this summer. If I work from how all the time, how could I possibly get that snapshot haha πŸ™‚ Also perhaps I am not a disgruntled employee and love my workplace πŸ˜‰

  10. so you always watch that news? hehe.
    it’s nice to work from home once in a while, but i’m more productive in the office

    • nope – I’m immune to these kind of things already πŸ˜† Besides, I’m not exactly thrilled to pay money just to watch the news πŸ˜‰

      True, I feel like I can accomplish more things in the office
      ( being a conscientious employee that I am ) πŸ™‚

  11. I can’t work from home because all the equipment is at the office. Also, they have free dessert at the office every Friday. πŸ˜€

    Not really a Jim Rome fan. Then again, I can’t think of a sports commentator that I’m a fan of. hehe

    • Looks like you have a sweet tooth hehe πŸ™‚

      This reminds me of a company in Vancouver that makes video games. To encourage creativity, it has a tennis court, a basketball court and a hockey rink available for its employees to play anytime. It also provides free breakfast and lunch – all for the sake of creating blockbuster games and making a fortune in return πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

