CAFETERIA TALK

One of the reasons why I don’t relish the idea of telecommuting or working from home the whole time is I miss the camaraderie at the workplace. Huddling with fellow employees at the cafeteria at lunch takes the stress out of a hectic day and recharges the body to finish the rest of the afternoon. The other day, the topic of conversation over lunch was about relationships, started by a female colleague. She was interested to know what the married men in the group think about quiet time at home every night , when husband and wife try not to talk to each other, do their own thing by themsleves for at least an hour or even more. The temporary isolation is deemed essential to break free from the scourge of monotony πŸ˜‰ Responses were varied. Some didn’t feel the need for a quiet time – others felt it is indispensable and necessary to recharge the spirit. One guy said his wife doesn’t mind but when it comes to her sleeping time, he has to be in bed with her, whether he likes it or not πŸ˜† Ouch…

VERY EXPENSIVE PAIR OF SOCKS

A buddy told us an incident at his wife’s office where a male co-worker who came early one morning and dripping wet from the sudden summer morning rain went into the men’s restroom, took his wet socks off, wrung them and immediately headed to the pantry to dry them off the microwave oven πŸ™‚ Smart guy – ( I haven’t tried microwave oven on clothes ) except that one of the staff saw the slob and reported the incident to the manager. Unfortunately, the incident wasn’t addressed not until after lunch and staff had heated up their lunches not knowing that the microwave oven was “tainted” πŸ™‚ The extra spicy taste of the heated food must have gone unnoticed πŸ˜† I was kidding a Pinoy colleague that those who heated up their cold coffee must have gotten that spicy, sock-smelling and pungent “cafe barako” aroma :mrgreen: The short end of the story was the manager talked to the erring staff who was extremely embarassed by his slobiness. The following day he brought a new microwave oven of identical brand. The atonement was accepted. The staff was glad he wasn’t fired. Dang, how could a pair of wet socks possibly set you back a hundred bucks ?


ABORTED SHOPPING

I don’t consider myself an impulsive shopper. I always try to question myself and draw a thick line between what I need and what I want. Last week we were at IKEA and my wife was throwing in things in the cart which I thought we didn’t need – a dozen plates, a dozen spoon and forks, a couple picture frames, four large plastic bins to store our daughter’s old toys ( these I thought we needed), a new weight scale for the bathroom and a few more useless times items which would likely turn out to be junk in a year’s time. While queuing up at the usually crowded check out counter at the warehouse area, a high pitch beep sounded off every 1o seconds or so. Fire alarm?? Perhaps. I hoped so and we can leave the cart get out of the darn place πŸ™‚ After a couple of minutes, the beep escalated into a loud scary alarm and the in-house speakers blurted out the announcement, asking patrons to slowly exit the building. There was no panic but I was smiling. So far we haven’t gone back to the store πŸ˜‰

FROM THE ARCHIVES

I dig old songs and I have a bunch of these classics downloaded to my IPOD. Here’s one from Three Dog Night. Just zero in on the song and not the video πŸ™‚

17 Responses

  1. anyone who dictates my sleeping time either thinks I am an infant or a pet 😦

    That slob was lucky he didn’t get sued by those who accidentally used the “tainted” microwave πŸ™‚

    They don’t make these kind of songs anymore.

  2. yuck, i will be really mad if i used the microwave where that slob dried his rotten socks. OMG, I will even throw up.

    i’m not a compulsive buyer.. well, sort of πŸ™‚ but i will be upset if a fire alarm closes the store when i’m lining up for something i’ve been dying to buy.

    • you’re just like my wife. When I told her the story she was so pissed too πŸ™‚

      agree and the fact that you spent a lot of time queuing up. the fact that we had no reason to return and buy the items means we don’t really need them πŸ™‚

  3. I’m inclined to do such a thing if I hated all my co-workers, and I’ll ensure no one sees me, hehe….on the other hand, it’s really a rotten thing to do. Only looneys do such things.

    After 30+ years of pain and suffering, este..marriage…I now have the luxury to hit the sack when I want, mostly before 1am daily.

    Oldies are still the goodies.

    • come to think of it, this guy is probably drying his socks in his microwave oven at home and heating his food afterwards to add flavor to the dish πŸ˜†

      lol.. you mean there were times you didn’t have the luxury to hit the sack any time you wanted ? hehe πŸ™‚

      I wonder how long oldies will fade.. they keep on getting revived by modern day artists.

  4. that sock drying in microwave should only be done in one’s own home – not at work – yikes!

    ikea has something you wanted to buy and a whole lot more you didn’t realize you wanted.

    • you can do anything at home, true but I hope not drying wet socks from your feet directly to the microwave oven πŸ™‚

      in the end we amass junk at home πŸ˜‰

  5. Hahaha, I am giggling right now as I type my comment (especially referring to the IKEA story, LOL). By the way, I haven’t tried and I won’t dry any clothing in the microwave oven (kahit pa bagong laundry). Kadiri naman talagang sobra na pinatuyo nya yung socks nya dun. πŸ˜‰

    • I thought the fire alarm save us from hoarding junk in the house πŸ™‚

      It was kadiri to death coz hindi alam natin baka my athlete’s foot disease yung tao arggh.. 😦

  6. grabe ha, bw, ang classic naman nung naka post na music sa entry na ito… hindi ko siya alam!!!! πŸ™‚

    @ the socks incident… natawa na lang ako promise… cguro nga umalat ung mga ininit nilang food dun or mas lalong sumarap… pwede na palang mag patuyo din ng damit sa microwave…

    • baka you were not born yet when this music came out πŸ™‚

      Haven’t tried myself – low setting lang siguro pwede at baka manguluntoy yung damit mo. Baka maging XL na yung damit πŸ˜‰

  7. Ahh, Three Dog Nights… kinda brings back memories…

    Anyways, it must have been one heck of a rain for the guy to have gotten his socks wet. or maybe he stepped on a puddle, hehe. Perhaps he could have just left the wet socks behind the office refrigirator, I know some people do that to their wet shoes para mabilis matuyo. πŸ˜€

    As for the aborted shopping, I bet you and your wallet heaved a big sigh of relief as you were exiting the store, haha. ;-D

    • yeah man, brings back old memories when we were toddlers bwaha πŸ˜‰

      drying it up on the back of the fridge would have been a safer idea. Dunno man, what if I was sockless – who would see and who would care – no one.

      You bet. I am wishing for that power to trigger a false fire alarm . That would be real dandy ..hehe πŸ˜†

  8. I hate shopping at IKEA. I have to walk a lot !

Leave a Reply

